Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent tour. Rebecca was professional, attentive to her guests and very well informed. She was able to answer even the most obscure questions. Easily negotiated the large groups of school children that were at Ostia that day. Great job!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Gio was an excellent guide! Entertaining and informative visit to Ancient Ostia.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An absolutely fantastic tour! I knew little about Ostia, outside of it being an archaeological site,but after completing this tour I was left with a great deal of new knowledge and understanding for the history and culture it represents. The ruins were incredibly fascinating as they provided us with a clear idea of what this town looked like at its prime in addition to providing an insight into the everyday lives of Ancient Ostia's inhabitants. Our guide, Rebecca, was brilliant as she shared her vast knowledge of Ancient Ostia with us her passion was infectious. Thank you Rebecca for a wonderful tour, definitely worth checking out!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An absolutely fantastic tour! I knew little about Ostia, outside of it being an archaeological site,but after completing this tour I was left with a great deal of new knowledge and understanding for the history and culture it represents. The ruins were incredibly fascinating as they provided us with a clear idea of what this town looked like at its prime in addition to providing an insight into the everyday lives of Ancient Ostia's inhabitants. Our guide, Rebecca, was brilliant as she shared her vast knowledge of Ancient Ostia with us her passion was infectious. Thank you Rebecca for a wonderful tour, definitely worth checking out!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour! Getting out of Rome is nice for a day and the crowds at Ostia are small. I liked Ostia as much as Pompeii which we saw a few years ago. It's great to see ruins that are mostly together - that haven't had 2,000 years of other buildings going over them, like you see primarily in Rome itself. Our guide, Rebecca, was great. I would highly recommend this trip. We went out to the beach at Ostia after the tour which was a really nice way to spend one of our days in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent tour of Ostia Antica. I am sorry I do not remember the name of our guide but he is a professor of archaeology. I was really overwhelmed with his knowledge and enjoyed the morning very much.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Of all the sites we visited in Rome this was one of the best ones with Rebeccas enthusiasm and knowledge of ancient Rome. If you want to visit Ostia I would highly recommend this tour otherwise you would think ahh another ruin, but with Rebeccas knowledge she really brings it to life.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Ostia was fascinating, however our guide was not interested in interacting with the group. When asked questions he just ignored them.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The first thing that strikes you on arrival in Ostia is the cool sea breeze and the peace. The site is beautiful plenty of greenery and vast. It wasn't at all crowded and there were only 7 in our tour group so it was a pleasant break from the heat and crowds of Rome. Our guide was a retired archaeologist/history professor whose stories really brought the ruins to life. No time for loitering though as it is a very big site and there is a lot to see. It's quite a long walk at a brisk pace so a bit challenging if you walk with a cane or have trouble walking on uneven surfaces. Don't listen to the marketing blurbs that say it's better than Pompeii - it isn't. However, it does have a cemetery, baths, shops, private houses, public latrines, a full military camp, temples, a theatre and the most in tact restaurant I've seen, so it's well worth the trip out there.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour Guide Rebecca was wonderful! Loves her job and very enthusiastic! Had a great morning with her.
If you can't make it to Pompeii, definitely see Ostia!!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A really wonderful half day tour. It started in the morning which meant we arrived in Ostia before almost anyone else. This makes a pleasant change from overcrowded Pompeii - and Ostia is a smaller more compact version of it really minus the brothel. Highlights include the mosaics and the fast food counter. Our tour guide Georgio ? was knowledgeable and relayed the history to the group with good humour and in a clear voice so everyone understood. Not as famous as Pompeii but more enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wow!! What an amazing tour. Our guide Rebecca was FANTASTIC! Her knowledge was outstanding and her passion was infectious. By the time we all left we had a love for Ostia and Roman history.Thank you Rebecca for making our tour so special.Would definitely recommend this tour and ask for Rebecca!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This site is incredible! We were disappointed that we would not be able to see Pompeii, but we think we had a better experience in Ostia. We met our guide at the train station and after 30 minutes found ourselves in this ancient city of amazing structures. This was an entire community with a port, stores, temples, baths, a theater, and other public buildings. Everything was there to help us imagine the scope of this place. The added bonus was that most tourists haven't discovered it yet and it wasn't crowded. Our guide Gio helped bring Ostia to life. And we were back in Rome for lunch.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really enjoyed Ostia. We also went to Pompeii and Ostia was much better. Closer to Rome, better preserved, and just an all around better tour. Highly recommend it. If you only have time for one tour, this is the one I would recommend.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Rebecca our tour guide was brilliant. She was so informative and so enthusiastic about Ostia. She brought the city to life. This trip is well worth the money and when Rebecca ended the tour we were able to stay at Ostia for the rest of the day. This place is stunning and will enhance your visit. Fab

