Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10994 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The colosseum tour was fantastic. Claudia was a very informed guide and we all loved it including the kids. Would recommend highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The colosseum tour was fantastic. Claudia was a very informed guide and we all loved it including the kids. Would recommend highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect way to start your visit to Rome, a few tips to others. As we read once you have a water bottle keep it, there are fountains/springs everywhere for refilling. You don't need to €1 to the guy at the bus stop unless you want too! Ignore skip the line ticket sellers, the queue at the coliseum wasn't too long. It cost us €12 each and our 15 and 12 were free,remember to carry ID as they did check our 15 year old (he is nearly 6ft), this was for a 2 day ticket which included Roman Hill and Palatine, we explored this the next day. The metro was really easy to use,we bought single trips tickets each time, remember ladies to carry a scarf for covering up in churches or at least cover your shoulders or knees. Oh and some comfy shoes are a must, there is a lot of walking and step climbing to be done! St Peters basilica has 551! but the view was worth it. We really enjoyed Rome the only let down was the city tax when leaving, this is between 2 and 5 euro each person each night. This isn't the hotel that charges this but they do have to collect it. Such a pity they don't get any of it. Don't let this put you off but do factor it into your budget and do what we did ask the hotel how much they will charge so you can keep it aside.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

David was an amazing tour guide!! It was a very informative and entertaining tour...it kept me captivated for the full three hours! David is HILARIOUS. Best way to see Rome's ruins!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is our 3rd Segway tour (2 in Paris previously). Big Mamma G looked after us and we had a fantastic time. Saw heaps of things in Rome and learnt a lot of history on the way. Good way to get your bearings. Felt safe and looked after the whole time.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did not go! We were just too tired!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great tour - very imformative

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

pftl
Bahrain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good value for money.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

pftl
Bahrain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour! - the personal attention we received from our guide plus the underground chambers and upper tier that we were allowed to visit made the extra price of the tour well worth it! We had a little trouble finding our meeting spot but that is probably because we were first time visitors to Rome! -- Would certainly recommend this to anyone interested in history

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was phenomenal. From excellent historical and archaeological insights to practical matters like picking shady spots to stop in on a sunny day, she was top-notch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I thought this way of touring was going to be a bit of a gimmick as I have never been on a Segway. Boy was I wrong! I am totally sold on this way of touring any large city. You can cover far more ground than walking and yet it is like walking as you are not in a car or bus. You are not confined to the roads as they can go on sidewalks and down small alleys but can still go on roads when that is the quickest way to get somewhere. Very easy to learn how to use if you know how to ride a bike. Guide was very knowledgable and easy follow and understand. I highly recommend this and would use again if in any area where available.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved Amelia (the guide) - she was amazing - spoke for 4 hours straight without one stop! Lots of info - and we went to places where other tourists were not. Thoroughly recommended tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message