Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 674 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Early morning access to Christ Redeemer Statue is definitely the way to go. No crowds to contend with. No wasted time with large tour groups. We were so well taken care of and had lots of time to look around and take photos. Corcovado and Christ Redeemer Statue are sights not to be missed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour,hotel pick up and drop off,tour guides were very good,lunch was amazing10/10

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth the early access as the statue area filled up quickly. It would have been nice to have a little more time at some of the stops to browse a bit more. But overall...great tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was perfect.....the benefit of he early access meant that we could comfortable observe the hrist the edeemer masterpiece and take photos without random tourists photo bombing my pictures. Well worth the money

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is an excellent tour as it gives access before the crowds get there and it was only a small group with an excellent guide We loved the tour

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic. We were the very first group to the Christ Redeemer statue, only 10 or so total people up there while we were there, unbelievable. Vincent was very knowledgeable about the statue, sugarloaf, and Brazil and Rio in general and gave us lots of little facts and tips. He also whistled and got monkeys to come to us while on Sugar Loaf. A great all around experience, would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very pleased with the tour, good guides and comfortable bus. Pick up was 3/4 of an hour latem which gave some cause for concern otherwise fine

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We found this tour very good except it took too long to pick everyone up from all the different hotels I would book a smaller tour next time Guide was excellent

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Igor
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The Samba Show was pretty average, the venue was run down and the dinner was in the city, at the same place and with same menu as for the lunch... The Corcovado and Sugar Loaf tours were fine.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The visit to Christ the Redeemer was fine although I had booked the pre-opening tour so I could be at the statue before the main crowds. I think everyone else had the same idea-I couldn't believe the huge crowds doing the same.
We then visited Sugar Loaf which was an anti-climax after seeing the Statue first. In fact the crowds at Sugar Loaf were so big that we queued for an hour just to get to the entrance.In reflection I would have been just as happy to settle for the Christ Redeemer statue and give Sugar Loaf a complete miss.

Our guide was very knowledgeable but a lot of time was spent just waiting around. I feel that if the tour guests are not at the pickup spots on time the rest of the passengers should not be expected to wait for 15-20 minutes for the selfish tourists.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful tour, the sights are amazing our tour guide was so wonderful, she even took time after the tour ended to help us around Rio, THANK YOU!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour fantastic Guides. Would recommend for sure

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Clear weather beautiful view , our tour guid was very friendly and informative!
I had this tour with luch totally worth it!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

twills
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everthing went like clockwork. Small delay in picking up other tourists from hotels but nothing to complain about. Views were amazing and we went straight to head of queues every time. guides spoke alllanguages and things were at an easy pace. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great trip with the tour guide picking us up and giving us a great commentary. Sugar Loaf was fantastic, the meal was even better but it clouded over when we got to Corcovado Mountain. But that wasn't the fault of the Company. Great day all in all. Thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great day with Carmen in Rio on Sunday, March 8. We met at a convenient downtown hotel and were taken via mini-bus to see Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf. Can't say enough about going early!! We were at the statue even before the gift shops opened which proved to be a great advantage. As the guide books all say, go early for the best weather and the smallest crowds. Truer words were never spoken!! Carmen was delightful and gave us wonderful insights to the area. At the conclusion of the tour, she offered to take us to an authentic local churrascaria restaurant for lunch - a real treat! One of our group had spent time in Rio and gave the place a thumbs-up, so we knew we were in good hands. As an added bonus, the restaurant was right across the street from the hippie market in the park, so we headed over there after our lunch. When we left the restaurant, Carmen even made arrangements for us to get a cab back to the port after our visit to the market. She knows Rio and wants her people to have a great experience--thank you Carmen!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was very good and we enjoyed it a good bit. However, we spent a lot of time picking up and dropping passengers at a lot of hotels.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I recommend it, as it takes in the best of Rio in a day. The only thing I suggust is that you check the weather before you do Christ the Redeemer, if it is cloudy, I suggust you postpone that part of the trip until you have clear Skye's.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

twills
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Helicopter ride was great but......
We had to wait 2 hours at heliport then we only got an 8 min flight instead of 12 minute flight so we missed flying over a few landmarks. I dont blame Viator but rather the tour guide Louis who probably did not advise helicopter operator. Well worth the experience though especially circling Christ the Redeemer staue on Corcorvado.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message