• USD ($)
  • English

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 517 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip, tour was as described, guide was excellent and very informative about the places visited. Although the Private Tour is obviously more expensive would recommend it (over a larger group tour) as we were able to move around at our pace. Given the amount of queuing involved for train (to ascend Corcovado) and the cable car (at Sugar Loaf) I could imagine a lot of time being wasted waiting for a large group to organise itself at the various locations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rio de Janeiro Customizable City Sightseeing with Optional Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a must see tour if you don't do anything else in Rio de Janeiro. It was a day well spent. My only criticism was that the tour guide was not wearing anything that indicated Viator or the local tour company so in the beginning of the tour there was a bit of chaos to keep up with him and getting mixed with other tour companies. However, this didn't detract much from the overall experience.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pick up from the hotel was exactly as planned. Would have liked a little more time at Christ the Redeemer to view the city at the different levels. It was a bit crowded and that also caused a slight delay but a spectacular place to visit. The guide was specific with instructions and descriptions of the area.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a really good tour the weather was hot and sunny and the guides very good.We enjoyed the views from Christ the Redemer and Sugar Loaf exellent tour thanks.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

An amazing experience and not to be missed. We were collected at our hotel on time by a lovely lady who was our guide for the trip. She spoke perfect English and was very professional. We would definitely recommend this tour for people who are visiting Rio and are not confident of going alone.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Enjoyable, good accommodation, excursion a little expensive, quite a large group for the guide, but excellent group for company

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was well organised, but unfortunately the weather was wet and foggy and we didn't see anything from the lookouts, especially "Christ the Redeemer". Lunch wasn't very good.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

GREAT TRIP
HAD TO QUEUE QUITE A WHILE IN THE HOT SUN WHILE PEOPLE WHO HAD NOT BOOKED WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FRONT AT SUGAR LOAF MOUNTAIN.
LUNCH NOT VERY GOOD AND TOO LONG.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Nice tour guide. Memorable tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The tour was supposed to start at 8 am. When I called in I was told I would be picked up at 8:35 and was finally picked up at 9:15. Although it was supposed to be an "English" tour, much of the time the guide spoke in Italian to accomodate one group. Nice but not really helpful to the rest of us. The city tour could have been better with more stops.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We spent 9.5 hours for about 4 hours of viewing. Our guides spoke barely passable English. Most of the time w as spent driving around in circles and picking up participants. Our second guide didn't even ride with us to our hotel. Would NOT recommend!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We were made to wait 45 minutes before we started because another passenger had not shown up. The tour bus was very crowded and there were 5 languages represented so there was virtually no explanation of anything. We wasted another hour as we went to over a dozen hotels to pick others up. After we went to Corcovado we asked the guide if he could get us a ride directly back to the cruise terminal rather than retrace our steps and take another precious 90 minutes. He agreed but then the van he arranged had to drop another couple off at Copacabana beach so while we likely saved a bit of time we were still back to the ship over 2 hours late. Bottom line... this was not a tour, it was very poor transportation to Corcovado. We only had two days in Rio and thanks to this tour we wasted a huge percentage of one. I will not be booking any more tours thru Viator.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

It was cloudy the afternoon that we went. So visibility was limited. Apart from that, the tour only takes you to the tram, purchases your ticket and drops you back to the hotel. The tour doesnt enable you to skip lines or get better views. Better off doing it on your own.. And much cheaper.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message