Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13391 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

judith d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Serafina, was very informative and we enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour of such a historical site. Make sure to get the skip the line tour for this one, passed people that were in line for over an hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Cristy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sara was an amazing guide. So knowledgeable and kind. She went into great detail talking about the Colosseum, showed us what it would have looked like in it's prime and described every single stone we saw in the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. I can only sing her praises.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Graeme Maurice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was amazing enjoy the whole time, the person who took us around was very goods spoken very good English.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

By far our favorite tour while in Italy. Mariella was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. Seeing the ruins of the Forum and the Colosseum were amazing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Paul N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good tour but very long and tiring. Audio system was not very clear and that was disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Helen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an amazing experience - especially recommended the add on tour with regards to the underground - Elena our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

A M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A brilliant interesting tour with very professional guides Julia was exceptionally good, and so was the Colosseum special guide both very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Candace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was amazing and so knowledgeable! I absolutely would recommend this tour. Be ready to walk!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

popp.jens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good walking tour... more than 3 hours and no or minimal waiting at any line. Knowledgeable guide with interesting stories

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

jihad w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was really nice and answered all our questions

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Murdo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All round excellent tour with knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and kept the perfect pace for the entire morning. The Colosseum was amazing, as expected. But the Palatine was unexpectedly large and contained many more interesting and photogenic artifacts than expected. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I can't say enough good things about our tour guide and this tour. Definitely do the upgrade to go to the underground and top level of the colosseum. I loved the tour and the great learning about this massive wonder of the world. Don't pass this one up at all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Agnes our guide was excellent was able to inform us of so much and was so enthusiastic and keen to involve us. We were pleased we done the early tour as colosseum gets very busy .

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cant recommend this tour enough was the highlight of our trip our guide Valentina was amazing the underground chambers are a must

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Gemma F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fanstic. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best decision we made! Our tour guide was wonderful. It's such a fun way to see a city. No complaints.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Crystal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was worth every penny! Private viewing of the underground chambers and upper deck which brought great views of the Roman Forums. We thought the tour was just for the Colosseum but it covered Palatine Hill and the Roman Forums too. Our guide, Dora, was wonderful and gave such great details and answered all our questions. If you love history, you're definitely gonna love this!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Terence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great access to all of the Colosseum without lines and wait.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message