Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 712 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour with the best tour guide - JB. He was knowledgeable, entertaining and efficient. But we never felt rushed. We learned a lot as we went through the city on the way to Sugar Loaf. Loved the stop at the modern Sao Sabastiao Cathedral. The time at sugar loaf was fabulous. Great photo ops. We then had lunch in Ipanema and another tour guide accompanied us up on the train to the top of Corcovado for photo ops with Christ Redeemer and spectacular photo ops. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really great experience! It's better to go early, as you only have a few minutes to capture your best shots before the crowds! Kiata spelling may not be right was great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Kat tour guide absolutely fantastic. Arrived 8am in front of all the madding crowds, views spectacular and to be able to take individual photos, walk round and take time to enjoy the surroundings, truly amazing and a morning never to be forgotten.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Totally awesome experience highly recommend taking this tour. Both our guides were exceptional...personable, friendly and informative. 5 Star performance

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic sights and breathtaking views.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very educational. Our tour guide, Carmen, was very fluent in English and she made us feel like we're one family traveling to see the amazing CHRIST the Redeemer landmark on Corcovado and the sugarloaf mountain. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, beautiful weather, tour leader DJ was excellent with humor and knowledge.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience! I felt very safe. The tour guides were friendly and very informative. It would have been so much harder trying to visit Sugarloaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer by myself. The bus picked me up at my hotel in the morning and dropped me off in the evening. Buffet lunch included!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had to take the train up the mountain because a storm the night before brought a tree down blocking the road... Carmen made a call and we were off on the train! It was a nice experience and there were not a lot of people on the first train so it was still pretty nice. Sugarloaf was very nice also

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip!! Vicente was the most incredible tour guide and he made our trip the most enjoyable ever!! Rio is so beautiful and we loved to be able to skip crowds and long lines at the redeemer statue! Highly recommend viator tours for promptness, friendliness ,reliability and safety!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was nice... great to get in early before the crowds...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

Drewstontexas
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hardly anyone was there when we showed up to the statue, so it was a lot of fun, and made for some great pictures. Also, the Sugar Loaf tour was fun. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very very good your. Guides were knowledgeable and courteous. Maintained good timings and over all excellent experience. Highly recommended !!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message