• USD ($)
  • English
The Colosseum in Rome is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity (for something built in 80 AD, the Colosseum is holding up very well). It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent Tour!!! Our guide was very informative and provided us information that really make all of the ancient items we saw come to life. This was my second trip to the Colosseum and my family's first and we all can't wait to hopefully go back again someday. Highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to really experience the wonder of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ancient Rome and Colosseum was one of three tours we booked through Viator for our recent visit to Italy in June 2014. What a great experience! Each of the tours was professionally organized with clear instructions as to where to meet, what to expect, etc. The guide for the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour was very knowledgeable and articulate about the area. If you are planning a trip to Italy, I highly recommend considering Viator.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing. Our Guide, Sev, was informative, witty, and really made the entire experience something we will never forget.
I recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to get the "behind the scenes" feel of the Colosseum, you won't regret a minute of it! You will enjoy every minute.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Stefano, our tour guide was humorous and very informative. It was a long tour but time flew because of our guide keeping it interesting. Definitley walking shoes is a must, the tour is not ideal for those who suffer with feet or leg problems, one person in my tour had to leave before we ventured into the gardens beside the Colosseum. I found it all very enjoyable and a great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. Well worth the money for this tour. Away from the crowds enabling us to really enjoy the experience, and get a real feel for The Colosseum and it's history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Have been to Paris several times, but first visit to Rome.
This tour is a "must-do"! It was spectacular! Can't imagine trying to view the colosseum and rest of ruins on our own. the guide was well educated, well versed in this tour, personable and commical. we learned all kinds of interesting information that we could only get by being on this tour.

highly recommend it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Just Wow! We joined the group at the meeting place and the day was already warming up. Our tour guide was the lovely Suzanna who was such a good tour guide by pointing out locations of interest with a great knowledge on the subject matter. First we entered the Colosseum through the main doors and left the main tourist area and entered the lower underground chambers. This was just magical and so much cooler! We were treated to a fantastic view of the Colosseum from a very different view and perspective since people used to work below the main floor. We then climbed to stairs to the 3rd Tier (again away from the main tourist trail) and was met again with another fantastic view. Suzanna was always conscience of the sun and always took us to a location to talk in the shade. Then we joined the everyone else around the arena section for a few more photos. We then left the Colosseum and headed for the Roman Forum. Another amazing place, full of Temples, ruined building and pillars. Suzanna even stopped by one of the many water fountains so we could fill up our bottles. We headed up Palatine Hill to be treated with another stadium and view of the Colosseum. This is where the tour ended after about 3 hours. Overall, this is a fabulous tour seeing some slightly different views of the Colloseum and surrounding area. I would highly recommend this tour as the tour guides like Suzanna will explain so much detail which you might miss using the handheld tour devices. Great morning tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We feel very fortunate to have had Mariella M. for our guide she was a professional archeologist that was taking time from her profession to be a stay at home mom and part time did tours. Her knowledge of the colosseum and forum was amazing. This is a tour to not be missed, a highlight of our Rome experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Rome. Lavinia was an excellent tour guide, she was energetic and knowledgeable and most of all, passionate about the Colosseum and wanted us to have the best experience possible.Walking down the tunnel and onto the stadium floor left me with chills.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great tour. Best thing is that it isn't crowded like during the day allowing better views to see the colosseum. My guide Agala was fantastic and very knowledgable

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was amazing! From the beginning to end it was a real VIP experience. We had a glass of Prosecco at the roof of the hotel while admiring the view of the ruins of the Forum. Then we had a delicious Roman dinner in the beautiful restaurant of the hotel. To finished and because the best should always be kept for the end, we had the tour of the Colosseum. It was a great experience to see this iconic attraction by night and when it is practically empty!! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and she was able to answer all the questions we had. I absolutely loved this tour and I highly recommend it! Sandra

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, it was a great experience! We started with a glass of prosecco at the rooftop terrace, which had very nice views, and then had a very tasty dinner which was typically Roman. The visit of the Colosseum by night was impressive! I had been to the Colosseum in the past and it was really crowded, and on this visit it was almost empty, which makes a big difference. Seeing the underground and third tier was my favourite part. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

THe ONLY way to tour the colosseum, including underground and upper tier that are a must to truly enjoy it. I learned so much from the underground part, it represented so much exclusive information regarding the operations of the colosseum when it was in use. You simply won't learn about that without this tour. And the view from the upper tier is the BEST!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Skip the line, in and of itself, was worth the money we paid. The Colosseum was our favorite site of our week-plus visit to Italy. The upper and lower level tour was awesome. Our guide Emmanuella was very good (B+). Her knowledge and fund attitude added to the experience although her accent was a little strong a the beginning. It was weird that we got a second guide for the Colosseum part of the tour but once we got used to her quiet voice, she was good too. Our only regret was that we would have liked to spend more time touring the Palentine Hill on our own but since we had a late afternoon tour, the site closed shortly after our tour and we had to leave.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

If you're interested in seeing the Colosseum, THIS IS THE TOUR YOU SHOULD TAKE. Period. Sarofina(so sorry if I misspelled your name!) was such a great tour guide. She knew everything(not an exaggeration) and constantly checked in on the group the entire tour. It was a very long tour and she allowed for plenty of breaks and restroom stops for the group.

Be sure you know that this tour covers way more than the Colosseum. You will spend about half of your trip in the Roman Forum which is so interesting. The Roman Forum holds so much history that it's tough to comprehend even with our top of the line tour guide.

Now for the Colosseum. This tour gets you through private gates, on the recreated battle floor, and more. They set these tours up so perfectly. Only one group is allowed in any of the private areas at once. This means, better tour, better pictures, and a quieter experience that lets you really take a minute to understand the gravity of where you are.

This tour lets you completely understand the difference in lives between slaves at the Colosseum and guests to the games. If I could go back and do this again, I would in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message