Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 661 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful tour, the sights are amazing our tour guide was so wonderful, she even took time after the tour ended to help us around Rio, THANK YOU!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour fantastic Guides. Would recommend for sure

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Clear weather beautiful view , our tour guid was very friendly and informative!
I had this tour with luch totally worth it!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

twills
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everthing went like clockwork. Small delay in picking up other tourists from hotels but nothing to complain about. Views were amazing and we went straight to head of queues every time. guides spoke alllanguages and things were at an easy pace. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great trip with the tour guide picking us up and giving us a great commentary. Sugar Loaf was fantastic, the meal was even better but it clouded over when we got to Corcovado Mountain. But that wasn't the fault of the Company. Great day all in all. Thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great day with Carmen in Rio on Sunday, March 8. We met at a convenient downtown hotel and were taken via mini-bus to see Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf. Can't say enough about going early!! We were at the statue even before the gift shops opened which proved to be a great advantage. As the guide books all say, go early for the best weather and the smallest crowds. Truer words were never spoken!! Carmen was delightful and gave us wonderful insights to the area. At the conclusion of the tour, she offered to take us to an authentic local churrascaria restaurant for lunch - a real treat! One of our group had spent time in Rio and gave the place a thumbs-up, so we knew we were in good hands. As an added bonus, the restaurant was right across the street from the hippie market in the park, so we headed over there after our lunch. When we left the restaurant, Carmen even made arrangements for us to get a cab back to the port after our visit to the market. She knows Rio and wants her people to have a great experience--thank you Carmen!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was very good and we enjoyed it a good bit. However, we spent a lot of time picking up and dropping passengers at a lot of hotels.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I recommend it, as it takes in the best of Rio in a day. The only thing I suggust is that you check the weather before you do Christ the Redeemer, if it is cloudy, I suggust you postpone that part of the trip until you have clear Skye's.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

twills
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Helicopter ride was great but......
We had to wait 2 hours at heliport then we only got an 8 min flight instead of 12 minute flight so we missed flying over a few landmarks. I dont blame Viator but rather the tour guide Louis who probably did not advise helicopter operator. Well worth the experience though especially circling Christ the Redeemer staue on Corcorvado.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent way to see the statue with minimal crowds
Beware.. it sometimes very foggy of a morning.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide was great, weather not so much. All in all, had a great experience with fun people who also happened to be from California! Yayyyy to English speaking people on my last day. We got same great pics with Christ oh mighty, even though he was hiding behind the rain and fog. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Sunset Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The trip to Redeemer was very good. The morning part was just fair. Since we took the whole day tour we ate in the same restaurant for lunch and dinner, that wasn't so great

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message