Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2585 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible. The tour of the restricted areas was amazing and breathtaking. Our tour guide Barbara from live Italy was superb. She gave us a complete history of the colosseum as well as the forum. She spent about 3.25 hours with us. Best tour we experienced in Rome!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My family w/ 2 kids (13 and 6 y/o) had a wonderful time touring the Colosseum (underground and upper levels) and Roman Forum. Our guide Barbara from Vitality Tours was fabulous. She had both kids mesmerized with stories and historical facts. Though it was expensive, Barbara guiding us was worth it!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour!!... I would recommend this to anyone with an interest in the iconic colosseum and Ancient Rome. Our guide was fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended. This tour provides an excellent overview of Rome's most famous sights including the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain (currently under restoration), and the Pantheon.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

So I'm just going to go ahead and say it... This tour is expensive. However, it's really good value for money! I'm a history buff and I didn't just want to come stare at stuff in Rome without knowing what I was looking at. I wanted a guide that will provided me with a much needed context and this tour did exactly that. The tour guides were fantastic and had a lot of information to share. I also liked that we were able to avoid all the queues especially at the Colosseum! That was really neat. I recommend this tour to those who really want to learn about Rome's colorful and inspiring history.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative. Great tour, seeing parts of the colosseum we normally couldn't was amazing. Early January was a great time to visit, no crowds.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fantastic. My only critique was the tour guide that took over in the colosseum wasn't very clear., the guide who took us round the forum Etc had to help her out!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I booked the 'Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour' with Liv Italy Tours (thru Viator) for our family - 2 adults, 2 teens and we all had such an amazing afternoon with Rachel as the tour guide. The small group ( max 6 people) was brilliant and enabled us and our kids to hear everything Rachel explained as well as being able to ask as many questions as we wanted. Rachel was incredibly intelligent, highly knowledgeable and extremely friendly and made our tour such a learning pleasure. We were all inspired by her enthusiasm and her natural engaging style. The tour itself was amazing and being able to go down to the underground level (not accessible to the public) as well as being able to climb all the way up to the very top level of the Colosseum (also restricted access) provided added dimension to the magnificence of the Colosseum and the tour. Our family were like sponges for the duration of the tour and afterwards, rather than feeling exhausted from a 3+ hour tour, we were all on a high from having such a brilliant informative afternoon. Thanks Rachel - we all highly recommend you as a guide and this small group tour which has been the best day of our trip so far.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was worth doing. our guide Mikalya was very informative and knew her stuff. we saw everything that we had hoped to see. And definitely worth the money to skip linning up for hours to get into the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth it to skip the lines at St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Museums, and the Colosseum, as well!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was worth every penny the guide was amazing. There was no end to her passion and knowledge the colosseum and the forum.Extras included walking out onto the arena floor was mind blowing if you're going to book a tour book this one.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We are not tour people but it was worth it for this tour. Our guide Barbara was very knowledgeable and really brought the sites to life. I thought it was worth it to pay to get special access to the third level and basement of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I would definitely recommend this tour, Dario our guide was very informative and I learned so much! And as you can imagine, the lines for the Colosseum are ridiculous and with this tour you skip all of that. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our favorite part of this package was the afternoon walking tour of Rome. Our tour guide (Emilia) was exceptional, and took extra care to incorporate our two easily bored children into the activities. The chosen stops were great, and her explanations of them were very good. HIGHLY recommend. That morning, we did the Colosseum and Ancient Rome tour. Although our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, personally, we felt like the tour could have been shortened just a bit - or maybe we're just not as interested in the Colosseum and Forum/Pallatin as others are. Still, the tour guide was professional and knowledgeable, and the tour company was as well. Recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We luckily had a small group so it felt a little more personalised. Our guide was very knowledgeable about not only the colosseum but her Roman history too which made conversations really exciting and informative. Highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message