Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was exactly the tour we were looking for: behind the scenes access to parts of the colosseum that are not typically on view to other groups! It was phenomenal walking out onto the floor of the colosseum. We had a good 15 minutes there to get oriented and look around and take pics... stunning views from this spot. And the underground chambers were amazing as well. We went with a guide from the colosseum who had to use keys to access the areas we visited... it felt very special! Our viator guide for the day was Elizabetta and she was very organized, friendly and knowledgeable. After our tour at the colosseum she escorted the group to the Roman Forum, which is stunning. It's a massive site so we zipped through this at a decent pace but after the formal tour was complete we had free time to wander... and we stayed an additional two hours to explore. Well worth the price of this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was fantastic. Fabio was very, very knowledgeable and excited to teach us about the history of the Colosseum. I absolutely loved the tour and would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Rodney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent in no small part due to the very good guide, Barbra. She was excellent, across all the details, history and facts behind the sites. She also controlled the group well including a couple of members who needed some control. The instructions on where to meet were well set out and let us arrive in time for the departure and without any hassle. The walk through the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill was sufficiently long to enable you to get an understanding of these monuments and their importance to our history and culture. I have done a previous tour of these sites and this was a far better tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

CliffIndy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour..Chiatra (sp?) Was awesome. Highly recommend. Wish we could have spent more time in the archeological site. Inside the Colosseum was amazing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Dario was fun and authentic. The Colosseum is absolutely incredible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Deliana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was Worth the money! Got to see the lower level of the colosseum and got to stand in the middle of the stand. It was beautiful to see the colosseum at night but not great for pictures. The tour guide was great. She took us around rome and did a great job explaining everything about ther ancient city.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely the most awesome tour we have EVER done. Very organized, no lines!!!, and our guide in the colosseum was the greatest! Very knowledgable and passionate about the amazing history of the colosseum. We were able to check off a bucket list adventure--and it was better than we ever dreamed! Thanks for putting together such an incredible tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

sarawalsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour and it was a highlight of our Italian holiday. Paolo was very passionate and gave us wonderful insight into the colosseum and forum.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Karlos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wow! Serafina was our tour guide and we were blown away. The colosseum is exactly how it looks in all the pictures. Serafina was such a great tour guide, she was extremely knowledgable, professional and really made sure we covered everything. She told us the best places to get the best pics too!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In spite of the weather, this was a fabulous tour. We loved the fact that there were only 6 people max on it so it was very easy to hear the information given by our very knowledgeable guide.... Thomas. Having made History his Masters, it was not surprising that he was able to take us back in time, visually and mentally. I would recommend this tour above all others to anyone who really wants to get to know the real history behind the Colosseum and the Palatine Hill. The catacombs beneath the stadium came alive with his commentary so much so that my hair was standing on end! Well done Viator and thank you Thomas. Susan and John M/p>

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Leonard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was excellent for the Colosseum! Enjoyed every minute. The headset is a great way to hear and not have to be very close. Afternoon tour was great as well, both very informative.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Sallie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide Luca Romano is excellent! Very knowledgable, friendly, and funny. This tour was one of my highlights on my recent trip to Rome. You get to visit parts of the Colosseum the average visitor misses out on. The tour itself is a good length about 3 hours. The small size of the tour group is perfect - my specific group included 8 people three couples, me, and the guide. Any more people than that might have slowed things down, as well as made it difficult to hear everyone's questions and answers. Don't forget to bring sunglasses, a hat, and a bottle of water, as there isn't much shade once you head into Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding tour. We enjoyed seeing parts of the Colosseum on the tour upgrade with no crowds! Security took some time but the skip the line entry was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had lots of stories to tell. She kept us on schedule through the ruins to meet our archeology guide at the Colosseum. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

geo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour! Anna did a Super job as uour tour leader . The guide who took us around the Colosseum was very Good Also. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Colosseum . dinner was outstanding and the view from the roof top was amazing. !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

Patrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

No better way to see and understand the Colosseum than this tour which takes you from the floor of the Colosseum to the top tier. Loved the history and insight provided by the outstanding tour guides. Loved seeing the pulleys and ramps used to bring animals and combatants to the stage or ground floor of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Yesim O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour of the Colosseum. Seeing Casa di Augusto and Livia privately with a small group was priceless. Our tour guide, Julietta, was excellent, very knowledgable and fun. We felt very lucky to have her as our guide. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Casa di Augusto, Casa di Livia and Colosseum Tour in Rome

Angie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

When we saw that one of the guides was Francesca, who had taken us through the Vatican City only days before hand, we requested that she be our guide again. Her knowledge of the Colosseum and the surrounds is remarkable. She is very easy to listen to and approachable with any questions that you have. Loved the tour..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Nicky B Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I did this tour at 8.30am after arriving very late the night before. It was a very good decision! The light easy in the morning is fantastic. The visit, through the colosseum and forum was full of surprises and the Palatine hill, just wonderful. On my two days following, as I walked around Rome exploring on my own, I really looked back on this tour in setting the structure and background to my visit. Fantastic...highly recommended, but do it early...early in the morning and early in your visit to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well worth the money, guide was very good and clear. Amazing views and access to the Colosseum that not everyone gets to see.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Ady C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Where to start? Meeting point was easy to locate and the team there looked after us from the word go. Both guides were most knowledgable and gave the information in an interesting manor. The tour over ran but this did not deter our guide from making sure we got and saw everything we had paid for. If you are going to the Colosseum this is the ONLY way to see it all and the the Forums afterwards. Great value for money.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

kphamsf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour lead by a funny, knowledge-filled Mamma G that treated our group like her family.

It's a fantastic way to get the most out of the Colosseum, from the ground floor up. We skipped the lines which made it all the more enjoyable. Mamma G then lead us through the Forum and Palatine Hill, each step of the way, she provided interesting facts and information about the history including pictures of what it would have looked like in ancient times.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

isandweg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was our first tour in Rome. We booked the upgraded version, with access to the underground and other areas that are not open to the public. The archaeologist guide for the underground and additional areas shared very interesting information and insights to the Colosseum. For the general part of the tour or guide was Francesca. She was very successful at helping us use our imagination and paint the picture of how Ancient Rome was. She also recommended that we visit other places, to see Rome's lasagna architecture This was a very nice tour, with loads of information and history. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mr Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a lovely trip round the Colosseum with a guide a who made the place come to life with his informative information, pictures and drawings of what the place would have looked like.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely loved this tour, very few people are allowed access to the Underground Chambers and Upper Tier at any given time. Our Colosseum guide literally had to unlock gates to grant us access to these special areas and it was an amazing experience. Not only are you allowed onto the arena floor but get to go below it to see where the animals were kept, how the gladiators entered and how the elevators that raised competitors to the area floor were operated. Then you get to head up to the third ring which grants amazing views over the entire Colosseum and they vistas beyond. This tour also takes you through the Roman Forum which was a fantastic experience as well. Both guides, the main tour guide and the Colosseum guide, were very knowledgeable and able to answer any questions. I was also impressed at how intimate the tour felt, even though it was a group of 22 people. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Dorothy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved that this was a small group - really allowed us the opportunity to enjoy the tour and feel part of the environment. Make sure that you pay the extra amount for the underground tour. Very fascinating to see where the animals were housed, how the slaves worked the lift and imagine how difficult all of this was in the dark and in such cramped quarters. It was a blast to walk out on the floor of the Colosseum and imagine the crowds in the stands. The Forum was awesome to see. I had a bit of history overload, but really a great tour!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message