Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2971 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Michael was great. At every stop he related book plot, Roman history, and church history.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

ANTHONY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Claudia was interesting and helpful. She spoke English very will and was easy to understand

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

ddizon726

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must do for Rome first timers! There are so many historical sites in the city that this becomes a convenient way to narrow it down to the key ones. Vasco and the Canadian girl were good! Although as a combo tour it could get exhausting. Too bad the Spanish Steps and Pantheon were closed

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Kathjbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely recommend this tour. Our guide Teresa was great, very knowledgable and passionate. Being able to skip the line is helpful as well. The tour uses headphones so you can hear the guide at all times. 3 hours is just the right amount of time. A must if in Rome for a short time

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

james.tillman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is another long day of walking and mingling with the crowds. Our guide at the Colosseum was very knowledgeable and perhaps the nicest Roman in Rome. I would book a tour with him anytime. While this is a must see tour while you are in Rome be prepared for crowds around this popular site. The afternoon walk through Ancient Rome was perfect. If possible, plan on having dinner, coffee and a glass of wine then reverse the course on your own back to the Trevi Fountain for the evening lights.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

labelta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is must when in Rome! Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Vinay N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Tour guide was very informative, interesting and friendly. Learned a lot more that if we had toured the sites by ourselves. Skip the lines are a must. Saved potentially hours of waiting in lines.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Sue Francis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very enjoyable day with the two guides Sarah and Alba. Both passionate about Rome and its treasures!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very well done and Gianni of City Tours was wonderful. She made the tour come alive with very interesting history and background information.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Al

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best tours booked via Viator. Amazing tour guide. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jonathan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Anthony D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This Tour was excellent. Intially I was concerned it could be too long a day however that proved not to be the case. You got a good 2 hours in between each Tour so you can relax enjoy lunch and a drink before embarking on a second tour. Also because there is not a lot of walking in the Coloseum tour you have energy for the second afternoon. The pleasant and expert knowledge of the 2 Tour Guides - Julia for the Colosseum and Sara for the Rome Afternoon Walking Tour added immensely to the experience. They both seemed genuinely interested in the subject matter of the Tours and definitely had a deep knowledge of the subject matter they were talking about. They both should be commended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Claire L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant, would highly recommend this tour, we learnt so much from our guide Roberto who has pure talent.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Carole H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an amazing day! Both guides were excellent! However be adequately prepared for a lot of walking. My daughters pedometer calculated we had effectively covered 10 miles that dayincluding walking from our apartment to the Colosseum, about 2 miles. Heed the advice, wear good, supportive shoes, regardless of the weather! My head is still buzzing from all the information we were given. Our guide for Ancient Rome, had a PhD in Archaeology...he certainly knew his stuff...but put it over in a way that was easy to understand!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

These cards worked exactly as advertised and were well worth the money. Easy to validate and to use. I can't imagine touring Rome without them.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Maura and Sarrah were our tour guides for the Colosseum/Ancient Rome and Best of Rome tours respectively. Really great guides with awesome enthusiasm! We did this tour on our first day in Rome and it was 100 worth it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Colosseum tour was very informative and fun. The guide Sara N was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Touring the Forum could be overwhelming but Sara presented it concise and interesting. She kept everyones attention. I recommend this tour. We did not attend afternoon walking tour , too tired .

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

R W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nice walking tour through interesting sights

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Jack S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was an anthropologist and knew many interesting things to share. She hung in there when the rain and wind started.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I booked this tour via viator. The tour around the colosseum is absolutely amazing. The meeting point was just above the metro station close to the colosseum.

My wife and I arrived extra early to have our pictures taken with the colosseum's exterior. Good thing we did so because we didn't have time to take pictures during the tour.

We skipped all of the long lines into the colosseum considering it was quite crowded during that day.

Our lady tour guide who is an archeologist was very knowledgeable as she described to us the historical facts about the colosseum and the gladiators that fought in it.

We started on the ground floor of the colosseum and then went on to the upper levels where there was a view of the entire interior of the colosseum.

After touring the colosseum we proceeded to The Roman Forum where the ruins were situated.
The tour guide slowly discussed and showed to us pictures of what the ruins looked like when the structures were in good condition before.

The ruins were truly amazing. Next up was the palatine hill where our tour ended.

The total duration of the tour was about 3 hrs with a couple of toilet breaks in the middle. Take note to wear comfortable shoes as you will be walking in uneven surfaces, uphill surfaces and a couple of flight of stairs.

Overall I liked this tour.

Tour guide Joana who facilitated the afternoon tour was absolutely amazing. Her sense of humor kept us on our toes. We covered plenty of places such as The Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, The Pantheon among others.

I really enjoyed the afternoon tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

qiongsun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a first ime for our family visting Italy. This first guided tour was awesome. Our tour guide Francesca is a friendly, fun and knowledeable lady. We learnt a lot about Ancient Rome in compressed 3 hours. It was well worthy taking the tour than walking by ourselves and reading the signs. The skip-th-line is a must feature.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Rodney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Me being a history buff, I really enjoyed the tour of the Colosseum and our guide Josephe was fantastic! He was both very knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time. The tour was about 3 hours and I never lost interest at any time...which is very unusual for me! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Cathy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is a FULL DAY tour split into morning part and then resumes for the afternoon part.
Viator is a very organized and well run tour company, I have booked many tours with them in many parts of Europe.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour through Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel finishing in St Peter's. Our guide was wonderful - she was very knowledgeable and understanding of everyone's queries. Jumping the queues was definitely worth it!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message