• USD ($)
  • English

Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10412 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This fabulous tour takes you to both the high an low areas of the Colosseum that are not open to everyone. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

marco, the tour guide, is very knowledgeable and accomodating through out the tour. although there are lots of people we still managed to get the most out of the place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Of all the tours we did in Italy this was by far the best! Our guide was excellent I wish I could remember her name. She was highly educated in history and was absolutely passionate about her country and history. This resonated throughout the whole tour. Extremely enjoyable, informative, educational (for the kids) and entertaining - highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Outstanding tour. Emanuela was our tour guide. She made everything so interesting and exciting. It was so much better being in a small group and being able to go where other groups couldn't go. The underground chambers were amazing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had already been to the colosseum on a previous visit to Rome, so chose this tour as it offered something different. It was fantastic to see the underground chambers and the upper tier as the number of visitors is restricted,so you get to see a piece of history not a lot of others have seen. The tour through the Forum and palatine hill also went to places we hadn't seen before. Our guide Sara was very good with lots of information and she did her best to keep us out of the sun on a very hot day. We would highly recommend this tour,it lasted about 3 1/2 hours and was good value and no waiting in queues.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

stebag
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

very good way to see city.did tour for full length and then got off at different stops to explore.also is for 24 hours so on first day didnt start until 11.40 am so could still use until next day at same time

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Hop on hop off provided just the flexibility we were looking for.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great job by our guide Fabio! He personally trained everyone and was extremely knowledgeable about the sites we were seeing. Went with 2 teenagers and they said it was the best part of the trip. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing by far my favorite of thee entire Europe trip. Guide was very knowledgeable and the access to private areas in the Colosseum was great!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The hop on hop off is the perfect way to orient yourself and to see all the main sites if each new city. The bus was timely and the information via headphones was great

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide being an archeologist made the your really interesting and gave life to these amazing ruins

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Sev was very knowledgable and kept me intrigued. Learned so much thank you

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a very well run tour with excellent information and great explanations of historical Rome and it's place in the development of modern civilization.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Money very well spent, guide was very knowledgeable and interesting.
Would highly recommend this tour and service. Will definitely be using this service again A****

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message