Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11895 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding tour. Sev, a professor from Roma University, who was our tour guide, made the colosseum come alive by sharing his knowledge through storytelling. He was amazing with the wealth of information that he shared. The group number was a perfect size. The pace was steady and enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was very interesting. We did the upgraded underground tour. The stories are brutal of what went on in the Colosseum years ago. Ancient Rome was what you would think about when in Rome. There is a lot of walking though so if you have bad knees or a hard time walking this tour may not be for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

EXCELLENT tour guide, very informative and interesting! Love this tour and would definitely recommend for an educational tour of the Colosseum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great tour especially to ground you in the history of Rome. Well worth the upgrade. Our guide was very knowledgeable and skipping the lines is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I was luck to have Anjelica as my tour guide. She is extremely knowledgeable on roman history. Doing the VIP tour and early in the morning meant we didn't have to fight the crowds. Besides the Colosseum we also visited the Palatine hill and Roman Forum. A most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Although it was freezing our guide was excellent and tried to keep us moving when possible. She was very well informed and brought the Colosseum and Royal Forum to life. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent. The early morning start was a great option. Meant we could walk through the forum virtually alone, before the crowds. Very interesting. The collosium was fantastic. Especially underground and you also get to stand on the floor, where not many people are.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely wonderful tour! Our guide, Fabrizio, was amazing! He had an archaeology background and was able to give us so much insight into Roman life during the time period of the Colosseum. Visiting the underground chambers is a must! Being able to see where the gladiators and animals were kept, and the intricate system of trap doors to raise and lower the animals and gladiators gave us a new appreciation for what the games were like. Similarly, going to the upper tier rounded out the experience enabling us to view the colosseum as an attender would have in those times.

After our tour of the Colosseum we toured Ancient Rome with Fabrizio - this was wonderful also! Seeing the sites alone was ok, but the knowledge of our tour guide made all the difference in our experience.

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome. Well worth it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide Angelo was amazing. She was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly and personable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Alexander is a wonderful tour guide! I had limited time in Rome and he made sure that I saw all the best spots, took photos for me, and informed me of the history of each region. I had so much fun on my tour that I went for lunch with my guide afterwards. He is excellent and really paid attention to what I found interesting and how much I wanted to accomplish.

Doing what: Rome Vespa Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fantastic. Bikes were excellent and Cecelia was an expert in history and art. She took very good care of us. Would have liked 2 more hours.
Saw almost everything and new what to go back to later.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide for the Colosseum was exceptional, being on the stage felt like you were back in time fighting as a Gladiator. It was really an amazing experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message