• USD ($)
  • English

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 469 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip; wonderful scenery aided by a clear day. A must do experience on any trip to Rio with the added bonus of a visit to the modern City Cathedral with the sun reflecting through its impressive stained glass windows. Only downside was my husband inadvertently dropping his ticket on the tour bus and being unable to take the trip with the tour group. He found it as soon as we were able to access the bus on its return journey and as it was valid for use returned in the afternoon and described it as being the best mistake in his life as he was up Sugar Loaf when the sunset - an awesome sight!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great half day tour

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing views of entire Rio De Janeiro beaches.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyable experience and tour guide kept it interesting.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a pretty day we had for our tour of Rio and Sugar Loaf. The bus picked us up at 8:20am and dropped us off at 2pm. Traffic was lighter then usual so we made it to the tram in good time. We were thankful we signed up for a morning tour as the lines were very LONG when we finished up. Our guide was okay--not as informative as the one we had the prior day for the Christ the Statute tour. We felt we did not need quite as much time on the top of Sugar Loaf as was allotted but it was fine. The views of the city and coast were wonderful to see as you were climbing up in the tram car. Afterwards, we enjoyed going to the Carnival site and seeing some of the costumes worn in the Parade but the stop at the modern Cathedral was special. As soon as our tour was done, we had to head to the airport so it was a perfect ending to our World Cup stay in Rio!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We went in late June and we lucked out with a beautifully clear day. The views were amazing, cable cars were fun and everything went smoothly with our tour guide who was very knowledgeable. It was a great tour. I would recommend this tour if you have extra time in Rio but I would not recommend it over Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer tour.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Yap KK
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Transport came 30min late and the tour group is too big for my liking (30-40 people) . Sight was beautiful and tour guide was quite professional

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour bus arrived 30mins late, take another 45mins to pick up others, which made the whole tour a rush; Tour guide is below average at best (little information about Rio, and rush rush rush). Scenery at Sugar Loaf is spectacular though.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This is a must to go in Rio, but you can do it by yourself also.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our tour was very disappointing and rushed. We spent more time waiting to be picked up and picking other people up than we did on the actual mountain. We didn't have the chance to enjoy ourselves as much we would've liked to. We also did the Cristo tour and had the same problem.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

There was nothing special about this tour, you are better off going on your own and just buying tickets when you arrive. Plenty of cabs to and from all the hotels.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour but bus company came 30mins late

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip and great guide.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Despite the rain the tour was great. We had the extra mile in it since we had the downtowns and Cathedral tour before taking us to the mounting. I do not know if we were lucky and just waiting for the skies to clear or if this is how our guide likes to start the mounting tour. Beautiful views. One of the four things you have to see while in Rio.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing and the extra bus ride to the cathedral and carnival area was brilliant! V good tour guide! She knows her stuff!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message