Rio de Janeiro isn’t known as the Cidade Maravilhosa (Marvelous City) for nothing. Beautiful beaches, expansive mountains, the lively Cariocas and the grand Carnaval are only some of the reasons why Rio attracts thousands of tourists from around ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 626 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alex was a wonderful tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing views of entire Rio De Janeiro beaches.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a pretty day we had for our tour of Rio and Sugar Loaf. The bus picked us up at 8:20am and dropped us off at 2pm. Traffic was lighter then usual so we made it to the tram in good time. We were thankful we signed up for a morning tour as the lines were very LONG when we finished up. Our guide was okay--not as informative as the one we had the prior day for the Christ the Statute tour. We felt we did not need quite as much time on the top of Sugar Loaf as was allotted but it was fine. The views of the city and coast were wonderful to see as you were climbing up in the tram car. Afterwards, we enjoyed going to the Carnival site and seeing some of the costumes worn in the Parade but the stop at the modern Cathedral was special. As soon as our tour was done, we had to head to the airport so it was a perfect ending to our World Cup stay in Rio!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A combination of observation and participation in a small group setting. Got to eat the food which was yummy and drinks also provided. Very interesting to learn about Brazillian cooking.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Small-Group Cooking Class

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour bus arrived 30mins late, take another 45mins to pick up others, which made the whole tour a rush; Tour guide is below average at best (little information about Rio, and rush rush rush). Scenery at Sugar Loaf is spectacular though.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a really lovely way to see the bay! We'd already seen the beauty from Sugarloaf Mountain, so it was great to see it by boat. Our guide "JB" was the best, he was extremely friendly and very informative. We got to Gloria marina very early which wasn't ideal (a lot of wasted time as not a lot to do). Note: you can NOT swim in the Guanabara Bay, so if you're thinking there might be some time to take a dip, think again! The cruise lasts for about 2 hours, even though it says four hours (this is supposed to include pick-up/drop off time). Drinks are not included, but can be purchased on board (not sure for how much - I couldn't bring myself to drink at 9am in the morning!) While it wasn't quite what we expected, it was a lovely morning out and we enjoyed the cruise. Great idea to see the bay from a different angle and if you are looking for something to do.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

There was nothing special about this tour, you are better off going on your own and just buying tickets when you arrive. Plenty of cabs to and from all the hotels.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The class was great. We should have taken it earlier in our trip, but it was entertaining and the knowledge was helpful anyway. Loved knowing more when we went out to other restaurants after taking the class.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Small-Group Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour but bus company came 30mins late

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip and great guide.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We LOVED this tour! It was a fun neighborhood to get to know! The guide, Alex, was VERY knowledgeable and friendly. It was great to walk around this old neighborhood and the highlight was Selaron's beautiful steps. We would have never had the courage to explore Santa Teresa on our own. Tip: Wear comfy shoes, it's a lot of walking.

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message