Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3019 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to go off on our own and explore the Colosseum after the tour. The walk through the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill was excellent as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great decision to go onto this night tour. The guide was excellent - he didn't stop talking for the whole time but made the tour so informative and entertaining. It was amazing to be at the Colosseum when there are no daytime tourists and we were the first of the night tourists. For a while our tour were the only people in the Colosseum!. Everything went very smoothly and I could highly recommend this tour and company.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very informative guide. What a great way to see the Colosseum without crowds of people around. It was very interesting to see the lower levels as well. I would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An outstanding tour of Ancient Rome, including the Roman Forum, the Palantine Hill, and the Colosseum. The highlight was a tour of the subterranean area of the Colosseum. The tour guide was excellent. She is an archeologist and so really knew the sites very well.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was very informative and interesting. It was nice to do the Roman forum before the colosseum as it gave you the knowledge and understand of how and why the colosseum came about. The tour guide was very passionate about Rome and what happen to create it. She answered all questions with a stream of information and seems as if there was nothing she did not know! A big thank you to the tour guide for a lovely morning and very interesting tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! There was a long line of people waiting to get into the colosseum and we were able to go straight to the front. Our guide, Hilaria, was excellent as well! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour was great, but I highly suggest that travelers only do one tour a day. We made the mistake of doing the Vatican and the Colosseum in the same day. Exhausting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Max. Having him take us round the Colosseum and Forum was money well spent. He was informative and interesting and made the trip one of the highlights of our Rome stay. Well worth doing if you want to avoid the long lines of people waiting in the very hot Italian summer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was extremely interesting and full of facts and historical references. Rosie the guide obviously loved her subject and had trained in archeology. 3 hours whizzed by. The colosseum was definitely the highlight of the tour. Would recommend to all ages. Something for everyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did this tour on our first day, thinking we would begin with the oldes in Rome first. It was a good choice. As always our tour allowed us to skip the worst of the lines. Valentina was knowledgeable and helped us see details in the enormity of the Colosseum that we would have missed. She shared her love of the forums with us and helped bring them alive, as they would have been 2000 years ago. We went on three tours arranged through Viator. They were all exactly as advertised, with knowledgeable, friendly guides and they all allowed us to skip the incredibly long summer lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you only pick one trip do this one, the colosseum is packed in the day time ,but this one is done when it's empty a real treat

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

poitras
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Such a great tour..really loved learning the history of Rome and being able to go down to the ground floor of the colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour on a Tues morning at 8:30 with tour guide Alexis. There were about 20 people in our group. The Colosseum is amazing! There is uneven walking in the Forum so be sure to wear good walking shoes. Also carry a water bottle as there are drinking water fountains dispersed throughout the Forum and you will need it if touring in summer months. Alexis was great. She was knowledgable and we learned many things about Ancient Rome on this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Michelle C
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WORTH EVERY PENNY! This is by far the best tour and definitely WAY WAY WAY better doing a night tour! I am so grateful we booked ahead of time with Viator for our Colosseum night tour on our honeymoon! This was my favorite event/tour we did!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were not sure about this tour as the reviews appeared mixed. First off...We found the food at The Hotel Forumn to be very good. Yes, the restaurant is a bit dated but that only added to the charm for us. We had a view of the forumn from our table and we were able to have our own table, not forced to sit with others we did not know on the tour.
What a lovely way to start a tour! The waiters were super attentive, and as it started to get dark and dinner and dessert, was over btw I am gluten free and they served a fabulous gluten free pasta we took a brief walk to The Forumn. There were about 16 people in our tour and that was not too many. There was no line, and with a full moon rising we entered the Colosseum. This was our first night in Rome and what a fabulous way to begin!!! The Colosseum at night is NOT brightly lit. It is just right to give you the wonderful feel that you are walking on sacred ground. I wish I could recall the name of the young lady leading the tour...She was simply delightful and told the compelling story and history of The Colosseum. The underground access was amazing. We chatted later in the week with tourists who had just visited the Colosseum during the day and it was hot and very crowded. We maybe saw one other tour group ahead of us but it was timed to make you feel like we were there by ourselves. There is quite a bit of walking but if one asks, there are elevators and the Viator tour guides go above and beyond to accomodate one's needs We were not rushed at all. Just be prepared to do a bit of walking and to have to look for a taxi after. There is no taxi line at the exit. Make sure to ask your guide where to pick up a cab, a bunch of us got lost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recomend this tour, nothing like the colosseum in the evening! easy to fing meeting place great informative guid learned a lot

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seeing the Colosseum as part of a Skip the Line tour is a huge time saver and overall great experience. Alessandro did a GREAT job. Enormously knowledgeable and passionate, he was an amazing guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed the tour and it was great not having to queue for two hours to get into the Colosseum! Our guide was great, very knowledgeable and even organised some games with a quiz for the children on the tour, with all the children getting a little gift! Would definitely recomend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved both tours. The Colosseum guide was excellent. Explained so much about the ancient history of Rome. The afternoon guide was also very good. We were sad the Fountain of Trevi was under repair, because I would have liked my grandchildren to have seen it. We covered a lot of area in the allotted time and that was a plus.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rachel was a fabulous guide, we enjoyed every bit of information she shared. The Colosseum and the Roman Forii are too unique to be missed. Skipping the line is a critical feature, and the Underground spaces at the Colosseum well worth seeing. Don't decide to pass over these stops, thinking they are too tourist oriented, or overblown. I assure you, they are each awe-inspiring memory makers.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this tour and most enjoyed the morning portion, which included the colosseum and roman forum disclosure that we did not stay for the entirety of the afternoon tour, but only because it was so hot and we were exhaustedfull that tour guide was also very good and knowledgeable for the time we were there. Our tour guide Alessandro was excellent. He was very passionate about the subject matter which made the experience very enjoyable. He was very helpful to everyone on the toureven as it was 98 degrees or more outside! We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A brilliant guide with loads of knowledge and a great way to see the Colosseum and Ancient Rome! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative, lots of history and information regarding the Colosseum and Roman Forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! This is a must do. Learned so much about the history of Rome and what we were actually seeing. Our tour guide was American so we had no trouble understanding her. She had a book of the before and after pictures of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum which helped you see what it could have looked like. Would suggest this tour for all who go to Rome for the first time.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour!! Skip the line at the colosseum is a must. The line up to get in was 1.5hrs long at 10am. Our guide was an archeologist that previously worked on the colosseum grounds. She was very knowledgable and extremely enthusiastic!! The old city old Rome was unexpected and interesting. I would recommend this tour for sure..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message