The famous Riviera Maya combines ancient Mayan culture, modern-day resorts and water sports action galore. The absolute best time to visit is September to December, though any time of year is prime time. From Cancun on the northern coast to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip as far as it goes is one of the best that i've made till now. The boat was very nice, the crew was amazing very friendly and happy people they even managed to catch a Dorado on our way back. It was really nice trip.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Our three guides (Raul was comical) were very knowledgeable. Our stops included to the deepest natural pool, a real Mayan village for lunch, and of course Chichen ItZa. The trip to Chichen Itza was long, but nothing that we didn't know up front. We would consider a closer historical visit (Tulum) to compare in the future

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful tour. Our guide was fantastic and transmitted his knowledge from his heart! One hour self time at the site is not enough, though....

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very rough seas to snorkel that day. Catamaran just okay. Staff was very helpful but bag lunch was not what was expected.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip- the tour of the ruins was informative; it is only 3 hours (which seems like a lot until you realize how much actually there is to see) and it would have been nice to have some additional time to walk around on your own but it was really great. The lunch was good- definitely try to the corn ice cream. Swimming in the cenote was a highlight and fun; definitely a unique experience. Definitely recommend for any first timers to the region/looking for something interesting to do.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The catamaran and snorkeling was amazing. We saw a couple sea turtles and our guide made sure we received a great tour of the reef. We were lucky that the weather was terrific, but also lucky that we had such great guides for our trip. We will definitely use "Fat Cat" tours next time we want to snorkel. Thanks for the great time!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this tour! The sites are breathtaking, and the staff fantastic! Jesús, Samuel, José and Amado couldn't have taken better care of us or done more for us, and it's wonderful to get to see such a fascinating place as Chichén Itzá without having to worry about the logistics. It's a 12 hour day and make sure you bring your camera!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide gave us great and detailed information; he (Felipe) was pleasant, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized and kept to the schedule very well. The bus was very comfortable. It would have been nice to have literature or handouts to read later at one's leisure. There was a lot of information to take in! I wish I had known ahead of time that there would be shopping opportunities at both the buffet restaurant and the cenote, and would have preferred more time for browsing and shopping. The meal was interesting but again, would have like more information about the authenticity of the the various foods. The tour certainly piqued my interest to visit my local library to read up on the Mayan history. I found that the day was rather long because of the intense heat. I do not regret taking this tour and would recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip, great atmosphere and superb views. A must do for everyone visiting the are!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Glynis O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

this is the second time we have used the fat cat and this wont be our last. Everyone is just great, from the owners to the lovely crew.... Sammy who keeps the glasses filled and the rest who keep the party atmosphere going... just great. Cant recommend this trip enough... I urge you to do it.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A good day out but the whole process of arranging the tour once in Mexico was very tiresome. It's a shame viator didn't provide the correct information and I also had to pay for local phone calls to arrange a voucher exchange. A good tour but honestly wouldn't recommend booking through Viator (sadly) as the process is much easier if booked locally. Nearly lost out in the excursion due to this problem. Needs to be sorted Viator. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We had a fantastic tour guide at Chichen Itza who was very friendly and informative. The food was great, but did not include the price of drinks, even water. This was not a big deal at all but would have been nice to have been prepared for.

The Dolphin Xtreme: Swimming with the dolphins and manatees was fantastic. Each person in our group got plenty of one-on-one time with the dolphins. There are no stingrays or sharks in the area, so that was disappointing... The rappelling, zip lining and snorkeling was a ton of fun! I only wish we had more time to these things - it felt a bit rushed. That guide was great, too, and the food was very good. You cannot have cameras with the dolphins and manatees, but you can with everything else. The photographers were great, though, so you don't NEED a camera.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Dolphin Xtreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! My wife and I enjoyed this day trip on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the sites. The lunch and the swimming in the afternoon was great too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Quite a lovely trip overall. Travel accommodations (tour buses, etc.) were nicely apportioned. The guides, steward, and driver were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Luncheon was delicious. Very nicely organized; however, the trip went longer than planned. The drop off process was rather drawn out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

This trip was not at all as sold. Please book this tour if you're prepared to be very disappointed. We were only told once on location we could only complete half the trip in one day and would need to re-book another day to complete the second half. A day we didn't have. The part of the trip we did get to go on was good but did not require an entire day or our trip and felt like a waste of our short time in Mexico.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Zipline and Snorkel Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Was welcoming and great treatment .. Wished had more hime in the water .. Very rushed .. Would do it agsin though

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The time spent in Tulum was short and only little information was provided. on the tour bus we only received information about Xel-Ha but, unfortunatley, not about Tulum. in addition, we did not get to know about a few helpful details in Xel-Ha, for example deposits and prices of extra-tours etc.
Of course, Tulum is worth visiting, Xel-Ha is also a very nice and attractive place. But you will definitely not need a tour to experience these sites.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

amazing day, really enjoyed it and food value for money

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Saw a few ruins through a tunnel of jungle trees, turned a corner and my jaw dropped, the most amazing pyramid beautifully preserved you have seen, the definition of awesome. Take an umbrella if you go its a frying pan on the site. Didn't get as thorough a tour as I would have liked Fillipe our guide gave us quite a bit of info on the site but had a penchant for giving us his view of Mexican politics/gossip instead of fact about the site so we ran out of time to see some of the most important buildings. Also the mayan pedlars on the site had some great wares that we never saw anywhere else but we were both not given time and strongly encouraged not to buy from them, instead we were taken to an rip off market near our restaurant. That being said the site will remain an amazing memory for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Once again, Viator delivered a first class tour. The tour was fantastic, as were our guides. Not only were they knowledgeable, caring, and funny, but they were genuinely concerned about everyone's well being. The stops at Chichen Itza, the wonderful restaurant and market, and the beautiful cenote were all more than enjoyable! Eduardo, Victor, and the others are to be commended for a long to be remembered special day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Organized, efficient; tour guide was extremely personable and informative. Would recommended Viator.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Overall, it was a great day and we are glad that we took the trip. The "tour" however, it a bit misleading so read the fine print. We paid $257us for 2 people for the basic package which included resort pick-up and drop-off , a "tour" and a map. The tour was really a verbal walk-through of the park map. This was helpful and appreciated - but it is not a tour. Since the normal admission for our trip was $99us per person, the extra $59us was a good value, however. We did not pay the extra $60us for the buffet lunch and instead had a wonderful lunch on the water overlooking the dolphin pens and the peninsula (#30 on the map). The total was $40us including 2 drinks and the tip.

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must see attraction! Difficult to pack everything into one day, but doable. Staying for the night show is a must!

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, great lunch, great day! Don't forget to take your swin suit and towel!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message