Rio de Janeiro isn’t known as the Cidade Maravilhosa (Marvelous City) for nothing. Beautiful beaches, expansive mountains, the lively Cariocas and the grand Carnaval are only some of the reasons why Rio attracts thousands of tourists from around ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 651 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Daniel our guide was SUPER -- very knowledgable, friendly, great sense of humor ,and made our trip so enjoyable !

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised. Pick up from the Hotel was good and then in general we loved the tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour. Picked up a little late, but didn't really affect the day. We were in a very comfortable bus with a nice and knowledgable tour guide (sorry, I can't remember the name). She spoke very good English and showed interest in who was on her tour.

Whilst driving to the cable cars to make our ascent, the tour guide gave lots of interesting information about landmarks and locations we were driving past.

The views from Sugar Loaf and the halfway point where you also stop off (again, the name hasn't quite stuck in my memory!) are amazing and make the whole trip worth while on it's own. We had a good time to look around and take some snaps, but not long enough to get bored. The tour guide gave us some more interesting facts about the mountain and the city and was happy to answer questions.

We then went on a city tour which I guess was included but I didn't actually notice at booking, so a nice bonus! We visited the location ot Carneval which was semi-interesting (to me anyway) and the [insert name here!] cathedral that, in my opinion, was fairly ugly! But again, an interesting journey around parts of the city we weren't aware of.

If you want to visit Sugar Loaf, this trip is perfect. We were back by 1 and had the rest of the afternoon to enjoy Copacabana #karmmm

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It's so nice to do these tours without having to wait in line for the tickets. We were able to get off the bus and go straight onto the line for the cable car, instead of waiting in the 2 hour line to buy the tickets to get onto the mountain. The views from Sugar Loaf mountain are breathtaking! Our tour guide adjusted the amount of time we got to stay up there due to the extremely long lines to get to Sugar Loaf from the smaller mountain. We didn't take the bus back to the hotel. Instead we opted to have lunch in Urca, a neighborhood referred to by the locals as the place "where the rich people live." It was breathtakingly beautiful!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So relaxing... and really gives you a unique view of the city that you can't get from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. The pontoon is big and we had about 50 other guests with us on the boat. It was a really nice cruise!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fun ride and breathtaking views!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour is great.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Tour with Luis. He was great and the views were amazing. One piece advice is to sit backward going up so you can get some great pictures when the forest has a clearing!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Not bad, but not life-changing either. Great to see views and appreciate Swiss technology on the cable car (fast, smooth, and efficient!). However, weather was overcast so ensure to book and tour during the sunny months!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

Alex H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sights themselves were great, but the tour itself was very average.

Firstly, we selected an English guide, and although the guide spoke excellent English, there were several other nationalities of people there, which meant we he had to say everything 5 times. Which whilst extremely impressive meant we got very little information in English.

Secondly, there was A LOT of waiting around. Because it was a huge coach, not a small minibus, a huge amount of time was spent dropping people of and picking people up. There was also way too much time allocated for lunch. There should have been at least 30mins less. Everyone was wandering around nearby shops trying to kill time before the tour restarted.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alex was a wonderful tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip; wonderful scenery aided by a clear day. A must do experience on any trip to Rio with the added bonus of a visit to the modern City Cathedral with the sun reflecting through its impressive stained glass windows. Only downside was my husband inadvertently dropping his ticket on the tour bus and being unable to take the trip with the tour group. He found it as soon as we were able to access the bus on its return journey and as it was valid for use returned in the afternoon and described it as being the best mistake in his life as he was up Sugar Loaf when the sunset - an awesome sight!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great half day tour

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing views of entire Rio De Janeiro beaches.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message