Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Andy was very knowledgeable on the art and helped point out things I certainly would have missed otherwise. Borghese Gallery is often THE gallery sited as a must visit in Rome and I agree. Note that if you go on your own, you have to book tickets in advance. This was much easier.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very expensive when the entrance fee is only 11. There were tickets available and no queue at the 3pm time when I visited. The Gallery was lovely but you definitely need a guided tour. The Villa Borghese Gardens are beautiful but are free and open to the public.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Borghese Gallery and Gardens was a wonderful Rome experience. Our guide was knowledgable and enthusiastic, kept us going to use our 2 hour window to the best advantage, and offered suggestions for other sights and eateries we might enjoy. The small group and headsets enhanced our Borghese visit. We had no problems with the short wait ahead of time, and our coats or other larger belongings were secured by lock and key while we toured the gallery. The gallery itself was exceptional, and a fine addition to the sights we've seen in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Borghese Gallery tour was cancelled so I took your Walking Tour of Rome. Outstanding! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun! I recmmended this tour to a fellow traveler. I was able to return to many of the sights the following day on my own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good idea to get skip the line tickets for the Borghese Gallery, however a bit of confusion on how to get them once we arrived, but that was more due to the attitude of museum staff.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

This was a fiasco. I booked the tour online and was immediately sent confirmation. So far, so good. Then, while cruising the Mediterranean, I was emailed that the tour was "blackout dated" and would the tour would not happen. Why was this date posted as a tour date and confirmed if it was a known blackout date? I was informed that I would need to CALL to regain my credit card payment. Difficult without phone service on a ship, but we got it done in port. I was assured that my card would be credited. I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED PAYMENT. I seriously doubt I would ever use Viator again. Sorry to have missed the Borghese Gallery though. It is supposed to be wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour guide was very enthusiastic about Bernini and the history behind the Borghese Gallery. We learned a great deal on this tour. It is worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on our Borghese Gallery and Garden tour. Our guide, Louisa Kennedy, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We learned so much and had a great time as well.

Since I know your mother reads these reviews, Louisa, "Mrs. Kennedy, your daughter is doing a wonderful job."

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Luca is a fountain of knowledge and is so passionate about all the wonderful treasures in the Borghese Gallery - I particularly valued his inclusion of the little details and anecdotes especially with the fantastic Bernini sculptures, which the ordinary and awe inspired layman would miss! I enjoyed every second of this tour and seeing the gardens afterwards was a good way of coming down off the cloud of beauty that we had been surrounded by! Seeing these wonderful art works with an expert is SO WORTH the expense.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This service allowed us to avoid standing in line for tickets at the Borghese Gallery. It did not provide a guide through the gallery, and we knew this to be the case before we elected to use the service. The staff on site at the Borghese were friendly and spoke excellent English. This service worked very well, and I was pleased with the service provided.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is really not a tour; really just an easy way to buy tickets in advance to avoid wasting time in line-ups when you get to Rome. It worked well. The Borghese Gallery is incredible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Borghese Gallery... there are so many things I could say about this place. For starters, I literally cried upon seeing some of Bernini's artwork here, most notably, his sculpture. His work here is so stunning and beautiful, it's hard to believe one man made them. Bernini's David is not to be missed and his Apollo and Daphne is a stunning achievement in sculpture.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Borghese gallery, with its sculptures by Bernini and paintings by Caravaggio and others, is breathtaking. I was captivated by Bernini's Apollo and Daphne. That being said, it was hot and very crowded.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Once there, the Gallery was worth it. Getting there is a bit confusing and the directions given by Viator and the City of Rome could be more precise. Villa Borghese is the entire surrounding park and not just the actual villa.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The organisation of "World Wonders" was excellent. The guide Rebecca was terrific (she showed us every secret and was so funny-minded! She made history alive for us. It is so unbelievable that I got that ticket only 2 days in advance, because I tried this earlier to see Borghese Gallery, but normally you have to book this 4 weeks in advance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message