With troops of bejeweled dancers gyrating on stage, glittering floats parading through the Sambadrome exhibition hall and costumes so dazzling you’ll need your sunglasses on even at night, Rio de Janeiro’s annual carnival is without question, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour! Dinner was very good with a lot of food options for everyone in the group (even someone that doesn't eat meat). The show was excellent. Everyone on our tour had a good time. Would highly recommend this tour to experience an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse and Samba Show.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

Kiyo
Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My recommended activities are "Corcovado ", "Sugar Loaf Mountain" and "Plataforma Samba Show".
You should go there if you visit Rio.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This entire outing amazing. The dinner worth every penny spent. The salad bar and the choice of sushi not to mention the barbeque meat was amazing. The Samba show was totally amazing. The dances and the colour. Worth every penny spent.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Simply outstanding! The show is a musical history of Brazil from African origins to today's samba and bossa nova. Great theatrical scenery, exotic costumes and lighting, everything from exotic dancers to acrobats and more. If you can't participate in Carnivale, this show will give you a good idea of what it's like!. Dinner before the show was included. We ate at Carretao, our first experience with a Brazilian charuscaria (barbecue house), and it was the best of the 3 charuscarias we visited on our trip. Would definitely recommend both the show and dinner!

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Excellent meal followed by a vibrant, exciting Samba Show. A highlight of our Rio stay.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great show. Dinner was just average. I would recommed the show only. Fantasitc show. No trip to Brazil would be complete without a Samba.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Spectacular!!! This show is filled with amazing dance performances that cover the entire history of the Brazilian Samba dance culture. The proud-captivating performance of the Gaucho dancer is amazing and worth seeing. Great seating, right by the stage. Also, there is a very warm stage presence by the performers and host; particularly with someone like me who likes to take a lot of pictures!!! Even under the constant flash of my camera, the performers remained very gracious. I loved it!

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The bus was on time. Restaurant was excellent , unimaginable salad bar, waiters keep bringing meat on spades, there is no way you are able to try everything. We got very good seats at samba show. Great and beautiful dancers, wonderful costumes. Unforgettable experience worth the money! Very well organized.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Was worried about the dinner as I am vegetarian but it was all sumptious! The show was fantastic and was very enjoyable-a good idea about what Carnival is like!

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Dinner was excellent. Variety of steaks, chicken, desserts and wine, salad, etc... The bus driver and the guide was funny and friendly. Picked us up on time. The Samba show was okay. Drinks are available for purchase. They took our pictures with the dancers and we purchased them. Good entertainment.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The show gives a panoramic view of the roots of the samba, from the native and African influences up to the modern day spectacular Carnival. While it starts off on the slow side, it picks up momentum as it progresses.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Shore Excursion: Plataforma Samba Show

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was everything that I was expecting. It was a good dinner at a Brazilian Steakhouse and the show was great. It gave me the Samba experience with all of the color and flair of Brazil.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Not very much samba...just one song, but in all pretty good show.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Did not have dinner. Just the show. The acrobats, Goucho act, the musicians and dancers were very good. It was an hour and a half of music, colour, dance, samba and in a way a short cut way of experiencing a carnival. A good show. Drink were a bit expensive but the artistes made you feel welcome. You will love Brazil more after this show.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The show is good, but I found very dramatized, to such an extent that it loses the essence of the dances by adding allot of "Broadway" to what should not be. Carnival costumes are absolutely amazing!!! and the entertainment is very good. Prices are exceeded when ordering drinks, so be careful what you ask for or scared of what will can cost a bottle of water. The transportation services to the show were absolutely perfect!

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour was great! Dinner was great!! Samba show was ok. Theater was not too nice.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

If you are in Rio, you just have to take in a samba show... this one was pretty touristy but still a good evening.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

We loved the Plataforma Samba show in Rio. But, the ride from the cruise pier took about 2 hours because of all the stops we made on the way! This was not good! We recommended this to some others on our cruise ship, and they were not happy about that bus ride. We all recommend that if you want cruise passengers to take your excursions, that you arrange for a separate bus pick-up from the cruise pier.

Doing what: Rio de Janeiro Shore Excursion: Plataforma Samba Show

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Great pickupservice and guide.
Show was nice too.

A good option if you missed the carnival.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The show only actually contains about 5 minutes of samba but it is very entertaining. I would recomend. The costumes, dancing, and band were great!

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

If you are not in Rio for Carnaval, you need to at least to go to a Samba show, and Plataforma is worth going to!

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

Robert P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Dinner was very good but the Samba show was not so good.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

we didn't realise the meal was not in the same building as the samba show.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Interesting but not great. The dancers are amazing but the overall show was a bit disappointing. The costumes are old and falling apart. There was no explanation or verbal guide through the show. I expected a Samba show but Samba was a very small piece.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We were happy to sit upstairs and have a clear view of the stage. We were glad we hadn't come for the dinner since afterwards we would be looking through other people's heads to see the stage. It took forever to get something to drink. At first we thought the show was going to be a little hokey but as it went on it was enjoyable. The acrobats, drummers and costumes were wonderful. The dance routines left a lot to be desired since it looked like they did the same samba step over and over and over. We didn't mind the photo taking, but it would have been better to have been presented with the finished photos all at once to make a choice. Overall it was a fun experience and would probably recommend the tour.

Doing what: Plataforma Samba Show in Rio de Janeiro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message