Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11598 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great hostel, right in the centre. Lovely clean room, very pleasant staff. I would recommend to anyone staying. We travelled with 15 and 11 year olds and they loved it too.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

You keep wondering how people thousands of years ago can built such a theatre. They did not have that technology still they did better than today's structures. Thats why these buildings are still standing and admiring the greatness of those people.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

fantastic, great way to see Rome, guide was well informed and fun

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

really good definitely worth it guided tour gives you so much information about the places you visit

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Superb value for money our guide Alex was very polite and informative,we got a real feel of the Colosseum and its history,would definitely recommend.

Billy and Geraldine Power

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was our second tour and like the other tour, could not have been better. ( Had Dario for both tours and this guide is as good as they come. Simply surperb

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour with a very passionate guide.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour Guide was fantastic,(can't rember her name) timings and the actual tour were great,loads to see and take in, highly recommend,booking on line before hand is the way forward.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well worth booking online cheaper, great way to get your bearings,

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour...bring your own headphones.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tiberio was AMAZING. I learned so much and got to go to places most people don't get to see. This trip is worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide, Fabrizio was perfect!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It felt safe and was a very easy way to get around with two grandchildren. I booked a 48hr one which worked perfectly. The weather was great too so we were on top all the time.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

a good way to see the sights.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We did this already in 2007, and it still is a good means to go around Rome on your own.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message