Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ostia is wonderful and interesting to see the everyday life of Romans so well preserved. Our tour guide, Rebecca was very knowledgeable and excited about the topic so made the tour extra fun. She even checked on us on the train ride back to Rome to see if we had any questions. Once back in Rome, she helped everyone with bus/train connections. Overall, a very nice tour and a must-see if your planning a trip to Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I absolutely loved this tour to Ostia Antica. I had been in Rome multiple times, and this time really wanted to experience some of the areas outside of the busy city. I had never heard of Ostia Antica, but read great reviews, and I completely agree with many that the city is better preserved and more complete than the ruins of Pompeii. Our guide Rebecca was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, and found a way to draw us all in personally to the information she was giving. The group was nice and small so we all got to know each other and it was easy to stay together. I highly recommend this for anyone interested in archaeology or just interested in experiencing something different from the hustle and bustle of the center city!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a really good half-day trip. Ostia was enormous, which really surprised me. The guide Rebecca was really good. At the end of the tour she helped everyone with planning the rest of the day, as some were staying in Ostia, some were going to the beach and some went back to Rome. Highly recommendable.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Ostia was wonderful. This was a great way to spend the morning; we could have easily stayed longer. I would love to go to Ostia again, although I would strongly consider getting an audio guide that would allow for more freedom in terms of where to linger.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our trip for me and my daughter. Rebecca, our guide, made it all come alive even more than we expected. Without her Ostia would have been amazing, but with her it was AWESOME!!! Highly recommend this tour as a get away from the usual stuff one sees and does in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I can't recommend this tour enough! Ostia was an amazing site. It was so much bigger and intact than I was expecting. You definitely get a good feel for what ancient Roman life was like.
Our tour guide, Rebecca, was the BEST tour guide we have ever had. We took our three children on this tour and she kept them engaged and interested the entire time. She brings so much enthusiasm and knowledge to the visit.
If you are going to visit Ostia. I think you will get so much more out of it with a tour. Especially a tour with Rebecca!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Ancient Ostia is advertised as being as good as Pompeii. It was not. I found the ruins of Ostia to be OK but not at all as good as Pompeii.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Our tour guide was Gio, outstanding!!! We had her last year for our Borghese Gallery Tour. Gio made our tour of Ostia interesting and gave even more information about the culture of that time.
While it was a nice tour after doing Pompei, this tour felt repetitive and less interesting.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour -- very educational and fun too. It was a perfect day out of Rome. In many ways, Ostia really is the "better Pompeii." We can't say enough good things about our guide, Rebecca, who was everything we look for in a guide: knowledgeable, personable, organized, and fun. Rebecca did a remarkable job of keeping the group on track while also addressing individual needs. We especially appreciated being taken to her favorite spots in Ostia which made the tour feel very personal and special. We have taken many tours all around the world, and Rebecca is one of the best guides we have ever had!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Alan L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Took this tour, including a short,easy train journey to Ostia expecting to see a small but important site. How wrong, this site was once inhabited by 60000 people, mainly working class and soldiers. Rachel our guide, was very sociable, informative and brought the town to life for us with her vivid explanations of the working city. Just imagine running water in the higher status buildings 1500 years ago!!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an excellent day trip to Ostia Antica. Our guide, Gio, was very knowledgeable, pleasant and professional.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was outstanding! We arrived very early in the morning and it was so pleasant to wander through the Ancient city of Ostia and to take such beautiful photos without ANY other person around. Our tour guide was exceptional! Very knowledgeable! Overall the tour was better than we anticipated! We would highly recommend to others. Thank you!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide, Rebecca, was absolutely fantastic! Her knowledge combined with her enthusiasm made Ostia Antica come alive. She's the best tour guide we've ever had with Viator.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This trip was excellent. Our guide was brilliant. As we took the bus out to Ostia, he was able to anticipate the upcoming sites and tell us all about them so that as we passed, we knew about what we were seeing. The tour around Ostia itself was first class and again, the knowledge of our guide was superb. I would thoroughly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had such an amazing day in Ostia! Our tour guide Rebecca was fabulous! She truly brought the ancient city alive during the tour with her knowledge and experience and made the day a lot of fun. I highly recommend this day trip for anyone who has the opportunity to go! I absolutely loved it! Thank you Rebecca!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message