Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13530 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really great! The guide was wonderful and knowledgeable. We had a really bad experience with the Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's. Hence, requested for a better tour guide, and they gave us Francesca! Highly recommend this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sharon A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. He was very aware that some might need extra time to reach each destination.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

moms travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! Our guide Marella was wonderful! Very knowledgeable and an archeologist! Loved the tour! Bathrooms were not adequate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

carolineagreville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Celinea was our tour guide and she was amazing what an experience would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding tour. We enjoyed seeing parts of the Colosseum on the tour upgrade with no crowds! Security took some time but the skip the line entry was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had lots of stories to tell. She kept us on schedule through the ruins to meet our archeology guide at the Colosseum. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Patrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

No better way to see and understand the Colosseum than this tour which takes you from the floor of the Colosseum to the top tier. Loved the history and insight provided by the outstanding tour guides. Loved seeing the pulleys and ramps used to bring animals and combatants to the stage or ground floor of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Ashley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great easy tour to book the orient yourself to the city.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Tina M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Francesca was amazing and did a great job leading us through the Coloseum and the Forum. This was a great tour and definitely best to have done it early in the day before it gets crowded.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

CRYSTAL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

They do a great job. The bikes are very well equipped and can handle any kind of terrain without straining you at all. We were able to cover much more ground to see the city by doing a bike tour, and our guide was very careful and forthright with dealing with Rome's crazy traffic! The weather was spotty and we got a couple of brief showers and had to do the poncho thing, but they provided those as well. Would definitely recommend them to anyone. If you have a short amount of time in a new city it's one of the best ways to gather much about the area in a short time.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Angie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

When we saw that one of the guides was Francesca, who had taken us through the Vatican City only days before hand, we requested that she be our guide again. Her knowledge of the Colosseum and the surrounds is remarkable. She is very easy to listen to and approachable with any questions that you have. Loved the tour..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nicky B Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I did this tour at 8.30am after arriving very late the night before. It was a very good decision! The light easy in the morning is fantastic. The visit, through the colosseum and forum was full of surprises and the Palatine hill, just wonderful. On my two days following, as I walked around Rome exploring on my own, I really looked back on this tour in setting the structure and background to my visit. Fantastic...highly recommended, but do it early...early in the morning and early in your visit to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Heather C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely brilliant. Easy, clear instructions to the meeting point and there's no way we would ever have learnt so much if we didn't have the tour guide. She was very informative, took care of the group and I can highly recommend that everyone does this walking tour. Fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

troys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, our guide Washington amazing

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

kenneth w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed our first guided trip although to start with the guide had problems with her microphone and it was almost impossible to hear what she was saying unless she stopped and held her mic still. However once she had replaced her mic it was perfect.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant tour, the best we've ever been on, our guide really made it special, he obviously has a passion for archaeology that's his other job. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing trip ,the tour guide was brilliant and very informative,clearly new her subject.sound system used was very clear ,not all trips were.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well worth the money, guide was very good and clear. Amazing views and access to the Colosseum that not everyone gets to see.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Ady C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Where to start? Meeting point was easy to locate and the team there looked after us from the word go. Both guides were most knowledgable and gave the information in an interesting manor. The tour over ran but this did not deter our guide from making sure we got and saw everything we had paid for. If you are going to the Colosseum this is the ONLY way to see it all and the the Forums afterwards. Great value for money.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, Emanuella really knows her info. Its an amazing place!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jerrold Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Caution any other travelers that the steps are seep and slippery when wet. But, we saw all we wanted and more. A very well informed guide. Very memorable trip.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative tour, was unsure as to do this or not before hand, but so glad I did

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Beata A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing experience. I highly recommend going on this tour.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Vasco the guide was extremely good and explained many things he kept us very entertained. Many thanks

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was again excellent, we had the early tour on a Sunday morning and was just right in terms of the crowds and the weather, the tour guide was very good, had great historical and anecdotal information also to impart to everyone, 5 stars, and highly recommended

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message