Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Sao Bento Monastery

From the outside, the Sao Bento Monastery and the Church of Nossa Senhora de Montserrat appear to be unassuming and even a bit austere, a nod to 16th century Roman Catholic chastity. Once inside, however, visitors can see how the elaborate nave, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very interesting. The guide was very repetitive, too. This was tiresome!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was very worthwhile. tour guide well informed. Very patient. Was very passionate about Rio and the history of the city. Answered all questions and had time to answer individual questions.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We did this our first day and had a wonderful introduction to Rio. Our guide, JB (short for Juan Batiste), gave us a detailed history of all we saw. He was funny, personable and has left a lasting memory of Carioca hospitality.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A little background about myself: this was my first trip to Rio, and before this tour, I had not spent any time in downtown Rio. I am generally interested in history, perhaps more than the average person.

Our tour guide, JB, was fantastic. He was very energetic, and was very enthusiastic about the city. He was extremely knowledgeable about the stops on the tour (and a lot off the tour) and effectively communicated with all of us. He walks fast, he talks fast, which is great, because he was able to cover a lot of ground in the 4 hours we had. (Even during the ride to and from our hotel, he was telling us about the buildings we passed and the early rulers of Brazil.)

The tour stops were also well chosen. We visited four churches, two cultural centers, three squares and a wonderful old restaurant (the Confeiteria Colombo), all of which were downtown landmarks. I was never bored, I felt like I got a good sense of downtown, and though the tour was 6 hours long, the time just flew by.

Again, you walk a lot, so if you don't walk well/cannot do so for long periods, I would not suggest this tour.

Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide JB was perfect! Very kind and funny, but most of all PASSIONATE about the city. He will bring you to the best spots. Thank you for the amazing tour, we learned a lot!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide JB was really quite fabulous. Full of energy, just a great ambassador for the city. I really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was fantastic. Very interesting and got a good feeling and understanding of the city

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

one of my favourite.. gives taste of Rio

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I booked 3 tours through Viator. JB, the tour guide is the best. He is very passionate about his job and tour reflects it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour given by JP, he is very knowledgeable and a truly dedicated tour guide. We were quite fortunate to be only 3 and got a very personal tour, It was amazing to go through the old city and see the sites. It made the trip more enjoyable and much more worthwhile.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had an invigorating tour with our guide John the Baptist. Highly recommend this walk for those interested in the history of Rio de Janeiro -- as well as good exercise. Get off the beach and see the real Rio and learn about its architecture and history.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide, JB. Saw and toured the important sites of the city and learned its history.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent trip. JB is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We visited places that we would never have found on our own. And the cake shop - fab!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our tour guide "JB" was very amusing. The walk is about 3-4 hours through downtown. JB was sure to stop for breaks and snacks. We also had 3 small children who did well on this tour. Note, we went during summer, and a couple people struggled in the heat, so be sure to bring big hats and water.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message