Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Rio de Janeiro ATTRACTIONS See all

Tijuca National Park

A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrea S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was good on the tour...
They pick up us 20 minutes late from the hotel... We did not have any information... So i had to call a Brazilian number... So my mobile phone bill was incredible hight

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Augusta A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabio our tour guide made the day fun!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Augusta A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabio our tour guide made the day fun!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Aside from the pick up being an hour late, the tour was very good. There was a nice mix of guided exploration and independent exploration. Tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. He made an effort to engage with all members of the tour group.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

rebecca g

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Amazing views. Helpful guide. Really enjoyable day overall.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Trudy USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

If you enjoy hiking and nature this is the tour to take. We did not see any wild animala because it was to hot and they don't come out when it's hot. The water falls are amazing and our tour guide Milena was funny, knowledgeable and spoke several languages

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Jenny B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Jeep ride was really nice to do in the Rio de Janeiro heat, also the scenes we visited were nice. The Eco hike was only a stroll through the forest though which took us about 10 minutes, that's it. Would have loved to see a little more of the jungle all in all and maybe some more animals we saw monkeys but the guide didn't point out or talk about any other animals, but it was ok and our guide was very nice, funny and spoke good English. Can recommend it.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

David B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

I was disappointed by the Rain Forest Jeep Tour. The ride on the back of the Jeep was enjoyable, allowing for some fresh air and safe photo opportunities in Rio. However, the guide did not have a microphone, so we had much trouble hearing his explanations when touring the city. The jeep ride into the rainforest did not allow for much fauna to be seen - we barely got a glimpse of one monkey, no toucans or other exotic birds seen. The Chinese vista was the highlight of this tour, which is basically a nice view of Rio de Janeiro from the Tijuca rainforest. The jeep rides on roads - no off-road tour, which was a disappointment. The guide did not wait for the group when doing the rainforest walk, and appeared to be trying to finish his tour ASAP in order to enjoy the rest of his day on his own. One of the elderly tourists complained, and he did not slow down despite this. The tour ended with a jeep drive which went through a favela, and then we were dropped off in the middle of the road, near our hotel, with cameras etc. on us we were extra cautious in Rio NOT to display valuables and bring big cameras if not on excursions, so were very disappointed not to be dropped at the door of our hotel -- high risk for mugging with this type of drop-off. I definitely would NOT re-book this tour with the jeep company, but would seek an alternative company to visit the Tijuca rainforest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great fun! The Tijuca forest is an amazing place with some wonderful views and scenes. We saw several wild animals in the dense jungle and our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wow what a highlight of our trip, we loved every second of it. Ian was an amazing tour guide, very knowledgeable and his English was excellent.
Would recommend in a heart beat

Ian even sang Happy Birthday to my partner

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Nicole A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was very interesting, we learned a lot from our guide. However, it was very hot and the jeep is not air conditioned. The sites were beautiful. I did feel bored at times though. I needed something a little more stimulating. There was a lot of driving and it made me tired in between sites.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Ann P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I was expecting a more informative guide especially since we were on the jeep most of the time. When we first started he spoke a bit but for most of the ride we were just looking around. The tour guide did talk about some things in the forest like certain tress and a little of Rio's history but it seemed to me he wasn't very interested.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great experience! Renata knows a lot about the history of Rio and its surroundings. the forest is gorgeous and full of surprises. It is a fun and fantastic tour. We learned a lot about the Tijuca Forest. The views are majestic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tijuca National Park Photography Tour

jroths

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Stunning Rain Forrest not all that far from downtown Rio. Our guide, Jane, was delightful and knowledgeable about forest, and all else about Rio. Her English, learning during a year in Miami, was great. We couldn't have asked for a better companion for this tour. Beside the wonderful scenery, the waterfalls, etc., we also came upon a family of coatis. This was fun to see.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

bobphillips65 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A very pleasant trip out of Rio ,excellent guide and good company, the short walk in the forest most enjoyable

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Elle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Really cool trip! Plenty of time spent at each place, and each place is absolutely beautiful, the tour guide was great and spoke at least 4 languages! Wear decent shoes as i wore flip flops like a wolly and got bitten by a giant ant! Highly recommend not the ant thing

