Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11913 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very cool! Saw the Colosseum from the inside out, learned the history of ancient Rome, very informative and saw so much!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very instructive tour enriched with a really friendly and kind attitude of the tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very instructive tour enriched with a really friendly and kind attitude of the tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was the best way to see all the sites in Rome. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

So interesting and informative. It was amazing

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was funny, so knowledgeable and friendly, she told us everything, answered everyone's questions and then the archaeologist tour underneath was superb and so fulfilling.. Well worth it..

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great experience!! Our guide (Christine I think is her name) showed herself pretty knowledgeable about the Colosseum!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience! Tour guides were great and upgrades to the arena floor and top tiers were well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience! Tour guides were great and upgrades to the arena floor and top tiers were well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a fabulous, informative tour providing great insight and historical perspective of the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. Since the tour started early, we were able to enter the Colosseum before the general public. Starting with the underground chambers, you got a good feeling of what it was to be a gladiator like all those years ago. Our guide, Roxanne, was born in Rome so was able to provide a lot of details and history of this area. The view from the third tier was just spectacular. Not only of the Colosseum itself but also of the city, the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. I loved Roxanne's 'magic book' which showed what you saw standing today plus an overlay of what it probably looked like years ago. It was incredible! Definitely a tour worth taking!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding tour. Sev, a professor from Roma University, who was our tour guide, made the colosseum come alive by sharing his knowledge through storytelling. He was amazing with the wealth of information that he shared. The group number was a perfect size. The pace was steady and enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was very interesting. We did the upgraded underground tour. The stories are brutal of what went on in the Colosseum years ago. Ancient Rome was what you would think about when in Rome. There is a lot of walking though so if you have bad knees or a hard time walking this tour may not be for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

EXCELLENT tour guide, very informative and interesting! Love this tour and would definitely recommend for an educational tour of the Colosseum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great tour especially to ground you in the history of Rome. Well worth the upgrade. Our guide was very knowledgeable and skipping the lines is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message