Even if your visit to Rio de Janeiro is a short one, you should budget a day or two to travel to some of the exotic tropical islands surrounding the marvelous city in the Green Coast Region. A typical full day tour exposes you to coastal villages, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

While the trip from hotel to boat takes 3 hours (and another 3 back), the 5 hours boat trip was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This trip was actually cancelled but I was offered an alternative - a trip around the Green Coast from Angra dos Reis which is 3 hours away from Rio de Janeiro. It was a lovely day out - the boat stopped in 3 different bays - there was plenty of live music and entertainment on board and the meal included was very hearty and tasty.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. The only con is the amount of time it took for us to get to the location. If you're an antsy person and need help sleeping, I suggest you go out the night before because you wilL have a good nap on the bus ride. It's a 2 1/2 hour drive. Once arriving to the boat, we sailed across the ocean and enjoyed 4 private islands. However, there were no dolphins or stingrays seen. The boat turned into a mini party boat which was great for my party. Thanks

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This tour was dreadful. A very long coach ride to a squalid, clapped out boat which they had the nerve to call a "schooner". There were no hand washing facilities and neither of the toliets (there were 2) would flush. We were invited to swim in murky water within sight of tankers and then taken to a dilapidated, refuse strewn "beach" where there was a virtually derelict building which the guide referred to as a restaurant. It had a filthy toilet; running water but no soap. "Lunch" was revolting. After the return boat trip we waited over an hour for the bus to arrive for the return trip to Rio. What a complete waste of a day.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our boat trip got cancelled so we were put together with this tour group.
While the day was tons of fun, we hadn't anticipated a 3 hour drive each way (our original tour was 1.5 each way).
We also thought our tour guide would speak some English, but he didn't. He was very nice and tried a little, but all 3 hours there and back, he talked to the tour bus in Portuguese or Spanish and we got absolutely nothing out of it. We still don't even know what town we went to (to board our schooner boat) or which 3 islands our boat took us to. Now, for our scrapbooks sake, we have to look on the internet and try to find a town with 3 Kings statues and then 3 islands near there, which we possibly visited.
In the end we decided to call the tour "The Mystery Tour" because we didn't know where we went or what we saw.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very good tour and a great tour guide. Awesome Lunch! Rice and Beans!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The weather was not great, but it was nice getting out on the boat.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Disappointed that over half 10-hr tour was spent on a bus; I assumed most of the time would be on boat and island. Lunch was delicious, but info should have specified that drinks (even water) are NOT included. Boat was old, dirty, and in disrepair. No tropical fruit was offered as description said.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Got a chance to see dolphins, meet cool new people, eat great food and swim near the islands. Good times!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

A fabulous day, with beautiful surroundings and great company. A wonderful feel of culture and delious food.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Nothing great unless you like swimming in three different parts of the sea.
Lunch was very good.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

the weather didn't help but the trip was not long enough to see that many islands. also the trip was not busy so that the craic was none too good on the boat.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

drive to Sepetiba bay was a little longer than I thought but still worth it - wonderful lunch of local cuisine on the beach!!!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

First of all our Tour Guide was a waste of time. She never introduced herself to us, her and the driver got lost trying to find the boat and she didn't explain to us what was happening and when, She knocked over my husbands drink because she was sitting on the table and never apoloigised. The picture is an exageration. False advertising! We saw nothing like this at all !The water was dirty, there were dead fish on the beach and nothing Tropical about the day. Best part was the lunch! Great Portugese cusine. Very dissapointing day. Not worth the money!

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Full Day Tropical Islands Tour and Sepetiba Bay Cruise including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message