Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11762 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very convenient. We used it every day. The buses come often.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very knowledgeable tour guide and the experience was amazing

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour but too short! Dario was a great guide, we'll informed and entertaining.
There's so much history to be heard on the tour that a few hours is not enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We learned a long time ago that the primary reason it was best to take these bus tours on our first day in a new city we were touring to get a 'lay of the land.' Then we'd have a much better feel for what and where we wanted to go. It's also a good taxi alternative if the timing is right.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide (for the 0830 tour ... we regret greatly that we can't now recall her name) was personable, engaging and so very knowledgeable. We both enjoyed ourselves and absorbed so much about the Coliseum, Forum ... So much so that we were inspired to purchase and are now readng a number of books on Rome's history, architecture .... Without question, we recommend the tour (and please identify the guide so that she could receive the credit for making possible for us so wonderful an experience. Again, this was the c. 0830 tour on October 29th, 2014).

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic trip and well worth the money

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our Tour Guide was so enthusiastic, she was great. The roman ruins did not disappoint, it was a great walk through history. The magnitude of the colosseum was unreal, it was like being in a movie set, but better. We enjoyed having extra time to wander through the colosseum at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WE BOTH ENJOYED THE PRESENTATION MADE BY OUR TOUR GUIDE.. THE LITTLE HEARING DEVICES MADE IT VERY ENJOYABLE TO KEEP UP WITH THE DESCRIPTIONS OF WHAT WE WHERE LOOKING AT.THE PACE OF OUR GROUP WAS FINE. PLENTY OF TIME TO SEE AND ASK QUESTIONS AND ADEQUIATE REST ROOM STOPS..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A perfect way to see Rome, Giorgio and Marco were amazing, so knowledgeable and passionate about their city, so much we would never had known without them. It was good to see so many off the tourist route places and views we didn't know existed. Even though it poured with rain a couple of times they were just as enthusiastic as us to carry on. A brilliant way to spend 4 hours.

Doing what: Rome Vespa Tour: City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour with Alexander who took us to places off the beaten track that we would never have found on our own. His stories of what he showed us were interesting and informative and we highly recommend the tour and Alexander to anyone who wants to see the "real Rome".
Keith and Jenny

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great day in Rome. The guide was the best

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip . We were 11 mums on a weekend away - this trip was definately one of our highlights. Cecilia our guide was lovely. Very kind and knowledgeable. Very interesting snippets of info that wouldnt be found in a guide book. No need to be concerned about traffic - only the odd pedestrian in the way!
Would do it again, and again !

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great way to see a lot of the city in one day. And the stops are perfectly located near the main attractions. We took a train from our cruise boat, got off at the S. Pietro stop and walked to the Vatican to catch the hop on hop off bus. It was a perfect day!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour offered sights not available in most tours. It was wonderful to be able to see the underground chambers, stand in the arena and view the upper tier.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Far and away the best fun I've had sightseeing ever ! Frankly our party of 4 ( all over 55's) were more than a little anxious about trying the Segways but as they say "when in Rome". After the usual "how to's" and general safety tips etc we were off! We covered so much more than we could have on foot or an organized bus trip etc. Our guide was excellent and quickly dispelled any qual;ms we may have had. She was really well informed and gave us a fabulous insight into ancient and also modern Rome. I can highly recommend this activity!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message