A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 347 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

VERY VERY BUSY, still worth the trip. (could have been better had some folk followed the directions) :)

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The operator wouldn't answer phone calls and refused to pick us up from the hotel. Once on the jeep though, the tour guide was great; we also got an impromptu tour of some amazing beaches on the way back. If you can, go hiking in Tijuca instead, but this was still a lot of fun

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

they pick you up a bit later than promised due to traffic so don't panic!

it's worth doing however they don't give you enough time to explore and maybe have a quick bite to eat barely 40 mins to go up take photos and go down! it's the lighlight of the tour so you need more time it's crowded

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Organization was great but unfortunately we didn't see anything as the mountain was covered in cloud!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Was basically a ride in a jeep around some hotels collecting people , then a view of the city and a rather broken museum in the forest . So my advice is tO take the local bus cost 5 usd.

Up side the staff are super friendly so no fault of theirs .

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Tour was scheduled for 8 AM. Hotel Concierge call local phone # and was told pick up would be 9 AM. Guide (Jeep Tours) didn't arrive until 9:30 AM. Tour was only 3 hrs including time stuck in traffic plus picking up and dropping off others at different hotels. Guide was very friendly.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I didn't really enjoy this tour. The guide did not do a great job of engaging the crowd and making this interesting. The tour did not have a lot of structure to it. We got off a few times took pictures and hopped back in the jeep. I expected to see more things and spend more time in nature.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I didn't really enjoy this tour. The guide did not do a great job of engaging the crowd and making this interesting. The tour did not have a lot of structure to it. We got off a few times took pictures and hopped back in the jeep. I expected to see more things and spend more time in nature.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I didn't really enjoy this tour. The guide did not do a great job of engaging the crowd and making this interesting. The tour did not have a lot of structure to it. We got off a few times took pictures and hopped back in the jeep. I expected to see more things and spend more time in nature.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great tour with epic views!!!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent.

Rio - Christ the Redeemer - WOW!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful time on my your, the group was small and we were to explore the grounds without feeling rushed. The tour guide was an excellent photographer who helped those on the your by themselves. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We rode around in the back of a truck bed that was open and had belts. That means the weather better be good which it was for me thankfully. We had I think 3 stops and some very light walking. If you are short on time and want to catch a small glimpse of the rain forest then this is a good choice.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great afternoon out. I had read some not so flattering reviews but was very happy with the experience. My only issue was when I arrived in Rio and rang the phone number to confirm pick up time the guy spoke no English so I was unable to make arrangements. Reception at my hotel then rang on my behalf. The bus and guide were on time, friendly, informative and professional. An excellent option to look at parts of Rio and the breathtaking Corcovado.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! We had someone named Paolo Zani (sp?)! He was very knowledgeable, spoke great English and had a sense of humor. The tour was very informative and insightful, great sights to see in the Forest and the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message