• USD ($)
  • English
Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative tour!!! Tour guide Daniel is awesome!!! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour, an unforgettable experience. Daniel was a great tour guide, and provided a lot of great info on the city of rio. It's nice that you get a walking tour of those parts of the city, rather than just being drove around on a big tourism bus.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour. Great guide. Highlight: visiting the Santa Marta favela and mingling with the residents at a bar watching Brasil v Mexico.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great experience with Daniel and we were happy to see so many famous sites in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun, the sights we saw were amazing. Strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Daniel was very cool dude. very good English and professional. We skipped the line to go to the Christ, he made it that we went up there surprisingly fast. The favela tour was cool too. However, It is a little too pricey, I guess it should be cheaper during times that is not the world cup.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well worth a visit, just for the views. If you like cats there are plenty to see here. Totally different to the rest of Rio.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Visiting the favelas is a must - a great experience! This tour however was disappointing in the quality - started 90 minutes late, and only lasted two hours... Undersold I'm afraid to say.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Rio de Janeiro! We got to see so much in one day. This was the only tour that covered all the highlights of Rio that we really wanted to see. It was an excellent way to get a snapshot of the city and it's culture. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke english well. The tour of the Santa Marta Favela was very interesting so make sure you include this in your tour.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Daniel is the best tour guide you could get for this combo tour: very knowledgable and straightforward and when weather wasn't helping he was ready with Plan B or C to not let Mother Nature spoil the adventure. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The highlight of the tour was Santa Marta. A great way to see a favela while giving back to its community members with the opportunity to purchase local-made crafts and goods. Very safe. Fascinating history of Michael Jackson and celebrity visits to the favela, and friendly and welcoming locals. Our tour guide Daniel was very knowledgeable. The Santa Teresa trolley hasn't run since 2011 so that is a bit misleading. Much of that neighborhood is under construction and not spectacular, but still worth a visit simply for the sight of the spectacular tile staircase, "Escadaria Selaron." Christ the Redeemer also a must-see. Overall, our guide, driver, and tour group were all very friendly and it was a great day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

it was definetely not worth it the money, very overpriced!
the time at the Corcovado was too short, the visit to Santa Teresa neighborhood was a waste of time, nothing really to see; the Santa Marta favela was quite interesting, that's all!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message