Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arielle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was the last stop on our trip to Italy for our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time, learned a lot and saw all of what the Borghese Gallery had to offer. Our guide, Jon, incorporated insight on the lives of each artist spanning greater than just each work of art. He did a great job explaining, keeping everyone engaged, and navigating through the museum among the crowds. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rebecca was charming, warm, knowledgeable, interesting, handled people and questions with grace and ease. She and Borghese were all around delightful! Rebecca brought the gallery to life- you couldn and #39;t help but love it!
Barbara

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Eileen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ricardo was great. There's so much at the Borghese that it can't all be seen in the time allotted for the tour. He did a wonderful job paring it down to a perfect selection. He gave a sense of the significance and history of the gallery as well as the collection. The stroll through the gardens was also filled with information and great stories. He knows so much! And is a very nice guy. Recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Tommie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable in art and art history. The Caravaggios and Berninis in the museum are breathtaking, and our guide did an great job of taking us to the most important paintings and sculpture there is so much to see in the museum and explaining the art and its history, as well as stories and anecdotes about the artists. The Borghese Gallery is a must for any trip to Rome, and this guided tour is the way to go in order to understand the significance of what you are seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Ellyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of my favorite tours of our trip. Rebecca N was our tour guide and did an amazing job walking us through not only the art but the story of the Borghese Gallery. Highly Recommended! Also the view from the edge of the gardens is amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery allows a set number of guests in at any one time, and, once inside, limits the tour to two hours. The collection inside the Gallery itself is overwhelming, and having a guide is really important to optimizing your experience. Prior to entering the Gallery, out guide Andy provided us with a very good background/history on how the Gallery came into existence. He did a great job in maneuvering us around in order to minimize the congestion with other tour groups. And, he got us to see the most significant parts of the collection and gave us a terrific understanding why these artists and their work were so important. Absolutely the way to visit this Gallery!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Rick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The half day tour of the Borghese Gallery was a real joy thanks to our guide Rebecca who made the masters and their art work come alive. She is a gem! Great job.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery was our favorite museum in Rome and your tour guide made it all that much more memorable. A great experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery is a marvelous collection of paintings, sculptures and decoration. It should not be missed if going to Rome. Getting there can be a bit difficult if you don't know the bus system, but there is a metro station Spagna that is reasonably close. We bought our tickets in advance for a 3:00 pm entrance the place closed at 5:00 pm. Using an auto guide was fine for us, rather than a tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Jane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Borghese Gallery was one of our highlights while in Rome! A definite and #34;must see and #34; and doesn and #39;t get the attention it deserves. Bernini and #39;s sculptures are equally as impressive as Michelangelo and #39;s David.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Di

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Where do I begin WOW Shannon was our guide what an amazing young lady. Your can tell when someone loves their job she just knew absolutely everything regarding and and the Borghese Gallery. We had the most informative tour and learnt so much. Shannon took the time to answer all of our questions she went above and beyond to make this a very memorable tours Thank you Shannon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Jeanne R D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Borghese Gallery should not be missed. Caveat: If the tour company picks you up at your hotel they will not take you back to your hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Michael R. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful tour! Our guide Rebecca was fantastic. First, we were totally impressed that she knew each one of us by name after just a quick introduction upon check-in! She advised us accurately regarding photos, what we could carry in, and what had to be securely stored until after the gallery tour. An art historian, she made the art absolutely come alive for us. She shared the backstories of how particular pieces were acquired by the 'cardinal nephew' Scipione Borghese, and made certain that we saw all of the most important pieces in the gallerie. Rebecca knew from long experience how to organize our tour so that we had the fewest people sharing each room with us and could fully appreciate each magnificent piece. After the gallery tour, she walked with us through the grounds of the former estate, sharing details of the family's history and pointing out magnificent views. She was just a wonderful tour guide in every respect. We feel that, had we been able to secure tickets ourselves, we never would have had the fantastic experience that we had by having such an expert lead the way. We recommend this tour, and Rebecca in particular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5643

