Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13405 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Conrado P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

No waiting line, undergrounds and last floor, very good!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fascinating tour of the Colosseum and some of the ancient sites in Rome.
Giovanna was very passionate about the subjects and was just a very pleasant guide.
We liked this trip very much and would recommend Giovanna to anyone wishing to take a tour with her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I travelled with my husband and 11 month old baby in April 2016. After reading reviews of other visitors, I decided to visit Colosseum early morning 8:30 a.m. tour as apparently the sun can get very hot during the day. But the weather was almost like in winter on that day and it rained a bit too, so dont forget to bring your raincoats/umbrellas. They dont allow strollers as there is a lot of walking and climbing stairs, so my husband carried the baby in a baby carrier. Due to the recent terror attacks the security is very high in Colosseum where everybodys checked with their personal belongings, which I thought was a good thing. There are many souvenirs and bookshops so if you want to buy them you can do it here. Transport is quite easy to and from Colosseum as the metro stop is there and taxis can be found behind the Colosseum. Our tour guide was Laura and she shared some great insights. She kept on saying use your imagination as she went into great detail talking about the Colosseum and showed us pictures from a book of what it would have looked like in its prime.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dario was a great guide who knew all the historical event dates and times so he was able to dispel inaccurate tales and provide us with the true history. He was patient, provided breaks and once he knew I had a knee replacement, went out of this way to ensure access to an elevator. Excellent job and excellent human being.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Diane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour of the Roman Forum, Palestine Hill, and Coliseum. Our tour guide was very informative and made the history interesting. I like ending in the Coliseum so we could see other items there that we didn't see on the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour. We had a great guide. Well worth the money to see the underground chambers.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide with more knowledge than I could have imagined. Presented in a fun way to keep our group engaged.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Maria Elena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour , even though we arrived late to our tour , they were very helpful in getting us to our underground meeting point. Truly enjoyed tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Latham W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The fact we started so early was quite good. We missed most of the crowds as we walked through Ancient Rome. The guide was quite good, and related a great deal of information about Ancient Rome. The Colosseum tour was good, but not quite as good as the walking tour of Ancient Rome. By the time we got to the Colosseum, the crowds were quite heavy. Good news is that we skipped the lines. Great morning and early afternoon. Ate at the metro stop across the street, which was good as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We did this tour on our first full morning in Rome and thoroughly enjoyed it. It gave us a very good overview of the geography and key sites of the city which stood us in good stead for the rest of our trip. The tour company is well organised with good equipment and plenty of staff on hand to help with seat adjustments. Our Italian guide, Danieli, spoke very good English and provided us with a hugely interesting tour. He took good care of our 11-year old son who always rode behind him. We rode sometimes on main highways, very busy with traffic, sometimes on quiet side streets and sometimes in pedestrian areas. We had plenty of stops to see the beautiful piazzas and churches along the way and time for a coffee or a gelato mid-morning. In 4 hours we took in all of the key sites in Rome and crossed over the Tiber into Trastevere, but we did not get as far as the Vatican or St. Peter's. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

vdiorio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

EXCELLENT TOUR!! Guide was very knowledgeable and interesting and funny. Well worth it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

judith d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Serafina, was very informative and we enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour of such a historical site. Make sure to get the skip the line tour for this one, passed people that were in line for over an hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Cristy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sara was an amazing guide. So knowledgeable and kind. She went into great detail talking about the Colosseum, showed us what it would have looked like in it's prime and described every single stone we saw in the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. I can only sing her praises.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Graeme Maurice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was amazing enjoy the whole time, the person who took us around was very goods spoken very good English.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

By far our favorite tour while in Italy. Mariella was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. Seeing the ruins of the Forum and the Colosseum were amazing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Paul N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good tour but very long and tiring. Audio system was not very clear and that was disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Helen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an amazing experience - especially recommended the add on tour with regards to the underground - Elena our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

A M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A brilliant interesting tour with very professional guides Julia was exceptionally good, and so was the Colosseum special guide both very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Candace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was amazing and so knowledgeable! I absolutely would recommend this tour. Be ready to walk!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

popp.jens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good walking tour... more than 3 hours and no or minimal waiting at any line. Knowledgeable guide with interesting stories

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

jihad w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was really nice and answered all our questions

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message