• USD ($)
  • English

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Exelent, I recomended 100 por cent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Took the cog train up the mountain. As you disembark you face the Statue. Dream come true and the view of Rio De Janeiro is something out of this world. You haven't been to Brazil if you don't do this trip.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything ran quite smoothly. The tour guides have everything lined up for you and there is no waiting in line. It was crowded but we were able to move around and see everything we wanted to see. it is really a must view if you are in Rio. Just pay attention to the weather forecasts. There were days that we could not see the mountain from our apartment in Ipanema.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide -- JB-- was excellent!

Great scenery and video footage.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a good day, tour was about 45 mins late. But we got there an enjoyed it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

good tour, have to keep your fingers crossed for clear weather, was very foggy the day we went otherwise it was a very pleasant day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to traffic it took the bus forever to reach the train to the statute. Being a group, we did not stand in line very long before boarding the train. It was a gray and cloudy afternoon as we started our ride up the mountain. When we got up to the top, the statute was enshroud in mist and fog. It gave our experience a moving, religious one--Christ would appear then disappear within the clouds. No views of the city so we stopped in the restaurant near the top and watched a World Cup match until it was time to head back down. Our informative guide told us about various parts of the city as we drove by. We were dropped off at the same spot where we boarded(we chose a location near where we were staying in Ipanama.). So, I suggest this tour no matter what the weather....it is a special part of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a tour in a large coach bus but the guide was informative and spoke English. We wound up taking a cab back to our hotel because 4 people missed the tram to the bottom of the hill and we would have waited another 30 minutes, but not a big deal.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The viator staff was really nice and picked me up on time.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Late for pick up, but all else wAs GREAT! Thank u!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is probably actually 5 stars. I'm giving it 4 stars because they were doing construction/maintenance on the statue while we were there. My issue with that is that we were there during the World Cup when millions of people were visiting Brazil and Rio and it didn't make sense to work on it during this time. This is not the fault of the tour company but all the scaffolding kind of ruined many of the pictures. Also WAY too many people up there at the same time. But it is a great tour, amazing views, breathtaking experience and if you're in Rio I would not miss this tour. You can drive up or take the train up and I would recommend the train (we did both). I also recommend the 2pm tour because you get to be up there in the daylight for the stunning views but it also gets dark enough early enough (in late June) that you also get to see the sunset and the statue lit up.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall this was a good experience. The tour guide didnt explain very much to us while we were at the site. There were a ton of people on the mountain at the same time so it was very cramped up there. I would have to say you would do better to go earlier in the day to beat the crowd. This tour is a decent value but if you want to beat the crowds skip this tour and do it on your own earlier in the day.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

A must see place while in Rio. A pleasant tour bus ride to the cable car station. The tour guide gave us a few interesting facts about Rio and the Christ Redeemer Statue. Did not have to wait on line for the ride up to the mountain. A long wait for the cable car coming down (no group tour special express line). In hindsight, feel like I could have done it by myself.....

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Worth seeing, totally amazing. The tour however wasn't worth the extra money, and added no value to the tour. Do it on your own!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This was a terrible experience I was so disappointed. My wife and I had setup the tour prior to departing on our trip to Rio de Janeiro. To our surprise we learned that tours during the busy World Cup event, in fact, did not have and advantages as far as early admission. The tour started picked us up at 2 pm from the hotel by the time they picked everyone up and we arrived at the tour location it was well past four. By the time we arrived at Christ Redeemer it was so late we could not see anything but fog/clouds. We were better off on our own as I later learned.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message