Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10901 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephen
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see this great city. Although the crowds were large there were plenty of buses at very regular intervals. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a great tour,the guide was very informative and learned,she has acquired a lot of knowledge as regards the colosseum and the roman forums which she shared with all of us.It was a half day tour but we covered loads of interesting things in this tour,walking inside the colosseum climbing the staircase and walking in the roman forums and climbing the palatine hill was amazing,my wife also loved the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with excellent guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great way to see Rome for the first time ... all the major venues included. it's also just a convenient way to get around the city, so recommend a multi-day pass for that.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to hit all of the highlights of the City without the expense of cabs. The trips are narrated in your native language and are very informative. We were able to catch a bus within 10 minutes of wait time at each stop. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a delightful time..saw places in Rome we had not seen before and our guide was very knowledgeable about the bikes and the sights! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Aronoldo was an excellent guide! His knowledge was astounding and the manner in which he gave the tour felt like he was telling us a well written story as opposed to simply fact after fact. It was great and I would do the tour again if I ever find myself back in Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour...even in the rain. Michaela was very knowledgeable about the Colosseum and the city and time period. It was amazing to see something you only have seen in pictures. Going up to the very top and down into the underground was an extra special treat especially after seeing the crowds. Got to love skipping the line. Its a must do trip!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great. Highly recommend it. Tour guide was very informative but intetesting. Wear a good pair of shoes lots of walking and climbing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I booked for 72 hours tours and we very much enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great Tour. Very Informative. Recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was Sabrina and she was great! She made the tour so informative with historical background and funny stories. Would highly recommend the tour, especially for first time visitors!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

this is a great tour, you really need to do it as soon as you arrive, it gives you a sence of how big the city is, allows you to explore at your own pace,and in your own time, we really saw a lot of sights you would probably miss if walking around, August is a really busy month in Rome so it pays to do this early in the day.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message