Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Ancient Ostia

Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carla M A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Unfortunately I read my voucher wrong and showed up at the wrong time. I went to Ostia Antica on my own and missed the organized tour. :

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being frequent visitors to Rome, we decided this time to visit the ancient port city of Ostia using this tour. Similar to what you see at Pompeii, but of course with a less dramatic history. Our guide, Giorgio, was an excellent and witty guide, who not only pointed out several aspects of the ruins military, commercial and residential, but wove into his presentation the operational and daily life of the Roman citizens who lived and worked there. The ampitheatre was a highlight. A most enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Marla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour with a comprehensive look at an ancient city, different than Rome because nothing has been built over the top of it. Our guide back to ancient Ostia was Donald, who did a terrific job infusing us with his passion for the cite. We have been quite satisfied with all the tours we booked with Viator as well as their service: website, communications, changes, confirmations, etc. everything went smoothly making our trip that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Relive the Ancient Ostia: Half-Day Tour from Rome

Airlie B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Most interesting tour with Rebecca, who was very informative about the history of Ostia. Tour was not rushed, plenty of time for photos. Very good cafe for lunch there, museum and shop. Only disappointment was the very long walk to and from the staion.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JeJoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our wonderful guide, Rebecca, met us at the train station and led our group out to Ostia. When there she gave us an incredible tour. It was almost as if she lived there at one time! Ostia is a fascinating place, an ancient seaport of Rome, as large as Pompei and better preserved. Rebecca was the perfect guide for this tour, and while there were over two dozen people in our group, you felt that it was a personal tour, given by a close friend who just might happened to be a college professor. This was an incredible tour and easily worth a half day to see. The fact that it is only a half-hour by train from central Rome makes it all the easier to get to. If you are interested in ancient Rome, this is a must do. And if you have Rebecca as a guide, all the better.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Alexandra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was excellent - the guide was very knowledgable and informative and Ostia itself is stunning and parts of it were incredibly well preserved. A must-see when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

June L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip, with knowledgeable and helpful Georgio. While day trip with picnic could be even better, in summer heat the half day leaving at 8 am was a great compromise to see the main sights of Ostia but still have a reason to go back.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Ed P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour to Ostia Antica was great - nice early start, short 40 min ride to the site. The guide was great, very informative and funny - he was in fact an archeologist and teaches at a University in Rome. Price was right too - bus dropped us off very close to our hotel- all in all an excellent tour

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

SLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rebecca was by far the best tour guide, and Ostia is AMAZING!!! We also took the train to the beach for the second half of the day...this was our favorite for Rome!!!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Sandeep r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent four hour tour of ostia antica. Our guide was professional, knowledgeable and polite. An excellent place to visit with amazing history and ruins, without the hordes of tourists normally associated with Rome's tourist sites.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Lawrence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour. Our guide Rebecca was outstanding. She was very well informed about Ostia and seemed genuinely interested in sharing her knowledge with us. The audio headsets worked very well and enabled everyone to hear what she was saying.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

CAROLYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour - with very small group and incredibly knowledgeable guide. Despite the heat we were enthralled with Ostia and all the stories that we were told.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

toddbrowning

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Ostia is a fascinating place, and not far at all from Rome. Our guide was a little unenthusiastic, though, so the tour could have been a lot better than it was. We got the impression that we were the final tour in a long, long week for our guide, and he was just going through the motions. While we all enjoyed seeing and learning about this great place with its well-preserved sites, the guide could really have brought more to the tour than he did.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Heather H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The ruins are fantastic and the drive out of Rome was not very long at all. I gave this tour 2 stars simply based on the wonderful ruins. The organization of the tour was not very good. We signed up for the English speaking tour but I think my friend and I and two other ladies were just added to an Italian speakers tour because although in the beginning our guide was speaking in Italian then translating to English which made it difficult to keep up a good pace on the tour a quarter of the way into the tour he just started speaking in Italian the rest of the time. The two ladies we were with are from Miami and spoke Spanish and Italian so they took it upon themselves to translate for us. Occasionally as they were translating for us the guide would notice and remember to explain in English. It was unfortunate this happened because we were very interested in learning more about the history and past of one of Italy's historic ports. I can only imagine how fascinating the experience would have been had we been able to understand what was being said because Ostia Antica is such a beautiful place.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

