Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful tour! We had an early morning pickup at our hotel and wonderful guide, Chiarra. We arrived at Ostia Antica early before the crowds and it was very peaceful so we could walk amongst the ruins and enjoy all the sights. Our guide was most informative and since it was a small group we had lots of individual attention.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Ancient Ostia is fascinating and our guide was very knowledgeable and also had a great sense of humor. We enjoyed it thoroughly and would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to get an appreciation of what daily life was like in Roman times. The coach trip to and from Ostia was quite pleasant, and we enjoyed to pick-up and drop-off service provided as well. Denise, September 2014

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Gio was our tour guide and she was absolutely brilliant. She was informative, witty and fun, and we all learned a lot from her. Our two children aged 9 and 11 years really enjoyed Ostia and particularly Gio's style which made it all come to life. It is certainly a fabulous site and well worth a visit. Several people on this tour said it was a far better experience than Pompeii. The ruins are fascinating and really give you a look into ancient Roman life. Thumbs up and highly recommeded.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an inexpensive but terrific 1/2 day trip to the ancient port of Rome. It's as well preserved as Pompeii and is a great example of an ancient commercial town. Beautiful mosaic floors still very well preserved, as are the buildings. You can get there by Metro plus train, but it is so much more meaningful to have a guide, who was excellent. The port city was abandoned when the mouth of the river silted over so the city, over 2000 years, got covered over by mud and aside from some earthquake damage, many of the buildings, both commercial and residential, and still in fairly good condition. Ostia is a hidden gem that not many tourists know about and it is only 45 minutes from Rome. It is definitely well work 1/2 a day of your time, and the tour is very inexpensive. Definitely go to Ostia, and on this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Outstanding guide who provided a comprehensive tour, bringing ancient Ostia to life.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rebecca had a very good knowledge of her history of Ostia. She even helped us get the correct train home and pointed out other sites worth visiting. Ostia was huge and you could easily continue by yourself when the tour was over. It was easy to get there and home again.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a morning very well spent and I would recommend it to anyone who has more than a passing interest in Roman history . The site itself is huge and also surprisingly beautiful, with its ancient brickwork shaded by umbrella pines and surrounded by wildflower meadows which were scented with herbs humming with life even in September . To my mind it is a more evocative - and far less crowded - environment than Pompeii . And the preservation of the buildings is remarkable , with many being intact up to the second or even third stories . Our guide Gio ( sp ? ) was knowledgeable and enthusiastic and really brought the place to life for us .There is a small Museum which was slightly disappointing, featuring as it does a collection of mostly rather second rate sculpture ( of inestimable interest to archeologists, I am sure, but looking rather shabby after the splendours of the Capitoline museums and the Palazzo Massimo ). There is also a small cafeteria on the site , which sells a rather appealing selection of salads and hot meals ,though we didn't try any . We chose to remain in Ostia to explore on our own at the end of the tour , as the site is far too big to take in in a couple of hours and we had no difficulty getting back to Rome with the tickets provided.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An absolutely outstanding experience. We went on 4 tours with 'City Wonders' and all of their guides are extremely knowledgeable. They all seem to be studying or have graduated from art history, history or archaeology and are so passionate about their subject. Ostia truly is the 'better Pompeii', although I worry that they let you get too close to the history and it may suffer damage from too many tourists. The scale of the place is amazing and the commentary from Sara, the guide, helped to immerse you in the history and really feel it.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

AMAZING! I didn't know a lot about Ostia, but this tour was super fabulous and informing. The woman leading it was a lot of fun and soooo well educated!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very good tour and very well hosted by Gia. She was knowledgeable and obviously loved talking and showing people Ostia Antica. I'm glad I took this tour and learnt so much about this ancient civilisation,

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ostia is wonderful and interesting to see the everyday life of Romans so well preserved. Our tour guide, Rebecca was very knowledgeable and excited about the topic so made the tour extra fun. She even checked on us on the train ride back to Rome to see if we had any questions. Once back in Rome, she helped everyone with bus/train connections. Overall, a very nice tour and a must-see if your planning a trip to Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I absolutely loved this tour to Ostia Antica. I had been in Rome multiple times, and this time really wanted to experience some of the areas outside of the busy city. I had never heard of Ostia Antica, but read great reviews, and I completely agree with many that the city is better preserved and more complete than the ruins of Pompeii. Our guide Rebecca was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, and found a way to draw us all in personally to the information she was giving. The group was nice and small so we all got to know each other and it was easy to stay together. I highly recommend this for anyone interested in archaeology or just interested in experiencing something different from the hustle and bustle of the center city!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a really good half-day trip. Ostia was enormous, which really surprised me. The guide Rebecca was really good. At the end of the tour she helped everyone with planning the rest of the day, as some were staying in Ostia, some were going to the beach and some went back to Rome. Highly recommendable.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Ostia was wonderful. This was a great way to spend the morning; we could have easily stayed longer. I would love to go to Ostia again, although I would strongly consider getting an audio guide that would allow for more freedom in terms of where to linger.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our trip for me and my daughter. Rebecca, our guide, made it all come alive even more than we expected. Without her Ostia would have been amazing, but with her it was AWESOME!!! Highly recommend this tour as a get away from the usual stuff one sees and does in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message