Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Francesca was amazing! She was so passionate and knowledgable about the history of Rome and made for the perfect tour guide. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was great and full of information. The skip the line ticket was great we didn’t have to wait in line at all. There is plenty to see and learn from this tour even if you think you know it after this tour you have even more knowledge. Good guide and great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour! It got us pass the line without waiting and took us to parts of the colosseum that a regular ticket won't. Great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was probably our favorite historic site to visit. There was so much history and such amazing stories behind it all. Sev was our guide and if you're lucky enough to have him as your guide then I know you will definitely enjoy your whole tour. He's super passionate about the history and makes the storytelling interactive and enjoyable. We were blown away by the remains and the small recreations that help tourists picture what the real thing would be like in Roman times. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great way to get acquainted with a new city. The multi-lingual audio system will enhance what you're seeing. The routes are designed to give you the best overviews. The bus stops are sometimes hard to find, and though they attempt to stay on schedule, traffic often causes delays so be patient.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative and interesting tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was great, highly recommended. Lovely knowledgable guide Maria.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guide
Information helps understand so much

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Rome City Bike Tour was the highlight of our trip! Bruno our tour guide was amazing and had an incredible background on Roman history. We learned so much and had a great time. We highly recommend the experience and plan on taking other city tours on our next vacation. Molto grazie!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the high lights of our trip. We had the best tour guide ever, Francesca. She was very knowledgable and we got information we would never have known if we hadn't had her. Friendly, informative, fantastic. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very easy to visit all locations Hop on Hop of

works well. Not to much waiting between buses.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sarah was an amazing guide to start our holiday. She was so patient with the questions my children had and had such an extensive knowledge of Ancient Rome with her Archaeology background.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW!!! I would never have dreamt that there were so many stories about the Coloseum, Circus Maximus and many other sites nearby. Our Guide Francesca was just wonderful. It was like attending Roman History 101. We learnt so many things from our guide, I feel like a half historian. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message