• USD ($)
  • English
A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 628 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide and driver were very entertaining!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent and fun
Great guide and courteous driver

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a good day, tour was about 45 mins late. But we got there an enjoyed it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

good tour, have to keep your fingers crossed for clear weather, was very foggy the day we went otherwise it was a very pleasant day tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Due to traffic it took the bus forever to reach the train to the statute. Being a group, we did not stand in line very long before boarding the train. It was a gray and cloudy afternoon as we started our ride up the mountain. When we got up to the top, the statute was enshroud in mist and fog. It gave our experience a moving, religious one--Christ would appear then disappear within the clouds. No views of the city so we stopped in the restaurant near the top and watched a World Cup match until it was time to head back down. Our informative guide told us about various parts of the city as we drove by. We were dropped off at the same spot where we boarded(we chose a location near where we were staying in Ipanama.). So, I suggest this tour no matter what the weather....it is a special part of Rio!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Late for pick up, but all else wAs GREAT! Thank u!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

A must see place while in Rio. A pleasant tour bus ride to the cable car station. The tour guide gave us a few interesting facts about Rio and the Christ Redeemer Statue. Did not have to wait on line for the ride up to the mountain. A long wait for the cable car coming down (no group tour special express line). In hindsight, feel like I could have done it by myself.....

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Worth seeing, totally amazing. The tour however wasn't worth the extra money, and added no value to the tour. Do it on your own!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour guide very nice and explained many things. Not as adventurous as I'd personally like - but if you'd like a chilled ride then you will like.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We essentially paid for transportation to the forest. Nothing else. They were 30 minutes late picking us up from the hotel and with all of the delays, the tour didn't start until 2 hours after the hotel picks should have been completed. The tour guide Luciano did not talk to us. Any time we asked questions, his response was "I don't know". He was not friendly and for someone who works in tourism, he had nothing nice to say about his own country. All he talked about was how bad Brazil is and how he looked forward to moving to the US.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This was a terrible experience I was so disappointed. My wife and I had setup the tour prior to departing on our trip to Rio de Janeiro. To our surprise we learned that tours during the busy World Cup event, in fact, did not have and advantages as far as early admission. The tour started picked us up at 2 pm from the hotel by the time they picked everyone up and we arrived at the tour location it was well past four. By the time we arrived at Christ Redeemer it was so late we could not see anything but fog/clouds. We were better off on our own as I later learned.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The overall experience was a terrible experience. I was picked up late from the pick up point, even though my itinerary stated that the pick up would be before the allotted time. Although the arrival to Corocovado was pleasant, the return was disastrous. We had a meeting point for our group and when we arrived to it on time, our tour guide told us to wait in an enormous line to get to the train ride back down the mountain. The wait within the line could have been bearable if not for the fact that the group was not even kept together within the same line. Because of this, some of the people from our group were left behind by the train and had to wait over half an hour for the next one. By the time we got back down, the tour bus left us and their only excuse was that the travelers already on board were complaining about waiting on those of us who were left behind by no fault of our own. Because of this I, and various other travelers, had to spend and extra forty dollars to get back to our hotels in Copacabana. This was a waist of my money and made me spend an additional amount that was unnecessary.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was well worth the time and the price. We were picked up near our hotel in a climate controlled bus by incredibly friendly guides. Right away we were made to feel welcome. On the way to the cog-train up Corcovado, the guides gave detailed descriptions of the areas we passed by, which greatly helped us acclimate to the city. The cog train itself took about 25 minutes to get to the top and provided several great views of the city along the way, as well as a scenic trip through Tijuca forest.

Finally, at the top of the mountain, we had about 45 minutes to walk around, take pictures of the statue and the panoramic view of the city, etc. We had a great day as the clouds rolled in and out, constantly shrouding and revealing the statue and city itself. It wouldn't hurt top bring a light jacket or zip-up hoodie to the top, even on an otherwise warm and beautiful day as it can be windy and cold in the clouds.

All in all, it was an excellent experience and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was awesome! The forest was beautiful and our guide was fantastic (Linda). Learned a lot and got some gorgeous photos. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message