• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Castel Sant'Angelo National Museum

The Castel Sant'Angelo is actually a tomb, Hadrian's Mausoleum. The Roman Emperor built it for himself and his family; their ashes were placed there in 138 AD. Other emperors are also buried there, but the tomb became a fortress in 401 AD; in 410 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an absolutely fun way to spend the morning while in Rome. As a fan of the Dan Brown books I was able to geek out and get an in depth education in the process. Our guide through the tour was fantastic. She balanced the fictional with the actual. So, in many ways you are getting two tours. You begin at the Santa Maria Del Popolo, then off to Saint Peter's Square. From there, via coach, you travel to Santa Maria della Vittoria followed by Piazza Navona. The tour ends at the Castel Sant'Angelo.
Even if you're not a Dan Brown fan you will enjoy this tour! As you cross Rome you take in so many fantastic sites. Along the way you will stop for a caffe and surely bookmark sites to return to at your own leisure.
Though you travel by private coach several times through the tour remember that there is a lot of walking!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a fantastic introduction to the different facets of Rome. Our wonderful guide, Louise, was very knowledgeable and gave fascinating accounts of the religious, ancient and art history of Rome as well as the associations with Dan Browns book. As well as visiting many sights on foot, we also crossed the city by coach a couple of times which meant we were introduced to many sights that we could return to later. Finishing at Castel Sant'Angelo was fantastic as we could stay there after the tour finished and admire the amazing views of Rome from the top. We did the tour on Palm Sunday and were lucky enough to be in St Peter's Square when Papa Frankie was saying mass. A wonderful opportunity that Louise facilitated by adapting the tour to suit everyone's needs and wishes. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! Our Guide was so entertaining and informative. We loved the Castel San Angelo visit. The panoramic view on top was breathtaking! We got beautiful pictures. Great job Viator.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Karinna is the best tour guide, and we were thrilled to have her again on this tour!!! One of the very best tour guides we've had so far on our trip. We saw so much more of Rome and learned more of the history behind the stories. Would highly recommend this tour!!! The view from the top of Castel Sant'Angelo is wonderful! The start in the Chigi chapel was a fun start to the day, and the tour was one of our trip highlights. If you've not done this, it's a must do!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My group really enjoyed this tour. It gave us a whole other perspective on Rome. This was one of the only tours we joined while on our trip and each of us were beyond satisfied. If your looking for something other than museum tours then this is the tour for you!!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great fun. Lovely walk at night throught Rome. Meeting point was on main bus route, easy to find. I took tour with my 15 year old daughter, content appropriate and area felt safe. Tour guide was lovely and so much fun! Tour finished at the Castel Sant' Angelo on the bridge. Perfect for our short walk back to the hotel or to the bus/metro by Saint Peter's.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Robert was a good tour guide. He had a good knowledge of all the places described in the book. He debated the right from wrong and gave us wonderful insights to make our own opinion of the truth. I enjoyed the visit to the following places:
St Maria del Popolo Church
St Peter's Square
St Maria della Vittoria Church
Pantheon
Piazza Navona
Castel Sant'Angelo
Church of Illumination to glimpse the secret passage connecting the Vatican to notorious Castel Sant' Angelo
Wonderful to be in Rome. I would recommend this tour to anyone who likes to see Rome, and not miss most of the important places to see during the first visit or have not seen the places described above.
Special Thanks to Robert for his wonderful insights and answering all my questions.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My personal favourite out of the four tours i did. information was based largely on poeple and their stories opposed to the normal buildings and their history. fascinating. would reccomend seeing the castel del angelo at the end of the tour also.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

My husband and I had two months travelling overseas. We have been telling our family and friends about this tour. It was the most enjoyable of all the tours we did. The young lady from Boston who was our guide delivered the information about the book and historical events in a very enjoyable and up beat way. We were not bored or tired during the entire (i think 4 hours) of the tour. We started at the Church Santa Maria del Popolo and ended Castel Sant Angelo. We were given a paper with John Milton's quote "from Santis's earthly tomb etc........" on one side and a map of "modern rome"on the other with "The path of Illumination" which we were able to follow during the tour. The guide referred back to the book in a humours manner. We would hightly recommend this tour for fun as well as obtaining historical facts.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Claire R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This is a great tour, not only because it brings the book to life and highlights the poetic license of Dan Brown's but it literally travels acorss Rome taking in some of the major sights. I had made a point of re-reading the book just before our holiday but there's no need. Our guide Massimo, retold the story throughout the morning at each sight but to this he added the facts and history. Massimo was a larger than life character who obviously enjoyed he job and wanted us to enjoys the tour. The tour is split into two halves really, with the first couple of hours on coach then the second half on foot, with a fair trek up to the top of Castel Sant Angelo. Really enjoyable, would definetly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a fantastic tour. There were 2 guides who led 2 groups taking us through "the path of illumination" to Castel San Angelo. Both guides were fantastic very knowledgable, providing detailed information about each location on the tour in relation to the Angels and Demons book. Also they were very attentive to the needs of their clients, moving at a pace suitable to the participants. This was an excellent tour for us we both loved the book and the film, and also Rome which was shown to us in a very different way by the guides. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a fan of the Dan Brown tale.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Heidi F
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Having been in Rome for nearly a week already, we were still truly amazed at what we saw. The lesser known locations are just as amazing, if not more so, and the fun of the story line intertwined fact and fiction. Our only disappointment was that we were unable to complete the tour, not because of the guide, but because the Sant' Angelo museum was closed when we got there.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

Our guide was fabulous. He was an enthusiastic and dramatic storyteller himself. We got lots of additional history and knowledge of facts about the sites beyond the book, which was appreciated. The mid-tour break was good, the walk from the Pantheon to Castel San Angelo was a little long but interesting with a water break in the middle. We can't say enough good things about our guide, he was just fantastic!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Massimo was our guide and he really knew the book and how to link the story to the 4 major points we visited.The only disappointment was the visit to St Peter's Square where we weren't actually shown the spot where the 2nd cardinal died but that maybe because of the huge area and so many tourists around.I now have a better understanding of St Teresa after reading an excerpt from her strange diary.The tour also gave us the opportunity to see some major tourist spots such as Castel De Angelo and Piazza Navona which I took my husband to later. If I can make a general comment, don't visit Rome in August, the heat made the trip so uncomfortable but do the tour if you have the time.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour was good, as a fan of the book I thoroughly enjoyed it, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that when we stopped for our coffe break we went and sat outside of the cafe, and the group left from another exit and left us behind. Fortunately I knew we where going to castel sant Angelo and managed to find our way and caught up with them on the bridge. I would have been very annoyed if we had missed the end of the tour.
The guide did apologise, and all ended well.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message