Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Daniel was great!!!! He was very attentive to the details and passionate about Brasil, it's history and culture. Had a great time, well worth it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good guide, good tour - we can recommend it.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Interesting tour, and Daniel (the tour guide) was excellent. This is not a tour for those who prefer to look out of the windows of an air-conditioned tour bus--we walked and walked and took public transport for everything, but that was great for getting a real sense of everything. My only reservation was that Santa Teresa was one big construction site because of the repairs on the trolley, which won't be done for another year or more, and so this (major) part of the tour was not as nice as I had hoped. But the rest was excellent!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Interesting to see, if the local guide had had his way though it would have been over and done with in half an hour. The only interaction with the local community was at a very small street market when you first get to the favela, purposfully set up to sell goods to tourists, we were just hurried through one neighbourbood whilst the guide was constantley looking at his watch and he never waited for the group to come together before explaining things ...... its ok but could have been a lot better.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a fantastic tour - it was very interesting to see the local community. The guide was very knowledgeable and the views were some of the best Rio has to offer. Probably the best tour of the holiday.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was really interesting to see and know more about the favela. It was relatively safe and lots of walking involved . Overall the tour guide Paulo was knowledgeable and the whole crew was friendly. For a maximum of only 12 tourists, it made it better that it was only good for a small group!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our guide Daniel was excellent, very welcoming and answering all questions large or small. It was a lot of places to cover and we saw a lot of very interesting things. The only reason I didn't give more stars was because we went on a Sunday, and many of the places we visited were really quiet, not at all a typical experience in Santa Teresa and the city. If you go on a Saturday or even a weekday, this tour would be much more fun!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

This advertised 8 hour tour was more like 6 1/2 hours. The guide was ok but could have been better. While driving through town he sat in the front seat talking with the driver. Instead, he could have been telling us what we were driving by. Specifically, the aqueduct; we drove past and he never mentioned it. He definitely had specific things to show us, like one shop in Santa Teresa and specific restaurant for lunch. The subway was advertised in the brochure and he never mentioned it. I asked if the subway was inconvenient and he said some people use it. If it's not included in the tour it should be removed from the brochure. I've ridden subways all over the world and was looking forward to Rio's. Also, the trolley ride is advertised, but it hasn't operated since an accident in 2011. After 3 years I think it should be removed from the brochure. What we saw was fantastic, I just thought the guide was young, inexperienced, and the brochure falsely advertised a trolley ride and subway ride. If we had done those, maybe the tour would really have lasted 8 hours.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The highlight of the trip. Informative and packed. Lots of walking at a moderate pace.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Probably the BEST tour in Rio. Very interesting to find out how over 30% of the Brazilian population live. The guide was well versed about the history of his country and additionally was able to speak several languages properly. Not so common in Brazil.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Luiz was so awesome! He was knowledgeable, funny, and kept us on time! I mistakenly left a bag on the bus, and he was so great in helping me meet up with the bus the next day to recover it. I was really grateful!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent tour with very knowledgable and friendly guides. The walk through the favela was really interesting and not to be missed. Beware though, it's not really suitable for anyone with knee or walking problems and this wasn't mentioned in the information.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide Daniel was great and informative. He didn't rush the tour at all, which I really appreciated. I really enjoyed navigating the public transportation and being within the city like a native. This is a great way to get used to the city and getting rid of any apprehensions you may have to travel around given everything everyone says about the city. As for the Favela, please do it! The people are really welcoming and you don't feel so awkward for visiting. There's also other favelas to visit. Once you see this one you'll want to explore the others so keep that in mind. Santa Teresa was also a great town to visit. Wish the trolley was operating, but also good to know the history and controversy of the accident which occurred there.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message