Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10933 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth it. You were granted access into areas that no one else was. The guide was excellent. She even showed us pictures that she brought with her of the colosseum as it would have looked when it was first built.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was so much fun,a wonderful way to see Rome,Great Guide,Lots of local information and very safe.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour and well worth the money. Skipping the security and turnstile lines for both the Colosseum and the Forum saved us a great deal of time standing in the hot sun and this made the tour worthwhile on its own.

However, all the incredible information our excellent guide, Vincenzo gave us brought the Colosseum to life for us. He had so much knowledge of the time and he was interesting and fun. A great tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour guide and memorable tour. SKIP HOP ON HOP OFF TOUR...it is overbooked and nothing works well. Save your money and take the metro and/or a cab.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabrizio is a great guide, he shared his knowledge very well. Standing in the arena, visiting the underground chambers and walking to the top tier was a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and was able to tell us what things were like when the Colosseum and Palatine Hill were bustling. The guide was very concerned when someone left the group without telling him and he did all he could to try to find the person. It slowed us down a bit, but we still saw everything on the tour and had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide's name was Serafina, and she was wonderful. We really enjoyed her explanations of the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. She also explained that the Roman water fountains around the city contain drinkable water and are free to anyone. This was very helpful on the hot, sunny days!! The Underground Tour of the Colosseum was amazing and very interesting to learn more about that section of the history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, well worth paying for skipping the line as the queue was long! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. A must for anybody visiting Rome, after all who doesnt want to see the Colosseum! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Segway tour was loads of fun. Juliana, our tour guide, was super nice. She gave us a good overview of Rome and we got a good feel of the lay of the land. We were able to then choose what we wanted to go back and see more in depth. The Segways were lots of fun and not hard to learn at all.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Omg, what a tour. Our guide was arheologyst Alexandro and we could not imagine a better guide. So much history and detailed explanations. Organization of tour was superb also. Our tour was even longer due to bathroom break delay and Alexandro did not rush us at all. This tour was just spectacular.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Perfect, very knowledgeable guide, amazed by info she gave us and kept us upbeat, she was very happy to be there and to share history with us, Thanks Sarah

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Up, down and all around!!
This is the only way to see the coliseum !!
Our tour guides were great -so much information. I was only half listening because I was in such awe of what I was seeing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour with a very good guide. Very hot in the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill but water bottles can be filled from a fountain in the Hill. This was an early afternoon tour on a hot May Day 30 degrees C that would have benefitted from the cooler visit to the Colosseum being programmed before that to the outdoor Forum. Thoroughly recommend this small party tour to include the underground chambers and floor of the arena.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Both tour guides were excellent. This tour lived up to our expectations and more. Would certainly recommend it to beat the crowds, but also to gain an amazing insight into history during this time and see places not normally open to the public.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was amazing and she had in depth knowledge about the history and the value of this monument. She brought it alive with her stories and titbits of information.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. The guide's knowledge was excellent. The radios were good as we could hear what he said.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good Experince n very Informative Guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating walking tour of the colosseum and the forum. Our tour guide was informative and explained a lot of things out of the norm. A great visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great. The guides were wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!! Unfortunately the day I did the tour on poured rained but our guide GiGi did not lose any of his enthusiasm so it was still a great day. He was a wealth of knowledge and his excitement for the material made the it very interesting!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message