Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 568 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect view, great emotions, worth to do it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour great, queues not so good but unavoidable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The overall logistics was comfortable and hassle-free, and they had a tour guide who could speak 5 languages (German, Spanish, French, Portugese, and English). Very happy that he spoke English! (even if I didn't coordinate this in booking this tour). The weather was overcast though so views and sights were generally gloomy. So lesson is to tour during the sunny months! Still, the sight of the Christ the Redeemer statue up close was awesome =)

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really easy way to see Christ the Redeemer. The guide was informative and made sure that we had the best seats on the tram. I was at 5 stars until the guide told the bus to leave back to the hotels, while my Mom and I were still in the bathrooms. If it weren't for the men selling commemorative licence plates outside of where the bus was parked, who banged on the side of the bus to get it to stop when they saw us running, my 70 yr old Mom and I would have been left behind, at dusk. I doubt this happens too often, though.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Alex H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sights themselves were great, but the tour itself was very average.

Firstly, we selected an English guide, and although the guide spoke excellent English, there were several other nationalities of people there, which meant we he had to say everything 5 times. Which whilst extremely impressive meant we got very little information in English.

Secondly, there was A LOT of waiting around. Because it was a huge coach, not a small minibus, a huge amount of time was spent dropping people of and picking people up. There was also way too much time allocated for lunch. There should have been at least 30mins less. Everyone was wandering around nearby shops trying to kill time before the tour restarted.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exelent, I recomended 100 por cent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Took the cog train up the mountain. As you disembark you face the Statue. Dream come true and the view of Rio De Janeiro is something out of this world. You haven't been to Brazil if you don't do this trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything ran quite smoothly. The tour guides have everything lined up for you and there is no waiting in line. It was crowded but we were able to move around and see everything we wanted to see. it is really a must view if you are in Rio. Just pay attention to the weather forecasts. There were days that we could not see the mountain from our apartment in Ipanema.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide -- JB-- was excellent!

Great scenery and video footage.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very long day but was the best way to see all of the main sites in one day. The weather can be a big factor on this tour. Fortunately we had clear skies and moderate temperatures on the day we went on the tour. The lunch offering at the restaurant stop was adequate but not that great. I was not that impressed with the meals offered.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a good day, tour was about 45 mins late. But we got there an enjoyed it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

good tour, have to keep your fingers crossed for clear weather, was very foggy the day we went otherwise it was a very pleasant day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to traffic it took the bus forever to reach the train to the statute. Being a group, we did not stand in line very long before boarding the train. It was a gray and cloudy afternoon as we started our ride up the mountain. When we got up to the top, the statute was enshroud in mist and fog. It gave our experience a moving, religious one--Christ would appear then disappear within the clouds. No views of the city so we stopped in the restaurant near the top and watched a World Cup match until it was time to head back down. Our informative guide told us about various parts of the city as we drove by. We were dropped off at the same spot where we boarded(we chose a location near where we were staying in Ipanama.). So, I suggest this tour no matter what the weather....it is a special part of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a tour in a large coach bus but the guide was informative and spoke English. We wound up taking a cab back to our hotel because 4 people missed the tram to the bottom of the hill and we would have waited another 30 minutes, but not a big deal.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message