A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I would definitely say go on a jeep tour, but don't do it through Viator. They organise it through Grayline. We found out we had to 'reconfirm' when we got to Rio, but it was in the fine print and we didn't see it until the night before. We managed to get it sorted out and we were told we would be picked up at 9.15, despite the original start time being 8am. The tour guide turned up at 8.40 and it was quite clear he wanted to drive off without us despite the fact we were eating breakfast. When we got downstairs to join the tour, it turned out they were waiting for another couple who also had been told 9.15 but at 9 o'clock the tour guide wanted to leave without them and mark them as no shows. We persuaded him to wait and they did eventually get down, but the tour guide was so grumpy, and basically rude. When we had picked everyone up, the jeep was full so the tour guide sat in the front seat. This meant he didn't tell us anything until the jeep stopped at the first sight. He said it was because he couldn't turn round, and if there had been room in the back he would have told us lots about the city - fat lot of use that is! Luckily one of the girls got int he front of seat after that, and he did tell us a few bits and pieces, but he certainly was not full of information. Unless Viator are going to change their partnership, go with a different company. But definitely do go on a jeep tour because it is definitely worth dong!!!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The jeep through the city was just great - guide was good too

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ana Lima was excellent! She was full of knowledge! We highly recommend her as a tour guide!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Just good. Extremely fast and the guides where in hurry!!!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Botanical gardens was beautiful and the rainforest was an amazing sight seeing, animal spotting opportunity. I would recommend that you take plenty of water due to the sun exposure in an open top jeep. Overall good tour however was not worth the money i could have done this myself a lot cheaper

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The botanical garden was amazing! And the rainforest was a bit less than what I expected but worth the vist ! I loved this tour! And they were right on time !

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was ok. Our guide was not terribly talkative and we spent most of the time in the jeep.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This your was not great. It wasn't what viator advertised. The tour was only about 2 hours instead of 4, we drove to Tijuca, quickly saw a waterfall, went on a 10 minute hike, well really a walk, and quickly stopped by the Chinese view before heading back to the hotel. I was really disappointed.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

this tour would have been awesome, had the tour guides spent as much time communicating with us as they did with one another! They simply pointed at a castle and said, hey, theres a castle. and when we arrived at the big waterfall they simply pointed again and said, theres a waterfall, don't get lost???? no communication to let us know how long we would be at this stop so we didnt dare venture around

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun day, great guide, nice group of people. Saw a monkey!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

A lot of driving and not enough of exploring the forest on our own foot. However an organized tour is the only way to explore Tijuca so we took the chance and it was nice tour.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The hotel pick up was on time and the jeep ride was very good with great views of Rio. The gentle trek was just that, gentle. Only thing that let this tour down was the tour guide who fell asleep during the tour and didn't really give you any information regarding the rain forest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Amazing scenery and views.
Nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip is boring. The tour guide is VERY NICE and PASSIONATE, spending lots of time introducing Rio city. However, The Tijuca first trip is boring and no excitement. The exact time in the forest is very little, only the Chinese lookout is worthy, other parts are soso, should take us to see more inside the forest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Disappointing. Hardly any flowers in the Botanical Gardens. There were only half a dozen orchjds. Did not see any monkeys. The rain forest for the most part you drove up and down the mountain. The falls were nice. Not enough sights. Excellent tour guide 2 star

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We waited on the street for 1 hour and no Jeep Tour showed up. No one even called. Since this was booked throught the internet I had no local number to call. Now that my vacation is over I need to figure out how to get a refiund. Never again!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

this trip was nothing as we expected... 2 hours pick up of people from different hotels, then 30 minutes ride on the road, one view and 10 minutes walking through the little wood.... just waste of money...

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

When a booked tour becomes a nightmare one star is way to much! Don't use this company, they take your money and doesn't show up. And refounds is a bureaucratic mess. Thanks for destroying our last day in Rio de Janeiro!!!!! DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The operator wouldn't answer phone calls and refused to pick us up from the hotel. Once on the jeep though, the tour guide was great; we also got an impromptu tour of some amazing beaches on the way back. If you can, go hiking in Tijuca instead, but this was still a lot of fun

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Was basically a ride in a jeep around some hotels collecting people , then a view of the city and a rather broken museum in the forest . So my advice is tO take the local bus cost 5 usd.

Up side the staff are super friendly so no fault of theirs .

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Tour was scheduled for 8 AM. Hotel Concierge call local phone # and was told pick up would be 9 AM. Guide (Jeep Tours) didn't arrive until 9:30 AM. Tour was only 3 hrs including time stuck in traffic plus picking up and dropping off others at different hotels. Guide was very friendly.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message