The "Pearl of the Mediterranean," Capri is located on the south side of the Gulf of Naples, just off the coast of the Sorrentine Peninsula. A popular day trip destination from Naples, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast, it has long been a draw ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maureen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful day!! This is the third time I've taken a group of people on this trip and it's always a success. Both Stefano, our guide from Rome to Naples, as well as Pino, our guide in Capri were wonderful. They are both very knowledgeable and kept us well informed! I will always be including this day trip during my groups' time in Rome.

Doing what: Capri Day Trip from Rome

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A really really good all day trip, our boat captain was great, really friendly and generous with the free Limoncello. Highlight was the actual boat trip to and from Capri from Positano, the coastline is seriously beautiful and had plenty of stops for a swim. Capri itself was nice but a bit touristy, but as said the boat trip itself was the high light. Stocking up the boats Esky with ice cold beer was a nice touch and greatly contributed to the groups ambiance. All in all a really great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Douglas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up at our hotel in a van and taken to the bus at the meeting point. Bus ride to Naples etc was excellant driver and guide very good. Naples was just a twenty minute stop at the harbour which by all accounts about Naples was just right ! Not a nice place according to guides and Romans.
Pompeii was excellant - the ruins are well worth the trip and with the guide Marco were even better. Easily could spend another full day there - another trip perhaps.
Our hotel in Sorrento was fantastic Imperial Tramontano. Well beyond our expectations. Room and meals were top drawer. Very classy place. Day trip to Capri again excellent - with the guide every detail and highlight was looked after for us. Great day.
Return to Rome was right on time with our pick up and drop off at our hotel in Rome.
Thanks for three outstanding days.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Cristina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, with good transfers and well organized. We choose the pricey option because it was our treat for our 30th Wedding Anniversary trip to Italy. We got the Tramontano hotel in Sorrento with water views, just beautiful and central. The food was fantastic. We were lucky and able to see the Blue Grotto, rode to the top of Anacapri don't stay there too long and had a great time in Pompeii. If you don't have much time or a car this is the way to go. Rented a car that took us south, so much fun and so beautiful. Hope to go back!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Aubrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

5 stars only for the Sorrento and Capri portions of the trip. Naples is advertised in the heading but it is little more than a 15 minute stop at the Bay of Naples, or less if the cops run you off like they did us. Pompeii was a disaster. We had to pick up a group of German's who had been shut out of their tour of Capri. So we had one tour guide trying to do a tour in German, English and Spanish. We saw very little of Pompeii due to the lengthy stops for the guide to give her spiel in three languages. Now the good part, Sorrento and Capri. If you take this tour, spring for the 4 Star Superior Hotel Ambasciatori and ask for an ocean view room, you will not be disappointed. Our room was great, the view was nothing short of spectacular, and the staff was excellent. The food at the restaurant was also very fresh and very good. The hotel grounds are amazing. Sorrento was a fun place to explore and shop. Capri was also nice. Be sure to take the lift to the top for great panoramic views.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

JOHN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was fantastic and so much fun. The boat ride itself is wonderful -- our captain told us not to bother waiting for the Blue Grotto. Instead, he took us to several other grottoes around the island. I recommend making your way to Mount Solaro via the chair lift. We had about 4 hours on the island which was plenty of time to make it there. We used the local buses which was an adventure in itself those crazy tight roads of Capri! The chair lift ride is so beautiful -- it's really long and the views are amazing. We also had the option of swimming both while at Capri and from the boat, but we didn't want to have to walk around wet all day.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Day Cruise from Sorrento

Uva D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved Capri, the Blue Grotto, the Ville of San Michelle, the small shops, the view.The lunch was one of the best in our trip to Italy. Our guide Dominico was excellent and the drivers very professional. The one who picked us up at the pier to take us back to pick up our bags to take the train back to Rome went the extra mile to get us to the station on time.

Doing what: Capri Day Trip with Lunch from Naples

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow what a surprise. So beautiful so clean and crisp. The water is so turquoise blue. Talk the chair lift up to the highest point on Anacapri. It is so worth it. Lots of walking and steps to climb. Both parts of capri are worth viewing. By the way, the blue grotto was not available due to high tide. So go ahead and take the boat ride along the whole island. It was fun, and they moved the boat right up to the edge of one of many see through tunnels where we saw the coral just growing at the edge of the surface. Short ride but great overall view of Capril.

Doing what: Capri Day Trip with Lunch from Naples

Shaila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had such a great time on this two day tour, even though it was pouring while we were guided through the ancient ruins of Pompeii. Amazing value for the price. This tour was extremely well coordinated, with various guides for each leg, and they were all mindful of making sure they had everyone in our group before leaving to the next location. Also provided some free time in each location to explore. Overall a great way to see all these places in a matter of two days without having to plan it yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend it!

The day starts early, but our guide on the ride to Naples, Francesca, was humorous and shared interesting tidbits about the region. Lunch was included at a restaurant in Pompeii with some traditional pasta of course, and meat. Our guide for Pompeii, Paolo, was hilarious and very charismatic. You spend about 2.5 hours in the ruins with the guide.

For the evening, you are dropped off at your hotel in Sorrento and have free time. The tour group is large and is broken into smaller groups staying at each hotel, but all are 4 star hotels.Our hotel in Sorrento was a dream, truly a beautiful hotel in a great location. Perched slightly up the hill with wonderful views of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius - we woke up early the next morning and watched the sunrise in this beautiful location. We had an amazing 4 course dinner at the hotel included, which was one of my favorite meals in Italy.

