• USD ($)
  • English
The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

amazing day, really enjoyed it and food value for money

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a wonderful expirence our tour guide was great and our driver Cesar was very helpful when we asked about places we should visit in the city of Merida!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Once again, Viator delivered a first class tour. The tour was fantastic, as were our guides. Not only were they knowledgeable, caring, and funny, but they were genuinely concerned about everyone's well being. The stops at Chichen Itza, the wonderful restaurant and market, and the beautiful cenote were all more than enjoyable! Eduardo, Victor, and the others are to be commended for a long to be remembered special day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent!!! Trip was actually serviced by Cancun Passion. Very comfortable bus came right to gates of our resort (Grand Mayan). Continental breakfast was provided on the bus and lunch at very nice buffet restaurant was served after the visit at Chichen Itza. In the afternoon we drove to cenote were we had an opportunity to swim in crystal clear water. Unlimited cups of tea, coffee, bottled water, soft drinks and corona beer were provided on the bus during the entire trip. Our tour guides, Diego and Philippe were extremely nice and very knowledgeable and provided more information about Mayas than we expected. Diego, our bus conductor, was wonderful as well. Chichen Itza itself is a place that everyone should see; again, crew form Cancun Passion exceeded our expectation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Organized, efficient; tour guide was extremely personable and informative. Would recommended Viator.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A must-see in the Yucatan, as it's the Mayan ruin that is familiar to everyone. I have heard that Palenque is better and less commercial (60 km south), but you can see great pictures at the National Anthropological Museum in Merida. Viator was much the best of the tours we selected from online reviews. The endless rows of locals at Chichen Itza selling 1000s of mass-produced souvenirs for "one dollar" were depressing -- especially since no one seemed to be buying anything. And the tour guides tended to ramble on and on in the hot sun with sometimes limited or heavily accented English; we had to leave before the tour was done. The meal and hotel facilities were great, but I was surprised that water and soft drinks were not included. Pickup and delivery were spot on.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The temples are beautiful but the site is too commercial, not enough time is spent with the guide on site and the lunch is so-so.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Nice tour; could be much better. This tour was serviced by Experiencias Excaret. Mayan ruins in Tulum itself are place highly recommended to see; unfortunately, our tour guide was not good at all. About 80% of people on our bus were Canadians and Americans, remaining 20% were Spanish speaking only. The tour guide was totally quiet during our way to Tulum, once there, he was giving one sentence in English and long talk in Spanish about what we will do and see. He stopped in two places within the archeological area and briefly told what is there pointing with his finger on various buildings. That’s all. After that he asked us to tour the area on our own. I would like to mention that during our stay there, there were other groups with guides from the same travel company. These groups were assisted by guides at all time and provided with a lot of information. We were lucky to be able to stick to one of those. After Tulum, our bus took us to Xel-Ha; wonderful all-inclusive water park with tons of activities. We enjoyed time there very much. Around 6 pm we went back to our resort; out tour guide didn’t show-up anymore, TG we had a driver…
In short, we are rating 3 stars only because of poor service provided by our guide, otherwise it would be 5; Tulum archeological site is a place highly recommended to see, make sure however you have a right guide. Xel-Ha is wonderful as well; here, you don’t need a guide at all :)

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great lunch, great day! Don't forget to take your swin suit and towel!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I want to exchange from today’s tour of Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class.
But, your Mayaland phone is no connection and I asked hotels receptionist to call your 1-702-648-5873. But, the receptionist can’t receive your correct answer from you.
So, I give up. But, Cooking Class was much batter for me.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Good schedule, tour guide, sightseeing, local food.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Chichen Itza. The tour guide was phenomenal and very knowledgeable. However, my only complaint would be that the Viator website made absolutely no mention of a trip to a cenote being included in the price of the tour and that participants should bring a bathing suit. Had I known this, I would have brought my suit and been able to partake in this fabulous activity.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Vehiculo: bien, puntualidad: bien, visita Chichen Itzá: muy bien, visita fabrica tequila: prescindible, visita piscina natural (cenote): demasiada gente. Guias: muy profesionales.
El tema de las propinas es MUY MOLESTO, considero que pedir un 15/20% del importe de la excursión es muy exagerado. Se deberia explicar en la descripción del servicio, si se debe dar una PROPINA o pagar el servicio del guia aparte, no pueden decirnos que las propinas son el 70% de su sueldo.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful experience on our visit to Chichen Itza. Our guide was excellent. He was courteous, informative and attentive. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very interesting location and the guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. He was aware of each of the tour participants and ensured that everybody had a rewarding experience. A little disappointed that we did not have the observatory included in the guided component of the tour. The bus was comfortable and appropriate for the trip.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message