Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Appian Way and the Aurelian Wall

The Appian Way (Via Appia), an important Imperial Roman road dating from the 4th century BC, was built to quickly move supplies and Roman soldiers to strategic points of the Roman Empire. The Appian Way was the first and most important Roman road, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

About 20 people on this tour and our guide, Jeanette involved all by remembering names and occupations. Her knowledge on Rome's history was first class and her experience in the catacombes enabled us to get out alive. A first class tour guide. The tour also involved viewing oid The Appian Way and the ancient aquaduct. Both these were minor in comparison to the catacombs but nonetheless important to ancient Rome history.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I'm sorry I don't remember our guide's name but he was very nice and informative. It was so enjoyable to be out in the country and away from the noise and crowds of the city. It's amazing how quickly we were out of the city. (We did this excursion early on a Sunday morning so there was very little traffic leaving the city in the morning. Nice!) I enjoyed the catacomb tour and thought the Appian Way was beautiful. It was cool to stop under the intact portion of the aqueduct. The cheese and wine break was quite welcome. We'd worked up an appetite by then. One comment would be to warn folks that the ride was not for beginners. I don't ride mountain trails normally and there was some short single track spots where it was tricky for a non-mountain biker like myself. All in all, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour will linger as the sweetest memory of my stay in Rome! Francesco was COOL and quite knowledgable, he dissected lots of archaeological sites along the way that would have been missed if I had rented the bike on my own. A teammate had a flat tire. Francesco had it fixed in no time. The 6 hour ride was a bliss, never felt rushed and throughly enjoyed the ride. Bikes are fabulous. The Appian way extends beyond 2300 years of history, echoes and glory. Don't miss it!


Don't think twice. Just go for it :)

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the best tour I've been on. Francesco was an wonderful guide. Always conscious of safety but also keeps the tour moving along. He knows a lot and passes it along in understandable portions. He's well traveled and keeps the conversation going with the whole group so everyone feels included. This tour definitely gets you out of the tourist crush to what for me were the most impressive ruins along the Appian Way. Amazing that the original surface is still in amazing shape though you don't want to ride on it for long. Great farm visit with wine and cheese with the sheep being milked behind you while you eat.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of the catacombs, the Appian way, .and whats left of the viaducts was very informative. Jeanette, our guide, was simply wonderful. She was well versed on the subjects, and quite funny in the right places. I would highly recommend this tour, and keep in mind, its a bit longer time wise than stated

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of my trip to Rome! It was wonderful to spend a beautiful spring day exploring this area that is just outside of Rome yet feels like a different world. I've been to Rome multiple times but never explored the countryside before and wanted to try something different. The catacombs were fascinating, the aqueduct was impressive, and I particularly liked the walk along the ancient Appian Way, where we saw some of the original stone paving. The group was small and intimate, and our guide Inger was fantastic; she was friendly and full of knowledge and made the day special. Highly recommended for those that want to see a different side of Rome and catch a glimpse of the spectacular countryside!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip was lovely to walk along the appian way and we even saw a tomb, the catacombs were very interesting can't believe how close they were to Rome, would recommend this tour

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Appian Way bike tour was absolutely fantastic. The best experience of our whole trip. Emmanuel, our guide, was knowledgeable and enthusiatic. It was wonderful to experience the 'open air museum' as Emmanuel descibed it. Thanks again, Darren and Sian

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable and interesting tour of the Catacombs, Appian Way and aqueduct.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Since returning from Rome, I've been describing my bike tour of the Appian Way and recommending Topbike Rental and Tours to everyone. Frederico is a fantastic, knowledgeable, and personable guide who made the ride a great, memorable, and WAY cool experience.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a fantastic trip. I was initially worried that the intense heat would make 6 hours of cycling hard work, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We were split into two groups (two families of four in ours) and our guide supplied us with bottled water and helmets. After an introduction to our bikes and safety issues we were off. We head out of the city (passing the Coliseum) heading for the Appian Way. Our guide stopped traffic for us and also stopped regularly to allow us to refill our water bottles and tell us about the area. Catacombs were amazing and a great place to chill (literally) as the temperature is so much cooler underground, then we were off down the Appian Way heading for the Roman Viaduct - spectacular. Our final stopping point was a delightful farm in the countryside (yes it does exist) on the outskirts of Rome, where we enjoyed farm made cheese, bread and wine. This was a fantastic opportunity to have a good chat with the rest of our group. I would certainly recommend this trip and would look at doing one of their other trips when I'm in Rome again.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic experience where you will travel along ancient roads and paths that would be too difficult to find on your own. Our tour guide was wonderful, full of information about the region, both currently and historically. It was all so interesting. The wine and cheese were appreciated towards the end. On Sundays, the Appian Way is closed to traffic, so a pleasant and safe 6 hour bike ride.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastico! Simone was an outstanding guide with a wealth of historic knowledge! The trip was an easy 6 hours with just a few climbs, but with the quality of mountain bike provided, not all that difficult. The catacombs, Appian Way, aquaducts, and sheep farm were definitely a day my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish there was a longer day trip to go even farther down Via Appia Antica! Everywhere we went and viewed was a picture postcard! Grazie mille Simone!!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour. It is an excellent tour that takes you along the Appian Way, Catacombs, and Roman countryside/ruins. This tour lets you see much more of the Appian Way than you would see walking on your own or on a bus tour. You ride out of lively Rome and into the outskirts of the city. The tour takes you along a route that allows you to see and learn about the history of ancient Rome. When you reach the Appian Way and ride through Rome's parks to see the ruins and aqueducts, it feels like you are in the Roman countryside, but in reality you are only miles from the Colosseum and Forum, (which you will pass by on the way back to the bike store). There is plenty of time for photo breaks and to drink water from Rome's multiple fountains along the route. There is also a nice pit stop for wine and cheese. I highly recommend the 6 hour tour that goes to the catacombs. It is well worth it. If you are looking for a great experience and do not mind the excercise (it is not that strenuous), and are also seeking a tour that goes beyond the lifeless bus tours, this is for you.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour offered us a pleasant half day away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. It was nice to see a bit of the Roman countryside and to experience some very important pieces of Roman history. We were fascinated by the aqueducts and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the significance of these structures. We also enjoyed seeing the ancient Appian Way and the catacombs. If you have an extra day in Rome and are looking for a little slower pace, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message