Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Statue of Christ the Redeemer (Cristo Redentor)

Keeping a watchful eye over the people of Rio de Janeiro, the Statue of Christ the Redeemer (or Cristo Redentor) sits atop Corcovado 2,300 feet (700 meters) above the city. It was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 694 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Joe was excellent.
He was very attentive with all his passengers and was able to communicate in three different languages in this tour.
Marcel the driver was very good at manoeuvring around Rio and its traffic.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Leonardo was an expert guide. We initially thought we were ripped off with the early access, but found out we actually did have early access even though it was quite crowded. In the afternoon when we were leaving they stopped anyone from coming up until several loads of people left!!!!! It is a must see/do while in Rio....like the other hordes of people who feel the same way.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Ivan the guide was amazing! He was full of local information and made the whole tour exceptional! Well done to him and the tour company....make sure you wear good shoes....I wore flip flops and my feet were very sore by the end of the day....my own fault!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The helicopter tour by itself - is breathtaking! The ride to the station and back was endless.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Confusing to chsnge guides 3 times but otherwise great!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very expensive for a half day tour. A relief to get to the statue when about half the crowd was there. Sugarloaf mountain was up to expectations but you would need perfect weather conditions to avoid the haze when taking photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Robert P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour and Lewis our guide was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Disappointed to find other groups at the statue before us. I thought there would be no crowds. Guide was good and very helpful but because of crowds there, we could have done with more time

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

What you see makes this trip amazing, but I think all of us were frustrated by how much time was wasted by our tour guide, Yeda! She walks too slowly and micromanages us too much that we didn't get to see as much. Needs to be on time and be more efficient about everything, even driver drove slowly.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Tom
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Sugarloaf and Christo, the draws of the tour were excellent; we had clear skies and a great view. Our impression of the tour though was that it was very disorganized and it caused a distraction from the main events. We did not get to some of the advertised events (ie museum of fine arts) and tickets to events were not pre-booked by the tour group, causing unproductive time just waiting around. It is a multi-lingual tour as well, which makes the tour information harder to follow; particularly for details of where to gather and when at the end of each event. The full day tour is also apparently a combination of two half day tours, with people being picked up midday.
We have been on a number of successful Viator tours, but this was ultimately not one of them.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The tour cost $78 for not much of a tour at all. We were only allocated 30 minutes there by the guide and rushed to leave. ln retrospect it was not worth it and I wish I traveled independently there to truly have the time to soak in the beauty of statue and everything around it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Was kind of a waste of money in my opinion, not organised and kind of a shambles! When we got to christ after 2 hours we couldn't see him because of fog and the workers at christ said this time of day is the worst time to come to see him so our tour should of told us that.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message