Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1056 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour, nice and small with only 5 of us. I really enjoyed walking for some much of it as it meant we got to see so much more, rather than just driving in and driving out of the various stops. Anderson our guide was fantastic, recommending other things to do during our stay in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Ana Valeria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Joe was a great guide. Prompt pick up time at the hotel, they gave us a tour of Maracaná, Sambodromo, Praia de Ipanema, etc. We speak spanish and requested the tour in this language. Everything as expected. The Christ and its views are amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Derek D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joe is the best great tour thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Brigitte P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour.. we enjoyed every second!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jabari W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the cost. The Samba show was terrific, way beyond my expectations. Our tour guides Fatima and Camille were great. The only setback was having lunch and dinner at the same Brazilian steakhouse...another place would be ideal. Other than that, enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Kay.ganley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marcelo was an excellent guide. Unfortunately it rained all day so we on,y caught the train to Christ redeemer which was fun, we couldn't see anything once up there because of the thick cloud and rain. He showed us other places to make up for not seeing the Sugar Loaf and said he would take us to it the following day but we told him not to worry. He took us to a great Brazillian restaurant buffet style very nice. His English was very good I would recommend him again. Kay and Mike from New Zealand. Review rating 5 star.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour: Rainforest Beaches and Icons of Rio de Janeiro

Chris N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

had an amazing time. our guide was extremely knowledgeable and, above all, very flexible. made sure we saw everything we wanted and made sure we got back to the hotel safely. highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour: Rainforest Beaches and Icons of Rio de Janeiro

Sampath K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was nice.
The guide was good and knowledgeable.
The service was prompt and punctual

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

carcallasg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommend , enjoy our trip, only disappointment is when we got to Christ redeemer was cloudy.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Madison G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was amazing, but make sure you go on a good day. The weather is a hit or miss. It was so cloudy we couldn't see the statue. Still, a must do when traveling to Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Kylie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I throughly enjoyed this tour, walking the streets, riding on the local bus and tube and even a trolley car. We saw so much more than we expected thanks to our wonderful guide Anderson. He was so informative and patient and we just followed where he led. Anderson is fantastic and so is this day tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The views are very good.The tour guide Joe gave lots of information on the way to Christ Redeemer journey. Thank you.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Marisol P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience was amazing. One day to visit some places if you go to Rio...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a good tour. The early start meant that you arrive at the Christ Redeemer statue before other tourists and you have the best photo opportunities. The views from both the sites that were visited are good and give a different perspective of the city of Rio and its surrounding suburbs.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Angela D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was informative and amazing!! Food was good!! The only drawback was that at end of our tour they didn and #39;t drop us off at our hotel doorstep where they picked us up at! They ended up dropping us off about three blocks from our hotel. It was already dark but luckily I was with my husband!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Jan M Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great guide, well organized tour in a nice bus. Definitely worth booking as a complete one day package with typical local lunch!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Beckybox

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable, interesting and humbling tour. Walking round the favelas is an experience. People are friendly and welcoming. Waited around for the tram, but gave up. Seralon stairs are definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I did the Christ the redeemer your with viator in April very good tour although early but the best time to go

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

frqtflyr

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Rather disappointing. For one, the company policy is to switch guides halfway through the tour. Which makes tipping awkward. And the second guide, while nice enough, was quite repetitive, We spent 5 hours of the 9 hour tour in traffic sure, there's lots of construction in Rio with the upcoming Olympics, but... The time would have been better spent getting out and walking around interesting neighborhoods like Lapa and Santa Teresa. In fact, the description was misleading. Sounded like we'd see more of the historical districts -- and not just from the bus. Then there's the inevitable shilling the guides permit and even encourage. A real disappointment, other than the beautiful city.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Eric B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I found the tour to be OK. I enjoyed the locations and lunch. These were good. I paid about 3 times what other tours were priced in hopes to have a better quality tour. I recommend using a different provider.

Here is what didn't work:
I did not enjoy that this tour just lumps together a large amount of people. I paid what I felt was a premium for an English speaking tour and ended up with a homogenized group of Portugese, English, and Spanish. This meant that every time our tour guide spoke, they would say the same thing three times while the location they were describing was long gone. Of the 20 or so people there, 5 were English speakers.

Have you ever had someone repeat something to you because they think you are too stupid to get it the first time? Alguma vez você já teve alguém repetir algo para você, porque eles pensam que são demasiado estúpidos para obtê-lo pela primeira vez? Ha tenido alguien repetir algo para usted, ya que piensan que son demasiado estúpidos para conseguirlo la primera vez?

In addition, when you get on the bus you are handed a multi-language audio mp3 player and dirty set of headphones I used my own headphones so I could still try this tour feature out. The sound quality was poor. If I wanted to do this tour digitally, I would have watched videos on youtube.

Speaking of video, we were followed around all day by 2 camera men. If you are going to video record a tour you'd better be invisible. The giant 1980s tv camera was so visually obtrusive during my sightseeing that it disrupted my trip. At the end you had the audacity to try and sell me a DVD! If you want to do video correctly in this day an age you need to use small cameras like GoPro 4 Black or a Canon Vixia G50. As a consumer I want something that will work on YouTube or Vimeo. Better yet, if you really want to help with my memories, hire a professional photographer who uses a Canon EOS 5D Mark III or better. I'm willing to pay 5-10 for a good photo of me.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

SAMEER ALI B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

unfortunately I did not do this tour, because the company apology and told me that they have no enough passengers to fly at least 3
so please return my booking fee.
thanks

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour and Christ Redeemer Statue Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message