Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11524 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Barbara, our tour guide, was amazing. She really added flavor to our sightseeing experience, and made it much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great way to work out where everything is

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic tour and our guide was absolutely fantastic.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Irena was an outstanding tour guide very knowledgeable and passionate about her country!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Francesca, was terrific! She took her time and explained the sites in perfect English. I would recommend this tour to ours especially if you have limited time in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Giorgio and Leonardo were fantastic. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. They took us to places we would not have known about otherwise.

Doing what: Rome Vespa Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth it. Loved our tour guide she was fun and very informative to the history of Rome.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was phenomenal and really made the tour exciting and fun, despite the oppressing heat! Highly recommended! Especially with skip the line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved it. Easy to get to all the main sites

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome....wow colosseum is amazing. Be prepared if you do this tour as it is alot of walking but really worth it. We walked right to the top tier and also underground into the bowels. Tour guide was great and went through the history. This tour also included more walking to the capitoline and palatine hills. So much history and a must do when in rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a blast! This was one of the highlights of our European trip! We are an active, mature couple and we had so much fun doing this tour on a Segway! We were able to go to all the sights of Ancient Rome in an afternoon and come back delighted that we had not walked the hot streets, so much slower, among the throngs trying to get to the sites. We rate this as an excellent tour of the Roman Ruins and Capitoline Hill, seeing spots not available by foot. We had never been on a Segway before, but you can learn easily from the excellent Tour Guide and then be off to great fun!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

You should know that a bus tour is a great introduction to any city. This tour was excellent and fun to sit on the top level basking in the sun seeing the sights! Do it!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. We did not have to wait anywhere. Note that the stairs in the Colosseum are a challenge and an elevator is available, if you need it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was of a very high standard. Guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to get around the sites if you only have a short time in Rome and very informative.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message