Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2604 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

missskybird
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Luca brought Ancient Rome to life. What a joy to be with! Luca lived and breathed Ancient Rome and he transported you back in time to imagine what life was like.

Being allowed access to the arena, underground area and the top tier of the Colosseum was a very special experience. We then walked up the Palatine Hill with a narration by Luca of what it would have looked like in it's prime. The view over the Forum was fantastic and we would have happily spent more time back in Ancient Rome with Luca!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Unfortunately we missed the morning tour of the Colosseum due to my misreading of my voucher.
The Best Of Rome Tour was magnificent and our guide was superb in knowledge and friendliness.
Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get the best of the city's sights.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to see the Colosseum and Forum. The stories and descriptions brought it to life.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Words cannot express the wonder and awe of the Colosseum. Fabrizio was our tour guide and he spent four hours providing deep knowledge of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. He was very nice and pleasant, and allowed for lots of questions and photos. He ensured all group members remained together and made everyone feel very welcome. There is no other way to see the Colosseum and Roman Forum, especially if you have little time to spend in Rome. My husband and I would not have learned or seen nearly as much on our own in the same time frame! Excellent tour company and guide!!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing!! If your a history buff like me, go on Viator and get the VIP upgraded tour. It's all skip the line and includes upper tiers and underground chambers. I've always been a massive fan of Rome and the Colosseum and was so happy to be there yesterday! Our tour guide Barbara was very good, however, I knew everything she told us, from the gladiators to the battle ships, to the Vestal Virgins to Romulus etc. to me, it proved she knew her stuff and left me thinking, maybe I should become a tour guide! My partner was equally impressed with how much we both knew about it. Very, very highly recommend!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great guide.
Forum was a lot more then I thought it was.
Only way to see the Colosseum - a guided tour to reserved areas away from the huge crowds.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this tour at the beginning of your stay in Rome if at all possible. Our guide at the Colosseum was absolutely amazing. The knowledge of the history of the area and presentation of the information was spectacular. Although this was the first tour of our trip we had booked several during our stay we later realized that the tour company in charge provides this type of experience on all of their offerings. Our afternoon walking tour guide was just as impressive and provided interesting information around every corner. It was great to get a basic feel for the layout and location of some of the major tourist destinations so that we would be able to locate them easier on our own. We ended up revisiting all of the tour stops on our own throughout the following days of our vacation just to experience and enjoy what they each had to offer.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour. We were able to get into the Colosseum quickly and avoid the lines. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great! I would definitely recommend a tour around Ancient Rome and the Colosseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a real passionate guide, she was italian but fluent in english without harsh italian accent, she was extremely knowledgeable because she was an archeologist ! mentioned amazing things about Rome, Colosseum, paletine hills and roman forum and she told us interesting stories about how they did their rituals in these buildings. Try it for SURRREEEE !!!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience on this tour was wonderful! My husband and I learned so much and we were pleasantly surprised at how much our guide knew about the history and how interesting he made everything. Dario was a fabulous guide and he made the whole trip fun. Seeing the exclusive underground area and upper tier was also very awesome- it was a great break from the crowds. We definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting the full experience of the Colosseum!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guide was great, very knowledgable and enthusiastic, would recommend this to anyone. Colosseum just breath taking

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Colosseum and Ancient Rome tours great, very knowledgeable guide. Afternoon good also.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great tour. We got an inside look at the Colosseum and a great tour of the Forum. Without this tour we would have had no idea what we were looking at or what it had been.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide had expert knowledge about the Colosseum and Roman Forum and was very passionate about ancient Roman history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message