• USD ($)
  • English
Ostia was the port city of ancient Rome. Once a thriving city of around 60,000 people, today it gives an excellent look into ancient lives with docks, warehouses, apartments and mansions, shops, baths and temples. Founded around 600 BC as a source ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful excuse to leave the hustle and bustle of the City for a day trip. The tour was very organized, the group was pretty small (12 people), and the guide was excellent. The ruins are amazing, and Tiffany's knowledge of the area really brought the experience home. She was a wonderful guide and host. Following the tour, my wife and I spent the afternoon and evening in Ostia, returning to the City the next morning. I would highly suggest this tour to anyone, as it was a nice break...with fantastic ruins...and a great guide.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip to Ostia Antica was definitely worth going on. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of interesting history about Ostia. There is so much to see at the old Roman port that you really need a good tour guide to explain the buildings, the layout of the town and the history.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a great tour outside of Rome! The train ride is maybe only 25 minutes. Ostia is very small and quiet. Our guide Massimo was really knowledgeable and engaging as all of the Dark Rome guides appear to be. He was able to bring this important former port city to life. The tour does involve a lot of walking, but the guides knowledge and enthusiasm made it worthwhile.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved the tour of Ostia. Our guide Gio was terrific

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour. The tour guide Giorgio really made Ostia come alive with his extensive knowledge of the site. I thought it was an outstanding tour.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was so passionate about Ostia and add this to his knowledge. Made it a fantastic day plus the small # in the group helped

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having previously visited both Pompeii and Herculaneum I was a little apprehensive as to how Ostia would compare however I had no reason to be worried. Our guide, Gio (?), brought the whole place to life explaining exactly how the people of the day would have lived in the extremely well preserved ruins and she was obviously excited about some discoveries which had been uncovered in the few weeks since she had last supervised a tour there. The timings on the trip were excellent and we were able to explore the ruins at a leisurely pace, never at any time feeling rushed by our guide.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This visit to Ostia Antica was everything I hoped it would be! Although there is an early start, it was worth it, I suspect in the summer early morning is even more advisable. The size of the group was perfect only 12 including 2 very engaged and engaging children. Rebecca was a superb guide, very knowledgeable and clearly loved Ostia. She knew all our names very quickly and included everyone in her narrative.
The earphones were a very good idea, it meant we could wander away a little to take photos etc. but also because of the aircraft landing and taking off at nearby fiumicino airport. It was also useful on the train journey there, as Rebecca gave us a good idea of other places to go at various stops on the route.
The site itself was fantastic, so much to see, we could have stayed after the tour had ended to continue looking around............ I think next time I visit Rome I shall return to Ostia Antica.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

blarghy
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I can see why they call Ostia the better Pompeii. Excellent guide and great location!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour of this ancient city. The tour guide was outstanding and had a great deal of knowledge of Ostia and those times. One can see how advanced that civilization was 2000 years ago. After the tour, we took a short bus ride to the Mediterranean and had lunch on the Sea. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Ostia is well worth a visit. Altho this was not my first time there, our guide was so well-versed in Roman history and archeology that we were able to understand the significance of these ruins as we walked through. My only complaint was that this tour was too short; we could easily have spent twice the time.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Half-Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Ostia does not have the sense of excitement that Pompai has and it is in need of tender love and care The weed selection that were available for tourists to take home was staggering. Out tour guide never allowed the tour to dull and was informative

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We met our guide at the Piramide metro stop to board the train to Ostia. The ride took about 20 minutes, and along the way, our guide spoke a little about what we were going to see. When we arrived at Ostia, we walked to Ostia Antica, about a ten minute walk from the station. We entered the excavation area, and stepped back in time. Ostia was the seaport for Ancient Rome, and was a lively city. We saw remains of bath houses, temples, residential buildings including multi-story apartments, and a necropolis. Our guide was so enthusiastic about what she was showing us, that it was very infectious. We also spent time in the theatre and the surrounding area where business was conducted by various companies, which can be identified by the floor mosaics in the shops. The whole place was brought alive by our guide. Ostia is in very good condition for an ancient ruin, and its layout is largely intact unlike other places, so you can get a real feel for the way people lived in the 1st century. At the end of the tour, we were free to return to Rome with our guide, or stay in Ostia and return later. It was a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide (Geo?) spoke very passionately about Ancient Ostia and made the visit very informative and interesting. Well worth a visit!

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a most excellent tour of Ostia - our guide Rebecca (I believe) was extremely knowledgeable and spoke very well - she remembered everyones name and made our experience great!! Thanks

Doing what: Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message