Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2386 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had so much to see in a short period of time and this hits it all. If you have two days in Rome I recommend this tour and a tour of the Vatican. Happy with the tour guides. Very knowledgeable but not too long winded like some other tours we did in other cities so the kids were never bored by standing in one place too long. Does have quite a bit of walking but necessary to see all the sites. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this tour was great. the guide was very knowledgeable about the history and architecture and could navigate the facilities very easily. wonderful day

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved both tours. The Colosseum guide was excellent. Explained so much about the ancient history of Rome. The afternoon guide was also very good. We were sad the Fountain of Trevi was under repair, because I would have liked my grandchildren to have seen it. We covered a lot of area in the allotted time and that was a plus.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this tour and most enjoyed the morning portion, which included the colosseum and roman forum disclosure that we did not stay for the entirety of the afternoon tour, but only because it was so hot and we were exhaustedfull that tour guide was also very good and knowledgeable for the time we were there. Our tour guide Alessandro was excellent. He was very passionate about the subject matter which made the experience very enjoyable. He was very helpful to everyone on the toureven as it was 98 degrees or more outside! We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide Alexander kept the group together, his pace was just right. He was informative, and able to maintain interest with his comical observations. The group had young children as well as senior citizens and all were accommodated adequately on the tour.Overall a tour we would recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour Guide Mauritia was very informative. She emphasized the important facts about the city's spots and explained it to us in such a way that we were most entertained at the same, informed. Good job!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant. Extremely interesting and informative. Very well done.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had 2 great tour guides in Flo and Agnes. These 2 ladies really knew their stuff. They were both very informative and gave a bit of a comedy twist to the tour. The actual city is amazing. I will be going back.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guides which definitely shared their enthusiasm with the group. Also, much side information was given, so not only about the book or movie, but also relevant information about the churches and places we were about to visit. The guides also told us what was right about the books and about what Dan Brown was sometimes very wrong. Highly entertaining if you are a fan of either the book or the movie!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was the BEST. The tour included bits about history as well as about Angels and Demons. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you are a fan of the book this is a must do.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Glaiza Ann P
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

superb tour! full of information! i love our guide Alessandro in the morning and David in the afternoon, very friendly! They are both funny and really make sure that we are all ok and that the group is always complete. They gave us a lot of information that you will not find online or in the books.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

it was very informative, the guide was excellent

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Magnificent. Bring plenty of water and a hat for summer tours. .

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had all day tour with two tour guides, sorry forgot they names, but both were super informative. Even the morning tour with 40C hotness our tour Lady kept our attention with all the information she provided, she was worrying bout her English skills, but nobody had any concerns, all tour guides that we met in Italy spoke very clear and good English. Also both tour guides have Archeology degrees. Our afternoon tour was more relaxed, but the tour guide showed us even more than was on the itinerary and told us lots of interesting stories. Strongly recommend it, as it saves lots of time seeing what is the best in Rome. A to both tour guides!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The skipping of the line was great! Better yet was Francesca, our tour guide. She told everything there was to tell about both sites, answered all the questions asked made everyone laugh with funny stories about the facts. I would not want to go to either of these sites without a personal tour guide - saw people just wandering around, looking lost and not knowing all the facts. This tour is GREAT!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, if you are doing this tour during the summer you might want to break it up into two days as it gets very hot during the mid summer months.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour! I recommend this tour to anyone interested in having fun and seeing some of the sights you may not normally see. Roberto and Massimo were fantastic guides! Very knowledgeable and entertaining! Thanks for making our first day in Rome a very memorable one!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Francesca, was amazing! This was the first time my husband or I ever paid for a tour and it was well worth it. The knowledge that our guide had about so many different aspects of Ancient Rome really made it worthwhile. I would definitely recommend this to anyone- if not only for the fact that you skip lines, but also for the hidden knowledge you will gain!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Leon Lisa
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fantastic. We had the best tour guide. A walking historian!! Would make an excellent professor of Roman history!! Was a hot day, mid 90's July. But well worth it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great! Our guide at the Colosseum was AWESOME! She was an archeologist, very prepared, very knowledgeable and kind. I learned a lot from her. You can tell when somebody liked his Job! Same thing with the afternoon guide, he was a PhD in Monuments Restoration so he was able to talk a lot about the architecture not only of the monuments but also about the buildings in the area. Their attitude was great. Their English was great too. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic! Our tour guide was sweet and answered every question our group came up with - she obviously loves her job! When I came up to the Pantheon from around a corner, I almost cried - it was amazing! Such a tremendous city - and our tour guide only made it that much more enjoyable!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything positive the other reviewers said - I agree completely! We had Roberto as our guide on 7/24/2015, and he is THE BEST! He made the tour extremely exciting, engaging, and captivating. Even if you haven't read the book, or it's been awhile, he summed it up at every location we went to. The bus ride and soda break were added bonuses. There was quite a bit of walking, especially at the end, but he gave us ample breaks. Most everyone on the tour said it was the best tour they had taken - not just of Rome but even in Europe. Can't recommend this one enough - especially if it's with Roberto!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message