Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10774 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Would highly recommend this tour, this company and our guide "Gi Gi". He was extremely passionate about his work and helped us learn so much more with his knowledge of the Colosseum. Our pass got us to skip the line which was very helpful especially with the line standing in the hot August sun! Dont do it alone-go with the tour!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide very knowledgable and always attentive to the needs of her group.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved this tour! Our guide Francesca was an archaeologist to trade and knew her subject very well as you would imagine! My boyfriend and I got to the Colosseum early and decided to explore but the ruins that we were looking at took on an all together different meaning once we met up with our guide! She took us around everything again but this time it took on an altogether different meaning. Did you know that Mossolini bulldozed a massive fountain that sat outside the Colosseum for hundreds of years because it as in his way? Or that they used to flood the Colosseum and hold sea battles?? With ships and everything!! Amazing! And we would never have known these things without our wonderful guide, or managed to skip the horrendous queue! well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A lot of fun, seeing below the colosseum wasn't really worth it as it's basically demolished. However, getting to climb to the upper tier was spectacular

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

You get to see more of the hidden Rome this way.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Wendy T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing. The Colosseum took my breath away. Our tour guide Sara was so informative and friendly. She really made such a difference to our tour. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn about the history of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour guide, Francesca, who is a historian and an architect and had herself discovered the remains of a marble statue of a horse on display in the Colosseum, or Flavian Amphitheatre, as we know it now!

Francesca is an excellent guide and used her passion for her subject to our advantage, and the time spent with her was great, very much enjoyable for my whole family. I thorough recommend city wonders, worth every penny. Amanda Jones

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best way to see the colosseum. We found the tour to be very organised. Even with the crowds the tour went really smoothly. Our guide was great, she was very knowledgable. Had a great time.
Would definitely book with Viator again.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything was as I hoped it would be.the guide that assisted in the colosseum and took us to the roman forum was the best.I wish I coul d remember her name Is it Francesca.She deserves a lot of praise.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It pays to take the tour and get to see all the levels of the Colosseum! The new floor is open and worth going out onto. You can really feel the enormity of the stadium from the floor. The upper tier provides awesome views of the Colosseum ad well as ancient Rome. The forum was more of my husband's thing...he said he was really happy with the tour and the guide. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our your was amazing! Our guide was very knowledgable and nice. He was also very funny which kept our tour interesting. I would not only recommend viator, but I would recommend him as well!! Thank you so much!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Segway is just the "best" way to see Rome. Effortlessly gliding through the history and beauty of Rome, guided by Martina. The running commentary was interspersed with videos on her i-Pad. We covered a vast area and learnt so much.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with quite extensive walking so be ready!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour and guide but very tiring. Might be better to split this up so that one doesn't lose concentration at end

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message