Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10791 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neil D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

small group of ventured forth for grande tour of main city sights and enjoying many of the vistas en route looking over the City of Roma. Reasonably quick paced tour and enjoyed same using this mode of transport. Guide was engaging and knowledgeable which made for an interesting trip. Recommend same, the views r worth it and an enjoyable experience to traipse around this City.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I like this tour and recommend it. It all comes gown the guide though. I've taken this tour before and I like the last guide better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was really cool to be able to go through all the levels of the Colosseum as well as hear about what is believed to have occurred during the time that it was active. Our guide was really informative.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great and convenient, not just to give us an overview of the sites in Rome but also to get from point A to point B when we needed to.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sev was a great guide and made the tour as much a history lesson as a guided tour can provide. We loved it and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a covenient way to see the city while having the option to get off at any stop. We used the service for a whole day, which helped us a lot getting around and take pictures.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was amazing very knowledgeable guide and very interesting. Would not recommend for people with prams as not very accessible.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Would highly recommend this tour, this company and our guide "Gi Gi". He was extremely passionate about his work and helped us learn so much more with his knowledge of the Colosseum. Our pass got us to skip the line which was very helpful especially with the line standing in the hot August sun! Dont do it alone-go with the tour!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide very knowledgable and always attentive to the needs of her group.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved this tour! Our guide Francesca was an archaeologist to trade and knew her subject very well as you would imagine! My boyfriend and I got to the Colosseum early and decided to explore but the ruins that we were looking at took on an all together different meaning once we met up with our guide! She took us around everything again but this time it took on an altogether different meaning. Did you know that Mossolini bulldozed a massive fountain that sat outside the Colosseum for hundreds of years because it as in his way? Or that they used to flood the Colosseum and hold sea battles?? With ships and everything!! Amazing! And we would never have known these things without our wonderful guide, or managed to skip the horrendous queue! well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A lot of fun, seeing below the colosseum wasn't really worth it as it's basically demolished. However, getting to climb to the upper tier was spectacular

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

You get to see more of the hidden Rome this way.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Wendy T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing. The Colosseum took my breath away. Our tour guide Sara was so informative and friendly. She really made such a difference to our tour. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn about the history of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour guide, Francesca, who is a historian and an architect and had herself discovered the remains of a marble statue of a horse on display in the Colosseum, or Flavian Amphitheatre, as we know it now!

Francesca is an excellent guide and used her passion for her subject to our advantage, and the time spent with her was great, very much enjoyable for my whole family. I thorough recommend city wonders, worth every penny. Amanda Jones

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message