The Pre-Columbian civilization of the Maya was a famously advanced culture that peaked in around 250 to 900 AD, with a fully developed written language, architecture, astronomical and mathematical systems. Mayan influence spread from central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family of 4, including 13-year-old twins, took this tour on July 28, 2015, and would highly recommend it to others. The tour operator, Cancun Passion, provided prompt pick-up at our resort and brought us to a central location to meet the coach. We were served coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, which made for a pleasant trip. We had a restroom/shopping stop for about 30 minutes prior to Chichen Itza, where we purchased some lovely crafts. Chichen Itza was amazing!! Our guide, Tony, provided excellent explanations of sites before we were given free time for pictures and lunch included in the price, aside from drinks. The history and sites are not to be missed!! We had an amazing cenote swim before heading back. This is a long day, but well worth it. The staff was professional and personable from start to finish. Tony taught us so much about Mayan history. This tour is highly recommended. Once again, I have had success in booking an excursion through viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

It was ok tour guide we informative food was poor

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I want to first acknowledge the local tour company who viator works with or who was at least the assigned local tour group. Evelyn was so accommodating and super nice. The email sent from Viator says to contact the local tour group 48 hours in advance. This, in my opinion, was not highlighted very well. We were also traveling on the 48 hour mark. So we did not contact them in time for our Monday tour. The company rescheduled us with no problem. Seeing the ruins is highly recommended. Our tour Cancun Passion was also fantastic. The guides Noe and Fernando were fabulous. Noe cares more about the history and is very knowledgeable. If you just want to take pictures you don't really need a guide. But it was really informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

worth going but the tour was short less talking and more touring the other areas that we did not get to see.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I will be back for more!

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing site, and a really fun English-speaking tour. You definitely do not want to go to a place like this without one, because there's so much history that you can't glean from just showing up. The buffet lunch was pretty good too!

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very educational and fun excursion. The tour guide was awesome. He shared information in both English and Spanish. The all you can eat and drink buffet was awesome! Swimming at the sink hole was definitively a unique experience. Be sure to bring your beach things. The ride was a bit long 2.5 hours each way, but well worth it. Truly a must do excursion.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Rima K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you're going to see anything, this is it! Anyone who's interested in the history of the Yucatan should visit Chichen Itza. The guides are well informed and happy to answer questions and this day trip is well organised, with enough time to see the site and relax at lunch.

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good tour, but it was very hot the day we visited. Lunch was good.

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely awesome! Our tour guide, Saul, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. This tour includes some really unique and personal experiences that I don't believe many tour companies are offering. We were taken into rural Mayan peoples' homes, blessed by a Mayan elder, and allowed to swim in a sacred Cenote sinkhole which was a highlight of the trip. I strongly suggest jumping off of the high ledge into the water because it is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had in my life, and the water is so deep there is nothing to worry about. Lunch was delicious and all you can eat! The Coba ruins are, of course, stunningly awesome as well. Climbing to the top of the tallest pyramid was scarier than I expected because the steps are very steep, but it was totally worth it. Take advantage of the opportunity to climb to the top of this pyramid before they discontinue that option! It is the only Mayan pyramid that still allows it, so there is no telling when they will stop. Overall, this tour is a 10 out of 10. You will really enjoy it if you have any interest in the Mayan culture or just different cultures and customs in general.

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Our Guide Alex was informative and nice. Arrived at our resort on time. Ruins were imressive as were the Mayan families we went to visit.

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good tour guide. Small group, which we wanted.
More crowded than Uxmal though.
Buffet lunch was good too.

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent, well-informed and patient guide. Good bus and safe driver.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire tour was nicely arranged, from taking the ferry to Playa Carmen and back. The driver was waiting for us at the dock and drove us to Chichen Itza. He was very nice and helpful. Our tour guide at Chichen Itza did a fantastic job of explaining the history - very enjoyable. Our lunch was lovely. Great food and service. All in all a great tour!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Our three guides (Raul was comical) were very knowledgeable. Our stops included to the deepest natural pool, a real Mayan village for lunch, and of course Chichen ItZa. The trip to Chichen Itza was long, but nothing that we didn't know up front. We would consider a closer historical visit (Tulum) to compare in the future

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful tour. Our guide was fantastic and transmitted his knowledge from his heart! One hour self time at the site is not enough, though....

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I was not able to reach the local agent to confirm pick up and time at my hotel. There was no answer at any of the numbers given to me but I was picked up at a suitable time.

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, i maybe would have liked more time at Coba itself, but I wouldn't give up the rest of the tour. Brilliant food, interesting culture and facts, lovely people, and some fantastic sights

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nice small group that felt comfortable (12 ppl ). We got off the Ferry and we met by a person who drove us to meeting area/tour group. The ride was safe and my husband and I were happy that we didn't have to drive. The tour guide was knowledgeable. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip- the tour of the ruins was informative; it is only 3 hours (which seems like a lot until you realize how much actually there is to see) and it would have been nice to have some additional time to walk around on your own but it was really great. The lunch was good- definitely try to the corn ice cream. Swimming in the cenote was a highlight and fun; definitely a unique experience. Definitely recommend for any first timers to the region/looking for something interesting to do.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour , excellent guide knew all about Chichen Itza and the Mayans
Good swimming to cap off great day

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I brought my parents to Merida to celebrate their 60th Wedding Anniversary and we took this day tour to Merida. Our guide, Augusto, was terrific. He waited for Mom (both hips replaced twice) and we were a small group so we received special attention. The weather was perfect and the tour was great!
Barbara Boggio

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized and the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message