Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

In Ancient Rome, a “circus” was an oblong arena where events like chariot races, games, and other performances were held. As you might guess, the Circus Maximus was - in a word - huge. It was the Roman Empire’s largest stadium, measuring more than ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11857 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, the guide was extremely knowledgable, I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Book the upgrade. This tour was amazing. We got to see so much that most people don't get to see. This trip is entirely worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved this tour it was so much fun biking through the city. I was initially worried that we would be biking through the crazy traffic but our guide took us through back streets and side streets away from the cars and made sure we all had a great experience. It was very hot but on a bike we had a cool breeze and it was a great feeling. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was incredible! Not only did we see everything we wanted to see in a few hours and riding segways is super fun! We learned so much from Marco that I wouldn't learn from any book or class. He made it so fun and interesting!
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone! Amazing.

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite being very hot the guide was great and did her best to keep everyone entertained and in the more shady spots

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lee 337
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was undertaken by my wife and I.
It was absolutely fantastic and the tour guide, Marco ,was a genius.
He is an Archaeologist studying for his PHD so the information was second to none !
If you do this tour, do it with Marco.
Well worth the money and will do this again on my return !!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

chasitymeyers
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Gigi made this tour! His passion comes to life as he describes where the gladiators stayed and what life might have been like long ago. Being able to stand where they stood and feel what it would have been like to face your opponent. LOVED this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Rosie whom was our guide was amazing as was the tour. I would not hesitate to book through Viator in the future. Well worth it to skip the huge lines which would be horrendous in the high heat of the summer. The guides give you head sets and hold a flag to ensure you do not miss anything or loose them. They explain the history of the buildings in the shade were possible and ensure you fill your water bottles at the fountains if required and give you a toilet break. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour! Paul was an awesome guide. My two teens and I enjoyed every minute and came away from the tour with a better handle of how to get around Rome, as well as being much better educated about the city. Can't recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth it.. our guide was extremely knowledgeable, PHD student, and very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour. Its just long enough without being too too much for one day. Not having to wait and deal with the two hour wait for entry added bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Frederico was awesome! Took us down lots of back alleys and away from the traffic and gave us a real insider look at Rome. He really knew his history and was obviously very proud of his city. Would recommend to anyone wanting to see a good chunk of the city in a few hours, and way better than sitting on a bus or trying to walk it!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a very knowledgeable guide with a great personality. It was great to be taken through this ancient place with a professional archeologist. Note, it's a full three hours of walking. Reconsider if you have trouble being on your feet for a long length of time, especially if you're going in the summer, as we did. It is HOT and there aren't a lot of places with shade, although Claudia did her best to stop in shaded spots when possible. Her perspective and knowledge is what made this tour great. Thank you, Claudia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best way to see so many sights of Rome. Staff was knowledgeable and fun!

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've done other Colosseum tours and this one was by far the best!! The audio system they use is fabulous, so you can always hear the guide even while walking, so we got lots of information. Totally worth it, great company and fabulous guides. Paying for the added underground and third floor were definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Ugo, our guide at Top Bike, the bike tour was fun and informative. Ugo kept us in shaded areas as much as possible on an incredibly hot July day. Was able to cover much ground while visiting most of the top attractions in Central Rome, visiting the Pantheon was a highlight. Panoramic views of the Colloseum and Roma Forum made excellent pictures.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Lisa W
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, it was very hot when we were there, which made it hard to really enjoy. A little cooler would allow the tour to be more enjoyable. The guide tried to find shady spots, but that can be hardwood. Overall the tour was good and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fun and Alex was a great guide. Loved just walking past the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My daughter and I had a Fantastic time on our tour with our guide Marcos on Monday July 20 at 10am!
Marcos was extremely informative, answered our questions fully and truly lead us back in time during our tour.
It was awesome to have someone with so much knowledge and humor guide us! Along with speaking English with his Italian accent, was clear to understand! Thank you for helping us make memories!

Will definitely be using viator again in future trips!

Corinna and Grace from Alberta, Canada

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aneta W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Ancient Rome. Our guide, though she claimed she knew very little English, was very informative and answered all of our questions in great detail. It was a very hot afternoon, so she was very considerate, too, letting us stop in the shade and fill up our water bottles all the time. We started with the Roman Forum first and then the Palatine Hill, finishing up with the Colosseum. There was quite a bit of walking, but all at a relaxed pace, and we never had to wait in lines for entrance to any of the sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did this tour on one of the hottest and most crowded days of the summer. Our guide did an excellent job of finding shady spots and water to keep us going. Her knowledge of the sites was excellent and she shared her experiences working as an archeologist with us. I've visited in the paste and would recommend this tour highly over my previous guided experiences. REMEMBER to bring a water bottle with you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Gigi was a FANTASTIC guide - his humour and knowledge were outstanding!!! I couldn't imagine looking at everything without someone to explain it all with such detail as he did. It is also well worth paying the price to skip the line, as they were long and it was hot out - why someone would wait in those long winding lines is beyond me. I would do this tour again and have recommended it to others. Well done!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. My guide was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable and interesting. You can tell he loved the subject matter. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour, and a very informative guide, but a negative was we were told we could use our ticket to go up pallentine hill and explore the forum ourselves after the tour, but when we tried we were told this was not true,1 entry only, which was used up with the guide, so we were left very disappointed as we only briefly looked at the forum and did not go up pallentine hill at all

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message