Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great guide, made sure that the tour suited us. Thank you

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Stephanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had an amazing experience learning about the Rio culture. Daniel was a great guide!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Miss T A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide Daniel was fluent in english and very knowledgeable. It was a great way to see Rio travelling on local transport and walking through the city. You get to see so much of the Santa Teresa neighbourhood and we were fortunate that the tram was operating so we got to go on that. The favela tour was a unique and eye opening experience with plenty of info and opportunities for photos. Would highly recommend this tour to other people. Such a jam packed day and well worth it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Karla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, very interesting, and a lot of information from our guides Sergio y Jose Carlos, both of them very friendly, Thank you so much, the tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tijuca Forest and Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

FIONA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable afternoon, a bit long winded to start with as minibus had broken down and collecting people from hotels who didn't seem to be ready on time. Our guide had lived in the flavela all his life and seemed to know many people on way round. He was very informative and explained how things were run in a flavela, police leave the residents to sort out issues. The electricity wires have to be seen, a chance to see the other side of Rio, well worth a visit.

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

dennis w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Daniel was the best. He brought us to many fabulous sights. This nice young man was a credit to your company. Rio was a fantastic place to visit.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Kind regards,
Peter

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

charles r

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Mediocre guide.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Jehan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour all around Rio to get to main tourist attractions and learn about the culture.
Highly recommend!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Cameron V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour. Knowledgeable tour guide, very enjoyable. However it is a lot of walking, may not be suitable for people who don't like a lot of walking.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Doni J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It felt as if it would be a family member showing us around rather than a tour guide.

Doing what: Tijuca Forest and Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

james g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An absolutely amazing experience.Thanks to our guide Alex who is so friendly and knowledgeable.The visit to St Teresa and the St Marta Favela is a memory of a lifetime.And lunchtime was exceptionally tasty in a typical local restaurant.Highly Recommendable.Thanks from Malta.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Stacy C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We covered so many areas in an eight hour span which wore me out in a good way. Lots of walking which I hoped was less of. At the end of the tour, we were driving to the Christ Redeemer. Great service too to see the Christ Redeemer with no wait. I would highly recommend aviator to visit the Christ Redeemer and to avoid line. Great job by the team who led the walking tour!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Helis L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I wish the tour guide knew more interesting facts, otherwise it was just a quick walk through it. We also didn't go to anyones house or talk to the locals as it said it will. The tour was a bit too short as well. Favela itself is great though!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

MURDOCH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour by Jeep to an interesting part of town. A place where working people can afford to live

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Boarder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Not just a walk by The Favelas, but actually walking into them. A real interesting place. Had great weather in August.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Peta L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This really was a great way to experience more than just the tourist traps of Rio. Daniel was fantastic - passionate about his city and guiding. It was a bonus that along the way we met many people who knew Daniel personally which really added to the authenticity - I felt like a local rather than a tourist. Getting around via public transport built my confidence to do it on my own for the rest of the week. It was great to visit Santa Teresa although this was the first stop of the day and everything was closed.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour - comfortable transportation, and Alex was a great tour guide - very knowledgeable about the history of Brazil and had a great, good-natured sense of humor - especially when talking about football with a couple of German tourists! The Favela was a real highlight!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Louise A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Booked this and unexpectedly we had a jeep turn up to take us on the favela and Tijuca park tour. It was very good despite this and our guide was very informative. It was a great combination with town then beautiful waterfalls etc.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

hartsantos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I loved this your! Amazing views and tour experience, excellent guide Vivian of Parati Travel, nothing better!
Watching the hang/para gliding and strolling through the Favela are worth spending 5 hours in Rio. The feeling of contentment surpassed other day tours!

Doing what: Tijuca Forest and Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Maxim P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was reasonably interesting, although I liked the one of Santa Marta slightly better.

Doing what: Favela Da Rocinha in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message