Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

At first Alessandra trained us on how to use the segway and gave us enough time to practice before starting the tour. Then she took us to all the most important places in Rome, caring and even taking pictures of us segwaying in front of the landmarks! She was very patient and has great knowledge about Rome. The tour was really fun, well organised and professional. I would do it again and again in every city I visit.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had Francesca as our guide. She was fantastic. Our tour went for nearly 4 hours. Well worth the money. Very informative. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to go off on our own and explore the Colosseum after the tour. The walk through the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill was excellent as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Group was not to large, saw a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Barbara our tour guide was great. She was very knowledgeable and fun. Answered all my questions. This tour got us into places the general public could not. We felt special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an excellent experience with a fantastic guide who was knowledgable and funny. David had a way of connecting with everyone on the tour and making it feel more personal-kept my children interested which was not easy in the hot sun.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide and very interesting

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour with a great guide! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the most wonderful guide called Barbara who spoke very clear English and was incredibly informative. The tour was everything I hoped it would be. Perfect in all aspects.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I traveled to Italy with my husband and 3 kids and this was the first time the kids had been to Europe. We were trying to find things to do that would appeal to kids and we hit it on the nose with this one! But not only did the kids enjoy it, my husband and I did too! Our guide, Ugo, was great. Very knowledgeable about Rome and told us fantastic facts about the city. The tour was 4 hours long, which seems like a very long time to be on a bike, but it was broken up by stops at all the sites around Rome, an explanation and then, while Ugo watched the bikes, he would send us off to explore for 15-20 minutes. He took us to parts of Rome that we would never have gone to had it not been for the tour. My favorite was the view at the top of Palestine Hill that looked down on the ruins. You can pratically see what it looked like back then! All 5 of us had a great time and enjoyed the 2 scoop gelato that came with the tour! Thanks Ugo!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved this tour. Tour guided was great, she was very helpful, very informative and spoke great English.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting ,the guide Francesca was very professional and with a large experience. She has the answer for all the questions. I give five star for this trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very hot day but the tour was well worth it. Our tour guide was very good, too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An outstanding tour of Ancient Rome, including the Roman Forum, the Palantine Hill, and the Colosseum. The highlight was a tour of the subterranean area of the Colosseum. The tour guide was excellent. She is an archeologist and so really knew the sites very well.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent trip! Got to see loads of Ancient Rome and had great fun on the Segway Barbie was amazing! Would totally recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was Frenchesca and she was amazing! Skipping the lines was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was very informative and interesting. It was nice to do the Roman forum before the colosseum as it gave you the knowledge and understand of how and why the colosseum came about. The tour guide was very passionate about Rome and what happen to create it. She answered all questions with a stream of information and seems as if there was nothing she did not know! A big thank you to the tour guide for a lovely morning and very interesting tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was amazing, so full of information. The tour was well organized, they had everything well planned out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour with Alex , well worth the price , just to skip the queue ! .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! There was a long line of people waiting to get into the colosseum and we were able to go straight to the front. Our guide, Hilaria, was excellent as well! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Valentina was a wonderful guide, very knowledgeable and interesting. We thoroughly enjoyed her tour. She was very patient with all of us about 25 people especially as it was very hot, and some people in the group found the heat and the walking difficult. She managed everything, was patient and friendly, and I would definitely go on another tour with her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What an amazing tour - it was hot but our guide made us forget about the heat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was Sev, a lecturer at a local university and an archaeologist. His narration of a typical day at the games, in days gone by was riveting and made it all come to life for us. We felt like we had been given a ticket for the games and shared the excitement and anticipation with tens of thousands of other ancient Romans. Sev spoke of the days activities, hunting and killing the animals that would be dressed and cooked for lunch later in the day, the wild, strange and exotic beasts that were defeated by warriors, the punishment of criminals and Christians then the battles and fighting of their revered gladiator heroes. It was spellbinding. Sev's depth of knowledge, stories and anecdotes of life in Ancient Rome continued all through the walk around the Roman Forum and around the ancient ruins. The tour was well paced with plenty of shady rests on a very hot day. One of our highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour was great, but I highly suggest that travelers only do one tour a day. We made the mistake of doing the Vatican and the Colosseum in the same day. Exhausting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message