Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Appian Way and the Aurelian Wall

The Appian Way (Via Appia), an important Imperial Roman road dating from the 4th century BC, was built to quickly move supplies and Roman soldiers to strategic points of the Roman Empire. The Appian Way was the first and most important Roman road, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marc P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour to take to hit three attractions: catacombs, Appian Way, and the aqua ducts. This tour is really all about the catacombs, with just a taste of the other two. Tour bus was small but comfortable, and our guide was fantastic! Made me wish that I had booked an Appian Way tour by itself! Guess that's for the next trip to Rome. This tour is definitely recommended!!!!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Rick was a great guide, who had vast knowledge not only of the Appian Way, but of ancient Rome as well, and he was more than delighted to share his knowledge with us. The wine and cheese was a wonderful surprise, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves along the trip. One note of advice would be to ensure that everyone is physically fit and able to ride a bicycle with relative ease. We had a lady on our tour who was slightly slower than the rest, and I felt that the tour could have been slowed down a little to accommodate to her. However, overall, definitely a must-try experience for the adventurous!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being this was our 2nd trip to Italy and Rome, we wanted to do something other than visit churches and ruins. This was a perfect day to spend out of the hustle and bustle of the city. The Appian Way was a nice surprise, right in the heart of Rome. Our guide, Mateo, was friendly and knowledgable, spoke excellent English. We had a smaller group of 7 riders but he made sure everyone was doing well throughout the trip. The stop at the farm to have fresh Pecorino and wine was wonderful! The farm sits right in a public park. The tour of the catacombs was interesting, something I wouldn't have thought to go see and the aquaducts were incredible. It was our first time on eBikes and they were fun! If you like being outdoors and doing something active other than walking then this tour is for you. HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our trip was absolutely wonderful! We were a group of two families with children of varying ages, 2 years to 13 years. We saved our Appian Way bike tour for the final day of our trip, which was perfect. Supremely professional, friendly, and knowledgeable -- we couldn't have been happier with our experience! Highly recommended!!! If we are able to visit Rome again, we will absolutely do another bicycle tour!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being frequent visitors to Rome, we decided to take this tour as we usually don't go out to the countryside too often. Visiting the Catacombs, the ancient Via Appia and the Roman Acquaducts was very interesting. A great informative guide Jeanette provided us with a lively commentary throughout the half day experience. The tour was well organized and the departure point was just a few blocks from Termini.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding guide Imke! It was a wonderful way to get to see Rome and the outskirts of the city. The whole day was full of activity including the fascinating catacombs tour, the trail past the Aqueducts, the bike path on the Appian way, and the wine and cheese at the farmhouse! Extraordinary experience our first time to Rome!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

mmollicone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed relief of air conditioned bus and smaller crowds. Guide was talented at blending ancient historical significance with comparisons to modern day situations. Bonus of seeing ruins of an acquaduct and walking on Appian Way were great.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Georgiann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was pleasant and knowledgeable about the history of early Christian practices, the engineering of the Appian Way and Aquaduct system. Truly a pleasant experience and recommended. Mercifully, the tour bus was air conditioned, and the driver was excellent.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Harry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A really enjoyable tour interesting to see inside the Catacombs and the original Appian way we had a great tour guide who gave us plenty of information about Roman life and death. All in all a good trip.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Natalya M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had Jeannette as our guide on the tour. I thought that the tour was one of the best tours in Rome I had on this visit. The history of catacombs is fascinating and Jeannette made it even more interesting by actively engaging the group in the discussions and making the history come alive. I like the coupling of the dark underground catacombs part with the sun-filled short field trip to the countryside and Appian Road as well as a comfort of an air-conditioned bus on a hot summer day. My teenage children also enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

calcags

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide was so energetic, funny, and informative. The catacombs were very interesting and the aquaducts were beyond words...amazing! Although the history of the Appian Way is extraordinary, the original stones from the Appian Way are few, so it was a little disappointing. I expected to see a whole road of original stones, but there were only a few. I would still highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

T Fisher f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended visit. Great visit of catacombs as well as as via appia and the viaduct in the Roman countryside. A welcome escape from the city. Lovely guide Inger gave a perfect overview with just the right amount of information about the history of the places. 3 hour visit was just right for a whistle stop tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Anna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

absolutely fantastic! best way to explore the outskirt of the ancient city. the tour was very easy with eBikes and still easy with a normal mountain bike if you cycle regularly. to see the appian way and the aqueducts on the bike was magical. the stop at the farm on the way back was perfectly positioned and timed. We had the best cheese ever and enjoyed chatting and getting to know the other cyclists - a definite highlight of the tour. If you have an afternoon in Rome without any plans this is the thing to do. the starting point is very close to the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

