Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2915 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

tour was fantastic a must do if you want to see colosseum in quiet times when it is closed to public and at night

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've done other Colosseum tours and this one was by far the best!! The audio system they use is fabulous, so you can always hear the guide even while walking, so we got lots of information. Totally worth it, great company and fabulous guides. Paying for the added underground and third floor were definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aneta W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Ancient Rome. Our guide, though she claimed she knew very little English, was very informative and answered all of our questions in great detail. It was a very hot afternoon, so she was very considerate, too, letting us stop in the shade and fill up our water bottles all the time. We started with the Roman Forum first and then the Palatine Hill, finishing up with the Colosseum. There was quite a bit of walking, but all at a relaxed pace, and we never had to wait in lines for entrance to any of the sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a very thorough tour, inclusive of the Roman Forum, loads of history beginning with Trajan's Column, and ending with a wonderful evening tour of the Colosseum. Our archaeologist-leader, Christina, was as knowledgeable as they come, very kind, and kept the pacing going comfortably. I get why they say that strollers and wheelchairs cannot be accommodated--their were a couple of steep hikes up stairs, and the walking is over 10,000 steps, but the evening breeze and lack of sweltering sun keeps the tour enjoyable. My family loved having the Colosseum all to ourselves at this hour, and it's not too dark for awesome photo opps! This was a highlight of our Roman holiday! We learned so much! :

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was also an archaeologist which was an added plus because he made the Colosseum come alive for us. I had visited before but never had taken a tour and was happy that we did.Wish we had just a little more time in the forum but it was an extremely hot day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an excellent guide and the tour of the Roman Forum and the Colosseum was fantastic. We skipped the lines for the Colosseum and it was everything and more than I expected. I would highly recommend this tour for first time visitors to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both our guides were fabulous. They were experts on the subject and had a great attitude. They were fluent in English and worked well with the group.

From personal experience, we would recommend doing the Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour on another day if possible. The three day Colosseum Tour can be tiring, especially in the summers.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing tour! Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. The directions provided to us to get us to the meeting place were easy to follow, the tour started on time, and we spent just enough time seeing both the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sev was an amazing tour guide. His archaelogy background tremendously enhanced the tour. It was very infomrative and enjoyable to tour the Colosseum and Ancient Rome sites with him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were led on this tour by the wonderful Sara N, nothing was too much trouble. Her knowledge and passion for passing it on are exceptional. I have wanted to visit the colosseum for so long and she really brought it to life. I can't thank her enough, a fantastic tour x

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome! Our guide was superb, making history come alive as she explained how the Colosseum operated. The walking tour was also wonderful, providing up-close looks at the famous landmarks of Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was terrific ! The Colosseum is not to be missed. Our tour guides were terrific very informative and knowledgeable. I would MOST definitely recommend doing the upgraded tour with the AMAZING opportunity to see the underground arena so worth it !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I had both visited the Colosseum twenty or so years prior, but our guide Emanuela a professional archaeologist was so excited about teaching us all about the history of it and the Forum, we both learned far more on this tour than previously, and enjoyed it thoroughly. It was the height of tourist season late June, and skipping the line was definitely the way to go. It was a bit long 3 hours for our 9-yr-old, but she kept our attention with her obvious passion for what she was describing. Outstanding tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour - the tour guide was fantastic and knowledgable. Skipping the line is a must as the queues at the Colosseum were huge but we walked straight passed them.
Can't recommend enough!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Emi McC
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Marco, our tour guide had the right mix of historical facts and humour. He looked after the whole party very well. The tour really did deliver on the skip the line promise. The colosseum was magnificent - the only downside was the limited toilet facilities with a wait time of 25 minutes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing! We were able to see so much in a short amount of time and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to genuinely enjoy her job and loved history. Walking within the Colosseum was like walking back in time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome experience, the Colosseum has a very different feel to it at night time which is worth experiencing. Not only do you get to see a different perspective of the site, but you are also out of the heat and dealing with absolutely no crowds.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Marco was wonderful. He was very knowledgable and clearly enjoyed leading our group. The tour allowed us to bypass the long queues and go directly into the Colosseum and Foro Romano. A great experience. Very much recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was outstanding! Our tour guide, Irene, was an expert, having majored in art history at the university. During our walk, she helped us understand how the history of the area helped shape the present, and helped us imagine what it must have been like when the gladiatorial games were held in the Colosseum and the Caesars and Cleopatra, for example, walked the same paths we were. We did indeed manage to skip the lines with her help. This tour is a super value for anyone wanting to make the most of their Rome trip. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are going to the Colosseum, I recommend this tour. We considered just skipping the line and doing it ourselves, but I'm glad we didn't. The guide took time to explain so many things we wouldn't have seen if we were just following the crowds through the ruins. If you want the history and real understanding of the Roman experience, this tour is a must do!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was very passionate. She was informative. The only thing we didn't like was the that we were merged into a larger group at the Colosseum rather than staying with the guide we hired

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have toured the Colosseum five times and each tour we learn new and different things.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing TOUR and AMAZING tour guide - Maura
WE loved the personality and sense of humour, seeing the Colosseum through her was a unique experience we will never forget.
Suggestion : the ear pieces need replacement, would expected some thing of higher quality with the technical audio hardware considering the fee. Ear pieces keep falling off, and actual devices consistently malfunctioning.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was excellent! Lots of great historical detail and background on the Colosseum and surrounding area. Definitely worthwhile and a great value!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alessandro was awesome! He was knowledgeable, patient, and his English was terrific. A superb tour guide. We enjoyed everything and would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a good appreciation of the history and archaeology of the ancient Roman time period. We ended up skipping the Best of Rome Afternoon tour because we needed more time to rest in between and decided we wanted to explore on our own, but are very glad we did the tour of the Colosseum and Roman Ruins.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message