Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

A M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A brilliant interesting tour with very professional guides Julia was exceptionally good, and so was the Colosseum special guide both very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and kept the perfect pace for the entire morning. The Colosseum was amazing, as expected. But the Palatine was unexpectedly large and contained many more interesting and photogenic artifacts than expected. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I can't say enough good things about our tour guide and this tour. Definitely do the upgrade to go to the underground and top level of the colosseum. I loved the tour and the great learning about this massive wonder of the world. Don't pass this one up at all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Agnes our guide was excellent was able to inform us of so much and was so enthusiastic and keen to involve us. We were pleased we done the early tour as colosseum gets very busy .

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Julie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sergio was a fantastic guide and really bought the Colosseum to life.We were so pleased we bought the small group tour definitely worth the extra.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Denise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Thomas, was the best! He was very knowledgeable about the history of the Colosseum. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Crystal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was worth every penny! Private viewing of the underground chambers and upper deck which brought great views of the Roman Forums. We thought the tour was just for the Colosseum but it covered Palatine Hill and the Roman Forums too. Our guide, Dora, was wonderful and gave such great details and answered all our questions. If you love history, you're definitely gonna love this!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Terence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great access to all of the Colosseum without lines and wait.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Brandon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The ONLY way to visit the colosseum. It's 100 worth it to get exclusive access to the underground and the upper level of the attraction.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

cetompkins3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We greatly enjoyed our visit to the Colosseum including the underworld. The guides were very knowledgeable and had a substantial quantity of supplemental pictures, drawings, etc. We didn't know the Colosseum originally had an awning. It would be nice if our college put one over our football stadium! The Ancient Rome tour was also excellent, though a bit more historical content on Rome's political development would have been nice. Avoiding the long lines to enter both locations was a real plus. A word of caution - there is a substantial amount of walking and stair climbing required by this tour, so it is not a good one for anyone who finds this challenging.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kimberly D K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ive been on a tour of the colosseum before and this one was much better. We were able to enter areas that not everyone gets to see. Our tour guide, Franchesca was great. She was very knowledgeable and engaging with our group. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Holly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I would definitely recommend a tour when visiting the Colosseum, Roma Forum and Palentine Hill. There are so many fascinating facts and history that having a guide really enhances the tour. Although all the ruins are beautiful and so cool to look at, knowing what they used to be and the history behind it makes it all the more interesting. Our guide Giuseppe was wonderful and because he is an archeologist he really had a special passion for this. There is a lot of walking and climbing involved so make sure to bring water lots of fountains to refill and a good pair of shoes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

james.tillman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is another long day of walking and mingling with the crowds. Our guide at the Colosseum was very knowledgeable and perhaps the nicest Roman in Rome. I would book a tour with him anytime. While this is a must see tour while you are in Rome be prepared for crowds around this popular site. The afternoon walk through Ancient Rome was perfect. If possible, plan on having dinner, coffee and a glass of wine then reverse the course on your own back to the Trevi Fountain for the evening lights.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

john s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I have been to the Colosseum three times. This was by far the best one yet, We were able to see things that we have not been before. Only complaint is that we needed more time. Could have spent all day on the tour.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent, fun tour of Ancient Rome and Colosseum. Mama Gi was thoroughly entertaining!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Victoria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The colosseum tour is incredible and especially given you are allowed on this tour to see below the arena and also at the very highest point - highly recommended. the tour guide was wonderful and extremely knowledgeable - happy to answer any questions and made the tour very interesting. Would definitely do this again when we come back to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lucus M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Viviana was a real treat! You could tell she really enjoyed telling us about the history of the Colosseum and Forum. We had such a great experience and learned a lot! Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour of Roman Forum and Colosseum. Tour guide Allessandra was amazing, she kept us focused and entertained all through the tour. Then Francesco at the Colosseum was very interesting. All in all a GREAT tour. I would recommend this to anyone going to Rome!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All the information given during the tour made the experience wonderful. Our guide was easy to listen to and told us many things we would not have known if we just went to the Colosseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour, however I requested an upgrade to the Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier, so I'll comment on that one as well. All of it was amazing, especially seeing everything from the Arena point of view. The Upper Tiers also gave an amazing shot of the whole Colosseum, which really put the size of the building into perspective. Cons? I was a bit busy, however since the Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier were exclusive, it was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first tour in Rome and our first guided tour in Italy, and our tour guide Ms. G set the bar very high for the rest of the trip! G was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the Colosseum and the Forum that I was astounded. Plus, we were getting Roman history from a lifelong Roman citizen. She is truly amazing and made me wish it was a 6 hour tour and not just 3! This tour is a must-do in Rome, as the lines for the Colosseum that we breezed by appeared to be a few hours long and the group is small enough that there is plenty of opportunities for questions or hidden attractions that the big groups miss. Another great feature of this tour are the earpieces and radio transmitter that each person gets so that you aren't fighting to stay at the front of the tour so you can hear what the guide is saying. The earpieces allow you to grab photos and linger at interesting attractions and still hear exactly what's going on. Don't risk trying to see the Colosseum on your own, take this tour and ask for Mama G!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Gabriel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was amazing. Our tour guide Alexander was very knowledgable on everything the tour had to offer. I would highly recommend the tour to anyone who is looking to visit the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Anthony D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This Tour was excellent. Intially I was concerned it could be too long a day however that proved not to be the case. You got a good 2 hours in between each Tour so you can relax enjoy lunch and a drink before embarking on a second tour. Also because there is not a lot of walking in the Coloseum tour you have energy for the second afternoon. The pleasant and expert knowledge of the 2 Tour Guides - Julia for the Colosseum and Sara for the Rome Afternoon Walking Tour added immensely to the experience. They both seemed genuinely interested in the subject matter of the Tours and definitely had a deep knowledge of the subject matter they were talking about. They both should be commended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Matt T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My wife and I loved this tour as well. The Colosseum was obviously the big ticket item and it's the only way to get to the upper tier that I know of. Since the Colosseum is so monumental it was easy to forget that there was a whole section of the tour on the Forum and Ancient Rome which was also fantastic. The information that was given by our great tour guide, Julia, was so interesting and amazing. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Derek M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fascinating tour of the history of the Colosseum and Forum. Our guide Francesca was outstanding - pacing the tour well with breaks for pictures and discussion. Her knowledge and entertaining style made a good tour great. Would do it all over again - there is so much to take in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message