With the city gearing up to host the FIFA World Cup finals on July 13 and soccer fever sweeping the nation, it is an atmospheric time to visit Rio de Janeiro. Even if you don’t have tickets for a game, you can still make the most of the festive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 802 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kiyo
Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My recommended activities are "Corcovado ", "Sugar Loaf Mountain" and "Plataforma Samba Show".
You should go there if you visit Rio.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. The Favela tour was excellent! Getting to see Christ the Redeemer was great! The art shops in Santa Teresa was a treat!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour is great.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour great, queues not so good but unavoidable.

Doing what: Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fun ride and breathtaking views!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised. Pick up from the Hotel was good and then in general we loved the tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Daniel was a GREAT tour guide. So knowledgeable and respected by the locals. By far, this was the best excursion we had while we were in Rio. If you're only here for a couple days, this tour is a MUST and it will not disappoint! Remember to be courteous and ask the locals if you can photograph them before taking a picture (more of an issue in the Favelas than anywhere else).

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Combo Tour: Santa Teresa, Corcovado Mountain and Santa Marta Favela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It's so nice to do these tours without having to wait in line for the tickets. We were able to get off the bus and go straight onto the line for the cable car, instead of waiting in the 2 hour line to buy the tickets to get onto the mountain. The views from Sugar Loaf mountain are breathtaking! Our tour guide adjusted the amount of time we got to stay up there due to the extremely long lines to get to Sugar Loaf from the smaller mountain. We didn't take the bus back to the hotel. Instead we opted to have lunch in Urca, a neighborhood referred to by the locals as the place "where the rich people live." It was breathtakingly beautiful!

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So relaxing... and really gives you a unique view of the city that you can't get from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. The pontoon is big and we had about 50 other guests with us on the boat. It was a really nice cruise!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Daniel our guide was SUPER -- very knowledgable, friendly, great sense of humor ,and made our trip so enjoyable !

Doing what: Small-Group Santa Teresa Discovery Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour. Picked up a little late, but didn't really affect the day. We were in a very comfortable bus with a nice and knowledgable tour guide (sorry, I can't remember the name). She spoke very good English and showed interest in who was on her tour.

Whilst driving to the cable cars to make our ascent, the tour guide gave lots of interesting information about landmarks and locations we were driving past.

The views from Sugar Loaf and the halfway point where you also stop off (again, the name hasn't quite stuck in my memory!) are amazing and make the whole trip worth while on it's own. We had a good time to look around and take some snaps, but not long enough to get bored. The tour guide gave us some more interesting facts about the mountain and the city and was happy to answer questions.

We then went on a city tour which I guess was included but I didn't actually notice at booking, so a nice bonus! We visited the location ot Carneval which was semi-interesting (to me anyway) and the [insert name here!] cathedral that, in my opinion, was fairly ugly! But again, an interesting journey around parts of the city we weren't aware of.

If you want to visit Sugar Loaf, this trip is perfect. We were back by 1 and had the rest of the afternoon to enjoy Copacabana #karmmm

Doing what: Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide got to my hotel ahead of schedule and I was able to hop on to the jeep 10 minutes before the scheduled start time. The guide was very knowledgeable, spoke perfect English and pointed out many important buildings, landmarks, etc. on the way to and from the forest. He even asked the driver to take us through a more scenic route on the way back. The forest itself was nice (a bit cool, so bring a light jacket or sweater) and I did get to see some monkeys during the hike.

Overall, I didn't feel rushed during the trip. There were several stops within the forest, including at the Chinese view, waterfalls, a museum and the 15-20 min hike. They do pick up other people on the way to the forest, but that wasn't a big deal for me as I had time to spare and had planned to spend about half a day on the trip. The guide picked me up from my hotel in the neighborhood of Flamengo, even though it wasn't listed as a pick up point when I booked my trip on Viator, so that was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with this tour. The tour guide named Fabio was punctual and picked us up at our hotel lobby right on time. He was a smart man who spoke three different languages. This allowed us to ask him questions about the Tijuca Rain Forest and Rio de Janeiro as well. It was interesting to go through Favela Rocinha where we saw a man on a bike with a dog on his back. The first stop of the tour was the beautiful Cascatinha Falls. We also stopped at an old Carmelite chapel. The last stop was Vista Chinesa where you'll see a remarkable view of Rio de Janeiro. The tour was worth the price. We were so happy we tipped Fabio US$20. And he was also accomodating and allowed us to get dropped off at the Hippie Market in Ipanema where we enjoyed some shopping.

Doing what: Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing experience. The Guide was knowledgeable and helped us learn a great piece of history. The tour was safe and very unique. This was definitely the best moment of my Rio de Janeiro visit. Highly recommended 5/5

Doing what: Favela Tour in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very entertaining and fun activity which included audience participation. I recommend the dinner buffet that is offered prior to the show at a separate place. The food was excellent with waiters who carved the various meat offerings at your table. The buffet offered a great variety of Brazilian specialties but also included sushi.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message