Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3319 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denis John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour. Thoroughly enjoyed our guided tour around the Colosseum and ancient Rome. Guide was so informative and really made it enjoyable . I didn't want it to end. Would book again through Viator.Well worth the money. Thanks

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was awesome. covered all the various areas of the colosseum and roman forum. Our tour guide Mariella spelling may be off on her name was a former archaeologist and did a great job getting us a lot of information. The ability to see the roman forum and the full Colosseum was great, and 3.5 hours was about right for both of these - arguably a little more time in the forum and on the Capitoline hill would have been nice, but overall I thought this tour was a good value and a good time.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Andy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fabulous tour and what a great guide. We were a small group which helped but overall what a fantastic experience. I have visited the COlosseum before on a tour but this was so much better and very reasonably priced. Going on to the Forum was great and overall the tour was really good value and the guide was absolutely great. Would highly recommend !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jeannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Dora was my tour guide for the Colosseum and she was excellent. She worked with as an Archaeologist and with several Archaeologists at the colosseum so she could give first experience details of the accounts of different findings which was exciting to see her eyes light up. This tour is a must and to do with someone who has studied archaeology is amazing. Nice work, Dora.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

nygurl102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was wonderful. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable! I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the Colosseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

mangobob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! Great Guides! The tour began with a history lesson through the Roman Forum. Our guide knew pretty much everything there is to know about ancient Rome and what life was like during that time. Very informative and interesting. After leaving the Forum we walked to the Colosseum, getting an overview of the facility, where we met Claudia, our second guide. She was an archeologist and had participated in digs at the Colosseum. She took us to off limits areas in the basement and the third level where she explained the construction and use of each area. Claudia presented a wealth of information and left us with a pretty broad understanding of this marvelous architectural masterpiece.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Doug D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour of the Colosseum. The tour of Ancient Rome felt a bit rushed, but overall a great tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

majorkat717

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had an amazing tour of Ancient Rome and the Colosseum!! We loved our guide and the group was a perfect size!! It was unbelievable when we got to walk on the arena floor, take a peak at the underground chambers and hike to the very top of the Colosseum. It felt like I was standing on top of the world. I would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Lani C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, Tour guide was also excellent! It was fascinating to have access to the lower level and upper level of the Colosseum. Learned a lot more than I would've on my own--getting tour of Palatine Hills and history was also very informative. We took our kids-age 10 and 17 they really enjoyed the tour as well. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

JR United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A first-timers trip to Rome wouldn't be complete without a visit to the Colosseum and it ended up being on of the highlights! Our tour guide was a great story teller. He was knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and kept everyone engaged.

Pro Tip: Try to book as early as possible to avoid the crowds. We did the 10AM tour and it was perfect.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

pameladmorris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was fantastic!!! Awesome experience at both the colosseum and Vatican tours

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A rare glimpse into hidden corners of the Colosseum with a knowledgeable guide. I've been to the Colosseum a few times before, but this time I brought my mother and decided to splurge on the tour. It was worth it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had the most amazing time seeing the Colosseum and the Roman forum with our guide. She was amazingly in her historical knowledge. In fact, she is an archeology student so we got some insight as to the buildings that others could not give. There was a lot of walking on this tour and several members of the group had to leave early. Not having to stand in line was wonderful but learning so much was the best. She also stopped and gave us time to take pictures and answered all of our questions. A great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

NAWAR C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The colosseum and ancient rome morning tour with Serafina
- overall, the morning tour was very good in a sense that she kept it Very informative without overloading us, very good pace not so fast and not so slow , she is very friendly and made herself approachable for us and mosr important we were not bored at all.
- 5 stars for serafina

Best of Rome afternoon walking Tour with Maristella
-It was a good experience and chance for us to explore the old streets of Rome but some lapses were observed. She was talking too much and there was overload of info. She could have just picked up interestig facts especially that it was already crowded and too many places to pass by. Nevertheless, kt was a good tour.
4 stars for Maristella

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Even though I had booked the tour late in the evening less than 12 hours before I showed up and the activity director was able to find my booking on her smartphone. The guide Mariella, who has a degree in Archaeology spoke English perfectly, gave a detailed description of the Colosseum and the Palatine without being boring. She was very friendly, allowed everyone enough time to ask questions, take pictures. The 3 1/2 hrs went by very fast.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Super complete and interesting tour. It was nice having two separate tour guides, one for the ancient Rome and one for the colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Kevin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Friendly and polite guide. Learnt a lot about the Colosseum and Rome. Just make sure you have comfy foot-ware and be prepared for rain we went in October.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ronald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. My wife and I really appreciated the audio buds that allowed us to hear our excellent guide, Serphina, We had another excellent guide in the Colosseum, Barbara.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Now home again we pat our own backs that we chose the Colosseum Walking Tour to remember our one full day in Rome. We were blessed with great weather, a delightful 'birthday girl' tour guide, insights of the formidable Roman Era and enough strength in our 70 year old legs to climb the Palatine Hill, reputedly the highest of Rome's seven. A step back in history not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Barbara was an amazing tour guide. We started out at the Colosseum and then she took us through the ancient ruins of the Roman Forum nearby. She kept us on a brisk but never too fast pace so we could see everything and she was a wonderful resource of archaeological insights and historical information. After taking this tour, my wife and I left Rome with memories, experiences and photos to last a lifetime. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joe Luis United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Tour Guide Alessandro, was the best, so passionate about what he does and you can tell he realy enjoys his job. He did an excellent job of explaining the history and answered all questions and warned us about pick pockets in the area. The tour was great, toured the Colosseum and some of the other ruins around the area. This is highly recommended and great time to spend a half day here. Very educational, ask for Alessandro for your Tour Guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

mr-m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Can not rave about this enough. If you go to the Colosseum it is a must do.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Elena T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Doriana was our guide. She was knowledgeable and had worked as an archeologist on the site of the Colosseum. There was so much to see, so if you are short on time, this is a long one, but worth it. I had forgotten about the Ancient Rome part and couldn't believe how much there was to still see and experience. Rome was amazing and so was the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Brilliant service - would highly recommend - skip the line was great if you do not want to queue. The hop on and hop off bus service again was brilliant - the buses were never full so you had your choice of seats. If you choose to use your Roma Card for the Colosseum, once inside after going through security you go straight to the turnstile for the Roma Card there was no queue.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Mukram A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide deliver fantastic knowledge of all historical facts related to Colosseum and ancient rome, best to take this tour if you had short trip to rome.....

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message