• USD ($)
  • English

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 438 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip, tour was as described, guide was excellent and very informative about the places visited. Although the Private Tour is obviously more expensive would recommend it (over a larger group tour) as we were able to move around at our pace. Given the amount of queuing involved for train (to ascend Corcovado) and the cable car (at Sugar Loaf) I could imagine a lot of time being wasted waiting for a large group to organise itself at the various locations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rio de Janeiro Customizable City Sightseeing with Optional Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a must see tour if you don't do anything else in Rio de Janeiro. It was a day well spent. My only criticism was that the tour guide was not wearing anything that indicated Viator or the local tour company so in the beginning of the tour there was a bit of chaos to keep up with him and getting mixed with other tour companies. However, this didn't detract much from the overall experience.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a really good tour the weather was hot and sunny and the guides very good.We enjoyed the views from Christ the Redemer and Sugar Loaf exellent tour thanks.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The bus, which was clean and comfortable, arrived at our hotel on time and the tour guide was friendly, professional and informative. Being collected and dropped back at the hotel took away all our worries about how we would find our way and we felt perfectly safe on this trip. We really enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone who is a visitor to Rio.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Enjoyable, good accommodation, excursion a little expensive, quite a large group for the guide, but excellent group for company

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was well organised, but unfortunately the weather was wet and foggy and we didn't see anything from the lookouts, especially "Christ the Redeemer". Lunch wasn't very good.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

GREAT TRIP
HAD TO QUEUE QUITE A WHILE IN THE HOT SUN WHILE PEOPLE WHO HAD NOT BOOKED WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FRONT AT SUGAR LOAF MOUNTAIN.
LUNCH NOT VERY GOOD AND TOO LONG.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The tour was supposed to start at 8 am. When I called in I was told I would be picked up at 8:35 and was finally picked up at 9:15. Although it was supposed to be an "English" tour, much of the time the guide spoke in Italian to accomodate one group. Nice but not really helpful to the rest of us. The city tour could have been better with more stops.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

We spent 9.5 hours for about 4 hours of viewing. Our guides spoke barely passable English. Most of the time w as spent driving around in circles and picking up participants. Our second guide didn't even ride with us to our hotel. Would NOT recommend!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide Jean Baptiste aka JB is awesome. Well ran and very informative throughout. We got great views of Sugarloaf, the history of the city/mountain plus JB's witty banter in between. Great, I would recommend,

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It's was all around good tour, and lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour with spectacular sights.
Very skilled and knowledgeable guides .
The trip should be mandatory to all who visit Rio and are not afraid of heights.
Absolutely recommendable

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Hi,we had a Great Day Out ,the tour guide was very good ,no complaines ,thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable tour and the views breathtaking.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message