Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11883 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a fantastic tour. We saw Rome from a differente perspective. Our guide Riccardo was amazing. The best thing we did in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. Highly recommended and great skipping the queues.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour as we learnt a lot while also getting to skip really long queues. Going to the chambers and upper tier made us feel really special as very few people had access. The Colosseum was amazing you could almost hear the gladiators fighting and the lions roar! We would definitely recommend it and thought that our guide Francesca was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a spectacular experience, our guide was very knowledgeable and we really got the entire experience! A must see in Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic excursion! Our driver, Virginia, was so friendly and professional. She asked what we wanted to see and made sure we saw it. She also made other suggestions. Seeing sites at sunset and lighted at night gave Rome such a magical ambiance. We saw so much more in one evening than we ever thought we could. The car was so adorable! This was the highlight of our trip and we would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative, great guide. Skipping the lines saved a lot of time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth it. We had a great guide, Vincenzo, who balanced his deep understanding of the colosseum and its contexts with an entertaining and personal approach to the experience. We would recommend this highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide an architectural student was very knowledgeable. He knew all the history behind the Colosseum. The problem we had was it was too hot to enjoy. The walking with all the stairs was very difficult, the guide took many breaks and he tried to find shade but I would not recommend this tour in July.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely schedule a tour and do not try to visit the colosseum on your own! Skip the line entry is a huge bonus! Our guide was great and had lots of information for us!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took this tour in 100 degree weather...........it was hot. We had a great guide that gave us frequent water breaks and would find shade for us when she wanted to share information. It was a great tour, my teenagers learned about history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience! While it was extremely hot, it was well worth it. If we did not take this tour we would have been waiting in line easily for a few hours. Our tour guide, Alexandria, was also amazing! Because we were in the blistering heat for such a long period of time she always kept our groups comfort in mind and would have us standing in shaded areas during the tour. She was well educated about everything on the tour and was able to answer any questions that came up.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour that allowed us to skip the line a wonderful option in the middle of summer and gave us insight into the Colosseum and Forum that we wouldn't otherwise have. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide Serafina. Excellent tour. Well paced and informative. If you've never been to Rome, skip the line access is key. Lines for the Colosseum are long and hot -- you'll spend significantly more time in line than you will enjoying the venue. Having a guide brings the place to life. This tour is a great way to see the Forum and then see the Colosseum from three very unique perspectives that others simply don't see. Don't hesitate.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a an amazing tour and how exciting it was to get to go beyond locked gates and see sites that not every tourist gets to see! Both tour guides were exceptional, especially Tiberius! This is an amazing piece of history and so much more than your imagination.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Syl
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another excellent tour. Our guide was first class. She was so knowledgeable and passionate about Ancient Rome and really brought it to life for us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, the guide was extremely knowledgable, I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Book the upgrade. This tour was amazing. We got to see so much that most people don't get to see. This trip is entirely worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved this tour it was so much fun biking through the city. I was initially worried that we would be biking through the crazy traffic but our guide took us through back streets and side streets away from the cars and made sure we all had a great experience. It was very hot but on a bike we had a cool breeze and it was a great feeling. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was incredible! Not only did we see everything we wanted to see in a few hours and riding segways is super fun! We learned so much from Marco that I wouldn't learn from any book or class. He made it so fun and interesting!
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone! Amazing.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite being very hot the guide was great and did her best to keep everyone entertained and in the more shady spots

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lee 337
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was undertaken by my wife and I.
It was absolutely fantastic and the tour guide, Marco ,was a genius.
He is an Archaeologist studying for his PHD so the information was second to none !
If you do this tour, do it with Marco.
Well worth the money and will do this again on my return !!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

chasitymeyers
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Gigi made this tour! His passion comes to life as he describes where the gladiators stayed and what life might have been like long ago. Being able to stand where they stood and feel what it would have been like to face your opponent. LOVED this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Rosie whom was our guide was amazing as was the tour. I would not hesitate to book through Viator in the future. Well worth it to skip the huge lines which would be horrendous in the high heat of the summer. The guides give you head sets and hold a flag to ensure you do not miss anything or loose them. They explain the history of the buildings in the shade were possible and ensure you fill your water bottles at the fountains if required and give you a toilet break. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message