Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 833 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Definitely go early to beat the crowd. It makes a huge difference!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

donghenz
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is EXCELLENT!
It was a right choice that i picked the Early access to the Statue. The pick up time was just okay, not so early yet we arrived there as the first visitor in the place. Carmen was great and helpful. She is knowledgeable and full of excitement. She also offered us to take photos one by one.
We own the place on the early minutes. By the time we already had gone to every corner of the statue and the viewing deck, the crowd started to appear.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour provider was fine. The problem with our trip was based on the last couple not being ready on time, and apparently not providing the right name to their hotel. We ended up being about 40 minutes late, which of course meant we didn't get there before everyone else. However, we were still early enough that only about 30 people were already there, but five minutes after we arrived there were about 100 people there. The concept is good, but if you have late participants, it ruins the whole point of paying the money for the early access tour. Again, not the tour company's fault. Great idea. Would be nice if they had a sunrise tour...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

This tour was marred by bad weather, and it was a bit annoying hearing 3 different languages on the tour. Stopping at the hotels was also a bit annoying. The Brazillian steakhouse was great, and it was fun walking around the fruit market.

Doing what: Best Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Kevin
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour. Great way to experience a lot of Rio sites in one day.

Doing what: Best Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved seeing Rio from both Sugar Loaf and Corcovdo and the fun ride on the cog railway. The rhythms of the samba show were really great, along with the costumes.

Doing what: Best Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

After being picked up at 7am on the dot, we picked up two more couples and we were off tour ended up just being five people total. Along the way the guide made pleasant conversation and pointed out items of interest . Once towards the top of the summit, we switched vans to a van operated by the attraction. When we reached the top, we were the only people up there. It was incredible and almost unreal! They are not lying when they say you can get completely unobstructed photos. We got 30 minutes up there more than enough time and headed back. I was back in my hotel room by 11am. Some tips: Bring warm clothes even if its warm at your hotel. Tends to get chilly up there. Also, look for the silver Mercedes van when trying to identify which bus you are on.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see both attractions. We didn't quite make the sunset, but had a wonderful full moon that evening. Pick up and drop off was seamless. And our guide and driver were both friendly and helpful in answering any questions.

Doing what: Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Sunset Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed this tour the most. The tour guides were very nice, informative, and personable. They made sure we had enough time and had everyone present before leaving.

Doing what: Best Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very informative and personable, unfortunately I forgot his name! The cog train through the forest was definitely worth it versus taking a car to the top. The departure time 2pm made it a bit difficult to take pictures sun but we made it work. We went on a Wednesday and it was not crowded no line to enter, but I imagine the weekend to be packed making this tour perfect for those who want to skip the line!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Very nice tour, but would make one recommendation. For the full day tour, I would recommend the second half of the day pick-ups be completed during lunch. The group waited nearly an hour after lunch on the bus picking up more people.

Doing what: Best Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was great. Early Access allows you to take all the pics you want without waiting for others to move.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour with the best tour guide - JB. He was knowledgeable, entertaining and efficient. But we never felt rushed. We learned a lot as we went through the city on the way to Sugar Loaf. Loved the stop at the modern Sao Sabastiao Cathedral. The time at sugar loaf was fabulous. Great photo ops. We then had lunch in Ipanema and another tour guide accompanied us up on the train to the top of Corcovado for photo ops with Christ Redeemer and spectacular photo ops. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Best Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

LOVED LOVED LOVED this Tour. You definitely feel like a local during this tour. you get the real deal of the real RIO. Our Tour guide Ivan is the best! he was very detailed and patient with us. this is definitely a MUST DO!!!!! be prepared to do alot of walking but it is totally worth it. i learned so much.

Thank you so much IVAN!!!!!

Jess

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really great experience! It's better to go early, as you only have a few minutes to capture your best shots before the crowds! Kiata spelling may not be right was great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

All the timing was right, a little rush but it was a complete day tour. Excellent Guide and drivers. Will take another tour with them if possible.

Doing what: Best Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was excellent. We managed to come very early, in a very good weather. We avoided the crowd, and enjoyed the magnificent statue in peace. We took the tour with Leonardo, our guide for the trip. Leonardo is wonderful, he explained everything during the whole trip, he maintained the group, he even did full effort to take picture of the group by laying on the ground, so that we can have our background the full frame of Christ statue. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was outstanding, Sugar Loaf Mountain had a view that was unbelievable, Corcovado was amazing, and the Samba Show was fantastic. Note the all you could eat lunch and dinner was excellent, I ate until I could not eat another thing. I am already making plans to return to Rio and I will use your agency to book my tours.

Doing what: Best Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent trip! There were only 4 of us on this tour, and it was all very professional. Vincent, our guide, was top class, and made the experience most enjoyable. Beforehand I was a little apprehensive about the cable car ride up Sugar Loaf, but to be honest, I shouldn't have worried at all! It's not in any way frightening, but in fact a lot of fun!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guides were very professional, friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Love the trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message