The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jacqueline J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour guides
Awesome destination
Brilliantly run
Information and pre-booking information were superb

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Randy M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We were very disappointed that the day did not follow the scheduled tour. Instead of leaving Chichen Itza at 3:30 and returning to Merida by 5, we went to a cenote for an hour and didn and #39;t get back to Merida until 7 p.m. The cenote visit wasn and #39;t part of the schedule and cost extra.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Sandra B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was a hassle to get to person of contact .
Was told not to bring good walking shoes by Catlynn,
as there would not be a lot of walking !!! Told to buy extra skin protection that would not hurt the environment , at an extra cost of about 15 Canadian. Also no deal it was more expensive with viator,,,,,,

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Marivi N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Chichen Itza is a UNESCO World Heritage location and it is magnificent, mysterious, and inspiring. Unfortunately the tour was substandard. We were eight, in a clean mini van that was wrapped to advertise the company and blocked the view on either side of the car. We were not able to see the countryside and villages as we drove through. The tour guide, a pleasant man, delivered a misinformed and sometimes invented narrative. The lunch was good, on a positive note. It was a disappointing visit.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Tomasz J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

On time
Friendly driver
Perfect guide

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It would be hard not to rate chichi high as it is a spectacular property. My guide, Agusto, was very good and the buffet lunch was varied and also very good. A day well spent

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful grounds they do a great job of maintaining the site. One thing that is surprising is that there is much more to see than just the Chicken Itza pyramid. The site is like a campus, with lots of buildings. Every walkway is filled with shops to buy from local artisans. The buffet has a lot of choices, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free, they can make it for you. They also have a vegetarian section. Our guide was Augusto, who spoke decent English.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Faiçal J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cancun passion has been very professional. They gave us interesting information throughout the tour. The buffet was really good. And when I have forgotten my camera in the bus, they were very helpful and delivered it to my hotel.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Susan J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We very much enjoyed the trip. Good driver, good guide. Able and willing to answer questions about the site.
Lunch was fine.
It would have been perfect if we had about an extra half hour for the guided part of the tour.
We could not see out the windows of the van because of the heavy screen.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Andre R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Robert B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The ruins are very nice. You can't climb on anything and there are many tourists. If you need to pick one tour go to Uxmal.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Had a great time in Chichen Itza, lots to see and amazing pictures.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

DeanC Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guides Luis, Flipe, Luis and driver were all great.

If there was one complaint it is the amount of free time we spent at Chichen Itza. Though I appreciate the history lesson, I would have liked more time to walk around.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Keri N

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We had an excellent trip. The only reason I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 5 is because we were the only people signed up for the 2 day tour. So the first day was perfect but the second day they did not have anything planned for us. We scheduled for a Sunday/Monday and apparently the caves are closed on Monday so we couldn't do that part of the scheduled trip. They didn't offer us any other options for Monday so we paid to go back into Chichen Itza. I was upset that they didn't offer to pay for us. Also we never got a clear answer as to how we were going to get back to Merida from Mayaland on Monday but they ended up sending a private vehicle for us. I just wish they had been upfront with us that the tour was going to be different than what was advertised and what we paid for.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour to Chichen Itza and Mayaland Resort from Merida

Anthony S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

we were too hot in Tulum and dehydrated very quickly. my boyfriend was fine but I became sick. when we got to xel-ha it was amazing and I cooled off in the beautiful water and rehydrated in the restaurants. next time we are just going to xel-ha. Tulum was very nice and I loved learning about the mayans but it was just way too hot and humid.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Holly R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Had a wonderful day. Very tired when we got back to our resort!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Bennett C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Had a great time, tour guide was the greatest...Very dissatisfied with you office customer staff. Abrupt, sarcastic and very unfriendly

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

With his encyclopaedic knowledge, Alfredo was in inspiration to anyone wishing to gain an insight into Mayan culture and heritage.
This was a true privilege and one which we will always remember.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

cuddy6970

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

we were not picked up

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

valerie.teopy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our Guide's name is Delio and he's amazing! and funny. He tells a great history of the mayans that we never knew. He also warned us about how people there will be selling their products and never once pushed us to buy anything. If he does, he'll always show you that he has those products he bought for himself and his family, and those items are worth it.

If you intend to purchase anything, please either bring enough cash or a credit card.

Overall this was a great tour at a great price.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Livia M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour guide was just very monotone and didn't seem to like it when people asked questions about the Chichen Itza or the Mayas

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Nancy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family of 4, including 13-year-old twins, took this tour on July 28, 2015, and would highly recommend it to others. The tour operator, Cancun Passion, provided prompt pick-up at our resort and brought us to a central location to meet the coach. We were served coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, which made for a pleasant trip. We had a restroom/shopping stop for about 30 minutes prior to Chichen Itza, where we purchased some lovely crafts. Chichen Itza was amazing!! Our guide, Tony, provided excellent explanations of sites before we were given free time for pictures and lunch included in the price, aside from drinks. The history and sites are not to be missed!! We had an amazing cenote swim before heading back. This is a long day, but well worth it. The staff was professional and personable from start to finish. Tony taught us so much about Mayan history. This tour is highly recommended. Once again, I have had success in booking an excursion through viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Susan C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

It was ok tour guide we informative food was poor

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Michele O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I want to first acknowledge the local tour company who viator works with or who was at least the assigned local tour group. Evelyn was so accommodating and super nice. The email sent from Viator says to contact the local tour group 48 hours in advance. This, in my opinion, was not highlighted very well. We were also traveling on the 48 hour mark. So we did not contact them in time for our Monday tour. The company rescheduled us with no problem. Seeing the ruins is highly recommended. Our tour Cancun Passion was also fantastic. The guides Noe and Fernando were fabulous. Noe cares more about the history and is very knowledgeable. If you just want to take pictures you don't really need a guide. But it was really informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message