Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3002 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle C
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WORTH EVERY PENNY! This is by far the best tour and definitely WAY WAY WAY better doing a night tour! I am so grateful we booked ahead of time with Viator for our Colosseum night tour on our honeymoon! This was my favorite event/tour we did!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were not sure about this tour as the reviews appeared mixed. First off...We found the food at The Hotel Forumn to be very good. Yes, the restaurant is a bit dated but that only added to the charm for us. We had a view of the forumn from our table and we were able to have our own table, not forced to sit with others we did not know on the tour.
What a lovely way to start a tour! The waiters were super attentive, and as it started to get dark and dinner and dessert, was over btw I am gluten free and they served a fabulous gluten free pasta we took a brief walk to The Forumn. There were about 16 people in our tour and that was not too many. There was no line, and with a full moon rising we entered the Colosseum. This was our first night in Rome and what a fabulous way to begin!!! The Colosseum at night is NOT brightly lit. It is just right to give you the wonderful feel that you are walking on sacred ground. I wish I could recall the name of the young lady leading the tour...She was simply delightful and told the compelling story and history of The Colosseum. The underground access was amazing. We chatted later in the week with tourists who had just visited the Colosseum during the day and it was hot and very crowded. We maybe saw one other tour group ahead of us but it was timed to make you feel like we were there by ourselves. There is quite a bit of walking but if one asks, there are elevators and the Viator tour guides go above and beyond to accomodate one's needs We were not rushed at all. Just be prepared to do a bit of walking and to have to look for a taxi after. There is no taxi line at the exit. Make sure to ask your guide where to pick up a cab, a bunch of us got lost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recomend this tour, nothing like the colosseum in the evening! easy to fing meeting place great informative guid learned a lot

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seeing the Colosseum as part of a Skip the Line tour is a huge time saver and overall great experience. Alessandro did a GREAT job. Enormously knowledgeable and passionate, he was an amazing guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed the tour and it was great not having to queue for two hours to get into the Colosseum! Our guide was great, very knowledgeable and even organised some games with a quiz for the children on the tour, with all the children getting a little gift! Would definitely recomend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved both tours. The Colosseum guide was excellent. Explained so much about the ancient history of Rome. The afternoon guide was also very good. We were sad the Fountain of Trevi was under repair, because I would have liked my grandchildren to have seen it. We covered a lot of area in the allotted time and that was a plus.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rachel was a fabulous guide, we enjoyed every bit of information she shared. The Colosseum and the Roman Forii are too unique to be missed. Skipping the line is a critical feature, and the Underground spaces at the Colosseum well worth seeing. Don't decide to pass over these stops, thinking they are too tourist oriented, or overblown. I assure you, they are each awe-inspiring memory makers.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this tour and most enjoyed the morning portion, which included the colosseum and roman forum disclosure that we did not stay for the entirety of the afternoon tour, but only because it was so hot and we were exhaustedfull that tour guide was also very good and knowledgeable for the time we were there. Our tour guide Alessandro was excellent. He was very passionate about the subject matter which made the experience very enjoyable. He was very helpful to everyone on the toureven as it was 98 degrees or more outside! We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A brilliant guide with loads of knowledge and a great way to see the Colosseum and Ancient Rome! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative, lots of history and information regarding the Colosseum and Roman Forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! This is a must do. Learned so much about the history of Rome and what we were actually seeing. Our tour guide was American so we had no trouble understanding her. She had a book of the before and after pictures of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum which helped you see what it could have looked like. Would suggest this tour for all who go to Rome for the first time.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour!! Skip the line at the colosseum is a must. The line up to get in was 1.5hrs long at 10am. Our guide was an archeologist that previously worked on the colosseum grounds. She was very knowledgable and extremely enthusiastic!! The old city old Rome was unexpected and interesting. I would recommend this tour for sure..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So cool to be on the ground floor, and underground at the Colosseum. It was better than what i expected when I booked.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoy every minute of it! Our guide was full of information! Seeing the Colosseum at night was amazing

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was really cool! You get special access everywhere so you're never really standing in a crowd of people. The fact that you don't have to wait in lines is worth it to take the tour. You get a whole background story of the forum by the tour guide and then when you enter the Colosseum you get handed over to an archaeologist to take you around. The guides were awesome and the special access was awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mark
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If in Rome in the summer, you absolutely have to do this tour. First, the crowds are gone. When we did it, there was only one other tour group. It's much slower paced and more in depth. The arena is beautiful at night. It's an easy walk to the colosseum--all down hill. This is a magical tour and worth your time and money

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fabulous. Starting from our rooftop dinner at the Hotel Forum to our private tour of the Colosseum, everything was perfect! Our tour guide was entertaining and very knowledgeable! The food was absolutely delicious and the views were magnificent!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. The Tour Guide was extremely informed on the history of the Colosseum. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone having an interest in this time period of the Roman history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Guide Rosie was excellent and provided a very knowledgeable and pleasant insight into both the Colosseum and the Forum. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Very informative. Had a blast touring the Roman Forum and Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful guide...informative, funny, entertaining. The Colosseum....we had seen it before but this tour showed us places we could not go and gave us information we didn't know about areas we had seen before. Also the trip to the Forum and up Palatine Hill was tremendously enjoyable and informative. Loved it. Definitely worth the money!!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This visit to the colosseum was great. The weather was really hot the date of the tour, at about 100 or more degrees but the tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned so much with him. We has a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

While the Colosseum was everything one expects, its was the Forum that held us spellbound. Our guide's knowledge was outstanding and made the 2000yo ruins come alive with life in the times of the Roman Emperors. Never rushed, even though the day was 40oC, our guide made it so worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable day with a friendly, experienced and knowledgeable guide. As this was our first trip to Rome, we wanted to get the most out of our time. Having read the Viator reviews and been given good feedback from other travellers, so we thought we would try them ourselves rather than go it alone. What a great decision that was. The skip the line tour saved us over 4 hours of waiting in the 32 degree sun to get into the Colosseum. Once inside, our guide provided us with an insight into the history of the Colosseum along with many other stories about how and why it was built. It was fantastic to say the least and our 12 year old daughter learnt so much so did we. We then walked over to the Roman Forum and surrounding areas where we spent another hour or so learning about this landmark site. I would highly recommend this tour and Viator to anyone travelling to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A must do, especially the underground chambers - do not miss this section of the Colosseum. Well done Viator.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message