Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12067 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Fabrizio was a fantastic guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Skipping the line itself from the very long queue is a great advantage. Our guide is very considerate that she always find areas to keep us cool since it is very hot in Italy during summer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

SO MUCH FUN!! Our party of 7 loved it and our tour guide, Gulianna Julie was wonderful - funny, knowledgable and VERY patient as we had teenagers and grandparents on our party. The tour itself was really great - and we all enjoyed getting by the hoards of people - especially at the Coliseum. We saw some great sights and had a great history lesson too. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour on a Tues morning at 8:30 with tour guide Alexis. There were about 20 people in our group. The Colosseum is amazing! There is uneven walking in the Forum so be sure to wear good walking shoes. Also carry a water bottle as there are drinking water fountains dispersed throughout the Forum and you will need it if touring in summer months. Alexis was great. She was knowledgable and we learned many things about Ancient Rome on this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful. Our tour guide Francesca was extremely knowledgeable and passionate, and that came through as she was guiding us through the tour. Would absolutely recommend booking this tour, we are so glad we did.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We saw areas not usually open to the public and learned a lot as we toured. I definitely recommend going with this tour group. Pace and uneven footing makes this inappropriate for people with mobility issues.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lines were huge and it was hot so it was a great idea to skip the lines and the guide was very enthusiastic and careful to keep us in the shade as much as possible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The weather was not too kind to us. It was too hot and makes the walk difficult. The tour was fascinating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide and an excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were SO LUCKY that more spots opened up for the Underground portion of this tour! It was fascinating. Both our guides one was Emma were knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We had a really in-depth tour of the Forum ruins and then the Colesseum ending right near the Bookshop, to buy our souvenirs. I want to compliment both our guides on their awareness of the shady spots for us to gather in while they talked. It was an extremely hot day on the day we toured.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sev was exremely knowledgable and took time to answer questions. Good sense of humour and very considerate

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was great! We loved it. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of rome so it made it so much more interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome. Very informative. Would have liked to have been able to explore underground a bit.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seeing the Colosseum as part of a Skip the Line tour is a huge time saver and overall great experience. Alessandro did a GREAT job. Enormously knowledgeable and passionate, he was an amazing guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly informative, guide very, very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great city, great tour, highly recommend to all ages

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabio was an outstanding guide. Knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. He had the perfect visual aids, and brought ancient Rome to life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A brilliant guide with loads of knowledge and a great way to see the Colosseum and Ancient Rome! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great specially thanks to a great guide, Alessandro. He made it very interesting and vivid even for our 11yo twins boy and girl.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing building amazing history very good guide relayed a lot of information under quite difficult conditions ie heat and crowds guided tour a must

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our family really enjoyed the Rome City Bike Tour led by Hugo. It was a wonderful way to cover quite a lot of ground, get a feel for the layout of the city, and enjoy time outdoors. It also felt like an adventure!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and had many stories that made the tour more interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The place was amazing, the guide Barbara is amazing, caring and knowledgeable, always counting to make sure we didn't get lost in the sea of people, have an answer for all our questions, on the look out if people are getting tired as there's so much climbing and was a very hot day.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message