Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour in the open back jeep.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Due to events in Rio, we could not visit the Favela we were supposed to. I don't know was that the reason or the lack of English skills of our tour guide, that the tour didn't feel that great. Our guide could not answer our basic questions and the tour was not really that structured. It would have been great to be able to visit someone's home to see how they really live and not just look at the homes outside. (I've been able to visit homes in various countries including Mexico, Thailand, Kenya, and China)

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. The Favela tour was excellent! Getting to see Christ the Redeemer was great! The art shops in Santa Teresa was a treat!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Daniel was a GREAT tour guide. So knowledgeable and respected by the locals. By far, this was the best excursion we had while we were in Rio. If you're only here for a couple days, this tour is a MUST and it will not disappoint! Remember to be courteous and ask the locals if you can photograph them before taking a picture (more of an issue in the Favelas than anywhere else).

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour took us to Rocinha Favela, as opposed to Santa Marta advertised in the website; but not that I know the difference between the two.

Nevertheless, it was a very good experience to see the conditions of living in the favela. We were taken up to the top of the hill in a open-top jeep, and walked our way down through the small narrow rugged footpaths. The footpaths / streets were relatively clean, although not tidy, but not smelly like the Rio city area.

The locals there genuinely looked friendly. The tour guide told us it was quite safe there, with police stationed at strategic locations. I was carrying my SLR camera around my neck taking pictures frequently which is something I couldn’t do in the Rio city area.

The jeep picked us up at the bottom, and then drove us pass Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana beaches before dropping us off back at the hotel.

Overall it was great. If there is any improvement needed, it’s the tour guide who should probably wear a coloured cap to distinct himself so that we could spot him easier. It was difficult at times to spot him in the crowd.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour with a great guide with lots of warmth and heart. The day stared out at 9 AM and went until about 4 PM. The guide was informative and honest. He spoke English very well and hew was a smart local man. This was by far one of the best tours I have every experienced in any city the size of Rio. Every part of the tour was exceptional, no hands down. I highly recumbent this tour and this tour company.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Loved Daniel. Knowledgable, thoughtful, informative guide. The tour takes you to interesting parts of the city and brings you into the city by using local transport an diving into life as a local. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good itinerary. Santa Teresa was good. Lunch was at a pay by weight buffet place, which was pricey (and would prefer more local food). The favela tour was OK but was a bit disappointing as we visited the most "touristy" favela in Rio - the Santa Marta. Overall was quite OK, with Daniel the tour guide being quite informative. However, still a bit pricey.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good guide that knew the locals.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

i signed up for a tour of the Santa Marta favela and they took us to the Rocinha favela. Also, the reservation said we would bed picked up at 8AM but they didnt arrive until 8:45 AM. So, they were almost an hour late to pick us up and we were the first to be picked up. we made about 4 more stops before we began the tour of the favela that only lasted about an hour. this tour is not really worth 60 dollars. if you want to see a favela you can just walk into the Vidigal or the Rocinha favela during the day and see for yourself. you can also take a moto taxi or a cambi (little white vans at the bottom of the favela) to take you to the top to see the views.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The description of this tour is misleading. This is a favela tour. Do not take this tour if you want to spend more than a few minutes at each of the other locations listed for this tour. Not recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative tour!!! Tour guide Daniel is awesome!!! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour, an unforgettable experience. Daniel was a great tour guide, and provided a lot of great info on the city of rio. It's nice that you get a walking tour of those parts of the city, rather than just being drove around on a big tourism bus.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message