• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

" If you are not an art lover you will become one after visiting Borghese Gallery!" Those were our tour guide's words and I fully agree! Her detailed commentary significantly enhanced our experience; great selection of works to highlight and excellent knowledge of art history to share!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour of the Borghese Gallery and the beautiful Gardens. The gardens were like being at Central Park in NYC. Lindsey our guide was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about Art history. It was a very pleasant afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Borghese Gallery, and its grounds, are a must visit for any newcomer to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour through the Borghese was exceptional! Stephanie was remarkably well versed on the paintings, sculptures, the building and the gardens. Her expertise made this gallery come alive. We had not planned on visiting the Borghese, but after reading about it we decided to go. However, without a guide like Stephanie, who provided the background, history and context, we would have not understood or appreciated the outstanding collection. She was outstanding! We highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Rome. Don't miss it!! (Even better if you can get Stephanie as your guide.)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Borghese Gallery is well worth making a trip to see. The famous statues and paintings were absolutely beautiful. The history and architecture was astounding. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Rebecca was an absolutely super guide through the beauty of the gallery and gardens of the Borghese. She was both knowledgeable about the art and the history of the individual artists. In addition she was a great teacher. We would highly recommend her as a guide for any future tours that we did. Terrific!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Borghese Gallery is a must see for all interested in viewing the paintings and sculptures up close in a beautiful setting. Our guide Floriana was great, she provided exceptional insight for the works we viewed and clear she is quite knowledgeable. The tour of the gardens afterward was a great way to complete the tour experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The Borghese Gallery tour was excellent. Our guide, Jean Luke, was knowledgeable and articulate. Score: 5
The Garden walk was little more than walking out of the park with a guide (Score: 1, out of 5).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This could be the best, relatively unknown attraction in Rome! The quality of the art in this gallery may be second, only to the Vatican. While I’m not really into art and often have trouble appreciating it, the pieces by Bernini and Caravaggio were truly amazing. Our guide was also the best of our many tours in Rome. Rebecca is an American guide living in Rome, which is very unusual. Her knowledge of art history was incredible. Her energy and passion for the masterpieces at the Bourghese Gallery was contagious, and her charm made the tour very enjoyable. Of course, her ease of communicating in American English was also a huge plus. She even recommended other tours and local restaurants for us afterwards, so we can’t say enough good things about her. If only all of our tours were as nice! As a footnote, the Borghese Park, which surrounds the museum, is free and very beautiful too. A nice afternoon could be had picnicking in the park, enjoying the grounds, and then going on this tour with Rebecca. We stayed in the Vatican area, and bus 116 took us right where we needed to be.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Don't miss the Borghese Gallery when in Rome. The sculptures and paintings [Bernini, Raphael, Caravaggio and more] were wonderful and our tour guide, Rebecca, was outstanding. She was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable that we enjoyed every single minute of our tour. An excellent tour guide is essential for these kinds of tours and we had one of the best.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour of the Borghese Gallery was amazing. Our guide, Rebecca, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. She kept the group engaged and wanting more. When you have such a limited time to try and fit everything in, the fact that you "skip the line" and go right in so essential. That combined with the confidence of an experienced guide will totally make your trip. I highly recommend booking your tours with Viator. You won't be sorry.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely recommend going to the Borghese Gallery, it has so much amazing art, really exceeded my expectations! Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and really engaging, she was great. The Borghese gardens are really nice too, I wish we had gone a bit earlier in the day just to stroll around and have a picnic there, as the gardens are very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guides name was Rebecca and because of her , the Borghese Gallery was my favorite thing in Rome. She was amazing, very prepared and made the art work seem to "come alive"!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

It was great getting the tickets in advanced and skipping the line. When my family got there, we got our tickets from this company's people there. It turns out that the Borghese Gallery was sold out for that day. We got to go ahead of everyone and walk in when it came time for us to go into the museum. The Borghese Gallery doesn't allow purses, cameras and video cameras; they have to be locked up. It also allows time slots for you to be in there only two hours. My family didn't need two hours though. There is only two floors and the best part is the sculptures. To me taking a tour like a lot of the people in there did would be long and boring. I recommend doing it on your own like we did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was great! She was prompt, had a real sense of timing, knew how to keep our attention and we appreciated her art expertise at the Borghese Gallery! Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message