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Borghese Gallery is a must see. Our tour guide, David, did an excellent job. With David, we saw firsthand the power influential families like the Borghese's had and listened as he described the art and the artists. Had we done this tour on our own, we would have missed so much! He truly enriched our experience. Since the Gallery is a bit out of the way, the hotel pick up was very convenient do wish it included a drop off.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport

Charles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour with GianLuca. He was very knowledgeable and a very pleasant guide. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Borghese Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Ian G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Booking tickets in advance is recommended as numbers are limited, and you have a two hour time limit. Whether the 'Skip the line' ticket is that useful is debatable though, as you have to queue with everyone that needs to collect their ticket, and again to put you r bag in, and again to enter the gallery. The Borghese Gallery itself is though is remarkable, and not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Vania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Congratulations on the tour to the Borghese Gallery and Gardens performed by City Wonders. The organization was good, we could meet our guide without a problem. The place itself helps a lot, however, escorted by an excellent guide it turned our visit into a memorable experience. I really want to compliment City Wonder's employee, Mikaela.
She demonstrated inside knowledge and enthusiasm. That gave us a welcome sense of a very well done work so important in today's world, right? Thank you Mikaela, you are a pro.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Fredrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was engaging and gave insights to the main sculptures and paintings. Having the Gallery imposed time limit of 2 hours almost demands a guide to be able to see the most important exhibits. The Gardens Walking tour was enjoyable as well. We left the Gallery and walked through the garden arriving at the overlook at Piazza del Popolo right at sunset. Very interesting to see what the Borghese family thought was important to bring in or build.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Sam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Borghese is a magnificent gallery. We made full use of the two hours available to us, the works of art are exquisite. Being able to buy the ticket in advance made life easy for me, I tried using the online purchasing system for the gallery but it was tedious and the result was that I still couldn't buy the tickets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Richard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found the Borghese Gallery simply incredible, in part because of our fantastic guide, Rebecca. Visiting the gallery on this guided tour and where we exited the area through the park area was the highlight of my trip to Rome. Do not miss this gem. The gallery is only open in 2 hour increments, so plan your visit ahead of time and be there early. The gardens are pleasant to walk through as you leave and you are walking down hill. While travel instructions suggested using the Flaminio or Spagna Metro stops, but we used the Barberini stop and took the 83 bus to the gallery. That saved us a huge amount of up-hill walking getting to the Gallery. There's a bus route WEB site that we found very useful in getting around Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Brian W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

If you really know your art and your way around the Borghese Gallery, then you really shouldn't need this tour however, if you're the typical foreign visitor to Rome and are trying to squeeze in as many sites as possible into your schedule, this tour is a must. You'll learn the history behind both the Borghese family and the most important art pieces within the gallery, well worth the cost!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Clotilde D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour, with a very good French speaking guide.
Borghese gallery is unbelievible, marvellous, really beautiful !!!!
The only possible improvment could be the weather -

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Jennifer W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We loved the Borghese Gallery itself and you have to have tickets in advance or you will not get in, so we were glad that we purchased these from Viator. However, our tour guide was just ok. She was very knowledgeable, but she had a strong Latino accent which was hard to understand at times. Also, the garden tour is not really worth doing. I thought we'd be seeing beautiful gardens but there's really not much to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Vernon S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We feel like we were rushed through and could not understand or hear the guide that well.
We felt like we would have gotten more out of the Borghese a Gallery if we had done the individual audio tour instead.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Dorothy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Borghese Gallery was so very wonderful. I didn't like they displayed the couture gowns along with the artwork and statutes. It took away from the reverence of the gallery. There was great confusion at 5pm . We were not told that upon entering the gallery you would have to leave your purse along with every one else's purse in a bin and when the tour was over everyone was grabbing in the bin for their purse all at once. What chaos.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message