Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

mom1clw
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Although the duration of this tour was long (9am-6pm), it was comprehensive and educational. We never felt rushed, even stopping for water every chance we had on a 100 degree F, 90% humidity day. Lots and lots of steps and uneven streets on this tour. Alex and Evan were great!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He was also able to get us through the long line ups at Christ the Redeemer and had us back at a reasonable time.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He was also able to get us through the long line ups at Christ the Redeemer and had us back at a reasonable time.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He was also able to get us through the long line ups at Christ the Redeemer and had us back at a reasonable time.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He was also able to get us through the long line ups at Christ the Redeemer and had us back at a reasonable time.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour proided the genuine up close and personal experience of insight into the "pacified" favella. Our guide was informative and clearly in personal touch with the residents, who didn't seem at all resentful of our small group of 10 visitors. Travelers should be warned that this tour is moderately strenuous. You are driven to the top of the favela and led down through the narrow stairway alleyways for about 1 and a half hours. The steps are steep in some places, and footing is not always very very good. Wear sturdy walking shoes. Carry water and Reais in small notes or coins to buy more as you walk. Stay hydrated at all costs. You do not want to get dehydrated during this tour. A suggested test: If you can't comfortably walk 4 miles on level ground in 30 degree (Celsius) heat, this tour isn't for you. Hat and sunscreen recommended.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Ally Munro
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Interesting to see how Favela life and the communities have developed

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Daniel was great!!!! He was very attentive to the details and passionate about Brasil, it's history and culture. Had a great time, well worth it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it. 5 star

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Daniel went above and beyond his duties to make sure we had a great time. I would highly recommend this tour as you get to really see the favela as well as a closer look at the city.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good guide, good tour - we can recommend it.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great day!
Our guide was Dominic and she was fantastic.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Interesting tour, and Daniel (the tour guide) was excellent. This is not a tour for those who prefer to look out of the windows of an air-conditioned tour bus--we walked and walked and took public transport for everything, but that was great for getting a real sense of everything. My only reservation was that Santa Teresa was one big construction site because of the repairs on the trolley, which won't be done for another year or more, and so this (major) part of the tour was not as nice as I had hoped. But the rest was excellent!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Interesting to see, if the local guide had had his way though it would have been over and done with in half an hour. The only interaction with the local community was at a very small street market when you first get to the favela, purposfully set up to sell goods to tourists, we were just hurried through one neighbourbood whilst the guide was constantley looking at his watch and he never waited for the group to come together before explaining things ...... its ok but could have been a lot better.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message