Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10925 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is the most economical way to see large cities! worth the money!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

the half day tour was a lot of fun and allowed us to cover a number of landmark sites that would have taken all day on foot. Our guide was very informative and the route avoided busy streets.
Would highly recommend tour for others.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. Alex was informative and fun. Lots of walking up and down stairs and up and down hills. Must do tour in eternal city to see the most important real in western civilization.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic time on this walking tour of Roman ruins. Our guide Alex is an archeologist and gave us fantastic insight into everything we viewed. Well worth the cost of the tour. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent organization and wonderful guide. A wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had two guides and I thought the overall experience was excellent.
We caught a train to the station near the Coloseum and found your guide with little effort.
They were very knowledgeable and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
In fact the best in Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant tour with an excellent guide Maria Amelia (a local school teacher), she really brought the place to life with her knowledge and obvious passion. You need comfortable shoes, cover from the heat and water. The place is amazing with lots to see.
Well organised from start to finish, will do it again in years to come.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Alessandro, our guide, brought the history of the Coloseum and the Forum alive; his enthusiasm and passion for his subject was infectious and made for an absorbing and fascinating tour. The day of our tour was quite hot - Alessandro was constantly mindful of this, kept the group in the shade as much as possible, pointed out where water bottles could be filled and made time for rest breaks. A very impressive and personable young man. An excellent tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing guide, great inf,o, great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We love our Segway tour. We saw more on segways than walking. The guide was great.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

LOVED this tour and would do it again if we ever go back to Rome. The guide was great, she spoke very good English and we loved seeing parts of the Colosseum that we might not have seen otherwise. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to tour Rome and decide where you want to spend time. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic guide think her name was Elizebeth. Very noligable Great tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Stephen
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic way to see this great city. Although the crowds were large there were plenty of buses at very regular intervals. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message