The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely awesome! Our tour guide, Saul, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. This tour includes some really unique and personal experiences that I don't believe many tour companies are offering. We were taken into rural Mayan peoples' homes, blessed by a Mayan elder, and allowed to swim in a sacred Cenote sinkhole which was a highlight of the trip. I strongly suggest jumping off of the high ledge into the water because it is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had in my life, and the water is so deep there is nothing to worry about. Lunch was delicious and all you can eat! The Coba ruins are, of course, stunningly awesome as well. Climbing to the top of the tallest pyramid was scarier than I expected because the steps are very steep, but it was totally worth it. Take advantage of the opportunity to climb to the top of this pyramid before they discontinue that option! It is the only Mayan pyramid that still allows it, so there is no telling when they will stop. Overall, this tour is a 10 out of 10. You will really enjoy it if you have any interest in the Mayan culture or just different cultures and customs in general.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good tour guide. Small group, which we wanted.
More crowded than Uxmal though.
Buffet lunch was good too.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent, well-informed and patient guide. Good bus and safe driver.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire tour was nicely arranged, from taking the ferry to Playa Carmen and back. The driver was waiting for us at the dock and drove us to Chichen Itza. He was very nice and helpful. Our tour guide at Chichen Itza did a fantastic job of explaining the history - very enjoyable. Our lunch was lovely. Great food and service. All in all a great tour!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Our three guides (Raul was comical) were very knowledgeable. Our stops included to the deepest natural pool, a real Mayan village for lunch, and of course Chichen ItZa. The trip to Chichen Itza was long, but nothing that we didn't know up front. We would consider a closer historical visit (Tulum) to compare in the future

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful tour. Our guide was fantastic and transmitted his knowledge from his heart! One hour self time at the site is not enough, though....

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I was not able to reach the local agent to confirm pick up and time at my hotel. There was no answer at any of the numbers given to me but I was picked up at a suitable time.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, i maybe would have liked more time at Coba itself, but I wouldn't give up the rest of the tour. Brilliant food, interesting culture and facts, lovely people, and some fantastic sights

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nice small group that felt comfortable (12 ppl ). We got off the Ferry and we met by a person who drove us to meeting area/tour group. The ride was safe and my husband and I were happy that we didn't have to drive. The tour guide was knowledgeable. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip- the tour of the ruins was informative; it is only 3 hours (which seems like a lot until you realize how much actually there is to see) and it would have been nice to have some additional time to walk around on your own but it was really great. The lunch was good- definitely try to the corn ice cream. Swimming in the cenote was a highlight and fun; definitely a unique experience. Definitely recommend for any first timers to the region/looking for something interesting to do.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour , excellent guide knew all about Chichen Itza and the Mayans
Good swimming to cap off great day

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I brought my parents to Merida to celebrate their 60th Wedding Anniversary and we took this day tour to Merida. Our guide, Augusto, was terrific. He waited for Mom (both hips replaced twice) and we were a small group so we received special attention. The weather was perfect and the tour was great!
Barbara Boggio

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized and the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Avarage tour, they are doing it for your money and no more! Next I'm looking forward an other company, I hope there are.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Coba ruins are sort of out in the middle of nowhere, so I felt like I had to take a tour to get to the site.I was not so enthused about a tour, however, because I had found the previous tours I had taken were too rushed. This turned out to be a similar experience.

I bought the tour from a website called 'Viator'. However, the tour company was Alltournative.

The Coba ruins were indeed beautiful and well worth seeing. However, I was disappointed with the limited amount of time given to spend there.

The website said we would have 2 hours to spend at the ruins... Not really.

- We were told we had to attend a talk of the guide. Well, by the time the guide finished his talk 45 minutes of our 2 hours was gone. And the talk did not concern the highest pyramid, which is what most people want to see, but rather was about other structures of lessor interest, near the entrance of the site.

- I expressed my concern for the limited amount of time available, and the tour guide insisted that I listen to the rest of his speech.

- The highest pyramid was a 2-kilometer walk from the bus, and it took about 20-30 minutes to walk to the pyramid and back. So basically, you had to speed-walk to the pyramid, snap a few hurried pics, climb up and down the pyramid as fast as possible (!!!), and speed walk back to the bus in the parking lot.

- There were numerous other ruins/structures in Coba and I had *no time* to look at them at all.

I think the tour company should give people a map to the site and let people have the entire 2 hours to look around the ruins as they wish.

Otherwise, the tour was fine.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Richard B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

"Saul" our tour guide provided a well rounded experience by visiting two Mayan villages, a ceynote and the historic site of Coba. Great combination of physical activity and learning. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this tour! The sites are breathtaking, and the staff fantastic! Jesús, Samuel, José and Amado couldn't have taken better care of us or done more for us, and it's wonderful to get to see such a fascinating place as Chichén Itzá without having to worry about the logistics. It's a 12 hour day and make sure you bring your camera!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Combining Kabah and Uxmal was definitely the way to go. They are both fascinating in their own way and Augusto, our guide, did a wonderful job explaining everything, and answering our questions in great detail. The hotel was great (and very uncrowded for this time of year). Wonderful staff, great pool, and plenty of birds to listen to around the pool.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour itself is awesome. For some reason, the tour has two group of travelers; one with zip line adventures, the other went to visit maya village. Lunch is so so.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was exceptional-Elias and the trip down was very good and so was the tour. But someone at the office decided we would not go back with our guide and put us in a full van--last back seat with four of us! Very uncomfortable and the driver drove so slow that it took twice as long to get back. Miguel was the driver.
Not happy about that!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Berney
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We enjoyed this tour. On our tour, we visited the shaman and cenote first, followed by a visit to a Mayan village and family. It was nice seeing and learning about Mayan customs, etc. The family was very nice. After this, we had a nice lunch with hot food. Then we drove to Coba. Coba is huge. You will not have enough time to see of it unless you buy a guide book and rent a bicycle there. Our guide was only able to give a small start to the visit because she had to give the talk in English and French. So, we rented bikes and bought a guide book. Then we were able to see all of the site before our van left. BTW, the climb up the ruins is easy compared with coming down. Wonderful view at the top.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an incredible Mayan site. Alot of the structures are still in place. Our tour guide was very enthuisiastic with his presentation and gave us excellent information. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide gave us great and detailed information; he (Felipe) was pleasant, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized and kept to the schedule very well. The bus was very comfortable. It would have been nice to have literature or handouts to read later at one's leisure. There was a lot of information to take in! I wish I had known ahead of time that there would be shopping opportunities at both the buffet restaurant and the cenote, and would have preferred more time for browsing and shopping. The meal was interesting but again, would have like more information about the authenticity of the the various foods. The tour certainly piqued my interest to visit my local library to read up on the Mayan history. I found that the day was rather long because of the intense heat. I do not regret taking this tour and would recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A good day out but the whole process of arranging the tour once in Mexico was very tiresome. It's a shame viator didn't provide the correct information and I also had to pay for local phone calls to arrange a voucher exchange. A good tour but honestly wouldn't recommend booking through Viator (sadly) as the process is much easier if booked locally. Nearly lost out in the excursion due to this problem. Needs to be sorted Viator. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message