• USD ($)
  • English
The beaches of Rio de Janeiro are the stuff of song and legend, and they certainly live up to their billing. An entire state unto itself rather than a single city, Rio sees nearly three million visitors a year and is Brazil’s biggest tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful experience. If you love love history then you would visualise what the first settlers witnessed as they came towards the shores and how the indigenous people looked out towards the sea. The trip was made more relevant as we had gone for the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado trips the previous days. It was a sunny day and taking photographs was a joy. The guide spoke good English and was very knowledgeable. She knew when to speak and when to let us just soak in the view. No issues with safety and the music played on board was in sync with the trip. The only snag was that the CD which we bought for 20 Reals from the operators were blank and we only found out in Singapore. Definitely not heading back to Rio anytime soon even though the heart yearns for it. Good tour, well organised, pick up was ok but we waited a tad too long at the bay. Other than that, I would give it 8/10.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This tour was dreadful. A very long coach ride to a squalid, clapped out boat which they had the nerve to call a "schooner". There were no hand washing facilities and neither of the toliets (there were 2) would flush. We were invited to swim in murky water within sight of tankers and then taken to a dilapidated, refuse strewn "beach" where there was a virtually derelict building which the guide referred to as a restaurant. It had a filthy toilet; running water but no soap. "Lunch" was revolting. After the return boat trip we waited over an hour for the bus to arrive for the return trip to Rio. What a complete waste of a day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Upon arrival and calling to confirm we were told then and only then, not before at any time by email, that the tour provider was unable to fulfill the tour. It would have been extremely helpful to us to have known this in advance. We did rearrange our schedule and did a 9 am bike ride on a different beach and were told by the guide that he would have been the same provider for the 3 pm tour but he had never been contacted to provide that service. Somewhere there is a disconnect with the middleman here

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Bike Tour: Ipanema, Leblon and Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was an excellent opportunity to see Rio de Janeiro from a different perspective than one gets from a bus or van. Views of Corcovado, Sugarloaf, NItero, and other sights could be enjoyed in a relaxing fashion. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our boat trip got cancelled so we were put together with this tour group.
While the day was tons of fun, we hadn't anticipated a 3 hour drive each way (our original tour was 1.5 each way).
We also thought our tour guide would speak some English, but he didn't. He was very nice and tried a little, but all 3 hours there and back, he talked to the tour bus in Portuguese or Spanish and we got absolutely nothing out of it. We still don't even know what town we went to (to board our schooner boat) or which 3 islands our boat took us to. Now, for our scrapbooks sake, we have to look on the internet and try to find a town with 3 Kings statues and then 3 islands near there, which we possibly visited.
In the end we decided to call the tour "The Mystery Tour" because we didn't know where we went or what we saw.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A very pleasant cruise with commentary on board,

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A memorable moment. A clear sunny day for Rio de Janeiro. The ship was relatively small and although we shared with other tourists it did not effect our enjoyment in the slightest. Our group was just four with a knowledgable English speaking guide. We had clear views of Christ the redeemer, sugar loaf mountain and according to our guide a very rare crystal clear view of Gods finger. It was a wonderful start to a fabulous holiday.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Had a great tour, definitely worth it. We opted for the option with the cruise- which was the best part of the trip. Buzios is a really cute town and I enjoyed the visit. We drove to Buzios from Rio (about 2 hours), then had some free time in the town (about 30 minutes), got on the boat and toured around the island. There was music playing, caipirinhas being made, you could jump off the boat to swim, and lots of fun people on the boat! Then once back in town we had time for lunch, and went to a great restaurant. Beware though- whatever you don't eat there we had to pay for- the message was in Portuguese and we didn't know.
The only negative was that it took a long time in the morning to do the pick ups from all of the hotels. We were supposed to be picked up at 7am but no one showed up til 7:35, and then we had to to pick ups until around 9ish.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The tour was very good from the point of view of scenery and landmarks where we got to see the entire panorama of Rio de Janeiro and the cities bordering the bay. However, our guide, very sweet and professional that she was, did not come across as too knowledgeable and some of her statements and answers were not very clear - I suspect it was the language barrier. The guide with another tour group on the same boat seemed to know more.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to see the city and get some exercise. The tour is run by 2 local chaps who were relaxed and friendly and made us feel very welcome, and we're more than happy to take photos of the 2 of us...even when cycling! Definitely do this tour!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Bike Tour: Ipanema, Leblon and Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A nice really long and relaxing cruise with great views of the rio harbor from every way possible. I half expected them to head back after we got to see some great sights but they kept going till we got to see the whole harbor in one big circle past the important areas. Following the trip we were taken back to Copacabana for a buffet lunch which proved to be AMAZING. We started off with a grand buffet with tons of fresh food options including sushi and if that wasnt enough, to complete a Brazilian steakhouse experience guys would keep going around with different types of meat that they would slice off onto your plate. Worth doing.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

it would be great if they included stops to island or ports of landmarks throughout the trip even if they rise the money price or length the time

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Travel time is 3 hours not 2. Too long for a day trip in an uncomfortable bus with a loud and abrupt guide. We did not take the boat trip option, but wanted to spend our time on the "beautiful beaches". Really there were only a harbour in walking distance and the water was so dirty you couldn't pay me to swim. Quaint little town and maybe a nice resort for locals but not an international tourist destination. If you go take the boat trip or rent a taxi on the square just off the jetty to take you to a descent beach.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message