Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did not buy a tour. We bought the tickets to skip the line. The representative was efficient and informative. The Borghese Gallery is one of my favorite attractions in Rome. I recommend that anyone going to Rome, visit the Gallery. it's a sample of the best artwork displayed beautifully.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Borghese Gallery is not to be missed, as it's a treasure trove of outstanding art. If we hadn't reserved well in advance, the next available date would have been more than a week later!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We booked several tours in Viator and Citywonders and my friends and I agree that Gio, our tour guide for the Borghese Gallery was the best tour guide we've had. For 3 hours, we enjoyed the fascinating story about the Borghese family and the arts. Gio was passionate and engaging tour guide very articulate and knowledgable on the subject. Not been a fan of art but Gio inspired me to buy a book and learn more about the history of the gallery, the art and Rome in general. Other tour guides can learn from Gio! Thanks Gio for a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While in Rome, you must visit Borghese Gallery and Gardens. Rebecca, our City Wonders tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable of the artwork and made the tour a lot of fun. Works by Bernini, Titian and Raphael are on display. After the Gallery tour, we walked through the gardens and ended up at a location with a beautiful view of Rome and Piazza del Popolo. This was an afternoon well spent in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Rebecca was very pleasant and kept us engaged thoughout the tour with all the history she gave us on the gallarey and gardens. She made our visit to the Borghese Gallery a pleant experience which we will treasure forever.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Borghese Gallery was one of our favorite tours. Our guide was insightful and was able to explain the importance of each work. It brought back a lot of my Art History studies and was something that I think everyone in our small group enjoyed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Rebecca, was absolutely wonderful. Very knowledgeable about the Borghese family and the various paintings and sculptures within the Gallery. Afterwards she walked us through the grounds towards the Piazza Popolo, to take in the view over the city. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting Rome.

Allow plenty of time to get to the meeting point at the main gate, as it is quite a walk through the grounds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Borghese Gallery was fantastic. The paintings and sculptures were excuisite, It was very warm that day, and we decided the heat was too much and therefore did not do the Garden Walking Tour, although I am sure it too is great. I would rate this at 91.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

No criticism of our tour operator or guide, but the Borghese Gallery is not climate controlled or air conditioned. The art is impressive, but the museum is stiflingly and suffocatingly hot... I can't imagine what the heat is doing to the paintings. After 40 miserable minutes in the gallery, we left.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Terrible! I arrived at 3:01 PM for a 3:00 PM tour as got lost in the park - and saw my tour guide who told me to go downstairs to retrieve my tickets to the Borghese Gallery - and that he would have a sign around his neck and will be easy to spot. I did not find him, so I waited in the general admission line as there was no one in site to help. After about 10 minutes of waiting, I overheard a woman ahead of me being told that she couldn't be helped for a private tour and she would have to buy another ticket and since it was sold out for 5 days, she would have to come back. I met up with her and 4 others that were also supposed to be on either a Viator tour or skip the line admission, and I called Viator, explained the story, and after the representative kept me on hold for 10 minutes pretty expensive international call said the coordinator had left and too bad. Viator's representative claimed that since we were late, it was our fault. I explained that I was one minute late, and that I saw my guide and he specifically told me to go downstairs to meet the coordinator and there was no one there. This was the worst experience and would highly recommend you DO NOT GO. City Wonders does a MUCH better job and are easy to spot, friendly and honest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I really enjoyed the gallery. I went on a Sunday when the Vatican museum was free so it wasn't crowded at all at the Borghese gallery. All the labels for the art work were in Italian and they were low on the English brochures. So I had less guidance on the artists, history and education about the works. If one wants more history etc... I would suggest a guided tour of the gallery. I just had tickets to the gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Kylie, was great. She presented the Borghese Gallery in a very interesting and fun way to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome, and that doesn't even begin to describe the incredible art work in the Borghese Gallery and Gardens. Our tour Rebecca was the main reason why it was so enjoyable. She really brought life the tour in her in depth knowledge of the gallery and it's creators, as well as the artists who's paintings and sculptures filled the museum. Rebecca moved at a pleasant pace and was always accommodating. I can't say enough about this tour, and if you're lucking enough to get Rebecca, it will be even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was not a tour per say but the Borghese gallery was stunning and the guided tour by earpiece was wonderful allowing you to set your own pace and gallery choices all within the prescribed time frame. The artwork is undisputably stunning and specifically i am a huge Bernini and Caravaggio fan so was not disappointed.
Highly recommend this as a must see on the things to see in Rome. Gallery entrance was hard to find even on foot and the entrance was a bit chaotic but the main attraction itself was worth it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Andy was very knowledgeable on the art and helped point out things I certainly would have missed otherwise. Borghese Gallery is often THE gallery sited as a must visit in Rome and I agree. Note that if you go on your own, you have to book tickets in advance. This was much easier.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very expensive when the entrance fee is only 11. There were tickets available and no queue at the 3pm time when I visited. The Gallery was lovely but you definitely need a guided tour. The Villa Borghese Gardens are beautiful but are free and open to the public.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Borghese Gallery and Gardens was a wonderful Rome experience. Our guide was knowledgable and enthusiastic, kept us going to use our 2 hour window to the best advantage, and offered suggestions for other sights and eateries we might enjoy. The small group and headsets enhanced our Borghese visit. We had no problems with the short wait ahead of time, and our coats or other larger belongings were secured by lock and key while we toured the gallery. The gallery itself was exceptional, and a fine addition to the sights we've seen in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Borghese Gallery tour was cancelled so I took your Walking Tour of Rome. Outstanding! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun! I recmmended this tour to a fellow traveler. I was able to return to many of the sights the following day on my own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good idea to get skip the line tickets for the Borghese Gallery, however a bit of confusion on how to get them once we arrived, but that was more due to the attitude of museum staff.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

This was a fiasco. I booked the tour online and was immediately sent confirmation. So far, so good. Then, while cruising the Mediterranean, I was emailed that the tour was "blackout dated" and would the tour would not happen. Why was this date posted as a tour date and confirmed if it was a known blackout date? I was informed that I would need to CALL to regain my credit card payment. Difficult without phone service on a ship, but we got it done in port. I was assured that my card would be credited. I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED PAYMENT. I seriously doubt I would ever use Viator again. Sorry to have missed the Borghese Gallery though. It is supposed to be wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour guide was very enthusiastic about Bernini and the history behind the Borghese Gallery. We learned a great deal on this tour. It is worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on our Borghese Gallery and Garden tour. Our guide, Louisa Kennedy, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We learned so much and had a great time as well.

Since I know your mother reads these reviews, Louisa, "Mrs. Kennedy, your daughter is doing a wonderful job."

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Luca is a fountain of knowledge and is so passionate about all the wonderful treasures in the Borghese Gallery - I particularly valued his inclusion of the little details and anecdotes especially with the fantastic Bernini sculptures, which the ordinary and awe inspired layman would miss! I enjoyed every second of this tour and seeing the gardens afterwards was a good way of coming down off the cloud of beauty that we had been surrounded by! Seeing these wonderful art works with an expert is SO WORTH the expense.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This service allowed us to avoid standing in line for tickets at the Borghese Gallery. It did not provide a guide through the gallery, and we knew this to be the case before we elected to use the service. The staff on site at the Borghese were friendly and spoke excellent English. This service worked very well, and I was pleased with the service provided.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is really not a tour; really just an easy way to buy tickets in advance to avoid wasting time in line-ups when you get to Rome. It worked well. The Borghese Gallery is incredible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message