Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 488 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome experience!!!! , inspite of travelling with a 2 year old baby the trip was very comfortable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Due to it being off-season, we actually were asked to divide the trips on two days: we did the Corcovado and Sugar Loaf on one day and the samba show and dinner on the next. That was actually better so.
We had the best tour guide ever, Ms. Maria Fatima, on the Sugar Loaf Mountain part of the tour. She is very friendly and has a lot of tips and knowledge to share. If you can, try to get her as your tour guide.

The lunch between wasn't that great - I'm sure the restaurant has better things to offer than what we received.

I admire the tour guide for the Corcovado part: he was able to switch between three foreign languages without problems. But due to the three different languages, we did not receive as much info as I thought we would have.

The Dinner before the Samba show was great. We were a small group of five and we got along well. The food was good.

The samba show wasn't that great. Compared to seeing Acrobatics in China or folk dance shows in Chile, well, actually you can't compare them to those. Maybe it was because it was off-season and the theater was almost empty, that there wasn't the atmosphere needed.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised. Pick up from the Hotel was good and then in general we loved the tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour. Picked up a little late, but didn't really affect the day. We were in a very comfortable bus with a nice and knowledgable tour guide (sorry, I can't remember the name). She spoke very good English and showed interest in who was on her tour.

Whilst driving to the cable cars to make our ascent, the tour guide gave lots of interesting information about landmarks and locations we were driving past.

The views from Sugar Loaf and the halfway point where you also stop off (again, the name hasn't quite stuck in my memory!) are amazing and make the whole trip worth while on it's own. We had a good time to look around and take some snaps, but not long enough to get bored. The tour guide gave us some more interesting facts about the mountain and the city and was happy to answer questions.

We then went on a city tour which I guess was included but I didn't actually notice at booking, so a nice bonus! We visited the location ot Carneval which was semi-interesting (to me anyway) and the [insert name here!] cathedral that, in my opinion, was fairly ugly! But again, an interesting journey around parts of the city we weren't aware of.

If you want to visit Sugar Loaf, this trip is perfect. We were back by 1 and had the rest of the afternoon to enjoy Copacabana #karmmm

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It's so nice to do these tours without having to wait in line for the tickets. We were able to get off the bus and go straight onto the line for the cable car, instead of waiting in the 2 hour line to buy the tickets to get onto the mountain. The views from Sugar Loaf mountain are breathtaking! Our tour guide adjusted the amount of time we got to stay up there due to the extremely long lines to get to Sugar Loaf from the smaller mountain. We didn't take the bus back to the hotel. Instead we opted to have lunch in Urca, a neighborhood referred to by the locals as the place "where the rich people live." It was breathtakingly beautiful!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fun ride and breathtaking views!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour is great.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved the tour. Early in the day was sunny and it was great at Corcovado Mountain. But then the clouds rolled in and for Christ Redeemer it was very cloudy and we saw nothing. It would have been great if they had switched things around. Christ redeemer is the highlight!! But overall, was very happy with the service.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Tour with Luis. He was great and the views were amazing. One piece advice is to sit backward going up so you can get some great pictures when the forest has a clearing!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It is a simple tour, don't expect too much information: the guide is only there to drive you to these attractions.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour was nice. Unfortunately weather was not but that wasn't gray lines fault!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Perfect day; city tour (though would have been nice if we could have gotten off and walked more around the city square), Sugarloaf and Christo were wonderful and a lovely lunch. A great tour to give you the flavor of the city.
Thanks,
Lynn

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good Tour, worth seeing.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very well done, We really enjoyed the tour. Anna and Tanya our guides did a great job in making sure we were well cared for.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message