Roatan ATTRACTIONS See all

West Bay Beach

Head to West Bay Beach and join the fun bustling center of life on Roatan. Here you’ll find luxurious and comfortable vacation rentals, intricate and fine restaurants, while the beach itself remains white-sanded and dotted with sleepy palm trees. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great round trip transportation. Camberon our driver was very informative about Mahogany Bay as he was born there. He answered all our questions and more on the hour trip to West Bay Beach from Roatan. He was even going to bring us to a local restaurant but we ran out of time. This trip was a great idea because we really could see how the locals lived. The only recommendation is to provide a map from the port to where we meet Mr. Henry's. It was confusing directions. Much better than a taxi.

Doing what: West Bay Beach Round-Trip Transportation from Roatan

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We needed help knowing where to go and our driver Sherman took good care of us. He got out of the taxi and made sure we knew where to check in and how to get around. Things were a little crazy the day we went to the beach. Our driver was late, so Trent stepped in and drove us when we needed a ride back to the ship. He even took us somewhere to eat lunch. Our drivers were very good to us.

Doing what: West Bay Beach Round-Trip Transportation from Roatan

George F F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely fantastic!!

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: West Island Tour

jean.tea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Had a fantastic time - it was so great being about to go into the cages with the monkeys birds butterflies. Truly made my birthday memorable. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: West Island Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time. The Butterfly Garden was closed, so James our guide took us to Bodden's Monkey business. This smaller group tour is just so superior to those 30 person tours the cruise ships arrange.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: West Island Tour

Greg O

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

James of the Tour was great. He tried to make the best of a not so optimum situation to provide us with a wonderful experience we were delayed in getting off the cruise, the sea condition was a bit choppy, ect. Thanks to Captain Ron for his efforts also. Our family had a wonderful time, snorkeling the wreck, diving for star fish, lunching on a local beach. We will surely book with them again if we get back to Roatan.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Deanna C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The trip was very nice. Gustavo took us on a boat to two great snorkeling areas on the west end of the island however it was not west bay beach as promised when we booked with Viator. We were suppose to snorkel at the beach at west bay and did not get to. This was disappointing. James picked us up from the Coxen hole port and waited for us. Our Norwegian ship tenders were behind schedule. Service was top notch overall.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Chad G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

There wern't a ton of fish but the water was beautiful and the coral was great. Our guide was a 13 year old boy and he was a great swimmer and a real good guide. The best part was enjoying the beach and meal on the beach when we got back from the snorkeling. What a great day and Roatan is a very pretty place.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Marjorie M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The snorkeling tour took us to two places - one called the blue channel and one called the aquarium. Unfortunately, it was a gray-ish and chilly-ish day. The aquarium was nice but we got a bit bitten by sea lice and the water was cold. We were hesistent to have to go back in the water for the blue channel, but even though we were cold, it was amazing and definitely worth it. The guide from the port to the snorkel boat was great, full of information.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Terry R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Our personal driver LINCOLN was fantastic - ask for him - He is worth it! Our boat and snorkel operator was good also - very attentive. A bit of confusion tho...as we (group of 5) understood the tour to have 2 stops to snorkel....they only had one arranged....so Lincoln took us on tour of island and to a nice beach for the remainder to the time we had available...overall we were satisfied. Terry R and family

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Barbara B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The Coral Princess never reached Roatan I was so disappointed not to make the excursion. I am awaiting my refund. Thank you.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Deanna C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

James picked us up from Coxen hole and waited over an hour for us due to a delay at port. He was very personable and hooked us up with a private boat Driven by Gustavo. He and his mate took us to two great snorkeling spots on the reef. The best snorkeling ever. The tour should have included snorkeling off the boat as well as snorkeling at West Bay Beach but instead he took us to the West end of the island which is nearby however there was no snorkeling at the beach as advertised on Viator. Overall a good experience but not what we paid for.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Matthew T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Bait and Switch!!!

We experienced the same issue as Lewis L. No elegant catamaran when we arrived at the West Bay location, rather a small skiff/single hull boat!!! Whats more, the tour offered was now 1 hr 20 mins with one dive spot vs. the website indicating 4 hours and two dive spots. We ultimately refused the tour, went back to the port, and tried to salvage the rest of our day.

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour

Sophie M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Really????? The tour guide was supposed to wait for us.... We waited...and waited... The guide finally arrived , BUT, did not have any guide for us, so he called in his nephew, James good guy... We were in this small corolla, unable to open the dirtywindow, on the back of this car. He just drived, and talked, we had to call the shots for every single picture we would like to get...Got to the sanctuary, few dozens animals on cage: WHAT!!! that is a sanctuary, lol.... About the nice butteflies.... I have not seen a single one. So where are they, if part of this tour???? Asked James many times to go see a chocolate factory, We thaught He would bring us there, but he could not find it!!!! A Native, who has been doing this more than once, unable to get us to this facility???? I was upset. He stopped on a street, told us where was the beach we were allowed to go. We had a good walk, pretty nice, then we realized the beach was a tiny spot....tired, we decided to go back to the boat, with a big deception. about this tour... We gave him a tip, did not seem to appreciate the amount.... Sorry guys, if you are unable to deliver, don't call yourself excursion tour!!!

Doing what: Roatan Shore Excursion: West Island Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message