The beaches of Rio de Janeiro are the stuff of song and legend, and they certainly live up to their billing. An entire state unto itself rather than a single city, Rio sees nearly three million visitors a year and is Brazil’s biggest tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

While the trip from hotel to boat takes 3 hours (and another 3 back), the 5 hours boat trip was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This trip was actually cancelled but I was offered an alternative - a trip around the Green Coast from Angra dos Reis which is 3 hours away from Rio de Janeiro. It was a lovely day out - the boat stopped in 3 different bays - there was plenty of live music and entertainment on board and the meal included was very hearty and tasty.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. The only con is the amount of time it took for us to get to the location. If you're an antsy person and need help sleeping, I suggest you go out the night before because you wilL have a good nap on the bus ride. It's a 2 1/2 hour drive. Once arriving to the boat, we sailed across the ocean and enjoyed 4 private islands. However, there were no dolphins or stingrays seen. The boat turned into a mini party boat which was great for my party. Thanks

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Although, I found this tour quite boring, it was nice to see the harbor and get a grasp on how the city was laid out. I was under the impression that we would have a chance to explore some beaches and get off the boat and go swimming, which was not the case. I was quite disappointed. In addition, another passenger stated she had purchased the optional lunch but that was canceled at the last minute.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So relaxing... and really gives you a unique view of the city that you can't get from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. The pontoon is big and we had about 50 other guests with us on the boat. It was a really nice cruise!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was very enjoyable - Isaac was a great guide. The bus was very luxurious and comfortable, and the trip to and from Buzios was relaxing. When we got there, we went straight out on the boat trip. The boat trip was too long (2 hours 15 minutes) for what it was (we didn't go very far) - we stopped 3 times, each time for 15-20 minutes for people to swim. One stop would have been enough, and the trip could have been cut to no more than 90 minutes. But it was still worthwhile. Buzios was lovely - but we only had 75 minutes to walk around. As previously mentioned, the boat trip should be shortened, leaving more time to see Buzios. Still, overall a great trip!!

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our overall experience was disappointing and did not meet our expectations. The scenery from the bay cruise was worth the experience with great views of Sugar loaf, forts, bay and Navel Museum and buildings, with Christ the Redeemer Statue in the background.
However the boat was somewhat crowded and noisy. Our guide who was not always present, but did interpret the difficult to hear boat commentary.
The day was spoilt by the very poor optional seafood lunch. From previous reviews on this site, we had expected a high standard of a seafood lunch. We were taken to "Bar do Beto" in Ipanema. Having chosen the fish from the options ( fish, steak, or pasta), what was served was bread, rice, potato and more batter than fish, and that was it! We also felt slightly rushed as our guide was managing a separate larger group.
Overall, the package was not value for money.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was on time and from the minute he met us he was pleasant and informative. It was a great way to see Rio . It was an enjoyable time on the cruise and JB was excellent. Please thank him again for his positive energy and providing my family and I with an enjoyable start to our day.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a really lovely way to see the bay! We'd already seen the beauty from Sugarloaf Mountain, so it was great to see it by boat. Our guide "JB" was the best, he was extremely friendly and very informative. We got to Gloria marina very early which wasn't ideal (a lot of wasted time as not a lot to do). Note: you can NOT swim in the Guanabara Bay, so if you're thinking there might be some time to take a dip, think again! The cruise lasts for about 2 hours, even though it says four hours (this is supposed to include pick-up/drop off time). Drinks are not included, but can be purchased on board (not sure for how much - I couldn't bring myself to drink at 9am in the morning!) While it wasn't quite what we expected, it was a lovely morning out and we enjoyed the cruise. Great idea to see the bay from a different angle and if you are looking for something to do.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Not the four hour tour we were expecting. There are still nice views of the bay and niteroi, and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The trip was not as expected based upon the reviews, but maybe I just had high expectations.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful experience. If you love love history then you would visualise what the first settlers witnessed as they came towards the shores and how the indigenous people looked out towards the sea. The trip was made more relevant as we had gone for the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado trips the previous days. It was a sunny day and taking photographs was a joy. The guide spoke good English and was very knowledgeable. She knew when to speak and when to let us just soak in the view. No issues with safety and the music played on board was in sync with the trip. The only snag was that the CD which we bought for 20 Reals from the operators were blank and we only found out in Singapore. Definitely not heading back to Rio anytime soon even though the heart yearns for it. Good tour, well organised, pick up was ok but we waited a tad too long at the bay. Other than that, I would give it 8/10.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This tour was dreadful. A very long coach ride to a squalid, clapped out boat which they had the nerve to call a "schooner". There were no hand washing facilities and neither of the toliets (there were 2) would flush. We were invited to swim in murky water within sight of tankers and then taken to a dilapidated, refuse strewn "beach" where there was a virtually derelict building which the guide referred to as a restaurant. It had a filthy toilet; running water but no soap. "Lunch" was revolting. After the return boat trip we waited over an hour for the bus to arrive for the return trip to Rio. What a complete waste of a day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message