The famous Riviera Maya combines ancient Mayan culture, modern-day resorts and water sports action galore. The absolute best time to visit is September to December, though any time of year is prime time. From Cancun on the northern coast to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Had a great time in Chichen Itza, lots to see and amazing pictures.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

DeanC Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guides Luis, Flipe, Luis and driver were all great.

If there was one complaint it is the amount of free time we spent at Chichen Itza. Though I appreciate the history lesson, I would have liked more time to walk around.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Anthony S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

we were too hot in Tulum and dehydrated very quickly. my boyfriend was fine but I became sick. when we got to xel-ha it was amazing and I cooled off in the beautiful water and rehydrated in the restaurants. next time we are just going to xel-ha. Tulum was very nice and I loved learning about the mayans but it was just way too hot and humid.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Holly R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Had a wonderful day. Very tired when we got back to our resort!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

Nancy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family of 4, including 13-year-old twins, took this tour on July 28, 2015, and would highly recommend it to others. The tour operator, Cancun Passion, provided prompt pick-up at our resort and brought us to a central location to meet the coach. We were served coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, which made for a pleasant trip. We had a restroom/shopping stop for about 30 minutes prior to Chichen Itza, where we purchased some lovely crafts. Chichen Itza was amazing!! Our guide, Tony, provided excellent explanations of sites before we were given free time for pictures and lunch included in the price, aside from drinks. The history and sites are not to be missed!! We had an amazing cenote swim before heading back. This is a long day, but well worth it. The staff was professional and personable from start to finish. Tony taught us so much about Mayan history. This tour is highly recommended. Once again, I have had success in booking an excursion through viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

KEITH Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great trip.. crew was great... plenty to drink, music was great, weather was even better... ran into a downpour rainstorm. it was fabulous.. everyone onboard laughed and enjoyed the 15-20 min storm, then it passed and the sun came out again. thanks, good times.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Jefhreen L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The setting is beautiful. I've never seen so many trees in a park. Also if you do run out of things to do, you can just chill out on the beach which is part of the park. I also thought it was convenient to rent a locker for just 5.I had a great time.

Doing what: Xcaret from Riviera Maya

Susan C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

It was ok tour guide we informative food was poor

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Michele O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I want to first acknowledge the local tour company who viator works with or who was at least the assigned local tour group. Evelyn was so accommodating and super nice. The email sent from Viator says to contact the local tour group 48 hours in advance. This, in my opinion, was not highlighted very well. We were also traveling on the 48 hour mark. So we did not contact them in time for our Monday tour. The company rescheduled us with no problem. Seeing the ruins is highly recommended. Our tour Cancun Passion was also fantastic. The guides Noe and Fernando were fabulous. Noe cares more about the history and is very knowledgeable. If you just want to take pictures you don't really need a guide. But it was really informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

timothy h

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

worth going but the tour was short less talking and more touring the other areas that we did not get to see.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip!! The car picked us up promptly!!! The catamaran itself was beautiful and the crew was so friendly and accommodating! We had a great afternoon 2-6 and the pictures we were able to take were awesome!! We had an amazing time snorkeling - saw lots of fish, 2 sea turtles, coral reef and sting rays! The crew even caught a tuna which we all took photos of. Then we went to a natural swimming area where we were able to jump off the side of the boat and swim around. It was a trip of a lifetime and a fantastic way to celebrate my husband's birthday!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Boyan Savov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip as far as it goes is one of the best that i've made till now. The boat was very nice, the crew was amazing very friendly and happy people they even managed to catch a Dorado on our way back. It was really nice trip.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

John H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Our three guides (Raul was comical) were very knowledgeable. Our stops included to the deepest natural pool, a real Mayan village for lunch, and of course Chichen ItZa. The trip to Chichen Itza was long, but nothing that we didn't know up front. We would consider a closer historical visit (Tulum) to compare in the future

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

ANN F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful tour. Our guide was fantastic and transmitted his knowledge from his heart! One hour self time at the site is not enough, though....

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Patricia T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very rough seas to snorkel that day. Catamaran just okay. Staff was very helpful but bag lunch was not what was expected.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip- the tour of the ruins was informative; it is only 3 hours (which seems like a lot until you realize how much actually there is to see) and it would have been nice to have some additional time to walk around on your own but it was really great. The lunch was good- definitely try to the corn ice cream. Swimming in the cenote was a highlight and fun; definitely a unique experience. Definitely recommend for any first timers to the region/looking for something interesting to do.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Vivian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The catamaran and snorkeling was amazing. We saw a couple sea turtles and our guide made sure we received a great tour of the reef. We were lucky that the weather was terrific, but also lucky that we had such great guides for our trip. We will definitely use "Fat Cat" tours next time we want to snorkel. Thanks for the great time!!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this tour! The sites are breathtaking, and the staff fantastic! Jesús, Samuel, José and Amado couldn't have taken better care of us or done more for us, and it's wonderful to get to see such a fascinating place as Chichén Itzá without having to worry about the logistics. It's a 12 hour day and make sure you bring your camera!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Rosalind F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide gave us great and detailed information; he (Felipe) was pleasant, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized and kept to the schedule very well. The bus was very comfortable. It would have been nice to have literature or handouts to read later at one's leisure. There was a lot of information to take in! I wish I had known ahead of time that there would be shopping opportunities at both the buffet restaurant and the cenote, and would have preferred more time for browsing and shopping. The meal was interesting but again, would have like more information about the authenticity of the the various foods. The tour certainly piqued my interest to visit my local library to read up on the Mayan history. I found that the day was rather long because of the intense heat. I do not regret taking this tour and would recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Kathryn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip, great atmosphere and superb views. A must do for everyone visiting the are!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Glynis O United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

this is the second time we have used the fat cat and this wont be our last. Everyone is just great, from the owners to the lovely crew.... Sammy who keeps the glasses filled and the rest who keep the party atmosphere going... just great. Cant recommend this trip enough... I urge you to do it.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Catamaran Adventure

Kathryn G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A good day out but the whole process of arranging the tour once in Mexico was very tiresome. It's a shame viator didn't provide the correct information and I also had to pay for local phone calls to arrange a voucher exchange. A good tour but honestly wouldn't recommend booking through Viator (sadly) as the process is much easier if booked locally. Nearly lost out in the excursion due to this problem. Needs to be sorted Viator. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

ehaffley35

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We had a fantastic tour guide at Chichen Itza who was very friendly and informative. The food was great, but did not include the price of drinks, even water. This was not a big deal at all but would have been nice to have been prepared for.

The Dolphin Xtreme: Swimming with the dolphins and manatees was fantastic. Each person in our group got plenty of one-on-one time with the dolphins. There are no stingrays or sharks in the area, so that was disappointing... The rappelling, zip lining and snorkeling was a ton of fun! I only wish we had more time to these things - it felt a bit rushed. That guide was great, too, and the food was very good. You cannot have cameras with the dolphins and manatees, but you can with everything else. The photographers were great, though, so you don't NEED a camera.

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Dolphin Xtreme

Charles K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message