Mexico’s Costa Maya port sits on the country’s Caribbean side, just north of the border with Belize. Built specifically for cruisers, the port facilities include pools, a beach club, shopping, restaurants and bars. It’s a bit theme-park-esque, so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sailor
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Highly recommended if you want to experience scuba diving in Costa Maya. The dive shop owner is Otto and he was very helpful and friendly and made the experience memorable. His instructor was very patient and made sure we were well instructed for our scuba experience. After the dive on the reef we enjoyed a fantastic lunch at Karlita's Café which is also owned by the owner of the Scuba Diving Facility. Just make sure you know how to get to the dive shop location, we missed some communication so almost got lost.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Scuba Diving Beginner's Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This experience with Viator was much better than I expected. We meet up with our tour guide Augustin. Along the way he would tell us the different sites. We arrived at the Chacchoben and met up with Diana (Family). She was excellent!! She kept everyone interested in the history. I really enjoyed the tour with her and with our driver Agustin. I asked to be dropped of somewhere to eat which he did. After two previous disasters with Viator this one was a huge success!!!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our original tour company - Alto did not show, we had to make other arrangements to find where is office was located. With little Spanish experience, we managed to communicate our needs. In our voucher it indicated free YELLOW TAXI ride to the location. When we got to the location, no one could explain what was going on and our driver would not be paid by the tour company. We decided to pay for the fare on our own. The good part of all of this, another tour driver took us along with another family to the Chacchoben and they did a fabulous job. Our lemons of a trip turned into lemonade with the new company. All and all the trip and day was fun. - FYI - if you are cruising, you cannot confirm your reservation if you do not call.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Out tour guide was Diana. She was great. Very informative and attentive to any request. Greatly Recomend it!
One minor note: meeting place info not accurate. Guide was waiting for us not at the pyramid, but half way from the port and and pyramid. Recommend Viator to coord. Better with local agency.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour started a bit shakily. We had a wait at least an hour to start off. The tour operators were rounding up a lot of new customers to fill their buses as much as possible before starting off for the ruins. Also, the booking had Costa Maya as the name of the tour operator, but the tour operator was Toucan. We were a bit apprehensive!! But once it started, it was worth every penny. The ruins and place itself was fantastic. Nice surprise - the operator provided cold water throughout... they even brought it to the top of the sun temple platform.!! Absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I was excited to find such a great deal on the excursion price for this Mayan Ruins tour rather than putting the extra $ in the cruise ship's pockets and hoping to be able to keep the $ in the local economy. Our driver got us to and from our destination safely and was very friendly. The tour guide at the site was very friendly and knowledgeable. As other past guests have mentioned I would wear tennis shoes and be prepared with bug spray if you are going during the warmer months but fortunately bugs or extreme heat were not an issue for us during January. The only problem with this tour was a little confusion finding where to meet our driver for pickup. Our excursion passes labeled everything as Viator Travel but no one at the port or outside the port gate seemed to know them or how to find them for transportation. Luckily after searching for 20-30 minutes we finally found a lady at a booth that was listed under a different tour/travel name who had our names and was expecting us. I would recommend this tour to other families as all of us enjoyed it from ages 6-59 in our party. I would suggest that Viator make it very clear on how to find the tour group for transportation for future tour groups. Thanks!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

These ruins were worh the trip. After speaking to many people about which ruins to visit during this cruise these were recommended by numerous friends. I was so excited with your tour guide - she was informative and knowledgeable on these ruins and was passionate about the tour.
The only downside was they were hard to find once we disembarked of the ship. We had to go outside of town to meet them and nothing was clearly marked.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Directions to the pick up site from the cruise dock were a little confusing, as every native person on the street is trying to get you to sign up with their tour. After meeting up with the tour operator, (who was calling our name) who then took us directly to the mini-bus. We were taken immediately to the ruins, about a 35 minute drive on good roads. Our group was small and a good size-about 15-20 people. The tour guide-Victoria- spoke very good English and had a good knowledge of the ruins. The Chacchoben trip was well worth the money, and we had a very good day!

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

When we arrived in port we were lost in a maze of overpriced shops. When we finally exited the compound we were in what I can only imagine to be reminiscent of downtown Kabul. Buildings were abandoned, the sun beat down on us, and we couldn't find shelter... or our tour group. We followed the poor directions "three blocks to the pyramid" and were given directions to another tour facility blocks down the dirt road. We were then sent back and approached a woman with a different tour company on her shirt. What luck! She was from the group we needed. After putting us on an old, rickety, A/C-less bus, we were on our way. The tour guide spoke English well, but talked and talked and talked... The ruins were interesting, but there were many restrictions and far too many people. Overall we were more disappointed than not. I have used Viator in the past and this was not even close to par.

Doing what: Costa Maya Shore Excursion: Chacchoben Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message