Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14021 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeremy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Doriana, was amazing. She has a doctorate in anthropology and has actively worked on excavations of sites around the Colosseum, and so she was able to provide a level of expertise and context that brought the history of ancient Rome to life. She's ridiculously overqualified to be leading tours, but we certainly appreciated her deep knowledge and her enthusiasm for sharing it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Loni M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Phenomenal! Very knowledgeable. The device used head set made her easy to hear and follow along from further distances. Wonderful tour! On time! Easy to find and connect with her tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jose H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best part of this trip other then the Colosseum was the instructor named Barbara very knowledgeable and informed you just enough but also let you experience the place without feeling like a class room teacher talking the whole time

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Julia I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our first introduction to Rome. Excellent tour. Our lovely guide, Allesia, made this tour very informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

srg1564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. It was a hot day and when she was talking to us she always tried to find a shady spot, we appreciated that extra consideration.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tony was a fantastic tour guide. He did a great job bringing the past splendor of the ruins to life. He also does a superb job of guiding the group through traffic and down skinny passages safely and efficiently. I highly recommend you ask for Tony as a group leader. This was my 4th Segway tour.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Allyson D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent friendly and informative guide. The very useful and detailed information would have been more easily understood and followed if a brief timeline of key dates events and emperors had been available.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Thai Nam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly knowledgeable tour guide who genuinely loves her job.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jerome W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Yea, Sara was amazing. Her knowledge was very impressive of the roman period. Of course our entire family (5) really enjoyed her sparkling personality and cute Little laugh. We felt she has done the best of 6 tours we have taken. We felt she should be awarded the best marks possible. The Wohlebs

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very thorough tour. Our guide was an archeologist and provided an excellent commentary. Not rushed and covered a lot of sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome!!! Ambra was a lovely tour guide and took us through lots of local streets that we would never have seen on our own. At every stop she shared valuable historic information and was very excited throughout the duration of the tour! 10/10!!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Tedrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome was quite interesting and enjoyable. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative. There is quite a bit of walking and stairs involved so be sure to wear good walking shoes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mrs Julie A F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a brilliant guide who really brought Ancient Rome to life!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

William Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The bike tour was great. I would recommend it.The guide was both informative and safety conscious.It was not too demanding physically so all could do it.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG!!! OMG!!! Ancient Rome is absolutely amazing!! I was overwhelmed with emotions the entire time, I felt like I had gone back in time. The best tour I've ever experienced. The Colosseum is a great tour, the structure and engineering are very impressive. The history of events that took place here were very brutal, I felt no emotional attachment to the Colosseum like I did in Ancient Rome. Rosanna is a terrific tour guide, born and raised Rome!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Theresa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this was a great tour that took us to all of the ancient sites. I learned so much more than if we had explored on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Helen Bircher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Colosseum tour excellent. Ancient Rome a bit gruelling on a hot day and definitely one for the younger generation. Tour guide was again excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Willy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was awesome. Bruno our guide was amazing, interesting and really knew his stuff. Best decision in how to see and experience the highlights of Rome.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Laura N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We very much enjoyed the tour of the colosseum. I wouldn and #39;t have wanted to go without a guide to interpret what we saw since it was all pretty overwhelming.
Our guide was funny and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellant tour!! Our tour guide worked at the Colosseum's archeological dig and was passionate about old Rome. The Colosseum tour was excellant and our guide assisted us in getting the best picture. The tour of the Roman Forum helped us to understand life in old Roman. Palantine Hill was so interesting - a must see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nicole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the tour and our guide. Great way to see lots of the city in a short amount of time, plus learn some of the history. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Miguel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The History, amazing and A Must if your visiting Rome!!!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Marisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Allesandro, was fantastic. As an archeologist he was so informative. This tour comes highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jacqui H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maria was awesome! Very knowable and was able to answer our never ending questions. My daughter and I felt she was talking directly to us during the tour and she was so passionate about the history and importance of Rome. Wish we could have had another tour with her :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message