Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Campo de' Fiori

Whereas most of us know the term “piazza” roughly equates to a public square, we may not immediately think the same thing when we see “campo” - especially if we know that means “field” in Italian. But Rome’s Campo de’ Fiori - literally, “field of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour lived up to it's name. Group of only 8 people, lots of tastings, ample portions and Valeria was so informative and engaged with the group. Even though she does this tour multiple times in 1 week she never showed any repetitive strain and she thoroughly enjoyed sharing her passions with us - Roman cuisine/local shop keepers and Rome City. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have Daniela - the guide to our Rome food walking tour.
We joined the afternoon tour, starting at Campo de Fiori area and visited several places during the 4 hours tour, taking us through the Jewish Ghetto and across the river to Trastevere.
Daniella was full of knowledge and stories about food and food's customs. We had delicious tastings and dishes, and visited interesting parts of Rome. It's a fantastic way to combine sight seeing with food tasting in a good company and an amazing Daniela - a true Roman.

Not to be missed.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an incredible tour and I'm so glad my family did it. It was my husband, two children ages 3 and 6 and myself. There were only 3 other people plus our tour guide, Francesca. The guide was very informative and engaging. With a small group, we were able to get any questions answered and go at a pace that was good for the entire group. There was so much food! I didn't realize how many tastings we would get. Be forewarned, there's not much time to buy at the shops since it's a tour. We did this on our last day and I wish we did it on our first so we could have taken advantage of the recommendations we were given.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour of the city got see all the main attractions and little square and side streets.
Great information provided Ambre the guide.
All the family can enjoy as not too physical.
Really enjoyed great way to see the city

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The first part was the guided tour around the Colosseum, Forum and Palatino - our guide was experienced archaeologist Mariella ? - was the favourite tour of all my time in Rome. This morning tour was really a highlight of my stay - the commentary was excellent and fascinating and it really brought history to life. I would give this morning tour the highest marks possible. The afternoon walking tour was a good introduction to the main tourist areas of Rome, though perhaps more aimed at those wanting a shopping experience of Rome. But anyway, it included a visit to the Pantheon and there were free ice-creams. It'd give the afternoon walk 4 stars. A great double-tour to kick off any trip to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We went on the Rome Food Walking Tour covering the Trastevere, Campo de Fiori and Jewish Ghetto neighbourhoods. What an absolute treat it was. We were in a small group, and the enthusiastic and knowledgable Daniela was our guide. The range of food we were able to try was fantastic and we certainly did not finish the tour hungry. Daniela explained the origin of all we ate and gave pointers for places and other food to eat in our remaining time in Rome. The tour ended in Travestere which was enabled us to independtly visit a craft beer pub I had my eye on. So, wins all round.
I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

These were walking tours, whilst it was a long day both tours were well worth doing. The morning tour guide was an archeologist who was able to give us a great insight into the life of Roman times, the 'skip the line' was well worth the cost, as the lines to get into the Colosseum were very long. The afternoon tour guide had a degree in Art history and he too was very informative and had a great sense of humour, we covered a lot of ground all by foot, the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain, The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Campo Di Fiore and along the way he pointed out many buildings and the history of the architecture, again we were given individual hearing devices so that you could hear him at all times along the way. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was everything we expected and more! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and informative, they made the experience worth every minute. We are so glad that we booked this tour,we learned things that we never could have known from a book/internet etc and definitely added to our experience of Rome! The guides were friendly and provided "off the beaten path" information knowledge during the walking tour. They were willing to provide recommendations for local eateries/shopping etc to make our experience the best it could be! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was excellent, very well organized and delivered just about every thing it advertised. Our tour guide, Francisco, was knowledgeable, friendly and smart. His comments about the different sites we visited were right on target and appropriate. He lead our tour group to two most extraordinary finds: the best cannoli I 've ever eaten and a great cup of coffee right around the Pantheon. I liked both places so much, that I went back the next day just to try these two delicious items. And so it went with Campo di Fiori and Navona Piazza.
For any one looking to experience Rome in a different way, this bike tour is it.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Colosseum and ancient Rome tour was fascinating. Seeing the places that we studied in school and walking on pavers that the ancient romans walked on was a exhilarating experience. Our guide, Valentina, was exceptionally knowledgeable. We found after the tour that she was not only a tour guide but also a working archeologist -- which explained the sadness in her voice when she told about some of the relics of antiquity that had been "lost" to the modernization of the new Rome.
My only regret is that we booked these two tours consecutively. The colosseum tour ran a little over so the 2 hours between was cut a bit which made getting to Spagna and having some lunch a little rushed. We were also a bit tired from the morning tour which took a little away from the afternoon walking tour of Rome. That being said, we were happy to have the highlighted areas pointed out to us so we could find them later. All in all a very nice day topped off by a nice dinner in Campo di Fiore.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We took the evening tour. Our guide was Valeria- a native of the area. We were part of a group of four couples. We had not realized that by the end of the tour we would have enjoyed a complete dinner - from appetizers through desert, including wine, It was a lot of fun as well as informative. Valeria was knowledgeable about Italian foods and eating habits as well as about the history of the areas we visited. We snacked in butcher shops and cheese shops in the Fiori area, and enjoyed bakery made pizza in that area, then moved on to special appetizers in the Jewish ghetto and finished with pasta in a restaurant in Travestere and dessert a gelateria in Travestere. All was included in the tour price. Valeria was a wonderful guide and companion.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Dan and I really enjoyed our bike your, we were very lucky as there was only the two of us on the tour with Alexendra! She was pleasant, interesting and took us all over the city to amazing places. The ice-cream break was certainly well worth the stop, we visited the shop again the next day.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a good time on the morning tour despite the fact that it rained 90% of the time. Our tour guide had a great attitude in the rain and didn't let it affect our learning experience. He explained the various parts of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome with a lot of passion. Our afternoon was pleasant as well. Our tour guide had a dry sense of humor and we enjoyed it. He pointed out excellent places to eat and shop (for later).