simkanis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome!!! It was the highlight of our trip for many of us. Our guide, Jesse was amazing, and we did put him through a lot. It was wonderful to be out in the countryside riding and seeing how the locals spend their Sunday afternoon. We saw sites most tourist don't get to see. Jesse was very informative telling us about the history of the Appian Way along with the other sites we saw. All the regular stops, along with the unexpected ones gave us a chance to take a breath and soak in the surroundings around us. This is a great way to see many interesting sites, but be warned , this is a long and sometimes difficult ride. Prepare yourself, not for novice riders!! If you are, use the e-bikes. Thank you Jesse for taking such good care of us. I know we gave you a few first experiences. We had such a great time and we all talk highly of our bike ride in Rome. I hope to do it again some day!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Colleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a wonderful way to combine the catacombs, a walk along the Ancient Appian Way and see an Roman aqueduct up close all within a morning. I don't think there is any way we could have done these three things on our own so easily.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Prabhakar K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Marcello, our tour guide, was excellent in training us how to ride Segway, and he guided us superbly to via Appia Antica, the ancient Roman Highway.The Segway vehicle rode well even on highly uneven roads. The views were exceptionally beautiful. The lunch was great. Nothing beats Segway if you want to see a lot of things in Rome and spare yourself a lot of walking.

Doing what: Segway tour of Appian Way in Rome

Mollie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our family of four including two sons 11 and 16 took the Ancient Appian way, Catacombs and Countryside bike tour in March, 2015. We could not have been more pleased with the guide or the bikes. The tour includes all aspects of life in Rome - historical sites, local parks, countryside, regular neighborhoods and some routine streets of Rome. We thought that was a nice bonus. Matteo was our guide and he was full of knowledge he was happy to share, very considerate of the bikers needs and levels, and was very personable and fun to be around. This was the highlight of our 11 tour of Italy and would not consider going back to Rome without booking another excursion with them.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

wisha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Thank you Jeanette for a wonderful and different excursion of Rome. Catacombs were amazing and the Appian Way and Aquaducts are so worth seeing. This may not be your first choice of things to see in Rome but if you get the chance to do this tour it is well worth it.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Marie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent trip. Easy to imagine sharing the Appian Way with the ancient romans. Terrific countryside, informative, a wonderful relaxed day out. all the eaquipment was good .

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a must tour! The catacombs are incredible. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided so much history which added to the richness of this day. We also stopped at an ancient Roman aqua duct which we would not have found or understood without this trip. The only way to better this tour would be to make it a full day allowing more time to explore the Appian Way. This was a perfect way to end our stay in Rome.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Denis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

About 20 people on this tour and our guide, Jeanette involved all by remembering names and occupations. Her knowledge on Rome's history was first class and her experience in the catacombes enabled us to get out alive. A first class tour guide. The tour also involved viewing oid The Appian Way and the ancient aquaduct. Both these were minor in comparison to the catacombs but nonetheless important to ancient Rome history.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I'm sorry I don't remember our guide's name but he was very nice and informative. It was so enjoyable to be out in the country and away from the noise and crowds of the city. It's amazing how quickly we were out of the city. (We did this excursion early on a Sunday morning so there was very little traffic leaving the city in the morning. Nice!) I enjoyed the catacomb tour and thought the Appian Way was beautiful. It was cool to stop under the intact portion of the aqueduct. The cheese and wine break was quite welcome. We'd worked up an appetite by then. One comment would be to warn folks that the ride was not for beginners. I don't ride mountain trails normally and there was some short single track spots where it was tricky for a non-mountain biker like myself. All in all, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

abed z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour will linger as the sweetest memory of my stay in Rome! Francesco was COOL and quite knowledgable, he dissected lots of archaeological sites along the way that would have been missed if I had rented the bike on my own. A teammate had a flat tire. Francesco had it fixed in no time. The 6 hour ride was a bliss, never felt rushed and throughly enjoyed the ride. Bikes are fabulous. The Appian way extends beyond 2300 years of history, echoes and glory. Don't miss it!


Don't think twice. Just go for it :)

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the best tour I've been on. Francesco was an wonderful guide. Always conscious of safety but also keeps the tour moving along. He knows a lot and passes it along in understandable portions. He's well traveled and keeps the conversation going with the whole group so everyone feels included. This tour definitely gets you out of the tourist crush to what for me were the most impressive ruins along the Appian Way. Amazing that the original surface is still in amazing shape though you don't want to ride on it for long. Great farm visit with wine and cheese with the sheep being milked behind you while you eat.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

cayman93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of the catacombs, the Appian way, .and whats left of the viaducts was very informative. Jeanette, our guide, was simply wonderful. She was well versed on the subjects, and quite funny in the right places. I would highly recommend this tour, and keep in mind, its a bit longer time wise than stated

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message