Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeanne R D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Borghese Gallery should not be missed. Caveat: If the tour company picks you up at your hotel they will not take you back to your hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Michael R. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful tour! Our guide Rebecca was fantastic. First, we were totally impressed that she knew each one of us by name after just a quick introduction upon check-in! She advised us accurately regarding photos, what we could carry in, and what had to be securely stored until after the gallery tour. An art historian, she made the art absolutely come alive for us. She shared the backstories of how particular pieces were acquired by the 'cardinal nephew' Scipione Borghese, and made certain that we saw all of the most important pieces in the gallerie. Rebecca knew from long experience how to organize our tour so that we had the fewest people sharing each room with us and could fully appreciate each magnificent piece. After the gallery tour, she walked with us through the grounds of the former estate, sharing details of the family's history and pointing out magnificent views. She was just a wonderful tour guide in every respect. We feel that, had we been able to secure tickets ourselves, we never would have had the fantastic experience that we had by having such an expert lead the way. We recommend this tour, and Rebecca in particular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5643

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Borghese Gallery is a must see. Our tour guide, David, did an excellent job. With David, we saw firsthand the power influential families like the Borghese's had and listened as he described the art and the artists. Had we done this tour on our own, we would have missed so much! He truly enriched our experience. Since the Gallery is a bit out of the way, the hotel pick up was very convenient do wish it included a drop off.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Charles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with GianLuca. He was very knowledgeable and a very pleasant guide. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Borghese Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Ian G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Booking tickets in advance is recommended as numbers are limited, and you have a two hour time limit. Whether the 'Skip the line' ticket is that useful is debatable though, as you have to queue with everyone that needs to collect their ticket, and again to put you r bag in, and again to enter the gallery. The Borghese Gallery itself is though is remarkable, and not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Vania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Congratulations on the tour to the Borghese Gallery and Gardens performed by City Wonders. The organization was good, we could meet our guide without a problem. The place itself helps a lot, however, escorted by an excellent guide it turned our visit into a memorable experience. I really want to compliment City Wonder's employee, Mikaela.
She demonstrated inside knowledge and enthusiasm. That gave us a welcome sense of a very well done work so important in today's world, right? Thank you Mikaela, you are a pro.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Fredrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was engaging and gave insights to the main sculptures and paintings. Having the Gallery imposed time limit of 2 hours almost demands a guide to be able to see the most important exhibits. The Gardens Walking tour was enjoyable as well. We left the Gallery and walked through the garden arriving at the overlook at Piazza del Popolo right at sunset. Very interesting to see what the Borghese family thought was important to bring in or build.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Sam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Borghese is a magnificent gallery. We made full use of the two hours available to us, the works of art are exquisite. Being able to buy the ticket in advance made life easy for me, I tried using the online purchasing system for the gallery but it was tedious and the result was that I still couldn't buy the tickets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Richard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found the Borghese Gallery simply incredible, in part because of our fantastic guide, Rebecca. Visiting the gallery on this guided tour and where we exited the area through the park area was the highlight of my trip to Rome. Do not miss this gem. The gallery is only open in 2 hour increments, so plan your visit ahead of time and be there early. The gardens are pleasant to walk through as you leave and you are walking down hill. While travel instructions suggested using the Flaminio or Spagna Metro stops, but we used the Barberini stop and took the 83 bus to the gallery. That saved us a huge amount of up-hill walking getting to the Gallery. There's a bus route WEB site that we found very useful in getting around Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Brian W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

If you really know your art and your way around the Borghese Gallery, then you really shouldn't need this tour however, if you're the typical foreign visitor to Rome and are trying to squeeze in as many sites as possible into your schedule, this tour is a must. You'll learn the history behind both the Borghese family and the most important art pieces within the gallery, well worth the cost!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Clotilde D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour, with a very good French speaking guide.
Borghese gallery is unbelievible, marvellous, really beautiful !!!!
The only possible improvment could be the weather -

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Jennifer W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We loved the Borghese Gallery itself and you have to have tickets in advance or you will not get in, so we were glad that we purchased these from Viator. However, our tour guide was just ok. She was very knowledgeable, but she had a strong Latino accent which was hard to understand at times. Also, the garden tour is not really worth doing. I thought we'd be seeing beautiful gardens but there's really not much to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Vernon S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We feel like we were rushed through and could not understand or hear the guide that well.
We felt like we would have gotten more out of the Borghese a Gallery if we had done the individual audio tour instead.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Dorothy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Borghese Gallery was so very wonderful. I didn't like they displayed the couture gowns along with the artwork and statutes. It took away from the reverence of the gallery. There was great confusion at 5pm . We were not told that upon entering the gallery you would have to leave your purse along with every one else's purse in a bin and when the tour was over everyone was grabbing in the bin for their purse all at once. What chaos.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing, amazing, amazing....Wow! How else can I explain this - our tour guide was fantastic Kylie. I wasn't too sure if I wanted to do this tour but Viator reviews were very positive and decided to book it - how lucky was I . We had 2 hours in the gallery and Kylie knew everything. She was so knowledgeable and passionate about the art works here - her enthusiasm was contagious. She pointed out all the important pieces and we got see so much. After the tour, there is an optional walk thru the gardens - highly recommend doing so its included in cost again, Kylie just did a great job explaining the Borghese family and the history of the area. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

KT162 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is an easy way to see the Borghese gallery. We booked on line and were met outside with our tickets, otherwise we would have had to join the lengthy queues. Many people are turned away on the day as it books out in advance. A beautiful gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Robin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Luca was an excellent tour guide. He was very humorous and told some great stories in a great way. He connected the history of the gallery and art in a very meaningful way. Even though it was raining, he continued with a nice walk through the Villa Borghese gardens! The art and sculpture at this gallery is amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Sharon R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the tour of the Borghese Gallery. The guide was very knowledgeable and made the experience worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

George

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From an anxious start - the State employees had been on strike we did manage to visit the gallery and the guide was very informative and we learned quite a bit about the art housed in the museum and after viewing the Caravaggios etc we then had a relaxing tour of the Borghese gardens. The guide's English was first class and we really enjoyed our visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

MAURICIO V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

5 stars for the tour guide who really made the difference. The Borghese Gallery itself is worthy a visit but it is key to have a very good guide to get the best from the visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just what we'd hoped. A tour worth taking if interested in the borghese gallery. And just the right amount of time too

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

joanne b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

At first I was unsure about the guide because he appeared to be quite arrogant. However as the tour continued I came to understand that he loved his job and he was keen to get us thinking about all the information that he shared. I love the Borghese Gallery and I highly recommend that you do this tour. I've been to the gallery before but Mike brought the paintings and sculptures to life so to speak!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

luke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Planning ahead, and getting the Borghese Gallery tickets scheduled ahead of time allowed us to get into and see the 'gallery'. Had we not done so, the tickets available to the public had been sold out till after we left Rome. Without planning ahead we would not have been able to get in and enjoy the art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

CAROLYN S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Borghese Gallery was brilliant but much more crowded than I anticipated given the controls on timing and numbers etc. Tour guide, Louise Kennedy was fantastic...not only an expert in the pieces in the gallery but warm and friendly with an infectious enthusiasm that enhanced the artworks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Demian V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did not buy a tour. We bought the tickets to skip the line. The representative was efficient and informative. The Borghese Gallery is one of my favorite attractions in Rome. I recommend that anyone going to Rome, visit the Gallery. it's a sample of the best artwork displayed beautifully.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message