• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Santa Maria del Popolo

One of three churches dedicated to the Virgin Mary that face the large Piazza del Popolo in northern Rome is the church that bears the same name as the piazza - Santa Maria del Popolo. Of the three, this is by far the most popular tourist draw, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1595 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WELL DONE!!! Our tour guide (Mike from Southern California) was simply outstanding. He integrated humor with history. I had not seen the movie or read the book and it was still a great experience. The tour started in a small Basilica which was really quite impressive. We trekked through the city and ended at St. Angelo's Castle. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Inga was a great tour guide; she took the tour at an excellent pace, it was very hot so would have been easy to get too tired, but we strolled around and found the shade where ever possible. She knows her subject very, very well and gave lots of background to the paintings, also history of the churches, the city and other famous sights which crossed our path. We stopped at Buccone (fab place for lunch by the way) for a glass of Prosecco and some antipasti after our first church, then finished the tour at a lovely wine bar near the Pantheon; more wine and antipasti! I would definitely recommend the tour if you like Caravaggio - you don't have to be an expert - and are interested in the history of Rome and like knowing more about the famous sights...and you like sipping Prosecco and eating antipasti!!

Doing what: Caravaggio Art Walking Tour of Rome with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Both the morning and the afternoon guides were excellent. A great way to cram in much of the Rome ruins in a short time, if you must. Of course wear something supportive on your feet, and be able to stand and walk most of the time. They supply wireless headphones, so you don't have to worry about being close to the guide to hear!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Louise did a great job of leading a big group and really helped make the tour come alive for us to help relive the book and movie. She did a good job of explaining what was in the book vs what was in the movie vs what was reality. it is also probably one of the only tours that really gives you a religious history of Rome and how it came to be such a center of Christianity. Even our kids enjoyed it and neither had read the book or seen the movie.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour guides - both very knowledgeable and interesting. They kept up an appropriate pace for a mixed group of seniors (me!) and younger people. A great way to see Rome and the Coliseum, Forum, and Palatine hill and palaces, and to learn about the history, culture, and archeology. Including a gelato break was fun and needed as a rest break. I would recommend this tour without any hesitation.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved Ancient Rome and the tour guides. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Franchesca was an entertaining and extremely knowledgeable tour guide. She made the walking seem like a wander through the most interesting city ever! It was she who made this tour. We enjoyed every bit and would thoroughly recommend her guiding anyone around Rome!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

excellent ! the 2 tour guides, Tario and Angela, were very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. They were experts on Rome, and they were fun. They would be fine teachers on Roman history, art, and culture. We were lucky to have them as tour guides, and highly recommend them. The tours were great, too. thanks.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Be prepared to walk a lot if you do both tours in the same day. We were all very exhausted by the time the tour was over and it took a lot of effort to get back to the hotel. Would be great if Viator gave this option over 2 days. Parents did not do the evening tour as the morning had totally drained them. Both Tour guides(Tario in the morning) were excellent inspite of the pouring rain in the morning. You must carry an umbrella since if the rain does not get you, the heat will. We experienced one in the morning and other in the evening. Either which way an umbrella helps.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Serafina was very knowledgable and passionate about the history of the Colosseum and surrounding areas. Unfortunately the Forum and Palatine Hill were closed due to a strike but she carried on with other points of interest. The afternoon tour was just okay. Too much to cram into one day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tours. Both guides were interesting and knowledgeable of the sites.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed this walking tour in Rome. Our guide Francesca is an archeologist and her knowledge of the sites made our tour fun and extremely interesting. This is a great way to see Rome and bring history to life.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great sights and great guide. Too bad the Trevi fountain was undergoing renovation and not running. A nice tour for those who are new to Rome and have a limited amount of time.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message