Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great tour. saw there were people who were on a tour of the area of the coliseum below the stage

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Awesome. Elisa was my tour guide and was probably the best tour guide I have ever seen.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

agbarry6
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow an excellent tour delivered by Alexander.
If you want something different and special do this tour, my husband and I did this for my birthday in February.
We requested off the beaten track and we definitely got that with lots of information on the day.
Four hours with plenty of stops to see the sights, love the car though be prepared to squeeze into the smallest car ever.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We are not tour people but it was worth it for this tour. Our guide Barbara was very knowledgeable and really brought the sites to life. I thought it was worth it to pay to get special access to the third level and basement of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide was Gabrielle/a (I do not remember which) gave a very informative and fun tour, definitely memorable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Our guide Damiano was fantastic and he made our tour a lot of fun which held the interest of our teenage daughters. He was very knowledgable about ancient Rome and had a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was ruined a little by the torrential rain (90% of the tour is ouutdoors), but the guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Despite the weather, I found it fascinating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I would definitely recommend this tour, Dario our guide was very informative and I learned so much! And as you can imagine, the lines for the Colosseum are ridiculous and with this tour you skip all of that. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was excellent, it ran smoothly, we weren't 'rushed' to get around the tour by a certain time and allowed plenty of time to take photos. Fabrizio was a great guide. Knowledge was impeccable and didn't rush with anything and was able to answer all questions, even if they were a bit obscure.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Guide was wonderful - knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fabulous view from underground and upper tier

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was excellent and we greatly enjoyed the experience. Much more than could anticipate. Thanks!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message