Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour with great views!!!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Not only Sugar Loaf Mountain, but a tour of the city with many landmarks pointed out and a stop at the stunning Cathedral which was a pleasant surprise,

Very efficient, on time, friendly well informed tour guide and air conditioned coach.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Superb - very competent guide, taking care and giving a lot of good suggestions what to do and where to eat.

Doing what: Small-Group Rio de Janeiro in a Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing experience. The views of Rio from above are spectacular. The air time is short but we felt like we got our money's worth.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very fun tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. She shared a lot of history of the monument and of Rio. We were able to get to the monument before the public started to arrive. It was nice to experience it and get to take photos without hundreds of others milling about. I did not take the Sugar Loaf part of the tour, I did that on my own and enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a good trip. The dinner before the Samba show was very good. sights were great to see - only if the weather was better. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

it is good for the sugarloaf, but for corcovado mountain, it's a little pricy.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really enjoyed the tour. Guide was wonderful. Small group so you weren't rushed. Only problem was that didn't have a number for the tour company in Rio so I could confirm my tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I was only visiting Rio for a meeting and had one day to hit the city so the tour was ideal for me.I was able to see most of the famous places without much hassle.
My suggestions would be to allow more time at the attraction 30 and 45 mins respectively at sugar loaf and Christ statue after all days work was bit annoying.Be prepared to spend a lot of time in bus so a) should have good company or b) good music collection on your gadget or 3) make friends on the tour which we did..

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed the tour of the downtown area prior to trip to Sugar Loaf. Informative guide and great bus. Couldn't have asked for more. Views of Rio were incredible and the cable car ride was less scary than we thought.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We understood that this was an all day (8 till 5) english tour as described. We were picked up at 8:45 not 8:00 , then driven around for about an hour picking up other passengers. It turned out the guide was describing the tour in three other languages besides english, which seriously slowed the progress. As a result, and following a great deal of confusion about who was eligible for lunch, we did not finish lunch till 3:00pm. It was estimated at that point that the tour would not finish till about 8:00pm. Since we had to leave our hotel for the airport by 5:30pm, we left the tour and took a taxi back to our hotel, having only done half the tour. Never again!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

While Sugar Loaf is stunning, the tour was poor, More than half of the time was spent collecting and then dropping off participants from their hotels. The tour guide was silent during most of the time while we drove through Ipanema and Copacobana never pointing out anything of interest. Most his commentary was conducted in Spanish with abbreviated versions in English. At Sugar Loaf we were rushed up and down only to have to wait for more than 40 minutes for the bus to arrive. This was a very disappointing tour.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

Very poor! Agent picked up clients from 10 hotels before the trip started, she was not motivated and did not know much about Rio. If I took a cab, I would have had the same experience in less time and for much cheaper. Worst tour ever!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

The morning trip to Sugar Loaf was great. Superb Guide. However, they made an unnecessary detour for lunch at Ipanema and back tracked to Corcovado Mountain after lunch. Wasted at least 45 minutes for this detour. By the way, lunch at this restaurant was below average.

Visited Christ Redeemer in the afternoon. Major wrong decision as the sun is at the back of the statue.Not possible to take a good overall photo of the statue. I have read comments on this before but I guess the tour agency handling this tour could not care less about tourist and their photos!

Spend about 1 hour on Suger Loaf and 45 minutes on Christ Redeemer. The rest of the day is travelling time!!!!

Overall, a big waste of previous vacation time!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message