Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3017 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

keith l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our 4 day visit to Rome was excellent and made a lot easier with the Omnia Card and Roma Pass which allows queue skipping essential ingredient for Rome and free access to the hop on/off buses which are really good. The Vatican is breath-taking but without the queue skipping facility it would be hard work as the lines for bag checking were enormous. The sights are truly worth seeing and the little restaurants in the side streets and small piazzas are worth exploring. Great trip.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Robert was amazing. His passion for the subject matter was obvious. He was able to close his eyes and quote sections from the book in a lively dynamic way that made the tour fun for everyone. He was able to separate fact from fiction. This tour was probably one of the best I have ever taken and without doubt Robert was the best tour guide my wife and I have encountered.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was fantastic. Fabio was very, very knowledgeable and excited to teach us about the history of the Colosseum. I absolutely loved the tour and would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Lois S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We thought this tour was great. Our guide was informative and taught really well. Fascinating to find out more about ancient Rome and what it was like and to understand what we were looking at. Would recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Blanca United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good value for money. Also very practical since you avoid queuing at the attractions. Would recommend it!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We both enjoyed every minute of this experience. So informative.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Mary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time with Titi, very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

SONIA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely LOVED JOSEPH and CATALINA our tour guides!! They are so passionate about the history and their jobs. You really feel it in this tour. Yes there is a lot to see and lots of walking but overall it was a great tour to recommend to everyone going to Rome!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Made travelling around Rome so easy with the hop on hop off bus and the public transport. The skip the line for the Vatican and St Peter's Basilica saved us so much time so we had more time to enjoy Rome. Also skipped the lines at the other places we visited as well. Excellent value for money and an easy way to visit Rome

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Leonard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was excellent for the Colosseum! Enjoyed every minute. The headset is a great way to hear and not have to be very close. Afternoon tour was great as well, both very informative.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

André R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Just wonderfull, both tours, specially the morning one and most specially Chiara, the tour guide, an appasionate, full of culture and simpathy young lady. Very highly recommended tour!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Stephen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, all the best of ancient Rome, and some stuff you may think is ancient, but is only less then 200 years old.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Small group with excellent guide. Her knowledge astounded us, and she was very kind and helpful to those in the group who needed more time or rest. This tour involves a great deal of walking plus some pretty steep staircases but is worth every minute.It was totally fascinating and beyond first class.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

courtneyraeduplantis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marquite, I can't remember her exact name but she was EXCELLENT! She had a vibrant and happy personality and made us laugh and enjoy ourselves. She greeted each of us individually and always made sure she had everyone's attention. She gave us interesting facts and pointed out places inside that we would have not otherwise known their significance. She made sure when we took breaks, it was beneath trees and had ample time to refill our water bottles. This tour involved a lot of walking, so not best for those who are weak or are heat intolerant. Otherwise it was a blast, just be prepared to come home dusty and exhausted but very happy. I will do this tour again when I return with my friends.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Cecile C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great idea. The people working at the meeting place where we took our voucher to pick up passes were very helpful esp in booking our tours. We made full use of our passes and tours. It worked exactly as advertised!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

shepherdspies

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was the best part of our trip to Rome. Our guide, Angela, was knowledgeable not only about the film and the book but also the sites in Rome. She was welcoming, enthusiastic and funny. The minibus that took us between sites was very welcomed by our tired legs and the complimentary drink at a café on route a very thoughtful aspect of the tour. Angela really brought the book to life so much so that my husband is reading it again. We will definitely recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I loved this tour! Our guide Dora was awesome! She was super nice and definitely knew her stuff! I had her for both parts of the tour and I would recommend this if you have a short time where you want to see most of the city.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Yanina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excelente. Nuestra guía en el Coliseo fue Maristela, una arqueóloga, así que fue un lujo que nos llevara a descubirir esa maravilla. Por la tarde Francisco nos llevó a recorrer los highlights de la ciudad en una caminata súper amena, helado incluído! Un día inolvidable! No duden en reservar esta actividad!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

denis c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

best value tour we did, its a full days touring and you get your moneys worth of history and more. Serianna was informative, helpful and kept the attention throughout the Colosseum tour in the morning.
the palentine hill and forum are must see, see where it all happened in Imperial Rome!!

the afternoon tour with the spanish steps, trevi fountain and pantheon as the highlights is excellent also!.
i would note that lots of sunblock, water, energy snacks and good footwear are advisable- a certain level of fitness is advised otherwise you are gotta start wilting toward the end

recommend recommend recommend!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, starting at the base of the Spanish steps currently under construction and making our way over to the Piazza Navona, thru the Trevi Fountain and other sites on the way. Our guide was terrific. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as it's a bit a of walking. The highlight was the Pantheon, which even though we'd seen before, we didn't appreciate the history and the superb architectural elements e.g. the dome ceiling that make it inexplicable how ancients were able to build it. We also couldn't get over the how, by design, the internal air circulation within the Pantheon prevents most rain from hitting the floor through the open hole in the top of the dome. Amazing!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour with a unbelievable guide She had a PhD in archaeology! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message