Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Assisi & Orvieto

The jewels in the crown of Umbria are the small but perfectly formed walled hill towns of Assisi and Orvieto. Forever entwined with the name of St Francis, Assisi is a place of pilgrimage for animal-lovers and Christians the world over. St Francis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was outstanding! So much to see! Viewing the Tuscan countryside was a special treat! Both Orvieto and Assisi were outstanding towns! Enjoyable relaxing lunch and very scenic location. Highly recommend tour especially with Christina as the guide..

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My family greatly enjoyed this tour which we took on 24 Nov. Initially I thought it would be quite rushed since we need to cover two towns in one day trip but it turned out to be fine - we had enough time in both Orvieto and Assisi for taking in the sights and for prayers. We also had a delicious and leisurely lunch at a restaurant set within a holiday resort. Mara was our guide and she is simply fantastic - very enthusiastic, very friendly and very knowledgeable. We had Begonia as our guide in Assisi and she too was very good. We would not know many of the interesting facts and history of these places if not for Mara and Begonia. The trip overran a little longer as we took more time for prayers but Mara was very patient and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was as detailed on the website. My wife and I enjoyed all aspects of the trip. Christiana the Tour Guide explained everything well and was friendly and approachable. The tour bus was comfortable. The first stop was at Orvieto. The gothic influenced cathedral and wonderful ceramic and other products in the shops in the town were wonderful. The second stop was for lunch. This was tasty and filling. Then to Assisi. Here we had a local guide. The tour here was well planned. The only change I would suggest would be time half way to shop for souvernirs from the stalls run by the nuns. We found it to be a good day trip and may repeat it in the future.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really looked forward to this tour and was not disappointed. The guides were good and answered our questions and took us to the places we wanted to see. The hill town of Orvieto was amazing and I could have spent an entire day there especially the chapels in the Church and what time we managed around the town. Assisi was everything we expected and more.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this day trip! Going up on the funnicular to Orvieto was fun and as it was May 1st and a holiday in Italy, there was much activity in this quaint hill town. Plenty of time was given to see the Duomo and walk around town. Assisi was very crowded with people for the same reason, but we saw the highlights of St. Francis's life and beautiful church. Lunch at a lovely country estate was a treat. An outstanding day trip!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

When we booked this trip, it was billed as a trip to both Assisi and Orvieto. We found out that the itinerary had been changed (by the tour operator) when we arrived for the tour in the morning. We were very dissapointed since seeing Orvieto was a major reason we chose this tour. Our guide assured us that it was for the better since there was no way to do Assisi justice without a full day. She was right. The tour was great, filled with many interesting facts and stories about St. Francis and the town of Assisi.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very full day, and a very enjoyable one. The morning was spent exploring the fascinating town of Orvieto (the tour guide informed us that from April this beautiful city will be dropped from this tour, which is such a pity). After a delicious lunch along the way, the rest of the day was in Assisi with the expert services of a local guide. This tour gave so much more than trying to organise it independently.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great service! Assisi and Orvieto are two wonderful towns!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The scenic trip from Rome to Orvieto and Assisi is amazing. The view is filled with beautiful villas, colorful scenery, olive groves and vineyards. Orvieto is an Etruscan city that still carries the flavor of the era. It is great to know that it can only be reached by tram. The sacred town of Assisi is a place that everyone should visit. It is a place to sit and reflect. The restaurant we ate was enjoyable. Keep using this restaurant in the quaint valley.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was so looking forward to this trip and was not disappointed by Mara and her knowledge and the beautiful towns sere just heavenly! My only sad point was we were to long enough in Orvieto, what a gem to be experienced. Truly beautiful, the Duomo was heavenly, will take your breath away. We stopped for a lovely little lunch, was a pleasant stopover before travelling on to Assisi .

The town, just like Orvieto was a wonderful step back in time in regards to architecture but don't let this fool you, the shops for trinkets, wine, clothes or food were of wonderful standards and fashionable, a must do for the ladies, take your husbands to carry the shopping!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour!!! Absolutely a not to be missed tour. Orvieto is a GEM but because we were short on time my wife and I had to really hustle through the town. Assisi was unbelievably georgeous. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was wonderful. The tour Guide A... made it fun and informative.
I loved the stop in Orvieto and the Tuscany agritourismo lunch and then the town of Assisi.
thank you

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic!!! The town of Orvieto was soooo charming I didn't want to leave! Guide was knowledgable, even though I have been to Assisi before I learned alot of new things. This is a must do!!!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Thanks to Alina - we had a lovely day touring Orvieto and Assisi. I found the town of Orvieto was the star of the day. I was interested in it for its Etruscan roots and it surpassed my expectations. From the beautiful Duomo to the Claudio Faina Museum. Perfect! Don't miss it.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was lovely day trip. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to a meeting place where we met up with our other tour members. The guide was most knowledable and friendly. The bus driver was experienced with his driving of the bus as some of the roads were narrow and steep and he was very courteous.

