Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10228 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. GREAT GUIDE who was very knowledgeable. In spite of the heat and the crowds, she made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Perfect! The best way to see any bit city. The way to go! Had loads of fun! Great guides! Would definitely try it again!!!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Eleanora!! She was the best. So much history and fun facts combined. She answered every question we all had and made sure we all stayed together. When I come back to Rome I will definitely ask for her. Bmancini.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour of the Colosseum and Forum area. Our guide Ivana was an archaeology major and provided very interesting insight and information. She presented things in a way that made it enjoyable and not just boring facts. The tour was very comprehensive and I felt like we got to see and learn a lot about the Colosseum as well as the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill area. The group size was perfect and allowed for questions and interaction with the guide. The headsets are a great idea as well since you can hear everything clearly even with so many other groups and people all around. My wife and young adult children really enjoyed this tour and we all agreed we saw and learned so much more than we would have if we had done it on our own! We highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Rome and interested in history!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Francesca was absolutely delightful. The Forum was closed due to muddy conditions but she went out of her way to informative us on the Forum itself and we didn't feel like we missed anything. Great job Francesca.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Claudia was excellent. She came prepared, she gave each one of us an audio with ear piece. She was very knowledgeable and pleasing. She knew how to catch audience participation. She was great in her presentation. I would highly recommend this your. Please make sure that you are given an audio and ear piece to listen to what is being explained.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent way to see the country. They explained everything in the audio. Bestbwaybtonsee the country in a short time. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Marvelous tour with an exceptional guide who was previously an archeologist which provided a level of detailed information that was fascinating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Perfect introduction to the city. Helped get our bearings as to where everything was. Highly recommended and excellent value for money!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide and very informed. There is a lot of walking so be prepared! :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour, led by Francesca, was wonderful, informative, enlightening. My husband did have a difficult time understanding her with the accent, I could understand her quite well. Unfortunately, the heat of the day and the large amount of tourists and groups made it a bit challenging to maneuver and spend more time at special spots.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Claudia was very knowledgeable !!! We really enjoyed the tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I've done this trip three times now and Im ALWAYS impressed by the guides knowledge and way of communicating. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message