Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. The Favela tour was excellent! Getting to see Christ the Redeemer was great! The art shops in Santa Teresa was a treat!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Daniel was a GREAT tour guide. So knowledgeable and respected by the locals. By far, this was the best excursion we had while we were in Rio. If you're only here for a couple days, this tour is a MUST and it will not disappoint! Remember to be courteous and ask the locals if you can photograph them before taking a picture (more of an issue in the Favelas than anywhere else).

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good guide that knew the locals.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

i signed up for a tour of the Santa Marta favela and they took us to the Rocinha favela. Also, the reservation said we would bed picked up at 8AM but they didnt arrive until 8:45 AM. So, they were almost an hour late to pick us up and we were the first to be picked up. we made about 4 more stops before we began the tour of the favela that only lasted about an hour. this tour is not really worth 60 dollars. if you want to see a favela you can just walk into the Vidigal or the Rocinha favela during the day and see for yourself. you can also take a moto taxi or a cambi (little white vans at the bottom of the favela) to take you to the top to see the views.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The description of this tour is misleading. This is a favela tour. Do not take this tour if you want to spend more than a few minutes at each of the other locations listed for this tour. Not recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative tour!!! Tour guide Daniel is awesome!!! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an amazing tour, an unforgettable experience. Daniel was a great tour guide, and provided a lot of great info on the city of rio. It's nice that you get a walking tour of those parts of the city, rather than just being drove around on a big tourism bus.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour. Great guide. Highlight: visiting the Santa Marta favela and mingling with the residents at a bar watching Brasil v Mexico.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great experience with Daniel and we were happy to see so many famous sites in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun, the sights we saw were amazing. Strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Daniel was very cool dude. very good English and professional. We skipped the line to go to the Christ, he made it that we went up there surprisingly fast. The favela tour was cool too. However, It is a little too pricey, I guess it should be cheaper during times that is not the world cup.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing experience. The Guide was knowledgeable and helped us learn a great piece of history. The tour was safe and very unique. This was definitely the best moment of my Rio de Janeiro visit. Highly recommended 5/5

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well worth a visit, just for the views. If you like cats there are plenty to see here. Totally different to the rest of Rio.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Visiting the favelas is a must - a great experience! This tour however was disappointing in the quality - started 90 minutes late, and only lasted two hours... Undersold I'm afraid to say.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message