The next morning we enjoyed the best complimentary breakfast spread at the hotel before being picked up for the boat to Capri, which take about 45 minutes. We were so happy the weather was perfect on this day. The boat ride to Capri, the isle of Capri, Anacapri, and the small boat ride to the Blue Grotto were all incredibly beautiful. The only disappointment was that we could not actually go in the Blue Grotto, due to sea conditions. We had lunch in Anacapri, and some free time in both Capri and Anacapri.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

MaryJo A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Capri was very crowded and I am glad we had our guides to arrange transportation on the island. We did the lift and separate boat tour of the island, which are both a must do. The views from the top are breathtaking. And the boat tour guide was very informative about the ancient history of the island and we got to see where the mega rich live. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Capri Day Trip with Lunch from Naples

Udo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Chair lift ride to the top was fantastic. Boat ride around the island was well worth it even though the Blue Grotto was closed. Capri was very crowded with tourists even in mid October.

Doing what: Capri Day Trip with Lunch from Naples

Ashley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was amazing! We boarded a boat that had a long front and was all padded so you could sit up there. The weather turned out to be really great on the day we did our tour, so we got some amazing pictures and sun. The boat took us to the island of Capri first where we were dropped off and had about 4 hours to roam the island on our own. There are a lot of things to see and do, if you plan to do it all, I recommend taking the buses to each destination. We chose to walk from the Marina up to Capri and that took a little time. We then did the chair lift in AnaCapri up to Monte Solaro, this is a MUST DO! The views are unbelievable, but beware of the chairlift if you are afraid of heights. In my opinion though, suck it up because it is totally worth it! After our four hours of free time we got back on the boat and were given homemade sandwiches made by the tour guides mom! They were delicious. And offered drink of coke, water or beer. They then took us on a boat ride around the island and took us even INTO the grottos on our boat. They were full of knowledge of the island and the grottos. We spent 10 days in Italy, and this was by far the best day that I had there!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Day Cruise from Sorrento

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were picked up from our hotel and taken to ferry - joined a wonderful group of tourists - our local guide lives on Capri and was she very good - we took the optional cable car ride up to anacapri - totally worth the few extra dollars as the views were gorgeous - lunch was included and delicious not drinks - also took optional boat trip around Capri and saw Green Grotto up close - great day!

Doing what: Capri Day Trip with Lunch from Naples

wallercj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

day 1 was very disjointed tour with the breaks between the tours - sights were great - guides need to slow down a little to enjoy sights better - day 2 - guide was great and day to Capri was fantastic - highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

onel0wcubn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was probably the best thing we did on our trip to Italy. The stop in Naples was REALLY quick, like 10 minutes so they shouldn't even highlight it in the package. The hotel in Sorrento was beautiful. The trip to Capri was awesome and we got to go into the Blue Grotto which is rare I hear since it's always closed. We rented a scooter and rode to Amalfi. A must do if your'e up for it.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Jonathan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day on the water and in Capri. We did this in mid-October, so the water was a little cold for swimming but still beautiful. The two employees on our boat were very nice and interesting. Would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had a great time on my tour. The captain of the boat was very nice, knowledgeable, and helpful. I got to see and do a lot during the tour. And Capri was very nice to see. Both on the boat and off, there was a great variety of fun things to do. Plus I met some very nice and interesting people. I am sure that I will be using this site again in the future, and that I will recommend it to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic Day all round. Fantasic guide and the Capri Day cruise is a must do.

Doing what: Best Capri Day Cruise from Sorrento

Peggy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful trip, had to get used to the crowds. Transportation and accommodations were outstanding. Our guide in Pompeii was not engaging and lost us on the way. Our guide in Capri was wonderful. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Doris H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour!! Absolutely Beautiful, the Isle of Capri!! Very Fun Day !!

Doing what: Capri Day Trip from Rome

materi96449

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour guide. Everything ran smoothly and once we got to Capri.. it was an amazing experience. We opted for the Blue Grotto experience and it is something that we will never forget. The trip allowed us to see Italy's countryside and once on the island via ferry, it was breathtaking and truely picturesque.We were very happy with the tour and will book with company again when we return.

Doing what: Capri Day Trip from Rome

Laura V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Delightful activity to do in such a beautiful location. The boat was nice, the swimming, the boat captain and there was plenty of time to enjoy Capri. Very fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Myles B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous day. Don't miss it and for sure take the chairlift from AnaCapri to the top for some panoramic views. Be prepared for some narrow windy roads where vehicles pass within an inch and the drop off is hundreds of feet!

Doing what: Best Capri Day Cruise from Sorrento

johnna s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful! The guides were great and made an effort to talk to everyone and share interesting facts about the area. Wish I remembered their name. Young woman and man. Capri itself is too many over priced gift shops but the cruise and swimming and boating around the island was well worth it. Everyone in the Sorrento area should do this. Patrick

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Day Cruise from Sorrento

RachStoeck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our host was amazing, he shared homemade limoncello and pistachio cookies with us on the way back. The views were amazing. Capri was nice, make sure to go up to the top the bottom is very touristy. We got to jump off and swim with floating noodles. Overall a really amazing experience, definitely recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message