Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 479 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised. Pick up from the Hotel was good and then in general we loved the tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour. Picked up a little late, but didn't really affect the day. We were in a very comfortable bus with a nice and knowledgable tour guide (sorry, I can't remember the name). She spoke very good English and showed interest in who was on her tour.

Whilst driving to the cable cars to make our ascent, the tour guide gave lots of interesting information about landmarks and locations we were driving past.

The views from Sugar Loaf and the halfway point where you also stop off (again, the name hasn't quite stuck in my memory!) are amazing and make the whole trip worth while on it's own. We had a good time to look around and take some snaps, but not long enough to get bored. The tour guide gave us some more interesting facts about the mountain and the city and was happy to answer questions.

We then went on a city tour which I guess was included but I didn't actually notice at booking, so a nice bonus! We visited the location ot Carneval which was semi-interesting (to me anyway) and the [insert name here!] cathedral that, in my opinion, was fairly ugly! But again, an interesting journey around parts of the city we weren't aware of.

If you want to visit Sugar Loaf, this trip is perfect. We were back by 1 and had the rest of the afternoon to enjoy Copacabana #karmmm

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It's so nice to do these tours without having to wait in line for the tickets. We were able to get off the bus and go straight onto the line for the cable car, instead of waiting in the 2 hour line to buy the tickets to get onto the mountain. The views from Sugar Loaf mountain are breathtaking! Our tour guide adjusted the amount of time we got to stay up there due to the extremely long lines to get to Sugar Loaf from the smaller mountain. We didn't take the bus back to the hotel. Instead we opted to have lunch in Urca, a neighborhood referred to by the locals as the place "where the rich people live." It was breathtakingly beautiful!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fun ride and breathtaking views!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour is great.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Tour with Luis. He was great and the views were amazing. One piece advice is to sit backward going up so you can get some great pictures when the forest has a clearing!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Not bad, but not life-changing either. Great to see views and appreciate Swiss technology on the cable car (fast, smooth, and efficient!). However, weather was overcast so ensure to book and tour during the sunny months!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Alex H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sights themselves were great, but the tour itself was very average.

Firstly, we selected an English guide, and although the guide spoke excellent English, there were several other nationalities of people there, which meant we he had to say everything 5 times. Which whilst extremely impressive meant we got very little information in English.

Secondly, there was A LOT of waiting around. Because it was a huge coach, not a small minibus, a huge amount of time was spent dropping people of and picking people up. There was also way too much time allocated for lunch. There should have been at least 30mins less. Everyone was wandering around nearby shops trying to kill time before the tour restarted.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip; wonderful scenery aided by a clear day. A must do experience on any trip to Rio with the added bonus of a visit to the modern City Cathedral with the sun reflecting through its impressive stained glass windows. Only downside was my husband inadvertently dropping his ticket on the tour bus and being unable to take the trip with the tour group. He found it as soon as we were able to access the bus on its return journey and as it was valid for use returned in the afternoon and described it as being the best mistake in his life as he was up Sugar Loaf when the sunset - an awesome sight!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great half day tour

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing views of entire Rio De Janeiro beaches.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyable experience and tour guide kept it interesting.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. 5+++

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very long day but was the best way to see all of the main sites in one day. The weather can be a big factor on this tour. Fortunately we had clear skies and moderate temperatures on the day we went on the tour. The lunch offering at the restaurant stop was adequate but not that great. I was not that impressed with the meals offered.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a pretty day we had for our tour of Rio and Sugar Loaf. The bus picked us up at 8:20am and dropped us off at 2pm. Traffic was lighter then usual so we made it to the tram in good time. We were thankful we signed up for a morning tour as the lines were very LONG when we finished up. Our guide was okay--not as informative as the one we had the prior day for the Christ the Statute tour. We felt we did not need quite as much time on the top of Sugar Loaf as was allotted but it was fine. The views of the city and coast were wonderful to see as you were climbing up in the tram car. Afterwards, we enjoyed going to the Carnival site and seeing some of the costumes worn in the Parade but the stop at the modern Cathedral was special. As soon as our tour was done, we had to head to the airport so it was a perfect ending to our World Cup stay in Rio!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message