Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide was Angela and she was terrific. There is A LOT of walking on this tour, and it was very hot. Wear comfortable shoes and bring plenty of water. But it was so interesting and beautiful - highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bruno was the best tour guide! He was so knowledgeable and we learned so much on our tour. It was a great way to really see and get a feel for the great city of Rome!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour with a very knowledgable guide (Sev). Well worth the freight.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour.... Lot of walking involved so be prepared but after seeing the queue for on the spot ticket getters you will breath a heavy sigh.... the guide was very informative !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Hysterical. A Blast. An Italian party on a Tram. The staff was fantastic. The wine was plentiful the keep your glass full. The food was great. The band was spot on. The singers side burns made the evening. It is really really loud so be prepared. A great way to take a breather after all the historical tours. They don't talk about the sights so just come to eat, drink, and be merry.

Doing what: Rome Sightseeing by Antique Tram Including Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide Alessondro was very knowledgeable and professional. Did an excellent job.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and very interesting. Guide helped tourists after the tour to find the best routes to their next adventure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour and well worth the service of a knowledgable guide who studied historical restoration. He had a wealth of info about both the Colosseum and Forum areas that were very interesting and helped us appreciate how Ancient Rome evolved. We highly recommend this tour. A word of advice... Hydrate! There is no water beyond the entrance of the Forum and it's extremely hot. We were not able to finish the hike up Palatine Hill, but that was around noon. This tour may be better toward the end of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Imke - our guide was great. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Underground chambers and upper tier inclusions are well worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Paton W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was absolutely great. Try to get Gigi, he is great and really makes it all worth it. Don't even think about the little bit extra money, go see the dungeons and the few from top rocks.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. Interesting and a great guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Eleanor was very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well worth the money and forward planning. Especially as we did skip the line (which was huge) on the way in. We learned so much more than we would have done just waking around. I thoroughly enjoyed this and the guide was superb.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent tour.......would highly recommend to everyone. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome. Amazing. We had an excellent guide , Marko. Very knowledgeable guide. Spoke well and with ease. Very good segway trainer as well. We had so much fun and learned so much. This could easily be extended to a full day tour since there is so much to see and so much to learn. Definitely recomme

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour very informative and throughly enjoyed it. Laura was a great tour guide. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect tour of the Colosseum and environs. Lots of good information and explanations. Had a great time and highly recommend this tour. Again, the Skip the Line is absolutely necessary. Don't skimp!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and a great tour guide. We found the whole tour fascinating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour on our last night in Rome and what an ending to an amazing week it was. From the moment the tram arrived with it's band playing it was pure fun, EVERYONE was so happy. The food was lovely, lots of variety and they did our vegetarian food really well. The wine flowed endlessly, there waqs no stopping them from making us enjoy ourselves. Dancing outside the Colosseum at dusk was memorable and to be quite honest this was the highlight of our holiday. Tram had a functional toilet on board so no worries there and the staff were just amazing, so happy and such a lovely bunch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Sightseeing by Antique Tram Including Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sara was absolutely wonderful. She is well-informed, personable, and informative. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message