• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1418 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Guide was very interesting and interested in the Colosseum. She was extremely knowledgeable and easy to listen to. Excellent

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Robert, our guide was so much fun! He was descriptive (he knows everything) and the connection of his tour and the book, he made just really brilliant. His comedic interludes regarding the content of the tour made it like you were in the backyard listening to a story with funny twists! The tour took you to the sites in the book, but you need no knowledge of the book to thoroughly enjoy this tour. The history of the churches....wow....excellent work...City Wonders has been amazing with every single tour I took, I highly recommend using them.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was my wife's real desire to visit Rome and the Vatican in particular. By opting for a smaller group we were able to get a thorough appreciation of this amazing site. Our guide was very well versed in the history and particularly the details about the artworks which added to the overall experience. Her passion came through and made the visit one of her all time holiday highlights.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very informative and guide very passionate about Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What an amazing day! Both tour guides were archaeologists so they were so knowledgeable and insightful, but most of all passionate. We learned so many interesting facts about the Colosseum, the arch of Constantine, the arch of Titus, and the Roman Forum. Then for the afternoon we explored a different part of the city to see the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. And even got to stop for a complimentary drink or gelato. Overall just a fantastic day of tours with excellent guides!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Chris P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easy to locate the meeting point above the colosseum metrostation. Put into tour groups, our guide was Maurisio or Morris, an exceptional guide who really knew his stuff (explained he was an archaeologist) and had a great sense of humour. Throughout the morning tour of the colosseum information was given at suitable points throughout the tour with loads of time given for photographs.
Once we had finished at the colosseum we walked over to the Roman Forumn, this was also fantastic (although in the hotter months of July or August I can imagine that it would become difficult to do as it's completely open to the sun).
Once the morning tour concluded we were very grateful to our guide Maurisio helping us out by taking us (partner and I) to a pizzeria which we would have never found.
The afternoon tour was again really easy to find the meeting point (Spagna metrostation) walk out to the palm trees and meet on the seats.
Our tour guide was Patricia who again excellent, she took us round: Spanish steps, trevi fountains, Pantheon. Loads of interesting information was given about the history of the area and attractions, which was great. Lots of opportunities for pictures as well as a drink and ice cream stop.

We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic, our tour guide was very informative and great sense of humor.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great entertainment and very interesting. Best tour I have ever been on

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a very interesting tour with a team of 3 very well informed and engaging guides (two for the Colosseum and Forum tour - Angelica and Marta; and one for the Best of Rome walking tour - Damiano). Their historical and archaeological knowledge was priceless to help "bring the places to life" and help us understand the background; they were also entertaining and humorous, so the tour would be appropriate for all ages.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This two part day tour was exceptional. I can't remember the two tour guide's names, but they both did an amazing job. I think my family liked the first tour of ancient Rome the best. During the first part (ancient Rome), the guide went through main parts of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill. If I didn't have the guide I can say that I would have spend all day walking around the Forum and Palatine Hill looking at everything and have no clue what everything was. She went through the basics and never became boring. The second part (walking through Rome) was nice. The pace wasn't too fast or too slow. We got to see everything the tour said it would. We had some time at the Trevi Fountain for shopping or throwing in a coin in the fountain. I read a review from this tour and one said that they don't go in the Pantheon, but we spend quite a bit of time in the Pantheon. Then we had gelato at a restaurant nearby. At the end, the guide told us how to get to where we wanted to go afterward. The only thing we didn't like was the guide kept telling my family that from Campo di Fiori that we needed to take the bus to the Colosseum, but we were able to walk it without his help. My family really enjoyed taking this the first day in Rome so we could get the basics of the attractions and where they are located and then spend the rest of our days in Rome going back to whatever attraction we wanted to spend more time at.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Mr:DARIO was very informative and very well like very professional.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The was a busy, enjoyable day. Both guides were great and knew their stuff. Masses to take in on these 2 tours, excellent value and the sights are awesome. The guides had an answer to any questions and you never felt as if you were being hurried, but somehow they kept to time - very professional. Will recommend at every opportunity. Thanks!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Last year we did the special Colosseum tour which takes you down to the basement and up to the upper level, that was great, but we were not disappointed with the "ordinary tour" last week, as our excellent guide had more time to explain about the history of the Colosseum and we had more time taking in the atmosphere (and not climbing steps!). The afternoon tour took us to parts of Rome we did not have time for last year, the highlight was the Pantheon, quite a unique building, the complimentary ice cream when we got out was special too!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message