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful tour! We had an early morning pickup at our hotel and wonderful guide, Chiarra. We arrived at Ostia Antica early before the crowds and it was very peaceful so we could walk amongst the ruins and enjoy all the sights. Our guide was most informative and since it was a small group we had lots of individual attention.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Ancient Ostia is fascinating and our guide was very knowledgeable and also had a great sense of humor. We enjoyed it thoroughly and would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to get an appreciation of what daily life was like in Roman times. The coach trip to and from Ostia was quite pleasant, and we enjoyed to pick-up and drop-off service provided as well. Denise, September 2014

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Gio was our tour guide and she was absolutely brilliant. She was informative, witty and fun, and we all learned a lot from her. Our two children aged 9 and 11 years really enjoyed Ostia and particularly Gio's style which made it all come to life. It is certainly a fabulous site and well worth a visit. Several people on this tour said it was a far better experience than Pompeii. The ruins are fascinating and really give you a look into ancient Roman life. Thumbs up and highly recommeded.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an inexpensive but terrific 1/2 day trip to the ancient port of Rome. It's as well preserved as Pompeii and is a great example of an ancient commercial town. Beautiful mosaic floors still very well preserved, as are the buildings. You can get there by Metro plus train, but it is so much more meaningful to have a guide, who was excellent. The port city was abandoned when the mouth of the river silted over so the city, over 2000 years, got covered over by mud and aside from some earthquake damage, many of the buildings, both commercial and residential, and still in fairly good condition. Ostia is a hidden gem that not many tourists know about and it is only 45 minutes from Rome. It is definitely well work 1/2 a day of your time, and the tour is very inexpensive. Definitely go to Ostia, and on this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Outstanding guide who provided a comprehensive tour, bringing ancient Ostia to life.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rebecca had a very good knowledge of her history of Ostia. She even helped us get the correct train home and pointed out other sites worth visiting. Ostia was huge and you could easily continue by yourself when the tour was over. It was easy to get there and home again.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a morning very well spent and I would recommend it to anyone who has more than a passing interest in Roman history . The site itself is huge and also surprisingly beautiful, with its ancient brickwork shaded by umbrella pines and surrounded by wildflower meadows which were scented with herbs humming with life even in September . To my mind it is a more evocative - and far less crowded - environment than Pompeii . And the preservation of the buildings is remarkable , with many being intact up to the second or even third stories . Our guide Gio ( sp ? ) was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and really brought the place to life for us .There is a small Museum which was slightly disappointing, featuring as it does a collection of mostly rather second rate sculpture ( of inestimable interest to archeologists, I am sure, but looking rather shabby after the splendours of the Capitoline museums and the Palazzo Massimo ). There is also a small cafeteria on the site , which sells a rather appealing selection of salads and hot meals ,though we didn't try any . We chose to remain in Ostia to explore on our own at the end of the tour , as the site is far too big to take in in a couple of hours and we had no difficulty getting back to Rome with the tickets provided.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An absolutely outstanding experience. We went on 4 tours with 'City Wonders' and all of their guides are extremely knowledgeable. They all seem to be studying or have graduated from art history, history or archaeology and are so passionate about their subject. Ostia truly is the 'better Pompeii', although I worry that they let you get too close to the history and it may suffer damage from too many tourists. The scale of the place is amazing and the commentary from Sara, the guide, helped to immerse you in the history and really feel it.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AMAZING! I didn't know a lot about Ostia, but this tour was super fabulous and informing. The woman leading it was a lot of fun and soooo well educated!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour and very well hosted by Gia. She was knowledgeable and obviously loved talking and showing people Ostia Antica. I'm glad I took this tour and learnt so much about this ancient civilisation,

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message