Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Castel Sant'Angelo National Museum

The Castel Sant'Angelo is actually a tomb, Hadrian's Mausoleum. The Roman Emperor built it for himself and his family; their ashes were placed there in 138 AD. Other emperors are also buried there, but the tomb became a fortress in 401 AD; in 410 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My mother and I loved this tour. She is a huge Dan Brown fan, with Angels and Demons being her favorite story. When we got home we rewatched the movie and were so excited to have seen all the sights! It was like living the trip all over again. One of my favorite parts was walking through the little side streets leading up to the Castel Sant Angelo. The views from there are the best in all of Rome in my opinion (Better than St. Peter's Dome or Il Vittoriano)!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour with Maximo. If you like Dan Brown this tour gives you a lot of background on the poetic license that the author uses in the books. Great if you like the story behind the story. Lots of good information about art , sculpture and saints. Beware that the first Sunday of the month museums are free to the public and we were not allowed to go into one without waiting in the very long cue line. The tour company did take care or this and we were reimbursed for the entry fee as the group did not wait in the line.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Okay, this tour is just flat FUN! Louise and Masimo were GREAT tour guides. It fills in a lot of the gaps that the other tours miss, as well as giving you some of the scandals that existed throughout the centuries. Both our guides knew the Dan Brown book AND movie and the differences between the two. They also new the fact from the fiction. One of the most interesting things was the tours inside the Churches. Masimo warned us about the "wow factor" and he was right (he called it the wow factor because "wow" was the first word that came out of our mouths when we walked inside)! These unassuming Churches from the outside are decorated with masterpieces on the inside. We suggest doing some walking around the city before this tour. It will give you a better perspective of where things are and you will get more from the information Louise and Masimo give you. We personally finished the tour by having lunch in Castel Sant'Angelo (where the tour ends). The view was breath taking!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

First of all, it would help if you read the book, but in the very beginning the tour guides (Massimo and Louisa) gave a brief introduction to the story. If you don't like Dan Brown's work, go on this tour any way. It's not meant to make you love the book - it just takes you to the many breathtaking fascinating places that were used in the book. The guides would tell you the history behind the works of art as opposed (or in addition to) the meaning Dan Brown gives them in his novel.Our tour guide Louisa was a very interesting story teller, very knowledgeable in Rome's history, and Massimo was very funny and beaming with enthusiasm and knowledge. We had the tour on Palm Sunday, so we couldn't get to the St. Peter's square, but Massimo told us many great stories while standing outside the Vatican walls and did an amazing job. The tour uses a bus to cover long distances. In Castel Sant'Angelo you have to go up the steps - make sure you do go to the very top - the view is to die for!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an absolutely fun way to spend the morning while in Rome. As a fan of the Dan Brown books I was able to geek out and get an in depth education in the process. Our guide through the tour was fantastic. She balanced the fictional with the actual. So, in many ways you are getting two tours. You begin at the Santa Maria Del Popolo, then off to Saint Peter's Square. From there, via coach, you travel to Santa Maria della Vittoria followed by Piazza Navona. The tour ends at the Castel Sant'Angelo.
Even if you're not a Dan Brown fan you will enjoy this tour! As you cross Rome you take in so many fantastic sites. Along the way you will stop for a caffe and surely bookmark sites to return to at your own leisure.
Though you travel by private coach several times through the tour remember that there is a lot of walking!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a fantastic introduction to the different facets of Rome. Our wonderful guide, Louise, was very knowledgeable and gave fascinating accounts of the religious, ancient and art history of Rome as well as the associations with Dan Browns book. As well as visiting many sights on foot, we also crossed the city by coach a couple of times which meant we were introduced to many sights that we could return to later. Finishing at Castel Sant'Angelo was fantastic as we could stay there after the tour finished and admire the amazing views of Rome from the top. We did the tour on Palm Sunday and were lucky enough to be in St Peter's Square when Papa Frankie was saying mass. A wonderful opportunity that Louise facilitated by adapting the tour to suit everyone's needs and wishes. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great tour! Our Guide was so entertaining and informative. We loved the Castel San Angelo visit. The panoramic view on top was breathtaking! We got beautiful pictures. Great job Viator.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Karinna is the best tour guide, and we were thrilled to have her again on this tour!!! One of the very best tour guides we've had so far on our trip. We saw so much more of Rome and learned more of the history behind the stories. Would highly recommend this tour!!! The view from the top of Castel Sant'Angelo is wonderful! The start in the Chigi chapel was a fun start to the day, and the tour was one of our trip highlights. If you've not done this, it's a must do!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My group really enjoyed this tour. It gave us a whole other perspective on Rome. This was one of the only tours we joined while on our trip and each of us were beyond satisfied. If your looking for something other than museum tours then this is the tour for you!!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great fun. Lovely walk at night throught Rome. Meeting point was on main bus route, easy to find. I took tour with my 15 year old daughter, content appropriate and area felt safe. Tour guide was lovely and so much fun! Tour finished at the Castel Sant' Angelo on the bridge. Perfect for our short walk back to the hotel or to the bus/metro by Saint Peter's.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Robert was a good tour guide. He had a good knowledge of all the places described in the book. He debated the right from wrong and gave us wonderful insights to make our own opinion of the truth. I enjoyed the visit to the following places:
St Maria del Popolo Church
St Peter's Square
St Maria della Vittoria Church
Pantheon
Piazza Navona
Castel Sant'Angelo
Church of Illumination to glimpse the secret passage connecting the Vatican to notorious Castel Sant' Angelo
Wonderful to be in Rome. I would recommend this tour to anyone who likes to see Rome, and not miss most of the important places to see during the first visit or have not seen the places described above.
Special Thanks to Robert for his wonderful insights and answering all my questions.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My personal favourite out of the four tours i did. information was based largely on poeple and their stories opposed to the normal buildings and their history. fascinating. would reccomend seeing the castel del angelo at the end of the tour also.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

My husband and I had two months travelling overseas. We have been telling our family and friends about this tour. It was the most enjoyable of all the tours we did. The young lady from Boston who was our guide delivered the information about the book and historical events in a very enjoyable and up beat way. We were not bored or tired during the entire (i think 4 hours) of the tour. We started at the Church Santa Maria del Popolo and ended Castel Sant Angelo. We were given a paper with John Milton's quote "from Santis's earthly tomb etc........" on one side and a map of "modern rome"on the other with "The path of Illumination" which we were able to follow during the tour. The guide referred back to the book in a humours manner. We would hightly recommend this tour for fun as well as obtaining historical facts.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Claire R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This is a great tour, not only because it brings the book to life and highlights the poetic license of Dan Brown's but it literally travels acorss Rome taking in some of the major sights. I had made a point of re-reading the book just before our holiday but there's no need. Our guide Massimo, retold the story throughout the morning at each sight but to this he added the facts and history. Massimo was a larger than life character who obviously enjoyed he job and wanted us to enjoys the tour. The tour is split into two halves really, with the first couple of hours on coach then the second half on foot, with a fair trek up to the top of Castel Sant Angelo. Really enjoyable, would definetly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a fantastic tour. There were 2 guides who led 2 groups taking us through "the path of illumination" to Castel San Angelo. Both guides were fantastic very knowledgable, providing detailed information about each location on the tour in relation to the Angels and Demons book. Also they were very attentive to the needs of their clients, moving at a pace suitable to the participants. This was an excellent tour for us we both loved the book and the film, and also Rome which was shown to us in a very different way by the guides. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a fan of the Dan Brown tale.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message