• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Borghese Gallery

The Borghese Gallery (Galleria Borghese) is in central Rome, located within the Villa Borghese. The Borgheses were a very powerful Italian family rising to prominence and wealth after one member became Pope Paul V in 1552 and gave power and titles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely recommend going to the Borghese Gallery, it has so much amazing art, really exceeded my expectations! Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and really engaging, she was great. The Borghese gardens are really nice too, I wish we had gone a bit earlier in the day just to stroll around and have a picnic there, as the gardens are very enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guides name was Rebecca and because of her , the Borghese Gallery was my favorite thing in Rome. She was amazing, very prepared and made the art work seem to "come alive"!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

It was great getting the tickets in advanced and skipping the line. When my family got there, we got our tickets from this company's people there. It turns out that the Borghese Gallery was sold out for that day. We got to go ahead of everyone and walk in when it came time for us to go into the museum. The Borghese Gallery doesn't allow purses, cameras and video cameras; they have to be locked up. It also allows time slots for you to be in there only two hours. My family didn't need two hours though. There is only two floors and the best part is the sculptures. To me taking a tour like a lot of the people in there did would be long and boring. I recommend doing it on your own like we did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was great! She was prompt, had a real sense of timing, knew how to keep our attention and we appreciated her art expertise at the Borghese Gallery! Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it was perfect to visit the borghese gallery without standing on lines. the special rooms with bernini sculptures are must !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A guided tour to Borghese gallery us highly recommended. And if you are lucky enough to have Rebecca as your guide you will learn so much about history of art and all the fascinating details behind the magnificent paintings and sculptures exhibited there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved this tour only because our tour guide was extremely knowledge about Caravaggio and borghese. I want to go back and the tour with her. Her passion with Caravaggio showed just how much she knew about the art in the Borghese gallery. Unfortunately, I forgot her name, but I do know that she is from Northern Europe (Scandinavian).

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Anyone who goes to Rome and misses the Borghese Gallery misses one of the finest attractions in the city. Bernini's sculpture's are amazing . The details he manages to capture are incredible. Caravaggio's and Raphael's paintings are almost as impressive.
We were on a two week tour of Italy and had 10 different tour guides that I would rate good to excellent. However, Violet, our guide at the Borghese was extraordinary. She was extremely well versed in the subject matter and had a personality that exuded warmth and friendliness. You should go to great lengths to keep her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

GillyMac99
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Massimo was our guide and his enthusiasm and depth and breadth of knowledge made this tour hugely enjoyable. When he told us at the beginning we would spend two hours in the gallery then have a 15 minute break and 45 minutes in the gardens I felt disappointed, wishing it were the other way round. However the two hours flew by and I would love to have had more time. The tour of the gardens was unfortunately cut short by a very heavy rain shower but we were able to see quite a lot. The sheer volume of art accumulated by the Borghese family is breathtaking. This was an excellent tout, highly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the first of our three Viator tours of Rome. Wow! This one blew us away. The Borghese Gardens were beautiful although we were somewhat disappointed that these were not beautiful gardens but rather a park with trees. Our tour guide Lindee was totally amazing. Her background in Art History was perfect for this incredible walk through the Borghese Gallery which contained some of the most amazing artists and sculptors of The Renaissance. Her dramatic telling of the Borghese family and the Pope was absolutely riveting. Although we were somewhat familiar with the artists, we had little knowledge of the sculptors. Lindee showed us what to look for when looking at the sculptures of Benigni and we have a whole new appreciation for these works of art. She was captivating throughout the entire tour and her beautiful personality and enthusiasm made this tour one of our favorites!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour made thoroughly enjoyable by our guide Rebecca. She was extremely
Knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the works of art as well as the history of the museum and the Borghese family. Rebecca brought the works of art to life in an way that was understandable to those of us who are not well versed on art history. I would highly recommend a guided tour of the Borghese gallery and try to get Rebecca if you can.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Borghese Gallery was just breath taking inside including the painted ceilings and the statues around all the ground floor rooms. It was well worth the money to book in advance and know you were getting access when you wanted it. Arrangements for collecting the tickets at the entrance was fine and the walk through the park lands before and after just completed a great day out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour was great, thanks to our wonderful guide Rebecca. Rebecca made the paintings and sculptures 'come alive'. She was very knowledgable, and had a way of communicating specifics about the art in an exciting and interesting way. We took this tour on our last day in Rome, and we sure wish we'd had it at the beginning so we could've booked more tours with Rebecca.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I have been to Rome a few times and alway missed the Borghese tour. We took the Borghese gallery and gardens walking tour with a pleasant and knowledgeable guide. My only disappointment was not being able to view the private gardens!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour went well. Surprised that we had to submit our purses, we knew about carryons. Everything was locked up in a special crate. Borghese Gallery is magnificent and not to be missed. The tour guide was excellent. Everything from start to finish was well done. Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message