The Colosseum in Rome is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity (for something built in 80 AD, the Colosseum is holding up very well). It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bernadette H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic on every level.Just to say we only did the morning at the Colosseum as we had completed the content of the afternoon walking tour ourselves !!!
The guide for our tour was first class and I am ashamed not to remember his name but I am sure you know.
He was knowledgeable and humerous and very attentive to the group talking care of those of us who were less able that others and ensuring that where possible we were in the shade.
The magnificence of the Colosseum, the history and explanations of life at the time and the precision of the factual information and pictoral comparisons really enhanced the experience and understanding of the history of Rome.
It was clear that our guide was a proud Roman and we certainly benefitted from his passion and love of his heritage.
This was a great morning and I felt I got the best out of this tour and that was thanks to the guide, we would not have been able to make any sense of the visit without him and I would encourage everyone to take this tour ....yu wont regret it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is the only way to experience the Colosseum from every aspect. The tour guide was knowledgeable and you certainly feel like a VIP with all of the exclusive access included. Perfect tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

the colosseum and Ancient Rome guide was very knowledgable, caring and helpful. One could tell he loved his job.
The afternoon walking tour was ok, however, at the end of the tour, the guide told us to get a cab back to our hotel, my husband didn't want to do this as we used the trains without problems. She didn't help us find a train/bus station and just left us alone in a city we never visited before, didn't speak the language, and we got lost. After more than an hour searching a train station, we luckily met a nice young english speaking man who helped us find a bus back to our hotel. This was a frightening experience for us.
We would give our morning guide a 5, and a zero on our afternoon guide

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An absolutely outstanding experience. We went on 4 tours with 'City Wonders' and all of their guides are extremely knowledgeable. They all seem to be studying or have graduated from art history, history or archaeology and are so passionate about their subject. The morning tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome was by far the best of the 4 tours. The commentary from Alesandro, our guide, helped the history come alive and, although I study Roman history, I learnt a lot from him. The afternoon 'Best of Rome' tour was also good, but if the weather is hot (+35c for us), 2 tours in the same day is probably too much.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an amazing and informative tour of ancient Rome, the guide was experienced, knowledgeable and helpful. Skipping the queues for the colosseum and the forum gave you significantly more time to take in the sights. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the funnest tours we've ever done. This was our first time on a Segway and it was very easy to learn how to ride. Alessandro was an excellent guide -- weaving our way through the crowds at the Colosseum was an experience to remember :-)

Doing what: Rome Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an incredible experience. I personally don't deal well with heat and booked this tour as an option. It was perfect. Seeing the colosseum at night was just stunning, the sunset views and the lighting of the colosseum was amazing. We went to the 730 tour which was perfect timing. Guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It pays to take the tour and get to see all the levels of the Colosseum! The new floor is open and worth going out onto. You can really feel the enormity of the stadium from the floor. The upper tier provides awesome views of the Colosseum ad well as ancient Rome. The forum was more of my husband's thing...he said he was really happy with the tour and the guide. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We toured the Colosseum and Ancient Rome on our first morning in Rome and it was by far the best tour we took. Our tour guide was amazing and make the experience fun as well as educational.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is the only way to see the Colosseum! We traveled to Rome during the peak season expecting and dreading the crowds so we booked this tour hoping for a less crowded experience. When we walked past the Colosseum during the day it was packed with people but when we went later for our tour there were only 2 other tour groups there with about 15 people each so we were able to get plenty of pictures without a bunch of random people in the background. Our tour guide spoke great English and took us on a walk down the main street explaining to us what some other monuments and places were before we made it to the Colosseum where we learned facts and stories you wouldn't hear if you just went on your own.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a MUST DO tour for anyone visiting Rome...3 1/2 hours long and a lot of walking covering Palentine Hill, Roman Forum and of course the Colosseum. Our guide, Francesca was superb, she spoke excellent english and had great knowledge....she is a history teacher by profession! We were in a group of around 20 people, so not to large and everyone thoroughly enjoyed. The restricted access to areas of the Colosseum only open to guided tours is well worth the money in its self... especially up to the upper tier where the views are amazing. You must do this tour if you are planning to visit the Colosseum...just ask all the people who tried to follow us up to the upper tier and were denied access!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was absolutely amazing! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very witty. The Colosseum was a breathtaking experience and it was very nice to walk by the huge line outside. The tour went through some of the most historic parts of Rome, ending with a great view of the Palantine Hill.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I brought two half day excursions with Viator for my sister's birthday. This was our morning tour, which I recommend as it starts early and there are (marginally) fewer people there. Our tourguide, Marco, was witty, knowledgable and interesting. He very clearly loved his job, and it made the whole experience just magical. I definitely recommend this tour for anybody, especially with the skip-the-line perk (a must for the colosseum, by 11am the queue was backing out of the colosseum and around the outside of it) you won't regret it. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a good time on the morning tour despite the fact that it rained 90% of the time. Our tour guide had a great attitude in the rain and didn't let it affect our learning experience. He explained the various parts of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome with a lot of passion. Our afternoon was pleasant as well. Our tour guide had a dry sense of humor and we enjoyed it. He pointed out excellent places to eat and shop (for later).

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was excellent and funny for the Forum. Very cool experience to be walking in history. Colosseum was amazing. Tour exceptional in that you had access to every level in private setting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message