• USD ($)
  • English
The famous Riviera Maya combines ancient Mayan culture, modern-day resorts and water sports action galore. The absolute best time to visit is September to December, though any time of year is prime time. From Cancun on the northern coast to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

amazing day, really enjoyed it and food value for money

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Once again, Viator delivered a first class tour. The tour was fantastic, as were our guides. Not only were they knowledgeable, caring, and funny, but they were genuinely concerned about everyone's well being. The stops at Chichen Itza, the wonderful restaurant and market, and the beautiful cenote were all more than enjoyable! Eduardo, Victor, and the others are to be commended for a long to be remembered special day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent!!! Trip was actually serviced by Cancun Passion. Very comfortable bus came right to gates of our resort (Grand Mayan). Continental breakfast was provided on the bus and lunch at very nice buffet restaurant was served after the visit at Chichen Itza. In the afternoon we drove to cenote were we had an opportunity to swim in crystal clear water. Unlimited cups of tea, coffee, bottled water, soft drinks and corona beer were provided on the bus during the entire trip. Our tour guides, Diego and Philippe were extremely nice and very knowledgeable and provided more information about Mayas than we expected. Diego, our bus conductor, was wonderful as well. Chichen Itza itself is a place that everyone should see; again, crew form Cancun Passion exceeded our expectation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Organized, efficient; tour guide was extremely personable and informative. Would recommended Viator.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Overall, it was a great day and we are glad that we took the trip. The "tour" however, it a bit misleading so read the fine print. We paid $257us for 2 people for the basic package which included resort pick-up and drop-off , a "tour" and a map. The tour was really a verbal walk-through of the park map. This was helpful and appreciated - but it is not a tour. Since the normal admission for our trip was $99us per person, the extra $59us was a good value, however. We did not pay the extra $60us for the buffet lunch and instead had a wonderful lunch on the water overlooking the dolphin pens and the peninsula (#30 on the map). The total was $40us including 2 drinks and the tip.

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Nice tour; could be much better. This tour was serviced by Experiencias Excaret. Mayan ruins in Tulum itself are place highly recommended to see; unfortunately, our tour guide was not good at all. About 80% of people on our bus were Canadians and Americans, remaining 20% were Spanish speaking only. The tour guide was totally quiet during our way to Tulum, once there, he was giving one sentence in English and long talk in Spanish about what we will do and see. He stopped in two places within the archeological area and briefly told what is there pointing with his finger on various buildings. That’s all. After that he asked us to tour the area on our own. I would like to mention that during our stay there, there were other groups with guides from the same travel company. These groups were assisted by guides at all time and provided with a lot of information. We were lucky to be able to stick to one of those. After Tulum, our bus took us to Xel-Ha; wonderful all-inclusive water park with tons of activities. We enjoyed time there very much. Around 6 pm we went back to our resort; out tour guide didn’t show-up anymore, TG we had a driver…
In short, we are rating 3 stars only because of poor service provided by our guide, otherwise it would be 5; Tulum archeological site is a place highly recommended to see, make sure however you have a right guide. Xel-Ha is wonderful as well; here, you don’t need a guide at all :)

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must see attraction! Difficult to pack everything into one day, but doable. Staying for the night show is a must!

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It's a fun place where you can spend the whole day. We were a bit confused about what to bring along, as there was no mention of that. Swimming suits, another set of (dry) clothes, slippers and towel are pretty good to have with you.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great lunch, great day! Don't forget to take your swin suit and towel!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Chichen Itza. The tour guide was phenomenal and very knowledgeable. However, my only complaint would be that the Viator website made absolutely no mention of a trip to a cenote being included in the price of the tour and that participants should bring a bathing suit. Had I known this, I would have brought my suit and been able to partake in this fabulous activity.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Vehiculo: bien, puntualidad: bien, visita Chichen Itzá: muy bien, visita fabrica tequila: prescindible, visita piscina natural (cenote): demasiada gente. Guias: muy profesionales.
El tema de las propinas es MUY MOLESTO, considero que pedir un 15/20% del importe de la excursión es muy exagerado. Se deberia explicar en la descripción del servicio, si se debe dar una PROPINA o pagar el servicio del guia aparte, no pueden decirnos que las propinas son el 70% de su sueldo.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour, lots of interesting information clearly given. tour guides were excellent. they kept us well informed and very entertained for the whole tour! Food was very good and swimming in ik kil was definitely the highlight for me. A fantastic tout.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The shuttle picked us up on time and we drove for probably about 1 1/2 hours, picking up other passengers, before transferring to a very nice, new, tour bus that included a bathroom, happily, since it was needed at that time and the transfer to the bus took place at the side of a highway, not a resort or whatever that would have a bathroom. Tour guides on the bus were very professional and friendly and served us coffee, juice and breakfast pastries. It was perhaps another hour before we arrived at Chichen Itza. We had driven through rain and although the sky had cleared, we were offered umbrellas in case the rain returned. Our tour guide, Josue, was extremely knowledgeable and informative. So many great stories! It was thrilling to stand in the stone court where ancient Mayans had played their ball game. So many great sights! We were advised not to buy souveniers inside the gate as the quality of the silver, etc. was not reliable and the vendors lie about it. They'll say 'One dollar' to draw you in and then after you make your choice, they say it is 'One dollar OFF.' so beware. Bring your bug spray. Lunch, which was included in the price, was buffet-style but pretty good after adding habanero to spice it up. It was intentionally blanded-down for the masses. You pay for drinks but they were good. There's time for shopping after lunch at the approved store on the grounds. We then stopped at the cenote but by then it was thundering and raining and we chose to pass the hour in the bar a few steps from it instead of making ourselves human lightening rods. The people who DID swim said it was fantastic, with the blind fish bumping into them as they swam. There are lockers for $3 and towels for rent. There was beer, soda and water for the ride home which included a 'snoring contest', as by that time, you will likely be tired from all of the walking and the heat and will welcome passing the time with a nap. An incredible experience and wonderful tour!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This adventure part was great for the hole family we all had fun and spend a great day. The activities were awesome zip lining and the underground river incredible and the food was good .

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message