Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11490 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Damiano was informative and fun. Well worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, very good tour guide, very informative. Well worth doing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Clare T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had a great tour with a friend. I regularly do bike tours when in a new city, but I was a little concerned as I saw no one on a bike before the trip! However, nothing to fear :- Our Dutch guide, Imke was great. Knowledgeable, fun and rode at a good pace for all of her charges :-. We saw a lot and went to many locations I simply would not have walked too. One of my favorite parts of my weekend away!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour. Wish we could have seen other parts, but waited too long to book the excursion. Learned a lot from the guide and would absolutely go back. Fascinating place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable as well as educational. We were able to see areas that would normally be off limits to the average tourist. The views of the Colosseum and later the Forum and Rome from the Palatine Hills was absolutely stunning. I would highly recommend this tour to people who want to get a real understanding of Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Alessandro, was knowledgable, engaging, and funny. He made every aspect of our tour worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Barbara, was both informative and funny. We greatly enjoyed our tour and reccomend it to anyone interested in Roman history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience. The guide was great and was great to see the less crowded areas of the colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was fantastic - Sara N was our guide and she completely made the tour for us. She was so enthusiastic. Definitely take a tour rather than do this by yourself - you find out so much that the books dont tell you. Do it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour! We had a wonderful guide !!! This tour is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such a great introduction to Rome and such fun. We stopped at all the interesting sites for photo opportunities and for excellent explanations by our guide. The Segways are really easy to use and we felt very safe. Would love to do it again in other cities.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding tour director, her name was Maristella who went over and beyond historical events. Highly recommended for those who have never been to the Colosseum or through Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great way to see Rome. Traveled mostly on narrow side streets, away from traffic. Saw many landmarks and got some exercise at the same time. Excellent bikes and helmits. They provide a bottle of water, which was needed as it was almost 90 F at the 5 pm start time. Tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. You should be in relatively good shape and know how to ride a bike. Its not strenuous, but there are a few minor hills.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide was Angela and she was terrific. There is A LOT of walking on this tour, and it was very hot. Wear comfortable shoes and bring plenty of water. But it was so interesting and beautiful - highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bruno was the best tour guide! He was so knowledgeable and we learned so much on our tour. It was a great way to really see and get a feel for the great city of Rome!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour with a very knowledgable guide (Sev). Well worth the freight.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour.... Lot of walking involved so be prepared but after seeing the queue for on the spot ticket getters you will breath a heavy sigh.... the guide was very informative !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hysterical. A Blast. An Italian party on a Tram. The staff was fantastic. The wine was plentiful the keep your glass full. The food was great. The band was spot on. The singers side burns made the evening. It is really really loud so be prepared. A great way to take a breather after all the historical tours. They don't talk about the sights so just come to eat, drink, and be merry.

Doing what: Rome Sightseeing by Antique Tram Including Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide Alessondro was very knowledgeable and professional. Did an excellent job.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and very interesting. Guide helped tourists after the tour to find the best routes to their next adventure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour and well worth the service of a knowledgable guide who studied historical restoration. He had a wealth of info about both the Colosseum and Forum areas that were very interesting and helped us appreciate how Ancient Rome evolved. We highly recommend this tour. A word of advice... Hydrate! There is no water beyond the entrance of the Forum and it's extremely hot. We were not able to finish the hike up Palatine Hill, but that was around noon. This tour may be better toward the end of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Imke - our guide was great. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Underground chambers and upper tier inclusions are well worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Paton W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was absolutely great. Try to get Gigi, he is great and really makes it all worth it. Don't even think about the little bit extra money, go see the dungeons and the few from top rocks.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message