We enjoyed Orvieto and assis and were pleasantly suprised about Assisi as we had no idea about the history surrounding the town so it was wonderful for us and could not have wished for a better trip. All in all a very pleasant day.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This daylong tour was a great way to see the countryside as well as the fascinating medieval towns of Assisi and Orvieto. The local guide in Assisi was fabulous and gave an informative history of St Francis' life. The lunch stop was quaint with good food. Perfect way to spend a peaceful day outside of Rome.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

An absolutely excellent tour with a very informative guide. Adequate time in Orvieto and lunch was good. Great walking tour in Assisi but perhaps could have spent longer in the upper town.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful tour - our tour guide was exceptional and provided great information during the tour. The trip to Assisi was the highlight and the spirit of the beautiful saint is prevalent in the area, and most intensely in the place of his tomb. Peace truly abides there. The local guide who led us through the city was top-notch with a great mixture of information, humor and passion. The lunch in Orvieto, with a short ride through Tuscany enroute there, was a great opportunity to taste local food and wine and experience an Italian "farm."

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was an excellent trip. For a Catholic pilgrimage, Assisi was even better than we expected. Orvieto was a beautiful town in which we could have spent more time. The lunch that was provided was excellent. All in all, a great tour. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We loved Assisi!! Such a cute town that would otherwise would have been cumborsome to get to as tourists. More time in Assisi would have been nicer and slower walk through the town. More time in Orvieto would have been nice too. The Agrotourism lunch was not necessary and only took away time from the cities.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

A great one day get-away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Rome via motorcoach with Hotel pick up and drop off for convenience. Enjoyed the cable car lift to the medieval hilltop town of Orvieto filled with charm and a beautiful 14th century cathedral. Traveled through Tuscany's green hills to have a delicious luncheon of traditional local dishes at a Tuscan farm. I fell in love with the history of St. Francis Assisi, his birthplace, and childhood home. This tour is a must-see for anyone wanting to see the countryside and learn more about the history of the Estruscan times.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour is a lovely day in the countryside travelling through Umbria and Tuscany regions. Picked up from hotel and taken to Termini to connect with coach. Tour guide was very friendly and helpful. The coach was comfortable as it wasn't filled to capacity. We stopped as Orvieto and Assisi for sightseeing. We also stopped for lunch at a farmlet which had a shop and cafe. The lunch was three courses and bread. We bought our own drinks. In the shop we sampled local goods for purchase. The farmlet was beautiful and staff very friendly, also catering for vegetarians. If you want to get out of Rome for the day this trip is well worth it.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This tour is highly recommended. It was a long day, but the benefit of that is that there was sufficient time to see and experience all the beauty in a relaxed way. There was enough time to stroll through the beautiful medieval town of Orvieto and to visit the impressive cathedral. The lunch was efficiently organized yet well done, at a great rural location, and we had nice conversations with other people sharing our tour. At Assisi and surroundings, we had an enthusiastic local guide and there was sufficient time to see the different sites related to St Francisco's life; they were interesting for several reasons: architecture, views, atmosphere, religious history. The only minor point of the tour was that the roof of the bus was leaking at several places during heavy rainfall; fortunately, due to the time of the year (November) the bus was not full and there were dry seats available. Looking to the roof, there were visible remnants of past leakages, so the bus owner should take this seriously. But fortunately this heavy weather is rare in Italy.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A bit of a bus ride, but Orvieto is a nice town, lunch was great at a "farmhouse" restaurant. Assisi was wonderful. A beautiful town and very friendly, and wonderful to see where St. Francis was born and his stories. Really breathtaking views. Personally, I couldve gone straight to Assisi, as nice of a town as Orvieto is, just not as important, given the time constraints.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I thought this trip was outstanding as it combined so many things into a day long excursion. The natural beauty of the countryside and the town of Orvieto and Assisi was sublime. Both cities have a long, fascinating history. Their churches and other buildings are a must see for any visitor to Italy. Our guides were friendly and the stop for lunch was wonderful!

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message