A lush Atlantic rainforest, Tijuca National Park is an absolute wonder it is the world’s largest urban forest which covers 12.4mi² (32km²) and was a result of incredible forward thinking by Emperor Dom Pedro II. In 1861 he saw the deforestation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Botanical gardens was beautiful and the rainforest was an amazing sight seeing, animal spotting opportunity. I would recommend that you take plenty of water due to the sun exposure in an open top jeep. Overall good tour however was not worth the money i could have done this myself a lot cheaper

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. We were picked up promptly at our hotel. Our tourguide was friendly and informative and both the cogtrain ride and the time spent at the statue itself was a lot of fun. Our dropoff after the hotel also went smoothly. We feel like we got a very good value for our money and would use this tour company again.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The botanical garden was amazing! And the rainforest was a bit less than what I expected but worth the vist ! I loved this tour! And they were right on time !

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was ok. Our guide was not terribly talkative and we spent most of the time in the jeep.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour Guide was excellent, i really enjoyed the tour

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First class - excellent tour guide - always kept informed

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Todo bien el sitio es precioso puntual y bien organizado y el guía Luis muy amable en tres idiomas. Recomiendo.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing! Though the "off-road jeep" portion is a little falsly represented as it's actually a train like thing pulled on a trail. Other than that amazing experience!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour once started was very good and we enjoyed it.
There was a problem however with timing of the scheduled pick-up from the Copacabana Palace Hotel.
It was scheduled for 2pm but the bus arrived at 2.45pm leaving four of us with a long wait in the heat outside the hotel with no seating.
The tour guide was very good and interacted well with the group.
Overall, I was delighted, the exception being the long wait .
Bearing in mind I live in the UK and had travelled across the world to Rio, it all worked well.
I had to telephone twice to confirm the bus was indeed coming!

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Its a great tour!! This is a must do day trip if you have a few days in Rio De Janeiro.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I only had a two full days in Rio and since it was my first time, I wanted to get my bearings on day one and see one of the most famous sites. Since I was staying near the airport, I had to cab to the city center to be picked up. The coach was comfortable and air conditioned. My English speaking tour guide (also spoke French and Spanish) was so sweet and informative giving information about the city as we drove to Corcovado. Spent about 45 minutes up on the mountain. You really don't need more than that. There's some shops up there for souvenirs. Some take credit cards, some only cash. Cog train ride down was fun. Very timely tour. Left the rest of the early evening open to walk around Rio.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was good but unfortunately by the time we got to the top of Corcodavo the clouds came in and left us with only a few opportunities for pictures.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This your was not great. It wasn't what viator advertised. The tour was only about 2 hours instead of 4, we drove to Tijuca, quickly saw a waterfall, went on a 10 minute hike, well really a walk, and quickly stopped by the Chinese view before heading back to the hotel. I was really disappointed.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

this tour would have been awesome, had the tour guides spent as much time communicating with us as they did with one another! They simply pointed at a castle and said, hey, theres a castle. and when we arrived at the big waterfall they simply pointed again and said, theres a waterfall, don't get lost???? no communication to let us know how long we would be at this stop so we didnt dare venture around

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Joe was excellent.
He was very attentive with all his passengers and was able to communicate in three different languages in this tour.
Marcel the driver was very good at manoeuvring around Rio and its traffic.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun day, great guide, nice group of people. Saw a monkey!

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

A lot of driving and not enough of exploring the forest on our own foot. However an organized tour is the only way to explore Tijuca so we took the chance and it was nice tour.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The hotel pick up was on time and the jeep ride was very good with great views of Rio. The gentle trek was just that, gentle. Only thing that let this tour down was the tour guide who fell asleep during the tour and didn't really give you any information regarding the rain forest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Amazing scenery and views.
Nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip is boring. The tour guide is VERY NICE and PASSIONATE, spending lots of time introducing Rio city. However, The Tijuca first trip is boring and no excitement. The exact time in the forest is very little, only the Chinese lookout is worthy, other parts are soso, should take us to see more inside the forest.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Disappointing. Hardly any flowers in the Botanical Gardens. There were only half a dozen orchjds. Did not see any monkeys. The rain forest for the most part you drove up and down the mountain. The falls were nice. Not enough sights. Excellent tour guide 2 star

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden and Tijuca Rainforest Eco-Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message