Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1029 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ELLEN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I enjoyed the tour and thought the lunch was good. Our guides were good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour with a fabulous guide. Early trip up to the statue before the crowds arrived fantastic experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Overlooking the disaster about missing the pick-up yesterday for the Sugar Loaf mountain tour,
today's tour guide excelled track down his name. Over and above courtesy and assistance.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Theodoros K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time! Our guide Eliane was excellent! Thank u!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent. Ariived at Christ Redeemer well before anyone else arrived. The guide Marcus was informative, helpful and pleasant. I would recommend Viator trips to anyone, I have used three trips in the past few days when travelling in Peru and Rio and every day has been handled smoothly and professionally.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip, great tour guide, very informative, the view from sugarloaf mountain fantastic, would have been the same from Christ redeemer unfortunately weather let us down was very overcast and cloudy after a day raining. Would highly recommended booking via victor again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Richard K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Early access means that you get to the ticket booth when it opens by taking a van there. Most tourists take the train up, which the first train doesn't get to the ticket booths until 30 mins after they've opened. You get some good time at the statue with relatively few people around, which is nice. Our tour was a group of a Spanish family, and us an American couple, so the guide spent time speaking both Spanish and English. Sugar Loaf was pretty standard, you go up for the views! Which are great if it's a clear day! I recommend checking the weather before booking!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Janice F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guides and mode of travel great but overall too slow, could have done the trip in half a day. Was not interested in spending hours at an all you can eat buffet ! Really we are in Rio and time is precious.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Nathan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel is one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Super funny, knowledgable, and popular amongst everyone. Gee we had fun this trip! Such a great vibe, and because there were so many different elements to it - by the end you are completely satisfied. A truly magical day and a massive highlight of our time in Rio. Thank you Daniel for such a great experience!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Trudy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour gets 5 stars for delivering what it promises. Our group was the only group there. We took pictures with no obstruction and we were able to walk around without the large crowds. Guillermo our your guide was very knowledgeable and spoke several language. This tour is a must

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel ! highly recommend him, we had a blast walking around and listening to a very knowledgable young man. very energetic, easy to talk to and caring for all of us in the walking tour. We met awesome people :

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Although it was raining an very foggy we had a blast :

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Tirsa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour and I highly recommend. My husband and I, had the Christ Redeemer Statue to ourselves for 7mins before the crowds started to show up. Our tour guide Gil short for something else was very knowledgeable about Brazil and Brazilian history.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Kayla F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guides, Gui and Bruno were incredible! Very personable and knowledgeable. The hike itself was a bit of a challenge - sometimes having to use all fours to get up the side of the mountain in very hot temperatures - but the trees offered shade. We were lucky enough to see capuchin monkeys and a whole family of marmosets! The Christ the Redeemer statue is iconic, so it was incredible to see it up close, but the hike itself is the highlight of this tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Early access was wonderful. We had a great view of Christ Redeemer Statue and a smooth transition over to Sugar Loaf Mountain. The views at both sights were amazing and Patricia our tour guide was wonderful!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Jolantataverner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, very good lunch

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Dimple P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Myself and my 3 friends booked this day tour prior to coming out to Rio - we read all the reviews and this tour package was definitely worth the price. We got so much done in the day than we would have otherwise on our own. The one off cost we paid worked out to be cheaper than what we would have paid individually for the different sites. Everything was well organised and tour guides were competent in English. As our hotel was away from Copacabana, prior to the day, we were given a pick up address with clear directions which really helped! The lunch time buffet was great! As vegetarians, the tour guide spent her own lunch time talking us through what was what and suitable for us - really helpful and appreciate her going out of the way. The bus we traveled in was very comfy and air conditioned, which helped a lot in the humidity. Overall, the tour was well organised and just perfect for us, people who had very limited time to spend in Rio. It was an experience to visit the landmarks, Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf mountain - we have some great pictures and memories. Would definitely recommend this tour - just be wary that everything is done in a timely manner, so you might not get to spend as much time as you would like in some places, as you have to keep going to stick to schedule! That's the beauty of tours.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Gene S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a small 15 person bus that picked us up at our hotel as scheduled at 7:30AM. This was to facilitate an early arrival at the statue. We were the second group to go up so there was lots of room to take pictures and appreciate the views. Our guide, Fabiana, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We really enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend the early start.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Ivan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If your main interest is to see the Christ statue do not book this tour.
They advertise key places like Christ statue and Santa Teresa in order to hook you and spend most of the time in the Favela which I personally found depressing and not that safe, especially for women.
The guide left the trip to the Christ statue to the very end conveniently after the Favela tour when visibility is the worst and you will most likely have to cancel which is what happened in our case. The best time to go to the Christ is before or around noon.
The restaurant choice was extremely bad. Instead of going to a nice restaurant to try typical Brazilian food, we were taken to a very mediocre weigh and pay type restaurant.
While driving through the city the guide just sat in the front chatting with the driver instead of telling us where we were driving by.
Not recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

annette v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Good sights, but spent WAY too much time waiting around. Guide seemed disorganized. For example, after lunch, we waited about 1/2 hour outside the restaurant for the bus, then walked to another location about 4 blocks away, waited another 1/2 hour for the bus! Same thing at end of tour. SAME TOUR, if booked through the hotel was less than HALF THE PRICE. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

David N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

A really poor tour. We had to go to several hotels to pick up which the guide was clearly unhappy with as it took so long. Then we waited half an hour at some very ordinary church for cruisers who never arrived. So we had no city tour! Sugar Loaf was ordinary and we had to queue for nearly two hours for tickets. Christ the Redeemer was massively disappointing. Yes good views but so crowded it was difficult to move and with no room there is no sense of perspective on the statue. Bloody selfie sticks! Should be banned at crowded sites. A poor tour and definitely not worth the money. Avoid

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message