ROBERT B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent tour. Rebecca was professional, attentive to her guests and very well informed. She was able to answer even the most obscure questions. Easily negotiated the large groups of school children that were at Ostia that day. Great job!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

caron.osborn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Gio was an excellent guide! Entertaining and informative visit to Ancient Ostia.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Rachel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An absolutely fantastic tour! I knew little about Ostia, outside of it being an archaeological site,but after completing this tour I was left with a great deal of new knowledge and understanding for the history and culture it represents. The ruins were incredibly fascinating as they provided us with a clear idea of what this town looked like at its prime in addition to providing an insight into the everyday lives of Ancient Ostia's inhabitants. Our guide, Rebecca, was brilliant as she shared her vast knowledge of Ancient Ostia with us her passion was infectious. Thank you Rebecca for a wonderful tour, definitely worth checking out!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Rachel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An absolutely fantastic tour! I knew little about Ostia, outside of it being an archaeological site,but after completing this tour I was left with a great deal of new knowledge and understanding for the history and culture it represents. The ruins were incredibly fascinating as they provided us with a clear idea of what this town looked like at its prime in addition to providing an insight into the everyday lives of Ancient Ostia's inhabitants. Our guide, Rebecca, was brilliant as she shared her vast knowledge of Ancient Ostia with us her passion was infectious. Thank you Rebecca for a wonderful tour, definitely worth checking out!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

K Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour! Getting out of Rome is nice for a day and the crowds at Ostia are small. I liked Ostia as much as Pompeii which we saw a few years ago. It's great to see ruins that are mostly together - that haven't had 2,000 years of other buildings going over them, like you see primarily in Rome itself. Our guide, Rebecca, was great. I would highly recommend this trip. We went out to the beach at Ostia after the tour which was a really nice way to spend one of our days in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Laurie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent tour of Ostia Antica. I am sorry I do not remember the name of our guide but he is a professor of archaeology. I was really overwhelmed with his knowledge and enjoyed the morning very much.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Of all the sites we visited in Rome this was one of the best ones with Rebeccas enthusiasm and knowledge of ancient Rome. If you want to visit Ostia I would highly recommend this tour otherwise you would think ahh another ruin, but with Rebeccas knowledge she really brings it to life.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

nrd45

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Ostia was fascinating, however our guide was not interested in interacting with the group. When asked questions he just ignored them.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Stacey E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The first thing that strikes you on arrival in Ostia is the cool sea breeze and the peace. The site is beautiful plenty of greenery and vast. It wasn't at all crowded and there were only 7 in our tour group so it was a pleasant break from the heat and crowds of Rome. Our guide was a retired archaeologist/history professor whose stories really brought the ruins to life. No time for loitering though as it is a very big site and there is a lot to see. It's quite a long walk at a brisk pace so a bit challenging if you walk with a cane or have trouble walking on uneven surfaces. Don't listen to the marketing blurbs that say it's better than Pompeii - it isn't. However, it does have a cemetery, baths, shops, private houses, public latrines, a full military camp, temples, a theatre and the most in tact restaurant I've seen, so it's well worth the trip out there.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Linda B V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour Guide Rebecca was wonderful! Loves her job and very enthusiastic! Had a great morning with her.
If you can't make it to Pompeii, definitely see Ostia!!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

PJ V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A really wonderful half day tour. It started in the morning which meant we arrived in Ostia before almost anyone else. This makes a pleasant change from overcrowded Pompeii - and Ostia is a smaller more compact version of it really minus the brothel. Highlights include the mosaics and the fast food counter. Our tour guide Georgio ? was knowledgeable and relayed the history to the group with good humour and in a clear voice so everyone understood. Not as famous as Pompeii but more enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message