Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Sugar Loaf Mountain (Pao de Acucar)

You’ll see stunning views of Rio from atop Sugar Loaf Mountain (or Pão de Acúcar) which rises at the point where Guanabara Bay meets the Atlantic Ocean. Whichever way you look the city is a delight of sweeping beaches, sparkling water ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 543 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was the perfect tour to see the two major sites in Rio. Our tour guide, Carmen, was excellent. She not only told us all about the two sites but as we were driving she gave us all kinds of information about Rio and the sites we were passing. I would strongly recommend this tour to everyone. A very efficient and informative tour. And it is true, the early morning tour of Christ Redeemer was without crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Good value for money - you saw all the main highlights of Rio all in the same day with rewards of some of the most fantastic views in the world. The samba show in the evening was excellent - good hearty meal before the show at a lovely restaurant with some fantastic dancing and costumes afterwards at the theatre. The male gymnasts were awesome.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good organization of the tour with nice and funny guides.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was a good experience. Although it is quite short (11 minutes) we could see a lot of Rio from above. The weather was not perfect, pretty windy around the Christ Redeemer but the pilot kept us safe. Also Anna (the guide) made the trip from hotel to heliport and back amusing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Helicopter Tour

Trevor H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Brilliant don't miss this one

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worth going in the morning - no crowds! Our tour guide was so knowledgeable as well, I would recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Christ Redeemer Statue with Optional Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Well organized and the guide was very enjoyable. Offered to take pictures at interesting sites which was a plus.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Very good. Felt we could have had more time to explore. 45 minutes seemed to quick.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The tour was fine other than the wait for the bus driver who arrived 15 minutes late after the Christ Redeemer tour and we waited in the hot sun. The guides spoke spanish too fast and were not easily understood. Also they gave a group of four Italian tourists preference in the description of all. I am trilingual so I had no problems but I requested a guide in spanish for my wife's sake. She wasn't able to understand the guides. Thank you

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour guide. Views from Sugar Loaf were amazing. Plenty of time up top, never felt rushed. Felt we got a great deal for the price.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

For a short trip to Rio de Janeiro, this trip was an excellent way to see the highlights and gives you a good reason and the confidence to spend more days exploring on your own. I would encourage anyone who doesn't have a lot of time to visit to take this full-day tour. Viator did a great job of making it easy to book online and the local tour company did an excellent job with the details. Money well spent.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Cable car rides were great and the views of Rio from the top phenomenal.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is really the highlight for every one who made their first trip to Rio. A must do if you only have a few days to stay in the Marvelous City. We were lucky the weather went well when we took the Corcovado train. The tour guide could be a bit more lively when talking , I fell asleep since I got bored.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Really fun! Great tour, great leader (JB) but bad communication in advance and I didn't know what time I was being picked up!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message