A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 660 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour great, queues not so good but unavoidable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was amazing despite the less than stellar weather. Our guide was knowledgeable and very kind. Thanks to her!!!!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved the tour. Early in the day was sunny and it was great at Corcovado Mountain. But then the clouds rolled in and for Christ Redeemer it was very cloudy and we saw nothing. It would have been great if they had switched things around. Christ redeemer is the highlight!! But overall, was very happy with the service.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It is a simple tour, don't expect too much information: the guide is only there to drive you to these attractions.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed the trip, had bit of trouble contacting the local tour operator on a Sunday in Portuguese but we got there. Thanks

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good tour, guide was very knowledgable, spoke English well, very pleasant. Was able to see incredible views, waterfall and a few monkeys. We enjoyed the ride.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The overall logistics was comfortable and hassle-free, and they had a tour guide who could speak 5 languages (German, Spanish, French, Portugese, and English). Very happy that he spoke English! (even if I didn't coordinate this in booking this tour). The weather was overcast though so views and sights were generally gloomy. So lesson is to tour during the sunny months! Still, the sight of the Christ the Redeemer statue up close was awesome =)

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really easy way to see Christ the Redeemer. The guide was informative and made sure that we had the best seats on the tram. I was at 5 stars until the guide told the bus to leave back to the hotels, while my Mom and I were still in the bathrooms. If it weren't for the men selling commemorative licence plates outside of where the bus was parked, who banged on the side of the bus to get it to stop when they saw us running, my 70 yr old Mom and I would have been left behind, at dusk. I doubt this happens too often, though.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Perfect day; city tour (though would have been nice if we could have gotten off and walked more around the city square), Sugarloaf and Christo were wonderful and a lovely lunch. A great tour to give you the flavor of the city.
Thanks,
Lynn

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I was hoping to see SOME sort of wildlife. No luck. That's the way it works sometimes when you're dealing with wild animals! :) The hike was nice and easy... the museum inside Tijuca was small, but informative about how settlers found and survived in the area before modern day.The best thing was the waterfall. GORGEOUS. The drive back to the hotels was nice because it takes you around to a side of Rio you probably would never see (unless you're driving a car). It was refreshing to see kids at school and people making their way home from work (more locals and less tourists). Could have lived if we didn't make it to this rain forest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Alex H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sights themselves were great, but the tour itself was very average.

Firstly, we selected an English guide, and although the guide spoke excellent English, there were several other nationalities of people there, which meant we he had to say everything 5 times. Which whilst extremely impressive meant we got very little information in English.

Secondly, there was A LOT of waiting around. Because it was a huge coach, not a small minibus, a huge amount of time was spent dropping people of and picking people up. There was also way too much time allocated for lunch. There should have been at least 30mins less. Everyone was wandering around nearby shops trying to kill time before the tour restarted.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Unfortunately not what I was expecting. I thought we'd get you see some wild life, we didn't even get to see a single butterfly. We did enjoy riding in the open air jeep and our two guides were great. Tour didn't last 4 hours.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide and driver were very entertaining!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excelente tour, muy interesante te permite ver Rio de Janeiro desde un vista excepcional. El guía turístico fue muy amable e interesado en proveer la información necesaria.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message