Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2632 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I cannot recommend these tours enough. Both of our guides were amazing! Their knowledge was faultless and their humour perfect! Flat comfy shoes are a must but if you want to see and learn about the very best bits of Rome then you cannot do any better than these tours! I would go back and do it all again tomorrow!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Judy_ssrw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed our tour, seeing the places referred to in the book and movie. Our guide spoke English clearly and knew his stuff!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

NAWAR C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The colosseum and ancient rome morning tour with Serafina
- overall, the morning tour was very good in a sense that she kept it Very informative without overloading us, very good pace not so fast and not so slow , she is very friendly and made herself approachable for us and mosr important we were not bored at all.
- 5 stars for serafina

Best of Rome afternoon walking Tour with Maristella
-It was a good experience and chance for us to explore the old streets of Rome but some lapses were observed. She was talking too much and there was overload of info. She could have just picked up interestig facts especially that it was already crowded and too many places to pass by. Nevertheless, kt was a good tour.
4 stars for Maristella

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

renilr United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Simon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a very good tour and the guides were also excellent, we saw all the sites we wanted to and heard lots of interesting facts, just make sure you are prepared for a very long day as we were still walking after 5.30pm and if it is hot it would probably be too much.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

infante.alyssa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Sara was absolutely amazing and very informative. I had an amazing time and I would definitely recommend booking this tour.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

rod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of the best tours. Our guide was a Roman Archaeologist so the historical details he provided were spectacular and delivered with a lot of passion. Very full day but well worth it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Gareth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A must. Don't wait in-line, Make the most of your time in this fantastic city. Great guide..

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

charles l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great tour guide, very informative, 5 great deal

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing tour of ancient Rome and the area ruins. Everywhere you walk there are old buildings or pieces of them, Rome is truly breathtaking. Lots of walking with very knowledgeable guides. I could have easily spent the remainder of the day exploring the Roman ruins and skipped the afternoon tour. We only stayed for a portion of the afternoon walking tour because by then we were beat, and the tour went right by our hotel at dinner time so it seemed like a good time to rest our tired feet : You will hear the guide better if you bring our own headset because the earbuds that are provided are not a very good quality.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Terrific Value! Tremendous, informed and entertaining guide! This is a must do if you're going to Roma.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Valorie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was fantastic. extremely informative and easy to follow. a DEFINITE MUST DO while in Rome!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Brian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I had read the book and saw the Angels and Demons movie before coming to Rome and were so happy with this wonderful tour of churches, statues, fountains, bridges, castles, and other sites in the Eternal City. Our tour guide Michael provided a thorough overview of the book pointing all of the historical inaccuracies due to artistic license taken by Dan Brown and Hollywood in presenting the story. Michaels extensive knowledge of Italian art history and his sense of humor provided an enjoyable experience. A visit to the magnificent Castel Sant'Angelo with one of the most spectacular views of Rome and the Vatican was an excellent way of concluding the tour.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Paurick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was Guisseppe who was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the history of Rome.
I think visiting without a guide is a real mistake, was worth it to jump the queues!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guides English was at times difficult, but he made up for it with his knowledge. Enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Graham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Elizabetha was great. The tour was interesting and a good way to cover some of the main attractions in the city either as an introduction, or when time is short.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Gustavo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

very competent, well prepared and knowledgeable guide who shared her enthusiasm and love for the subject matter

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

MARIA DOLORES M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was exceptional. Very thorough insights and explanations on the sites. She even helped us by escorting us to the bus stop on our way home!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

clyde.langham39

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guides were on time and very well informed about the history and background on both tours. We really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

jackson.amanda88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour! Our guide, Sarah N. was amazing. She has a PhD. in Roman archaeology and boy does she know her stuff! We were in a large group, and she did well managing the crowd and keeping us all together. She answered all of our questions with ease and gave us great insights about all the history, drama and scandal of the Roman empire. I would do this again a thousand times over!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Heather K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We actually did both the morning and afternoon walking tour and it was almost too much to do in one day. I would certainly do one each day then spend time just wandering through the city. Both of our guides were very knowledgable and were very helpful in providing information regarding questions and concerns. My only issue was the end of the afternoon/evening tour was so far away from our hotel that we ended up having to take a cab back instead of using the metro or cheaper transport. Be sure to do your homework regarding accomodations!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable guide who brought things to life. There are some steep uneven steps to climb at times so if you are unsteady on your feet this might not be suitable for you.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message