• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Assisi & Orvieto

The jewels in the crown of Umbria are the small but perfectly formed walled hill towns of Assisi and Orvieto. Forever entwined with the name of St Francis, Assisi is a place of pilgrimage for animal-lovers and Christians the world over. St Francis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really looked forward to this tour and was not disappointed. The guides were good and answered our questions and took us to the places we wanted to see. The hill town of Orvieto was amazing and I could have spent an entire day there especially the chapels in the Church and what time we managed around the town. Assisi was everything we expected and more.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this day trip! Going up on the funnicular to Orvieto was fun and as it was May 1st and a holiday in Italy, there was much activity in this quaint hill town. Plenty of time was given to see the Duomo and walk around town. Assisi was very crowded with people for the same reason, but we saw the highlights of St. Francis's life and beautiful church. Lunch at a lovely country estate was a treat. An outstanding day trip!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

When we booked this trip, it was billed as a trip to both Assisi and Orvieto. We found out that the itinerary had been changed (by the tour operator) when we arrived for the tour in the morning. We were very dissapointed since seeing Orvieto was a major reason we chose this tour. Our guide assured us that it was for the better since there was no way to do Assisi justice without a full day. She was right. The tour was great, filled with many interesting facts and stories about St. Francis and the town of Assisi.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very full day, and a very enjoyable one. The morning was spent exploring the fascinating town of Orvieto (the tour guide informed us that from April this beautiful city will be dropped from this tour, which is such a pity). After a delicious lunch along the way, the rest of the day was in Assisi with the expert services of a local guide. This tour gave so much more than trying to organise it independently.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great service! Assisi and Orvieto are two wonderful towns!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The scenic trip from Rome to Orvieto and Assisi is amazing. The view is filled with beautiful villas, colorful scenery, olive groves and vineyards. Orvieto is an Etruscan city that still carries the flavor of the era. It is great to know that it can only be reached by tram. The sacred town of Assisi is a place that everyone should visit. It is a place to sit and reflect. The restaurant we ate was enjoyable. Keep using this restaurant in the quaint valley.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was so looking forward to this trip and was not disappointed by Mara and her knowledge and the beautiful towns sere just heavenly! My only sad point was we were to long enough in Orvieto, what a gem to be experienced. Truly beautiful, the Duomo was heavenly, will take your breath away. We stopped for a lovely little lunch, was a pleasant stopover before travelling on to Assisi .

The town, just like Orvieto was a wonderful step back in time in regards to architecture but don't let this fool you, the shops for trinkets, wine, clothes or food were of wonderful standards and fashionable, a must do for the ladies, take your husbands to carry the shopping!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour!!! Absolutely a not to be missed tour. Orvieto is a GEM but because we were short on time my wife and I had to really hustle through the town. Assisi was unbelievably georgeous. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was wonderful. The tour Guide A... made it fun and informative.
I loved the stop in Orvieto and the Tuscany agritourismo lunch and then the town of Assisi.
thank you

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

My husband and I travelled to Assisi in Aug 2012. We reached Assisi one morning around 9am from Rome by train. We walked out fo the station and found out that the Bus service up the hill into the town is not very frequent. Also all the attractions were not covered by the bus service. We took a taxi and enquired him if he could take us around town and he agreed to do so for 60 euros. The driver spoke good English, was very patient and did not rush us at all and above all he was very knowledgable about his town. But for him we wouldn't have seen the Convent of St. Claire or the Hermitage of St. Francis. Both are ways away from Assisi without proper bus service. The whole town with its churches, convents, piazzas,food and weather was just so much more beautiful than what I had imagined. If you can help it please don't skip this town. The whole experience was made even more pleasant and comfortable by this taxi driver Glauco Galardini. His phone # is 348.8061277 - Taxi Assisi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Submit your review or leave a reply:*Characters remaining: 502My husband and I travelled to Assisi in Aug 2012. We reached Assisi one morning around 9am from Rome by train. We walked out fo the station and found out that the Bus service up the hill into the town is not very frequent. Also all the attractions were not covered by the bus service. We took a taxi and enquired him if he could take us around town and he agreed to do so for 60 euros. The driver spoke good English, was very patient and did not rush us at all and above all he was very knowledgable about his town. But for him we wouldn't have seen the Convent of St. Claire or the Hermitage of St. Francis. Both are ways away from Assisi without proper bus service. The whole town with its churches, convents, piazzas,food and weather was just so much more beautiful than what I had imagined. If you can help it please don't skip this town. The whole experience was made even more pleasant and comfortable by this taxi driver Glauco Galardini. His phone # is 348.8061277 - Taxi Assisi.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic!!! The town of Orvieto was soooo charming I didn't want to leave! Guide was knowledgable, even though I have been to Assisi before I learned alot of new things. This is a must do!!!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Thanks to Alina - we had a lovely day touring Orvieto and Assisi. I found the town of Orvieto was the star of the day. I was interested in it for its Etruscan roots and it surpassed my expectations. From the beautiful Duomo to the Claudio Faina Museum. Perfect! Don't miss it.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was lovely day trip. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to a meeting place where we met up with our other tour members. The guide was most knowledable and friendly. The bus driver was experienced with his driving of the bus as some of the roads were narrow and steep and he was very courteous.

We enjoyed Orvieto and assis and were pleasantly suprised about Assisi as we had no idea about the history surrounding the town so it was wonderful for us and could not have wished for a better trip. All in all a very pleasant day.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This daylong tour was a great way to see the countryside as well as the fascinating medieval towns of Assisi and Orvieto. The local guide in Assisi was fabulous and gave an informative history of St Francis' life. The lunch stop was quaint with good food. Perfect way to spend a peaceful day outside of Rome.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message