The beaches of Rio de Janeiro are the stuff of song and legend, and they certainly live up to their billing. An entire state unto itself rather than a single city, Rio sees nearly three million visitors a year and is Brazil’s biggest tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was an almost 2hrs. Trip, the views and sits you see during the trips are beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable trip

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Satisfactory, the seafood had been removed from the booking so the Guide had to find a restaurant in Ipanema at the last minute and it wasnt great.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Buzios is a beautiful place I definitely recommend visiting, but I don´t recommend this tour.
The pick up from our hotel was late.Once we were finally on our way unfortunately our guide was taken ill, this resulted in us having to stop and wait for an ambulance-truly traumatic for the guide, and we were glad to learn she was ok. However during this process there was no communication from the driver,or an apology from the replacement guide.It took us 5 hours to get to Buzios.
The replacement "guide" Isaac Jorge is what I can only describe as incompetent. On arrival we were all ushered to the boat, we had not booked a boat tour as we wanted to spend time walking in Buzios and relaxing.As such we questioned this with Isaac, who said it was included in what we had paid (having looked at our booking) and then walked everyone to the boat.No other option was given.
The boat was the most ridiculous thing I have ever experienced.The whole thing was focussed on pushing photographs and making money from over-priced drinks, or small boats which came to our boat to try to sell things. Worth noting for any English speakers, no one on the boat speaks English.
The boat lasted about 2 hrs, once we finally got back to land our "guide" informed us he had a problem and that we needed to give him extra cash to cover the cost of the boat.We advised we hadn't budgeted for this and were confused as he said the cost was included and weren't given another option.He walked off and we went for lunch which is included, which was mediocre at best.During lunch, when we were eating, we were further pushed to buy pictures from the boat.
After lunch as we were leaving the "guide" approached us again about the boat cost.We offered to pay the money to the website on our return, but he said this was no good he had to have cash right now.When he realised we could not give cash, he clapped, said ´well done´and then walked off.
No tour of the town was given.No translation into English given on the journey back.

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour, the only drawback was that the scheduled lunch was in the same restaurant with the same limited menu as the the tour the day earlier. If we had known that we would not have taken the optional lunch. It was not a seafood restaurant, it was an adequate general menu restaurant except that our menu was limited to two or three choices. Not good two days in a row.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Trip was amazing and totally worth it. To avoid disappointment I suggest that you confirm with the weather forecast the likelihood of rain as it almost rained during our trip (a refund was the next best option but as you can imagine when you have a limited time to see a place the refund becomes the least exciting option). Fortunately the day cleared and the trip was amazing.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

While the trip from hotel to boat takes 3 hours (and another 3 back), the 5 hours boat trip was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This trip was actually cancelled but I was offered an alternative - a trip around the Green Coast from Angra dos Reis which is 3 hours away from Rio de Janeiro. It was a lovely day out - the boat stopped in 3 different bays - there was plenty of live music and entertainment on board and the meal included was very hearty and tasty.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. The only con is the amount of time it took for us to get to the location. If you're an antsy person and need help sleeping, I suggest you go out the night before because you wilL have a good nap on the bus ride. It's a 2 1/2 hour drive. Once arriving to the boat, we sailed across the ocean and enjoyed 4 private islands. However, there were no dolphins or stingrays seen. The boat turned into a mini party boat which was great for my party. Thanks

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Although, I found this tour quite boring, it was nice to see the harbor and get a grasp on how the city was laid out. I was under the impression that we would have a chance to explore some beaches and get off the boat and go swimming, which was not the case. I was quite disappointed. In addition, another passenger stated she had purchased the optional lunch but that was canceled at the last minute.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

So relaxing... and really gives you a unique view of the city that you can't get from Corcovado or Sugar Loaf. The pontoon is big and we had about 50 other guests with us on the boat. It was a really nice cruise!

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip was very enjoyable - Isaac was a great guide. The bus was very luxurious and comfortable, and the trip to and from Buzios was relaxing. When we got there, we went straight out on the boat trip. The boat trip was too long (2 hours 15 minutes) for what it was (we didn't go very far) - we stopped 3 times, each time for 15-20 minutes for people to swim. One stop would have been enough, and the trip could have been cut to no more than 90 minutes. But it was still worthwhile. Buzios was lovely - but we only had 75 minutes to walk around. As previously mentioned, the boat trip should be shortened, leaving more time to see Buzios. Still, overall a great trip!!

Doing what: Buzios Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our overall experience was disappointing and did not meet our expectations. The scenery from the bay cruise was worth the experience with great views of Sugar loaf, forts, bay and Navel Museum and buildings, with Christ the Redeemer Statue in the background.
However the boat was somewhat crowded and noisy. Our guide who was not always present, but did interpret the difficult to hear boat commentary.
The day was spoilt by the very poor optional seafood lunch. From previous reviews on this site, we had expected a high standard of a seafood lunch. We were taken to "Bar do Beto" in Ipanema. Having chosen the fish from the options ( fish, steak, or pasta), what was served was bread, rice, potato and more batter than fish, and that was it! We also felt slightly rushed as our guide was managing a separate larger group.
Overall, the package was not value for money.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great very relaxing
Same problem with lack of communication regarding transport
Toni

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was on time and from the minute he met us he was pleasant and informative. It was a great way to see Rio . It was an enjoyable time on the cruise and JB was excellent. Please thank him again for his positive energy and providing my family and I with an enjoyable start to our day.

Doing what: Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message