Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2342 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything positive the other reviewers said - I agree completely! We had Roberto as our guide on 7/24/2015, and he is THE BEST! He made the tour extremely exciting, engaging, and captivating. Even if you haven't read the book, or it's been awhile, he summed it up at every location we went to. The bus ride and soda break were added bonuses. There was quite a bit of walking, especially at the end, but he gave us ample breaks. Most everyone on the tour said it was the best tour they had taken - not just of Rome but even in Europe. Can't recommend this one enough - especially if it's with Roberto!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was knowledgable. Enjoyed the tour. PLease wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour leader was informative and interesting, and clearly loved her subject matter.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was also an archaeologist which was an added plus because he made the Colosseum come alive for us. I had visited before but never had taken a tour and was happy that we did.Wish we had just a little more time in the forum but it was an extremely hot day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a very interesting tour that walked you through the art and history in the fictional world of Dan Brown. Our tour guide was amazing and so engaging! My only suggestion would be to bring a snack this is a long tour.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guides were very knowelegeble, patient and professional. Fantastic tour! Wear comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour with a very knowledgeable and fun guide.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Italy - Roberto was very passionate and entertaining and made it an experience and not just a tour. Best tour of our trip, closely followed by the tour we took run by another local tour company.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide and tour! Learned a lot!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both our guides were fabulous. They were experts on the subject and had a great attitude. They were fluent in English and worked well with the group.

From personal experience, we would recommend doing the Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour on another day if possible. The three day Colosseum Tour can be tiring, especially in the summers.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome! Our guide was superb, making history come alive as she explained how the Colosseum operated. The walking tour was also wonderful, providing up-close looks at the famous landmarks of Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful and Allessandro our guide was clear and factual. His English was excellent and he managed the large group really well. His enthusiasm and knowledge of archaeology was perfect for the tour. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous walking tour, great guide, saw lots that we wouldn't have been able to see, great walking route starting from the Spanish Steps. Very informative and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guides Roberto and Mike were excellent and I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alessandro was awesome! He was knowledgeable, patient, and his English was terrific. A superb tour guide. We enjoyed everything and would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a good appreciation of the history and archaeology of the ancient Roman time period. We ended up skipping the Best of Rome Afternoon tour because we needed more time to rest in between and decided we wanted to explore on our own, but are very glad we did the tour of the Colosseum and Roman Ruins.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was excellent and skipping the line makes sense. The tour turned out to be too physically challenging for me and I had to leave in the early afternoon so missed the Pantheon. This was my fault, can't blame the tour operator.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was the best! We could tell she loved Rome and its history. Awesome!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A different kind of tour with a great tour guide. Full day of fun recreating the book and background. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour guides who were enthusiastic and passionate about the history of Rome. We highly recommend doing these tours. The guide bring life to the ruines in the Roman Forum and helps you understand the history behind it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide-Sarah Napol.. Was the best guide ever. Her passion for the colosseum and ancient Ruins was evident in her presentation narrative. She was articulate and extremely interesting to listen to and answered asked questions with the same excitement.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you liked either the novel or the movie, you will really enjoy this tour. If you are not familiar with the book, you will STILL ENJOY this tour. Roberto was a fantastic storyteller and guide! Enthusiastic and engaging right from the start, the wealth of knowledge about all of the Roman sights and Dan Brown's stories was impressive. Four hours passed by very quickly and we were just as excited at the end of the tour as we were at the beginning. The combination of walking and bus travel made for a nice balance and even when combined with the other guide, Massimo, and his group, it still had a personal feel. One of our favorite tours while in Rome, we give it our highest recommendation.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WONDERFUL! We had the BEST TOUR GUIDE - EVER! GIGI knew absolutely everything about EVERYTHING. He was delightful, engaging and funny! He kept us in the shade and made sure we were able to have the best photos possible. We would definitely take this tour again- but only if GIGI was guiding!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our very own private little tour as our group of four where the only attendees! Are tour guide was amazing, extremely educated and fun! We were learning so much while causally stolling the streets and popping into different churches here and there. Complete with incredible wine and really wonderful food made this adventure well rounded. Highly reccomended! Would not suggest bringing children on this tour.

Doing what: Caravaggio Art Walking Tour of Rome with Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message