Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Rio's 900+ favelas are home to hundreds of thousands of people, packed tightly in astonishing density and replete with all the violence, criminality and squalor that one might expect when extreme poverty is combined with extreme overcrowding. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour, nice and small with only 5 of us. I really enjoyed walking for some much of it as it meant we got to see so much more, rather than just driving in and driving out of the various stops. Anderson our guide was fantastic, recommending other things to do during our stay in Rio.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quite and education! The people who live in the favela seem to have created a community that works well for them.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

mirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed it. Great tour guide!!!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Basma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour and awesome guide

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Beckybox

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable, interesting and humbling tour. Walking round the favelas is an experience. People are friendly and welcoming. Waited around for the tram, but gave up. Seralon stairs are definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

jflinen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the best trips ever. Carlos our guide was brilliant

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

eris.rogers

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Favela Da Rocinha in Rio de Janeiro

AIsha J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour allows for amazing vistas of Rio and it's a great look into the favela and the ingenuity of the people living there. Best time to go- Sunday morning- because that's the only day when there's a market in the favela. We were able to walk through a large markets and shop a bit.

Only negative- my tour voucher said 8AM pick up. At 8:30 I asked the hotel to call the tour I don't speak Portruguese and I was told the tour was actually 9:10AM start. I'm not sure why the voucher was incorrect, but I'd rather have slept in that extra hour!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Nathan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel is one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Super funny, knowledgable, and popular amongst everyone. Gee we had fun this trip! Such a great vibe, and because there were so many different elements to it - by the end you are completely satisfied. A truly magical day and a massive highlight of our time in Rio. Thank you Daniel for such a great experience!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Shari Greene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

vERY INFORMATIVE. vERY KNOWLEGDABLE GUIDE.MISSED OUT ON THE CAPERIAQ SHOW .. THE PERFORMERS WERE A NO SHOW.TOO BAD WAS HOPING TO SEE IT.. THE TOUR WAS GOOD EVEN WITHOUT THE SHOW

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Trudy USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pedro has to be the best tour guide in Rio. We had a very interactive, informative and overall fun tour. Pedro who grew up and still lives in the Rocinha Favela took us everywhere in the Favela which included having lunch at a local stand. You can not visit Rio and not give yourself the opportunity to learn the truth about life in the Favela....the most beautiful, self sustained and extremely united community that I have ever seen

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Cami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniel ! highly recommend him, we had a blast walking around and listening to a very knowledgable young man. very energetic, easy to talk to and caring for all of us in the walking tour. We met awesome people :

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

annette v

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour and guide. SAME TOUR, booked through the hotel instead of your company
was HALF the price! Upsetting!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Humberto M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Nice day in the Favela

Doing what: Favela Da Rocinha in Rio de Janeiro

Jeannie M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We were really looking forward to the Favela tour and were thriller when we realized that we were the only ones going that morning. Our guide and driver were very personable. We were disappointed that the actual tour was just one hour and 10 minutes, the guide did not live in the favela and we did not see very much of it.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Ivan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If your main interest is to see the Christ statue do not book this tour.
They advertise key places like Christ statue and Santa Teresa in order to hook you and spend most of the time in the Favela which I personally found depressing and not that safe, especially for women.
The guide left the trip to the Christ statue to the very end conveniently after the Favela tour when visibility is the worst and you will most likely have to cancel which is what happened in our case. The best time to go to the Christ is before or around noon.
The restaurant choice was extremely bad. Instead of going to a nice restaurant to try typical Brazilian food, we were taken to a very mediocre weigh and pay type restaurant.
While driving through the city the guide just sat in the front chatting with the driver instead of telling us where we were driving by.
Not recommended.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was everything I was hoping it would be. The visit to Santa Teresa was very informative and the tram ride a great experience, The steps' were awesome although would have liked more time on them to enjoy the ambiance. The Favela was a very eye opening experience and one I am very glad I did not miss! People living there were very open and friendly. They have the best views of Rio of anyone living in Rio!!!!! Corcovado - what can one say - a truly inspirational experience. Guides were great and very informative and each place visited had ample time except the steps to really enjoy.
Would definitely 10 this tour as one to take when in Rio !!!
Its a walking tour but its broken up enough that you don't really experience any stress or strain as far as too much walking at any one time

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Paige E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Everyone on the tour was saying this was among their favorite activities they and #39;d done in Rio, if not THE favorite. Really glad I did this and would recommend to anyone visiting Rio!!

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Dariya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Local guide was amazing and on top of that he lives in the favela himself, so he was able to give us a lot of insight.

Doing what: Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Mark S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour was good. Good to side another side of Rio.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great guide, made sure that the tour suited us. Thank you

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Stephanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had an amazing experience learning about the Rio culture. Daniel was a great guide!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Miss T A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide Daniel was fluent in english and very knowledgeable. It was a great way to see Rio travelling on local transport and walking through the city. You get to see so much of the Santa Teresa neighbourhood and we were fortunate that the tram was operating so we got to go on that. The favela tour was a unique and eye opening experience with plenty of info and opportunities for photos. Would highly recommend this tour to other people. Such a jam packed day and well worth it.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Ross

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The favela tour was fantastic. Guide Filipe was brilliant with his non-stop historical information. A great history lesson, as well as an education on how the underprivileged section of Rio society live. In addition we visited the replanted forest area that used to be a coffee plantaion, which showed how nature can be restored by visionary leaders. This tour is a must do.

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

Nashira M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Anderson was a great guide! The tour was also great. It started on time. You get to see the side of Brazil you probably wouldn't see otherwise. Highly recommended

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message