The first of the city’s “pacified” (police-controlled) favelas, Santa Marta is one of the few that is safe and accessible to tourists, with tours aimed at raising awareness and funds to help improve the safety and living conditions of Rio’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a fantastic tour! We were a small group of 4 people, so it was perfect to get around the city. No need to wait for 20 more people to go to the bathroom or pay at the souvenir shop...it was frustration-free, compared to regular tours! It actually felt more like we were a group of friends visiting the city the way locals do by bus, subway and on foot, rather than a big group of tourists moving around in a tainted window bus.
Our guide, Daniel, was wonderful! He knows everything about the city, the spirit and way of life of Carioca and is a good story-teller with a perfect English and French.
The time spent at each location was well-balanced, we got to get a good feel of each neighborhood.
As regards the amount of walking, it's not too much, although we use public transportation. Someone in our group was wearing flip flops and he managed pretty well. But it'll be more comfortable in walking shoes especially if the lift in Santa Marta is under maintenance and you have to go up on foot!.
Loved it!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour. Great guide. Highlight: visiting the Santa Marta favela and mingling with the residents at a bar watching Brasil v Mexico.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The highlight of the tour was Santa Marta. A great way to see a favela while giving back to its community members with the opportunity to purchase local-made crafts and goods. Very safe. Fascinating history of Michael Jackson and celebrity visits to the favela, and friendly and welcoming locals. Our tour guide Daniel was very knowledgeable. The Santa Teresa trolley hasn't run since 2011 so that is a bit misleading. Much of that neighborhood is under construction and not spectacular, but still worth a visit simply for the sight of the spectacular tile staircase, "Escadaria Selaron." Christ the Redeemer also a must-see. Overall, our guide, driver, and tour group were all very friendly and it was a great day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Rio de Janeiro! We got to see so much in one day. This was the only tour that covered all the highlights of Rio that we really wanted to see. It was an excellent way to get a snapshot of the city and it's culture. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke english well. The tour of the Santa Marta Favela was very interesting so make sure you include this in your tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very professionally organized, very knowledgeable and friendly guide, good pace.
The trip to Santa Marta is really something you ought to do while in Rio, it gives you perspective.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour of different parts of Rio. It is a full day so be prepared. Very interesting to see Santa Teresa and Santa Marta Favela on foot. Our guides were great and with the large crowds at Corcovado Mountain (New Years), he was able to stick handle the group through the ques.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good itinerary. Santa Teresa was good. Lunch was at a pay by weight buffet place, which was pricey (and would prefer more local food). The favela tour was OK but was a bit disappointing as we visited the most "touristy" favela in Rio - the Santa Marta. Overall was quite OK, with Daniel the tour guide being quite informative. However, still a bit pricey.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

it was definetely not worth it the money, very overpriced!
the time at the Corcovado was too short, the visit to Santa Teresa neighborhood was a waste of time, nothing really to see; the Santa Marta favela was quite interesting, that's all!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message