Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 958 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic trip. Getting up early to beat the crowds cant be over emphasized. The communication and pickup from the hotel were flawless. The tour bus was very comfortable. The driver was always within easy walking distance of where the tours started or stopped. The guide spoke fluent English and had a nice sense of humor and was very informative. Can't recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Heng Chii L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful tour. Highly recommended. Our tour guide, Solomon, was AMAZING!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great guide, made sure that the tour suited us. Thank you

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great all round. Possible evening dance hiccup, but sorted amicably. Thank you

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Stephanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had an amazing experience learning about the Rio culture. Daniel was a great guide!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Miss T A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide Daniel was fluent in english and very knowledgeable. It was a great way to see Rio travelling on local transport and walking through the city. You get to see so much of the Santa Teresa neighbourhood and we were fortunate that the tram was operating so we got to go on that. The favela tour was a unique and eye opening experience with plenty of info and opportunities for photos. Would highly recommend this tour to other people. Such a jam packed day and well worth it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Catherine L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An excellent day. Certainly worth the early get up to be there before the crowds. Good idea too to have both on the same day as all the transport and entrances are sorted for you especially if time is limited to fit everything in.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this is a MUST in Rio ! You will enjoy it and photography is awesome

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

PETER W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Did both trips in one half day however as we arrived at Sugar Loaf mid-morning the waiting lines were pretty awesome. Took an hour to board the lift. However the trip was well organised and conducted in good spirit by Solomon the group leader who was extremely knowledgeable about of Rio in general...a most friendly and charming guide. A trip well worth doing as it takes the slog out of getting to these awesome sites on your own steam.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Shane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a truly terrific experience. The tour guide was punctual, very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, had a great personality, and provided for an absolutely great visit to Brazil's most iconic landmark. We really enjoyed the early access, as it allowed us to enjoy the spectacular statue and take amazing photos without many others around. We highly recommend this tour as the very best way to enjoy Christ the Redeemer.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

ERIKA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabiana was an excellent tour guide. Unlike other tours we were on, we were actually on time for this one. Fabiana had great insight and was trilingual. We were happy to have choosen the earliest trip because as the day went by it not only got hotter but more crowded. We loved this tour and absolutely recommend it to all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Alvin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful guide. Very friendly staff. Best and most efficient way to see Cristo.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

FIONA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best time to go is first thing before the crowds arrive. Picked up on time and taken straight up. Our guide was good and made sure everyone met up at same place. We were lucky a beautiful sunny day with amazing views, not to be missed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a wonderful early morning tour to beat the crowds and get some amazing photos at the Christ Statue. highly recommend this tour. Our guide was amazing, friendly and knowledgable and made for a terrific morning tour. Enjoy the grandeur and beauty and the views !!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent way to see Christ Redeemer. The crowds can get quite packed and the lines long so go early. The tour works hard to ensure your group is the first allowed up to the statue in the morning right when they open. Even after about 10 minutes up there with just a couple other groups the crowds start pouring in so get your photos first when you arrive up there. The guide Solomon was incredibly friendly, informative and helpful. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Vehicle on time, good guide. The whole experience was great.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyable trip to Corcovado. Unfortunately a foggy day but a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Sunset Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved Rio!!. Definitely need to experience Rio on NYE! Amazing experience! Our next trip will be for Carnival.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

dennis w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Daniel was the best. He brought us to many fabulous sights. This nice young man was a credit to your company. Rio was a fantastic place to visit.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Derek C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was truly amazing! The early access was just 30 seconds extra, but it made all the difference in the world. We were able to get past all the crowds to see views of the city that simply wouldn't have been possible otherwise.

The tour guide Elaine was friendly and very flexible. This changed the dynamic from a standard, boring tour into an experience where I felt like I knew an insider!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message