Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 697 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LAMONT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Gray line was tours were very good as always. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and may the tour fun and interesting.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour, and very good value for money. Driver was very competent and courier well informed, pleasant and a pleasure to spend the day with.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great all round. Possible evening dance hiccup, but sorted amicably. Thank you

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

derek s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was excellent, there was only 4 of us so it was quite private. A big thank you to Leo our guide on the day he was great . Derek and denise.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Vehicle on time, good guide. The whole experience was great.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved Rio!!. Definitely need to experience Rio on NYE! Amazing experience! Our next trip will be for Carnival.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

silcock6215

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour itineray was changed due to cloud cover which was wonderful as we did not think we were going to see anything.Highly recommend this tour picked up and dropped of at hotel.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Anthony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide and bus driver. Saw many things in Rio as we travelled through Rio beyond what was mentioned in the write up. Lunch was great fun, Brazilian bbq.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

SELİN U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was very well organized trip. Bus was comfortable, guide was friendly, lunch was delicious and big.
Good idea for see all these attractive places. Wish you luck about weather...

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Janice C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

City tour was interesting but there was only one stop during it. Sugarloaf Mountain via cable car and Corcovado Mountain via cog train to Christ the Redeemer statue were good. Lunch at a restaurant was excellent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

FIONA H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Unfortunately by the time we reached the Sugar loaf the crowds had arrived and most of our time was spent in queues. Although the cloud covered the mountain top we still had some good views from the cable car. The tour was well organised with a good guide who made sure we all got back to the bus on time.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

jroths

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very fine. We did do Sugar Loaf and that was great. However the Redeemer was entirely fogged in. As our guide indicated, you wouldn't even be able to see it if you were 10 ft. away. So alternatively we were taken to the Lapa neighborhood and enjoyed seeing the Steps, and the Cathedral.

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Katrina A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Overall tour was good although it is a very long day. The New Year period is VERY busy so expect to queue for a considerable amount of time. This meant that we did not have much time on sugarloaf mountain.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Steve M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Weather played a big part in this tour as it was windy. we waited and rightfully so because safety is key and of the utmost importance and we understand that and finally got to take our flight.
Good news is it was a clear day for some wonderful views and pictures...however, the tour flight time and route was shortened and we flew to the Christ statue, did one circle to the left then one to the right allowing both sides of the helicopter to view equally and flew straight back...no sites of the beaches other that from far away nor sugarloaf other than off in the distance. We talked with the lady at the counter when we returned our guide was not helpful and she noted there wouldn't be any discounts or refunds and that was the best they could do. Again, it is worth doing but know there are chances it is not what you think you are signing up for...or PAYING for.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Michael B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Generally delivered as promised..fortunately we were one of the last pick ups. Tour guide knew her subject but did not tell us enough about what to expect....confusion between those on half day and full day tours on the same bus. Next time will take a taxi and buy our own tickets at the venue...

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Ann B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Would like to rate this tour 5 star but sadly the day we visited it was very misty and difficult to see the face of the statue or any views from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. However, the guide Louis, driver, lunch and all other arrangements were faultless.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Steve M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Weather played a big part of this tour. Safety first and we understand that and are ok with that. Our issue was the flight was shortened and the path described was not what taken. We took off, flew to the Christ statue, circled it once from the left and then once from the right and then flew straight back. No views of Sugarloaf or the beaches except from a FAR distance. Do not get me wrong, the views and picture taken were amazing and waiting out the winds provided for a very clear day. Lady inside our guide was not helpful noted there would be no refunds or discounts. Better to book directly with the helipad. Certainly a must do in Rio for the views of the Statue and pics...but we didn't get what we paid for.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Nicola G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Would not recommend this tour. Total time was about 10 hours, while the tour and lunch could have been done in 3. After lunch, we spent over 2 hours driving around picking people up to do the second half of the tour. From the description it is not clear that this is a 2-part tour. I would recommend to see these sites in a taxi on your own. Then you'll still have a lot of time to do other things. It was very disappointing as based on the reviews it sounded like this would be a terrific day.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

WAI TAK Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Tour Guide and Driver are friendly. It was a 5 hours trip which gave me a very good view of Rio de Janeiro.
It is worth to join this trip.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Two of Rio's Best: Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour with friendly tour guide

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour guides, and the lunch fantastic, lots of waiting in lines for attractions but beyond Viator control but worth waiting for, fantastic views at both locations and good way to see the city as well

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Sheila B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was perfect for my friend and I 2 female retired teachers, traveling on our own. It was well organized, punctual, and very informative. We had a great time!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A bucket-list and once in a lifetime experience. Expensive but worth it, excellent!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message