Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour! Enjoyed every bit if it. A little bit on the pricey side but it's well worth it for the great insight you get into life in Rio. Loved the fact that public transport is used and got so many good tips from our guide Daniel. Highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed the trip service and guide were very good will definitely use this people again

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very good and fascinating.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour of different parts of Rio. It is a full day so be prepared. Very interesting to see Santa Teresa and Santa Marta Favela on foot. Our guides were great and with the large crowds at Corcovado Mountain (New Years), he was able to stick handle the group through the ques.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall the tour was good. Our tour guide Alex was great. But, our bus had an air conditioning problem that was not so great.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see the "other side" of Rio. We were warned that it was very scary. However it was not that bad. The guide took us to the top of a house where you have an excellent view of the favela with the skyscrapers in the back ground. Overall, it was worthwhile and a good experience.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a window to the world of Rio one would not know if the traveller did not take this tour. What an experience! Somewhat arduous due to the steep hills and multple, rough climbs and steps. But well worth the effort. Views are wonderful!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Ivan the guide was amazing! He was full of local information and made the whole tour exceptional! Well done to him and the tour company....make sure you wear good shoes....I wore flip flops and my feet were very sore by the end of the day....my own fault!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic tour guide, very knowledgeable, answered any questions, learnt a lot about the history of the favela and about the locals. An important experience during our visit.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This was supposed to be a very exotic and exciting tour. But guess what, our guide did not show up. As a consequence, we could not get down from the vehicle to get a closer look at the Favela. The driver who became our erstwhile tour guide, was too afraid to leave his vehicle unguarded inside the Favela.

The driver tried his best and that is the only reason why there is even a single star.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

mom1clw
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Although the duration of this tour was long (9am-6pm), it was comprehensive and educational. We never felt rushed, even stopping for water every chance we had on a 100 degree F, 90% humidity day. Lots and lots of steps and uneven streets on this tour. Alex and Evan were great!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He was also able to get us through the long line ups at Christ the Redeemer and had us back at a reasonable time.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour proided the genuine up close and personal experience of insight into the "pacified" favella. Our guide was informative and clearly in personal touch with the residents, who didn't seem at all resentful of our small group of 10 visitors. Travelers should be warned that this tour is moderately strenuous. You are driven to the top of the favela and led down through the narrow stairway alleyways for about 1 and a half hours. The steps are steep in some places, and footing is not always very very good. Wear sturdy walking shoes. Carry water and Reais in small notes or coins to buy more as you walk. Stay hydrated at all costs. You do not want to get dehydrated during this tour. A suggested test: If you can't comfortably walk 4 miles on level ground in 30 degree (Celsius) heat, this tour isn't for you. Hat and sunscreen recommended.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message