Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10969 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Our guide was very warm, welcoming and funny. Her knowledge about the colosseum was excellent. There is a lot of walking and stairs to climb but it is all really worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was wonderful, and very knowledgeable. Very glad we booked this tour. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a true highlight of our trip. Our guide, Alessandro, is an archaeologist, and his passion for ancient history was clear and completely fascinating. Forget Gladiator...he brought to vivid and sad life the true story of young men from conquered cities who were forced to fight and die here. Our tour continued at the Forum and Palatine Hill, each spot made unforgettable by his knowledge, empathy and enthusiasm. I think everyone in our group felt the same, as at the end he got a spontaneous round of applause!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Felix was our guide, fantastic job. We really did skip all the lines and he highlighted everything I wanted to see in the Vatican in 3 hours! Great tour!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour...it was so special to witness what can't be seen from the outdoors. Our guide was informative and experienced, and knew all there was to know in order to answer our questions. This was an exhausting tour, but so worth every penny !!!...go for it

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous tour! Highly recommend! Great tour guide! Knowledgeable, personable and attentive! Would take this tour again!

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Segway tour was the best tour ever. We got to see almost all of Rome in 3.5 hours, priceless. Our tour guide Lucci was the best ever. She was so knowledgeable and funny, which made the tour more fun. I would definitely recommend this Segway tour over the rest.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely outstanding!!! Full of history and so much fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

When coming the Rome the site I wanted to see the most was the collisieum. This is the tour you want. The place is packed with people but this tour had a great guide and we got into the collisieum through a side entrance so no time was waisted. We got underground and on the top tier which were great

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

excellent tour and the tour guide was great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour of the city got see all the main attractions and little square and side streets.
Great information provided Ambre the guide.
All the family can enjoy as not too physical.
Really enjoyed great way to see the city

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide Damian was funny, and extremely knowledgable. You would never know what's what without a tour. He took us touting for about 3 hours. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Damien was great! So knowledgeable and as an archeologist so well qualified. Even though we were in a big group we still could ask questions and hear everything he said. Well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely brilliant! Marco was fantastic. He was great fun and very informative. A wonderful experience for all ages.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I was most impressed with her. While I only attended the portion of the tour for the Roman Forum, it was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide was fabulous. She was knowledgeable and informative. This was a fantastic tour and I highly recommend it. You must go to the underground and upper tiers. Our guide was also great at the Forum and even gave us directions to a fantastic place to eat after the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide Valentina was excellent, we were so pleased to be on her tour. We certainly got our monies worth and would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Lavi our tour guide, was exceptional in speaking clearly, watching over her group, cheerfully and enthusiastically, sharing much wonderful information, even coming to chat with every person on the way back!
The length of the trip was a little long.
Bus driver was incredibly skilled!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Honestly, I have no idea how you would get anything out of this site without a guide. It's packed, loud, and there isn't much in the way of informative signs. The guide was very good and helpful. She helped us navigate and was able to explain points of interest without having to force your way through a crowd to read a plaque. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mike J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide. Plenty of walking involved. Worthwhile to skip the large queues!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth it. You were granted access into areas that no one else was. The guide was excellent. She even showed us pictures that she brought with her of the colosseum as it would have looked when it was first built.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was so much fun,a wonderful way to see Rome,Great Guide,Lots of local information and very safe.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour and well worth the money. Skipping the security and turnstile lines for both the Colosseum and the Forum saved us a great deal of time standing in the hot sun and this made the tour worthwhile on its own.

However, all the incredible information our excellent guide, Vincenzo gave us brought the Colosseum to life for us. He had so much knowledge of the time and he was interesting and fun. A great tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message