Rio de Janeiro isn’t known as the Cidade Maravilhosa (Marvelous City) for nothing. Beautiful beaches, expansive mountains, the lively Cariocas and the grand Carnaval are only some of the reasons why Rio attracts thousands of tourists from around ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 755 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A little background about myself: this was my first trip to Rio, and before this tour, I had not spent any time in downtown Rio. I am generally interested in history, perhaps more than the average person.

Our tour guide, JB, was fantastic. He was very energetic, and was very enthusiastic about the city. He was extremely knowledgeable about the stops on the tour (and a lot off the tour) and effectively communicated with all of us. He walks fast, he talks fast, which is great, because he was able to cover a lot of ground in the 4 hours we had. (Even during the ride to and from our hotel, he was telling us about the buildings we passed and the early rulers of Brazil.)

The tour stops were also well chosen. We visited four churches, two cultural centers, three squares and a wonderful old restaurant (the Confeiteria Colombo), all of which were downtown landmarks. I was never bored, I felt like I got a good sense of downtown, and though the tour was 6 hours long, the time just flew by.

Again, you walk a lot, so if you don't walk well/cannot do so for long periods, I would not suggest this tour.

Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This class was great!! The food was tasty, learning how to make the dishes was fun, and the chef was great! Chef Simone - awesome cook and a ton of fun to be with. She made the class enjoyable by setting a great tone. I think we had a bonus class since we learned how to make the pork/bean dish AND the fish stew. Both were fabulous!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Small-Group Cooking Class

Ally Munro
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This full day is a great way to see the main highlights of Rio all together, particularly if you are short on time to spend in this wonderful city

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour was as expected. It's a great way to see part of the city and key attractions. Loved Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer. The views were spectacular! I give the attractions 5 stars.

The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, helpful. and pleasant. Actually they were fireballs. Full of energy! I give the guides 5 stars.

The lunch was so, so and would give it 3 stars. Dinner was excellent and would give it 5 stars!

The Samba show wasn't bad. Parts of it went too long and you could tell it was filler as the dancers were preparing for the next set. You are getting a taste of what Samba is about and about 10% of what you would see at Carnival. So don't have the expectation of a five star show. I would give it 3 stars.

Because you are seeing so much, plus lunch and dinner and a show, it makes for a very long day, so be prepared. Wear comfy shoes and clothes.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was an almost 2hrs. Trip, the views and sits you see during the trips are beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable trip

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Be prepared to spend at least 4-5 hours of your day standing around waiting. Tour guides add little value to the tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was nice to have tickets already, but we bought the full day tour and they took us to the same restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Also, we tried confirming with the company 48 hrs ahead of time and could not get through. They almost didn't let us on the tour!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Plataforma Samba Show

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Sights were great and great recap for people with not a lot of time on their hands.

However, our visit was in three languages ; hard to pay attention; Should arrange trips with 1 language only.

Long waitng times but not due to the activities themselves. Had to wait a few times for the bus between activities (a call ahead to the driver would have been more efficient)

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Satisfactory, the seafood had been removed from the booking so the Guide had to find a restaurant in Ipanema at the last minute and it wasnt great.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

As the tour was a combination of two half day tours and some people only joined for half a day there was too much picking up and leaving at hotels. The lunch was a disappointment, seefood restaurant??? The sights were marvellous and the guides nice.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

If you like to spend a lot of time on a coach driving back and forth to hotel pick ups then this is the trip for you. Otherwise I would recommend taking a taxi to each site and buying tickets on the day. The trip lasted about 10 hours, only about 3-4 of which were probably spent at Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain (they are both about 3 km in opposite directions from the Copacabana are). Almost 3 hrs were spent at lunch which was a cold piece of fish or steak and overpriced drinks. The guide was ok, pointed out things as we drove past on the bus, but why does the tour guide need to stand in line to buy our tickets ? Surely thgis should be done in advance so that the group do not have to stand around waiting for 40 mins. Both sites are certainly worth a visit for the beautiful views but this tour could have been a lot shorter if they did not combine two half day tours and have so many hotel pick ups in the middle of the day. Disappointed with both tours I have done orgainsed with this tour operator. The tour is also overpriced for what it is when you see the actual ticket prices ... tickets to the sites are about £15 per person, so if you can fill a taxi it would probably be a better idea, but get to them early.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

It would have been better if we would have had the same tour guide throughout the tour.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message