Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2831 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another great tour! The tour of the Forum was excellent and having access to the upper tier and underground chambers of the Colosseum made this tour an experience to remember.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was Vicente and he was very knowledgable on the Colosseum and Roman Forum. We learned so much and we were so intrigued by the history. What a great tour! Well worth the money. And it was a beautiful day which made it so much better to be out in the sun. Just be sure to wear good shoes

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing. our guide Mariella is very knowledgable and enriched us with useful information about the forum, palatine hill and above all the magnificent colosseum. i highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is definitely the tour to do of the Colosseum. Giving you special access to the Underground Chambers and the Upper Tier. Thanks to our guide Virginia for making this an excellent tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was definitely the best way to see the Colosseum. This tour included passes to the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill which was a surprise for us as we just expected the Colosseum. But what an amazing bonus! The history and mix of ancient architecture and ruins in the Forum is mind-blowing and rather surreal. We skipped all the queues and on this tour we passed through locked gates into the bowels of the amphitheatre to tread where the gladiators did. We learned how the Romans thought the spectacular events put on in the arena were like magic, with animals appearing from apparently nowhere. To see 'backstage' was an experience not to be missed. With this special pass we also were taken to the top level where there were spectacular views of the Forum below. It wasn't overcrowded as the access was for just one tour at a time. Both tour guides were interesting, friendly and highly knowledgeable. Our guide even remembered every single one of our names, and there were quite a few of us! This was the best tour we did in Rome. What an amazing, barbaric but beautiful place!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow! Do you enjoy skipping long lines and getting right to sight seeing? What about going places when others can't and passing the crowds as you go behind locked gates? If so than this is the trip for you. I can't imagine having gone the the Colosseum without going to see the underground chambers or floor that's where all the magic happened. Worth the price and the guide was very kind.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

kmaria1202
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Francesca, our tour guide for the afternoon, and another Francesca, who was our tour guide inside the Colosseum, were both excellent. The tour took us to the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill with the first Francesca, and then to all levels of the Colosseum with our second tour guide. Seeing the underground section of the Colosseum was AMAZING! Despite all the unexpected questions from tour guests, we started and finished right on time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable as well as educational. We were able to see areas that would normally be off limits to the average tourist. The views of the Colosseum and later the Forum and Rome from the Palatine Hills was absolutely stunning. I would highly recommend this tour to people who want to get a real understanding of Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Food and rooftop view were fantastic. I would have liked more time to enjoy the restaurant. The tour of the colosseum was magical. Very private and the guide brought the colosseum to life with her narrative.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience. The guide was great and was great to see the less crowded areas of the colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding tour director, her name was Maristella who went over and beyond historical events. Highly recommended for those who have never been to the Colosseum or through Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour and well worth the service of a knowledgable guide who studied historical restoration. He had a wealth of info about both the Colosseum and Forum areas that were very interesting and helped us appreciate how Ancient Rome evolved. We highly recommend this tour. A word of advice... Hydrate! There is no water beyond the entrance of the Forum and it's extremely hot. We were not able to finish the hike up Palatine Hill, but that was around noon. This tour may be better toward the end of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect tour of the Colosseum and environs. Lots of good information and explanations. Had a great time and highly recommend this tour. Again, the Skip the Line is absolutely necessary. Don't skimp!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Incredible tour that included so much in depth information. Tour guide Susanna and our assigned colosseum archaeologist were fantastic with their engaging facts and approach perfectly putting across their love for their city. Great value for money and would recommend this tour to any history lover.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Colosseum/Ancient Rome tour was excellent, helped by our guide Claudia who was very passionate and very informative! The Best of Rome afternoon walking tour was just as good, but it was a pity that the Trevi Fountain was being restored!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really informative with Emmanuelle, she knew her stuff adn we really enjoyed our tour of the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. Do wear comfortable footwear as there's a lot of walking on 3 hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Our guide Daniel was very good. Skipping the lines was fantastic, we could have spent half our time queuing, but instead went straight through for the colosseum and the forum. Would highly recommend wonder tours who hosted the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Virginia was simply EXCELLENT!she is a treasure trove of historical info and made the Colosseum and Forum come alive........despite a brief rain shower ,thunder and lightening.One of the best aviator guides!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This guided tour is amazing. Our tour guide Gigi was very informative, and quite funny. Exploring areas of the colosseum you don't normally see was great, you get a real sense of how it was. The Forum was incredible and once the tour was over we could stay in The Forum for as long as we wanted.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You could see the Colosseum and Ancient Rome without a guide as I did the first time I went to Rome but I would highly recommend a guided tour. Our guide was very informative and even had visual aids to help recreate the scene bring it all to life. I learnt a whole lot more on this tour then I did by myself which is one of the reasons why I wanted to do this. The guide had only been speaking English for a year and I have to say he spoke very well and was easy to understand.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Marcela C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing tour, mostly because our guide Fabrizio was very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about the subject material. We saw the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. Our guide had pictures of how it looked in its prime, which were very helpful. The tour was through CityWonders and it seems that every time I book a tour with them they have fantastic, knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our family of 4 2 teens enjoyed the Colosseum tour which included the underground tour. It was very interesting and our guide was informative. I'm glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The morning tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome was especially great! Our tour guide had a PhD in archaeology and was very informative. It was a lot of walking, but both guides knew where to stop for shade and water fountains to refill our bottles and were very accommodating. The guides were also very helpful to just answer questions we had and make recommendations of other things to see. It was a fantastic way to start our trip.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I forked out a lot of money for a personalized tour in the Vatican for my 2 kids 3 and 6 and my husband and myself. I wish I decided to do a Viatour family tour for the Vatican as well. The family colosseum tour was fantastic! The guide Flotina was engaging, energetic and kept it very kid friendly, for kids of all ages. It was definitely worth the money for this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really great tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. The guide was fantastic. After three hours in the heat
We didn't do the afternoon walking tour..just too much

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message