The famous Riviera Maya combines ancient Mayan culture, modern-day resorts and water sports action galore. The absolute best time to visit is September to December, though any time of year is prime time. From Cancun on the northern coast to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My friend and I spent the entire day at Xplor and tried all the activities offered. We did zipline for the first time and loved it; in fact, we loved it so much that we did the entire zipline course twice. The buffet included in the package was good; not a lot of variety with the food but sufficient to fill you up before you continue your day of adventures!

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! My wife and I enjoyed this day trip on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the sites. The lunch and the swimming in the afternoon was great too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Quite a lovely trip overall. Travel accommodations (tour buses, etc.) were nicely apportioned. The guides, steward, and driver were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Luncheon was delicious. Very nicely organized; however, the trip went longer than planned. The drop off process was rather drawn out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The park itself was a blast and definitely recommend it. The only reason I am giving it three starts instead of five is because the shuttle bus which is included in the purchase was two hours late picking us up from our resort. Our concierge had to call them as they only spoke Spanish.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

This trip was not at all as sold. Please book this tour if you're prepared to be very disappointed. We were only told once on location we could only complete half the trip in one day and would need to re-book another day to complete the second half. A day we didn't have. The part of the trip we did get to go on was good but did not require an entire day or our trip and felt like a waste of our short time in Mexico.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Zipline and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nothing like this in the states. We only managed to do both circuits of zip lines and cars. They were very conscientious about security and safety. Buffet was good lots of choices.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Was welcoming and great treatment .. Wished had more hime in the water .. Very rushed .. Would do it agsin though

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The time spent in Tulum was short and only little information was provided. on the tour bus we only received information about Xel-Ha but, unfortunatley, not about Tulum. in addition, we did not get to know about a few helpful details in Xel-Ha, for example deposits and prices of extra-tours etc.
Of course, Tulum is worth visiting, Xel-Ha is also a very nice and attractive place. But you will definitely not need a tour to experience these sites.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

amazing day, really enjoyed it and food value for money

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Saw a few ruins through a tunnel of jungle trees, turned a corner and my jaw dropped, the most amazing pyramid beautifully preserved you have seen, the definition of awesome. Take an umbrella if you go its a frying pan on the site. Didn't get as thorough a tour as I would have liked Fillipe our guide gave us quite a bit of info on the site but had a penchant for giving us his view of Mexican politics/gossip instead of fact about the site so we ran out of time to see some of the most important buildings. Also the mayan pedlars on the site had some great wares that we never saw anywhere else but we were both not given time and strongly encouraged not to buy from them, instead we were taken to an rip off market near our restaurant. That being said the site will remain an amazing memory for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Once again, Viator delivered a first class tour. The tour was fantastic, as were our guides. Not only were they knowledgeable, caring, and funny, but they were genuinely concerned about everyone's well being. The stops at Chichen Itza, the wonderful restaurant and market, and the beautiful cenote were all more than enjoyable! Eduardo, Victor, and the others are to be commended for a long to be remembered special day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent!!! Trip was actually serviced by Cancun Passion. Very comfortable bus came right to gates of our resort (Grand Mayan). Continental breakfast was provided on the bus and lunch at very nice buffet restaurant was served after the visit at Chichen Itza. In the afternoon we drove to cenote were we had an opportunity to swim in crystal clear water. Unlimited cups of tea, coffee, bottled water, soft drinks and corona beer were provided on the bus during the entire trip. Our tour guides, Diego and Philippe were extremely nice and very knowledgeable and provided more information about Mayas than we expected. Diego, our bus conductor, was wonderful as well. Chichen Itza itself is a place that everyone should see; again, crew form Cancun Passion exceeded our expectation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Organized, efficient; tour guide was extremely personable and informative. Would recommended Viator.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Overall, it was a great day and we are glad that we took the trip. The "tour" however, it a bit misleading so read the fine print. We paid $257us for 2 people for the basic package which included resort pick-up and drop-off , a "tour" and a map. The tour was really a verbal walk-through of the park map. This was helpful and appreciated - but it is not a tour. Since the normal admission for our trip was $99us per person, the extra $59us was a good value, however. We did not pay the extra $60us for the buffet lunch and instead had a wonderful lunch on the water overlooking the dolphin pens and the peninsula (#30 on the map). The total was $40us including 2 drinks and the tip.

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message