Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1757 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was excellent. The wine tasting was more then I expected.

Doing what: Caravaggio Art Walking Tour of Rome with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was really good and informative! Long day but got to see everything and guides were really nice and knowledgeable about everything thwy were talking about. We were shown a little church which wasnt on the tour but was amazing inside.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Dorina (sp?) was an amazing guide. She has so much knowledge and enthusiasm, City Wonders is lucky to have her as a guide.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide, Barbera ? was an archeologist who had conducted digs near the sites we visited so she was very knowledgble and enthusiastic about the visits. She was energetic and very informative. The sites were spectacular and awesome. Without her information we would have just been looking at different piles of marble. She also saved us a lot of time which would otherwise have been spent in lines.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Stephen
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is 2 separate tours both of which were fantastic. High quality guides gave us a great overview of this beautiful historical city.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved the tour guide. My favorite of all the tours we took. She was great and knew tons of history plus had a nice personality.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was excellent. The guide Jeanette was very knowledgable and explained how dramatic carraveggio's style was for the time. Also these special paintings commissioned by the various churches. The wine and antipasto at a lovely restaurant made for a perfect ending.

Doing what: Caravaggio Art Walking Tour of Rome with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I loved loved loved the walking tour. It was very hot in Rome in Summer, which is to be expected, but it was lovely to see the city by foot. The colosseum is indescribable. Being inside of it can give you chills, not only in its sheer magnitude, but with its links to the past. The colosseum and tour of the Roman Forum brought me to a world I've never known before. Stunning.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My mother and I loved this tour. She is a huge Dan Brown fan, with Angels and Demons being her favorite story. When we got home we rewatched the movie and were so excited to have seen all the sights! It was like living the trip all over again. One of my favorite parts was walking through the little side streets leading up to the Castel Sant Angelo. The views from there are the best in all of Rome in my opinion (Better than St. Peter's Dome or Il Vittoriano)!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

the colosseum and Ancient Rome guide was very knowledgable, caring and helpful. One could tell he loved his job.
The afternoon walking tour was ok, however, at the end of the tour, the guide told us to get a cab back to our hotel, my husband didn't want to do this as we used the trains without problems. She didn't help us find a train/bus station and just left us alone in a city we never visited before, didn't speak the language, and we got lost. After more than an hour searching a train station, we luckily met a nice young english speaking man who helped us find a bus back to our hotel. This was a frightening experience for us.
We would give our morning guide a 5, and a zero on our afternoon guide

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So much fun, Roberto is awesome!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An absolutely outstanding experience. We went on 4 tours with 'City Wonders' and all of their guides are extremely knowledgeable. They all seem to be studying or have graduated from art history, history or archaeology and are so passionate about their subject. The morning tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome was by far the best of the 4 tours. The commentary from Alesandro, our guide, helped the history come alive and, although I study Roman history, I learnt a lot from him. The afternoon 'Best of Rome' tour was also good, but if the weather is hot (+35c for us), 2 tours in the same day is probably too much.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message