Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 590 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent. Both Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf have to be seen to be believed. The tour itself was very easy and the guide and the driver were both professional and friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent. Both Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf have to be seen to be believed. The tour itself was very easy and the guide and the driver were both professional and friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent. Both Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf have to be seen to be believed. The tour itself was very easy and the guide and the driver were both professional and friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Ally Munro
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This full day is a great way to see the main highlights of Rio all together, particularly if you are short on time to spend in this wonderful city

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I thought this was a great way to see these two spots in Rio. We were picked up on time, our tour guide was knowledgeable and sped things along so we had time at both spots. It was a small group of about 7 so that helped, the driver was safe and friendly as well. I have heard from others about their horrible experience at these sites because of the crowds/lines/heat and I am super happy we decided to get up early and do this tour this way. We didn't have to waste time eating/snacking or seeing other things we didn't want to. We also went on a weekday which I think helped alot. If you can, book on a weekday. Our guide was Patricia.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Be sure to take the "Beat The Crowds Tour" as it becomes difficult to get up and down the mountain by 10 AM

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome day with a great travel guide. We only had one issue, it just happened to be cloudy that day to really enjoy the Christ the Redeemer Statue but no fault of the tour of course. One person spoke of the lunch was more like a dinner and it was. It was very good though.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour was as expected. It's a great way to see part of the city and key attractions. Loved Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. The views were spectacular! I give the attractions 5 stars.

The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, helpful. and pleasant. Actually they were fireballs. Full of energy! I give the guides 5 stars.

The lunch was so, so and would give it 3 stars. Dinner was excellent and would give it 5 stars!

The Samba show wasn't bad. Parts of it went too long and you could tell it was filler as the dancers were preparing for the next set. You are getting a taste of what Samba is about and about 10% of what you would see at Carnival. So don't have the expectation of a five star show. I would give it 3 stars.

Because you are seeing so much, plus lunch and dinner and a show, it makes for a very long day, so be prepared. Wear comfy shoes and clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Be prepared to spend at least 4-5 hours of your day standing around waiting. Tour guides add little value to the tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was nice to have tickets already, but we bought the full day tour and they took us to the same restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Also, we tried confirming with the company 48 hrs ahead of time and could not get through. They almost didn't let us on the tour!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Sights were great and great recap for people with not a lot of time on their hands.

However, our visit was in three languages ; hard to pay attention; Should arrange trips with 1 language only.

Long waitng times but not due to the activities themselves. Had to wait a few times for the bus between activities (a call ahead to the driver would have been more efficient)

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

As the tour was a combination of two half day tours and some people only joined for half a day there was too much picking up and leaving at hotels. The lunch was a disappointment, seefood restaurant??? The sights were marvellous and the guides nice.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

If you like to spend a lot of time on a coach driving back and forth to hotel pick ups then this is the trip for you. Otherwise I would recommend taking a taxi to each site and buying tickets on the day. The trip lasted about 10 hours, only about 3-4 of which were probably spent at Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain (they are both about 3 km in opposite directions from the Copacabana are). Almost 3 hrs were spent at lunch which was a cold piece of fish or steak and overpriced drinks. The guide was ok, pointed out things as we drove past on the bus, but why does the tour guide need to stand in line to buy our tickets ? Surely thgis should be done in advance so that the group do not have to stand around waiting for 40 mins. Both sites are certainly worth a visit for the beautiful views but this tour could have been a lot shorter if they did not combine two half day tours and have so many hotel pick ups in the middle of the day. Disappointed with both tours I have done orgainsed with this tour operator. The tour is also overpriced for what it is when you see the actual ticket prices ... tickets to the sites are about £15 per person, so if you can fill a taxi it would probably be a better idea, but get to them early.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message