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent way to see Rome! The tour was well organised, Aleksandra, the tour guide, taking us around knew lots of interesting things about the history and culture. We had great time and we went back two days later to rent bikes and ride around Rome using the bike map that the Bike Shop provided. Excellent 4 hours spent :)

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A lovely tour of fornos, markets, gelaterias and restaurants in central rome. A great way to acquaint yourself with the best places and things to eat in central rome. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is a super long day. Coliseum and Palatine hill were great. Afternoon tour guided you to the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and piazza Navona and piazza campo do fiori. There was a stop for gelato as well.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an expert guide Elizabeth for the colosseum. Very knowledgeable. Would have loved a bit more free time to visit the souvenir shop.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This two part day tour was exceptional. I can't remember the two tour guide's names, but they both did an amazing job. I think my family liked the first tour of ancient Rome the best. During the first part (ancient Rome), the guide went through main parts of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill. If I didn't have the guide I can say that I would have spend all day walking around the Forum and Palatine Hill looking at everything and have no clue what everything was. She went through the basics and never became boring. The second part (walking through Rome) was nice. The pace wasn't too fast or too slow. We got to see everything the tour said it would. We had some time at the Trevi Fountain for shopping or throwing in a coin in the fountain. I read a review from this tour and one said that they don't go in the Pantheon, but we spend quite a bit of time in the Pantheon. Then we had gelato at a restaurant nearby. At the end, the guide told us how to get to where we wanted to go afterward. The only thing we didn't like was the guide kept telling my family that from Campo di Fiori that we needed to take the bus to the Colosseum, but we were able to walk it without his help. My family really enjoyed taking this the first day in Rome so we could get the basics of the attractions and where they are located and then spend the rest of our days in Rome going back to whatever attraction we wanted to spend more time at.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was offered through Dark Rome. The meeting place on the directions say in the square above the subway for the morning tour which is actually a circular area above the line :) thought I'd mention since quite a few people were confused. Giulia was our morning guide. Very good tour of the Colosseum and very knowledgable guide. She had lots of great pictures to help you I vision what it looked like in ancient times. Morning tour also includes the Roman forum. Afternoon tour led my Damien. This tour brings you to the major attractions like the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and Pantheon. We saw the sight on our own but you miss a lot without a guide. Overall great. Anything Dark Rome tour company led was fantastic!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

FANTASTIC. I was unsure about cycling in a busy city like Rome but having read other reviews was assured that you spent little time amongst the main traffic. This was certainly the case as Fredericko, our brilliant guide took us through all the quiet back lanes and squares every few minutes reaching a point of interest. Not only did we see the major sites (and given an interesting potted history) we saw many things only a local would know including where the locals drink the best coffee and eat the best fresh pizza, all at a fraction of the prices near the tourist hot spots. Thoroughly recommend this.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Colosseum and ancient Rome were awesome. Our tour guide (David) was fantastic. He had tremendous knowledge about all aspects of ancient Rome, culture, architecture, history, etc. His ability to recall facts and figures was amazing. Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour was very nice. It hit all of the must see sights with a stop for some of the best gelato on the square at the Pantheon. The guide was very pleasant and extremely informative about Rome. Wear comfortable shoes; combining these tours made for a FULL day of walking! We highly recommend these tours!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

More than excellent! I loved getting to walk and experience the opportunity of seeing what the locals do in the markets and the many small speciality food shops. Tasting as we went was so lovely and our guide was enthusiastic about giving us a good and complete experience. I have been to Rome many times thru the years and can't imagine now why I never did this walking tour before. Definitely would recommend your tour to everyone and I will do this again on my next trip. It was that enjoyable!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was very interesting. We heard some great stories about some of the buildings and learned some history of the city. The city is beautiful at night. This was our first tour in Rome and as we passed some of the same areas over the next few days, they took on a new meaning (ie. the statue in Campo di Fiori, the madonelles).

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The morning section of this tour was fantastic. We had such an enthusiastic guide for the tours of the colosseum and the forum. It was great!
The afternoon walking tour of the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and the squares was a bit of stretch. There was definitely not enough content to justify a 4 hours walking tour. It was okay but I would recommend other people to only do the morning tours because you can easily do the attractions covered in the afternoon tour on your own with a map.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was something myself, my husband and 17 year old son could enjoy as a family. We loved the Tour, it was fun and informative. The bikes were top quality and the bike shop efficiently run. The guide was very knowledgeable and likeable. The tour was worth every penny and more. Most definitely recommended!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message