The Colosseum in Rome is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity (for something built in 80 AD, the Colosseum is holding up very well). It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

These two tours were sensational, thanks to our wonderful guides. Hearing so much history, a lot of it for the first time, while walking through the Forum and Colosseum was an amazing experience. Salvatore's explanations and stories made ancient Rome come alive for us. Our guide in the afternoon was equally impressive, walking us through many more ancient and modern Roman landmarks. Yes, you will walk a lot, but it's the best way to really see everything and then treat yourself to a(nother) gelato.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Fen Y
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best tour ever. Simply because we had without a doubt the best tour guide: Sev.
He brought the colosseum and Roman forum to life for us with his descriptions and stories! We really appreciated how grande the colosseum once was and how advanced Roman life was. Thank u for a great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Walking inside the Colosseum is a fantastic experience, listening to the comments of our well trained tour guide add a lot of images in your brain with details of that era, comments about Gladiators, the Emperor, the people of Rome at that time, you almost hear the roars of the Lions!!!...
Fantastic tour.
Thanks Viator and CityWonders!
Augusto

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide (Francesca) for the Colosseum / Ancient Rome portion was terrific in terms of information and entertainment. The afternoon waling tour was well worth it - having the strories behind the sites / structures in Rome made the experience of exploring Rome more enjoyable.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide totally rocked!! Unfortunately I didn't write her name down and have forgotten it. She is an archeologist and actually worked at the Colosseum . She was able to show us some of what she herself discovered in one of the displays!! Her commentary was exceptional and really was some of the best we have experienced with our Viator tours. I can't imagine wandering around this site on my own...she really helped us to picture how it must have been in ancient times. Excellent tour!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely loved this tour - guide was very informative and we were the first group to arrive at 8pm - how wonderful to wander through the colosseum being the only ones there for a short period. What an amazing experience! loved it.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The dinner venue was lovely, the staff great, but the food was not quite the standard I was hoping for. However the guide was fabulous and the night tour of the Colosseum was brilliant. There were no queues and the system in the evening is such that you hardly see another person or group as you explore this incredible building. An amazing experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a real highlight! A must! A lovely dinner with a breathtaking historical view! Then our small group was treated to an intimate tour of the Colosseum at night. Breathtaking! and no crowds!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Colosseum and ancient Rome tour was fascinating. Seeing the places that we studied in school and walking on pavers that the ancient romans walked on was a exhilarating experience. Our guide, Valentina, was exceptionally knowledgeable. We found after the tour that she was not only a tour guide but also a working archeologist -- which explained the sadness in her voice when she told about some of the relics of antiquity that had been "lost" to the modernization of the new Rome.
My only regret is that we booked these two tours consecutively. The colosseum tour ran a little over so the 2 hours between was cut a bit which made getting to Spagna and having some lunch a little rushed. We were also a bit tired from the morning tour which took a little away from the afternoon walking tour of Rome. That being said, we were happy to have the highlighted areas pointed out to us so we could find them later. All in all a very nice day topped off by a nice dinner in Campo di Fiore.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic private tour of Colosseum, and we also toured Roman Forum and Palatine Hill.
Guide very informative, friendly and efficient
We had gates open to areas where public normally doesn't see.
Well worth the history experience
Great value for money

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was our 2nd trip back to Rome with the same tour. We were NOT disappointed! Our guide, Francesca, was knowledgeable, informative and professional. This experience was so very different from our visit in 2011. Although there were similar sites, we were taken through the Roman Forum, Palatine Hill and the Colosseum with different routes. Some areas that were not available in 2011 were opened during this visit.

The most unforgettable experience during the Colosseum visit was that, we were sitting near the entrance way at the partially rebuilt floor. The guide was giving us a historical insight about the magnificent Colosseum while we admired and appreciated the surroundings. We were even allowed to take pictures in that area afterwards. It was truly AMAZING!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fabulous way to see the ancient ruins of Rome and the colosseum. Being able to walk out onto the arena level just like the gladiators did and also walk in the underground level was an experience i will never forget. Our tour guide was fabulous and new her ancient roman history! We learned a great deal about the roman empire and also the colosseum which we would not have learned without this tour. 10/10!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was great! Not only was our tour guide friendly, but very informative. She gave us great history about Rome before the colosseum was built and painted a great picture on Palantine Hill. It was a great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really great time on our Night tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome tour. The tour guide was very well versed in the history and was able to answer all group questions, and we were surprised by the amount of sights that were included in this tour. Be sure to wear good walking shoes as it's 3.5 hours or so on foot! We both really enjoyed our almost private tour of the ground floor of the Colosseum as only one tour group at a time is allowed in the area, so it was only our group that was during our time allotment. Thank you for creating a magical experience for us!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Bernadette H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic on every level.Just to say we only did the morning at the Colosseum as we had completed the content of the afternoon walking tour ourselves !!!
The guide for our tour was first class and I am ashamed not to remember his name but I am sure you know.
He was knowledgeable and humerous and very attentive to the group talking care of those of us who were less able that others and ensuring that where possible we were in the shade.
The magnificence of the Colosseum, the history and explanations of life at the time and the precision of the factual information and pictoral comparisons really enhanced the experience and understanding of the history of Rome.
It was clear that our guide was a proud Roman and we certainly benefitted from his passion and love of his heritage.
This was a great morning and I felt I got the best out of this tour and that was thanks to the guide, we would not have been able to make any sense of the visit without him and I would encourage everyone to take this tour ....yu wont regret it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message