The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide gave us great and detailed information; he (Felipe) was pleasant, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized and kept to the schedule very well. The bus was very comfortable. It would have been nice to have literature or handouts to read later at one's leisure. There was a lot of information to take in! I wish I had known ahead of time that there would be shopping opportunities at both the buffet restaurant and the cenote, and would have preferred more time for browsing and shopping. The meal was interesting but again, would have like more information about the authenticity of the the various foods. The tour certainly piqued my interest to visit my local library to read up on the Mayan history. I found that the day was rather long because of the intense heat. I do not regret taking this tour and would recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A good day out but the whole process of arranging the tour once in Mexico was very tiresome. It's a shame viator didn't provide the correct information and I also had to pay for local phone calls to arrange a voucher exchange. A good tour but honestly wouldn't recommend booking through Viator (sadly) as the process is much easier if booked locally. Nearly lost out in the excursion due to this problem. Needs to be sorted Viator. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is just an awesome place to see. The tour company did a wonderful job. Our guide was fantastic and lunch was delicious. One word of advice, take the umbrella they offer you to use when you get there. It can be insanely hot and there is not a lot of shade when walking around the ruins. You will be amazed how much that helps.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! My wife and I enjoyed this day trip on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the sites. The lunch and the swimming in the afternoon was great too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is probably the best way to explore not only the amazing Maya ruins of Coba, but also to catch a glimpse into the everyday life of the Maya people living in the low jungle of the Yucatan peninsula. Our driver and guide, Saul, who by the way, is super fun, picked us up at 7 and took us directly to a small Mayan community called Esmeralda. There, the shaman, Don Benjamin, performed a very beautiful and moving purification ceremony, in which he asked the gods for protection and permission, so that we could later swim in the local cenote. This cenote, about 14 meters deep, with clear, amazing water, is in the middle of the village and can be access through a wooden staircase. In is partially covered and partially open, so that the daring ones can choose to jump straight in, from a rock some 15 meters above. We were provided with towels, life vests and swimming floats.

After Esmeralda, we stopped at Laguna Chabela, an even smaller Mayan community, home to maybe 3 families altogether. There, we visited these hospitable people’s houses and kitchen. Dona Aurelia, the matriarch, was making corn tortillas and invited us to try some, which we gladly did, accompanying it with fresh made, spicy salsa.

During our tour of the Mayan communities, young boys kept snapping pictures of us, as part of a project. At the end of this part of the trip, you can purchase all the photos, from both locations, copied on a CD. We did, and are quite happy with our decision: not only did we get some 60 pictures of ourselves, but also amazing snapshots of the local flora, fauna and landscapes. We also got a recording of the purification ceremony.

A word of advice: if you want to buy a genuine piece of Mayan craftsmanship, make sure you visit the modest shops in these villages. What you can find here is not only authentic and cheap, but you know that by buying these objects, you are giving money directly to the community and not to some middlemen.
After this, we stopped for lunch, included in the trip price. We had very tasty local food and refreshments. From there, it was off to Coba, where a guide gave us a tour of the ruins. We left with plenty of time to rent bikes and go to Nohoch Mul. Climbing this very high pyramid is an amazing experience in itself, though not for the faint-hearted.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Quite a lovely trip overall. Travel accommodations (tour buses, etc.) were nicely apportioned. The guides, steward, and driver were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Luncheon was delicious. Very nicely organized; however, the trip went longer than planned. The drop off process was rather drawn out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great service pick up at hotel friendly and knowledgable tour guides!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The time spent in Tulum was short and only little information was provided. on the tour bus we only received information about Xel-Ha but, unfortunatley, not about Tulum. in addition, we did not get to know about a few helpful details in Xel-Ha, for example deposits and prices of extra-tours etc.
Of course, Tulum is worth visiting, Xel-Ha is also a very nice and attractive place. But you will definitely not need a tour to experience these sites.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

amazing day, really enjoyed it and food value for money

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Saw a few ruins through a tunnel of jungle trees, turned a corner and my jaw dropped, the most amazing pyramid beautifully preserved you have seen, the definition of awesome. Take an umbrella if you go its a frying pan on the site. Didn't get as thorough a tour as I would have liked Fillipe our guide gave us quite a bit of info on the site but had a penchant for giving us his view of Mexican politics/gossip instead of fact about the site so we ran out of time to see some of the most important buildings. Also the mayan pedlars on the site had some great wares that we never saw anywhere else but we were both not given time and strongly encouraged not to buy from them, instead we were taken to an rip off market near our restaurant. That being said the site will remain an amazing memory for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a wonderful expirence our tour guide was great and our driver Cesar was very helpful when we asked about places we should visit in the city of Merida!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Once again, Viator delivered a first class tour. The tour was fantastic, as were our guides. Not only were they knowledgeable, caring, and funny, but they were genuinely concerned about everyone's well being. The stops at Chichen Itza, the wonderful restaurant and market, and the beautiful cenote were all more than enjoyable! Eduardo, Victor, and the others are to be commended for a long to be remembered special day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Organized, efficient; tour guide was extremely personable and informative. Would recommended Viator.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A must-see in the Yucatan, as it's the Mayan ruin that is familiar to everyone. I have heard that Palenque is better and less commercial (60 km south), but you can see great pictures at the National Anthropological Museum in Merida. Viator was much the best of the tours we selected from online reviews. The endless rows of locals at Chichen Itza selling 1000s of mass-produced souvenirs for "one dollar" were depressing -- especially since no one seemed to be buying anything. And the tour guides tended to ramble on and on in the hot sun with sometimes limited or heavily accented English; we had to leave before the tour was done. The meal and hotel facilities were great, but I was surprised that water and soft drinks were not included. Pickup and delivery were spot on.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message