Rome's Colosseum, also known in Italian as  Colosseo  or  Anfiteatro Flavio , is one of the world's best-known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Spruce Lee Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So glad we took this tour, the restricted area access was incredible, so much information that help with getting the big picture of the way the colosseum was in its prime.
Do yourself a favor and take the tour

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Anita R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Colosseum is a must see tour our tour guide was informative and it was money well spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

paris546

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Elena was excellent. We were very impressed with her vast knowledge of the Colosseum, Forum and Palentine Hill. Loved the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Tommie L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour, and Marta, our tour guide was the best -- very knowledgeable in art history and archaeology. Her English was excellent, and she explained in detail the significance of what we were seeing. There is a great deal of waking on cobblestones and up and down hills, and it is not for anyone who cannot manage three hours of strenuous walking, but Marta gave us plenty of rest stops and paced the tour very well. The crowds, particularly at the colosseum, were massive, but Marta got us in without having us wait in line and guided us through the crowds to the best places for sightseeing and photo opportunities.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Casa di Augusto, Casa di Livia and Colosseum Tour in Rome

Woodsy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and our guide Stephanie was superb. Made the whole experience of visiting the Colosseum and the Forum much better and helped understand so much about the place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

calder01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great not waiting in line. Giuseppe spoke English very well and was very knowledgeable. The headset made it easier to hear him. The Colosseum is an amazing structure worth seeing in depth.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing and our tour guide was OUTSTANDING! She was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable that she made the tour so much more fun! I highly recommend your tour company and THIS tour. It is unfortunate that the tour inside the Colosseum needs to be conducted by their tour guides as it interrupted the flow a little. Their guide was very nice and informative, but her English was not as good and I think it made her nervous.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Pollyelpers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide helped make the Colosseum come alive!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Chris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a great decision, simply amazing! You will go to several areas that general admission won and #39;t get you to. The underground area is small but very intriguing. You also go on the main platform, and to look up at the colosseum as a gladiator might have is a tremendous feeling.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

ALAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Prefect tour with a perfect tour guide. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for the VIP package tour of the Colosseum.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Saw many tours online prior to going and so glad we got this one. Skipping all lines was great and worth it on its own. The underground and third tier were gates opened by key for relatively private access to areas of the Colosseum you just dont want to miss. Underground had views of there the gladiators and animals were staged, moved and removed. The third tier is the highest access point and had vistas of the Colosseum and Forum and Rome that you just cant get anywhere else.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

jlacedonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The access to restricted areas in the Colosseum was the best! It was amazing to be able to step on the Colosseum floor and visit the underground, areas not accessible on all tours. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Frederick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful tour, not just the Colosseum, but the surrounding grounds which was so unexpected, with so much information on the history. So glad we did this tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

GG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There aren't enough words to describe how fabulous this tour was, especially the tour host. She knew how to engage the children and keep them interested, while teaching all of us about the history of the Colosseum and the Forum. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour for families.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

GG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There aren't enough words to describe how fabulous this tour was, especially the tour host. She knew how to engage the children and keep them interested, while teaching all of us about the history of the Colosseum and the Forum. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour for families.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took this tour on 6/18/16 with Patricia as our guide. It actually had a tour within a tour as we met up with another guide who took us into the underground chambers and upper tier of the colosseum which I highly recommend. There was a lift for those unable to climb up and down the stairs to the underground portion, but I'm not sure if there was one for the upper tier. The steps for the upper tier were very steep and may not be suitable for all travelers. The tour was very informative and gave you a great glimpse into Imperial Rome. The second half of the tour included the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill which made for some incredible views! Overall, the tour was amazing. A little time would have been nice to stop and grab some souvenirs from the gift shop inside, but there's plenty of other shops nearby.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Ckracine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our tour of the Colosseum and The Roman Forum. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history and we felt like we learned so much about that period that we never knew before. We had access to areas in this tour that people who purchased the standard tour did not, the price was worth it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Geraldine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an absolutely fantastic experience. In the Colosseum with the guide and about 15-18 other people, exploring the different levels and Patricia our guide giving us a detailed account of life at that time. Absolutely brilliant....can't think of another way to describe it! This is a great tour from the beginning at Trajan's column through the different and various ancient sites to the climax in the Colesseum. Our Guide kept us enthralled with her detailed account of the changing face of ancient Rome through this journey. Must do if you can that's all I can say!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

ensorc52

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was cancelled because of a National Strike which closed down the Colosseum from mid day, this could not have been planned for but the company contacted men and offered me a full refund or an alternative time or tour - we agreed on the best alternative that was available in the morning and everything ran smoothly. It says a lot about a company on how they handle a crisis and this was done well and we received a partial refund. We completed the Colosseum, Forum and Pallentine Hill Tour which was quite energetic but we had a very experienced and well informed guide who showed us just about everything and we really enjoyed the tour. All's well that ends well as we took ourselves off to the Parthenon for lunch and had a fantastic afternoon - which we would have missed out on had we completed our original tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Dinner was delicious an in a great location. So much food and wine, we couldn't finish it. The tour of the Colosseum at night gave a different perspective. Our guide was very knowledgeable as well as entertaining. It was a great evening.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

joe s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, the only way to see the Colosseum, and skip the terrible lines

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Mario D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour. Colosseum by night evening really since sun was just starting to set is just amazing. It's totally unreal to be alone with 20 or so other tourists in the whole Colosseum.

Our guide, Patriccia, was very knowledgable and pleasant.

I cannot recommend this enough.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

Lauren United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Laura was amazing. Not only was she informative, she was passionate about the history of Rome, it made a big difference from seeing the colosseum and forum to experiencing them.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour and guide were great! Although we wished we would have seen more parts of the Colosseum it and #39;s our own fault for booking our tour the day before. The guide was very easy to understand and had a lot of knowledge about the places we visited. Getting a guided tour with skip the line is a must!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Louise P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Guisseppe was very knowledgable and did a great job keeping the group together. We had a great day at the Colosseum. It was the right amount of time. Highly recommend a tour as it really adds to your experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message