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Barry M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a very enjoyable tour of the Tijuca forest...just a short drive out of Rio de Janeiro. Our guide, Carlos was warm and friendly and gave interesting commentary on the local flora and fauna. Unfortunately, we had rain and fog which interfered with seeing some of the overlooks, but that isn't a bad reflection on the tour. One can't control the weather.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Marvin/Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you like to hike and would like some exercise during your vacation in Brazil then this is the hike for you, the highest peak in Rio :- i still can't believe i made it to the top. The pacing is steady but if you need to stop all you have to do is say so, to avoid light headedness and muscle cramps. Our tour guide, Raul was very knowledgeable and gives you information about the place. He loves to travel and could recommend other places to see. My husband and I felt so accomplished when we reached the top and it became somewhat of a private tour since it was just the two of us who booked for that day so it was an awesome experience. I am not an avid hiker so for me this hike is moderate/hard haha! :- bring plenty of water, bananas/energy bars, and your proper hiking shoes.

Doing what: Tijuca Rainforest Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good trip, however it does take a long time to get to the forest due to the traffic congestion.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Lena R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide, I think his name was Ian, was very good. He gave us good information about the rain forest. On our way back to Rio he took us to a spot where they served superior Acai gelato. Which we really enjoyed. The open jeep ride was fun, but it would not hurt if the jeep was more modern with seat belts that were functioning properly.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Lennard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Die Tour war ok. Der Reiseleiter war wirklich sehr bemüht und organisiert. Allerdings haben wir die Tour mit einer deutschen Reiseleitung gebucht, der Guide konnte jedoch nur Englisch. Es war für uns kein Problem, trotzdem haben wir genau genommen für eine Tour mit deutscher Reiseleitung gezahlt, einen Service, den wir nicht erhalten haben.
Generell sind alle Touren, die man hier buchen kann, vor Ort viel günstiger zu buchen.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Dusan V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

First of all, we even didnt go to the Tijuca Rainforest.

I could have gone to the Botanical Garden by myself, is very central and the guide, even thought helpful, told us things about the trees, fruits, but nothing worth paying for this.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Angela D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The Tijuca Rain Forest is beautiful and I've been on wonderful excursions booked through Viator previously, but I was disappointed by how this panned out:

First off, Viator is a 3rd party seller. They don't operate their excursions, but this is an excellent way to be connected to local tour companies. Their local tour operator is also a 3rd party seller. In this event, Viator sold their local tour operator sold the jeep tour. Too many hands in the pot, and the confirmation from Viator stated we had an 8am start time and provided a number for their local tour operator. I called the number 5 or 6 times and never got through to confirm my pickup. We woke up and were ready by 7:15, and flagged down one of their buses, which took us to another hotel. They told us our pickup was at 9:10am. We weren't picked up until after 10am.

So there was a huge hassle in booking due to the multiple sellers.

But was the tour good?

No. And it's a shame, b/c it could have been. There was a driver and a guide, and the driver elected to speed through the entire tour, condensing an advertised 4 hours into 2 hours. He didn't slow for photos when things were pointed out, and we couldn't get a good look. The guide's English fluency was around 60 and knowledge only around 30. At one point he joked it was his first time running this tour and I thought Ahh, that makes sense and he was like Seriously, I've been doing this a year? As examples: He told us one tree was an Iron Tree, like Iron Man, because it's hard which doesn't sound very legit, and that's all he said and at one point, while in the city, pointed at a school and said That's a typical school without any supplemental info about Brazilian/Rio schools.

I definitely think a jeep tour of the Tijuca Rain Forest is worthwhile. I saw other companies that arrived earlier/departed long after, that may have been better. A friend did a jeep tour and said her guide was a botany expert. I'd advise researching and booking locally or through hotel concierge.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Leona M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

If you've seen a rainforest before then don't bother going on this tour. It was boring. The waterfalls were very small and I didn't see any animals. This tour is not worth the money, over 100 for 4 hours. I couldn't hear the guide most of the time. I wish I hadn't of wasted my money on this tour.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Jim P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Pauola our guide was fantastic. She was at our hotel on time. She was very engaging throughout the entire trip. She is very knowlegeable about the park and its history. She was great at explaining things to us along the hike and very attentive to our needs. She was extremely personable. The hike can be a bit taxing at points, but Paola was such fun it made the hike even better. Be prepared to bring water, snacks for energy, and a light backpack to keep it in. Depending on the weather it can get pretty hot and humid, but it is worth it. We were fortunate enough to stumble across some of the local animals that live in the forest. The view at the top is awesome. It is amazing when you contrast the forest to the city when they are so close. A great half day activity.

Doing what: Tijuca Rainforest Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message