Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2680 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous tour. Our local guide walked us through Roman history of the Colosseum and Forum. You could almost see how they lived. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth it. You were granted access into areas that no one else was. The guide was excellent. She even showed us pictures that she brought with her of the colosseum as it would have looked when it was first built.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour and well worth the money. Skipping the security and turnstile lines for both the Colosseum and the Forum saved us a great deal of time standing in the hot sun and this made the tour worthwhile on its own.

However, all the incredible information our excellent guide, Vincenzo gave us brought the Colosseum to life for us. He had so much knowledge of the time and he was interesting and fun. A great tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is definitely worth the little extra amount of money! You are given the opportunity to see and explore the Colosseum at night with very few people in the structure, compared to being crammed in like sardines during the day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeableand extremely personable!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and was able to tell us what things were like when the Colosseum and Palatine Hill were bustling. The guide was very concerned when someone left the group without telling him and he did all he could to try to find the person. It slowed us down a bit, but we still saw everything on the tour and had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide's name was Serafina, and she was wonderful. We really enjoyed her explanations of the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. She also explained that the Roman water fountains around the city contain drinkable water and are free to anyone. This was very helpful on the hot, sunny days!! The Underground Tour of the Colosseum was amazing and very interesting to learn more about that section of the history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, well worth paying for skipping the line as the queue was long! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. A must for anybody visiting Rome, after all who doesnt want to see the Colosseum! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour with a very good guide. Very hot in the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill but water bottles can be filled from a fountain in the Hill. This was an early afternoon tour on a hot May Day 30 degrees C that would have benefitted from the cooler visit to the Colosseum being programmed before that to the outdoor Forum. Thoroughly recommend this small party tour to include the underground chambers and floor of the arena.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

For the Colosseum Tour our guide Sara was very good. Very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting with her fun facts.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating walking tour of the colosseum and the forum. Our tour guide was informative and explained a lot of things out of the norm. A great visit

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The first part was the guided tour around the Colosseum, Forum and Palatino - our guide was experienced archaeologist Mariella ? - was the favourite tour of all my time in Rome. This morning tour was really a highlight of my stay - the commentary was excellent and fascinating and it really brought history to life. I would give this morning tour the highest marks possible. The afternoon walking tour was a good introduction to the main tourist areas of Rome, though perhaps more aimed at those wanting a shopping experience of Rome. But anyway, it included a visit to the Pantheon and there were free ice-creams. It'd give the afternoon walk 4 stars. A great double-tour to kick off any trip to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

During the day about 25,000 people go through the Colosseum but at night it closes and only about 100 people get to go round it. We are so pleased we did it this way. Gabrielli met us at Trajan's Column which puzzled us slightly as it is quite a way from the Colosseum but there was method to that. We first had a gentle stroll around parts of the old town in that area while Gabrielli told us a great deal about the historic sites to be found there, and we gradually moved closer to the Colosseum. Once inside the Colosseum Gabrielli walked us around the whole place, including the underground areas which not everyone can access. He certainly knows his subject and talked in a very evocative way about the uses to which the Colosseum was put - I could almost SEE the crowds and the gladiators, feel the misery in the prisoner cages etc. There is a bit of a climb to the top tier but there is a lift if the stairs are too much, however Gabrielli kept the pace suitable for everyone there. I loved the tour before we got to the Colosseum, it was a real bonus to find out some more of the history, ancient and modern, of the area. The Colosseum itself was mind blowing. I would highly recommend this tour and can't rate Gabrielli highly enough. If you don't like crowds, this is the way to go. It was so much cooler too than going round in the high heat of the day.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Who can go to Rome and not see the Colosseum? It is astounding how well preserved the structure is after 2000 years! What will remain of our modern cities in the year 4000? Of course, it is one thing to marvel at the structure, and it is quite another to place the Colosseum, and well as the relics remaining in the Forum, in their historical perspective. Our guide, who has a graduate degree in archaeology, did just that. Several years ago my wife and I visited these same sites on our own. Thanks to our guide, we got much, much more out of this visit. Of course, the tour is more expensive than doing everything on your own, but it well worth the expense.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This package of tours is an excellent choice, and was overall, the highlight of our trip. The first tour compromises of an easy going walk through the old part of Rome, with stops at the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and Piazza Navona. The tour guide provided a good amount of information, and it was easy to understand her. The group size was adequate. The second tour compromises of a Skip the Line tour of the Colosseum. However, prior to the Colosseum, the group is led to a small basilica just near the Colosseum. While this basilica is nice, I would have rather had more time to explore the Colosseum, and the area surrounding it. The tour inside the Colosseum was great, but a bit more time to explore the Colosseum area would have been nice. We decided to skip the third tour, the Rome Night Tour, as we were far too tired to even consider going on it, and due to the fact that it is necessary to wake up around 5 or 6AM in order to be well rested to go on the Capri Trip, which starts around 7:45AM. The Capri Trip was easily our favorite of this package. The Capri Trip was very well organized, and all tour guides were a pleasure to have due to their personality, being clear and easy to understand, and the amount of great information they provided. The boat ride to Capri is average, but in order to exit the boat more quickly, sit in the back of the boat the seats closest to where you enter the boat in Naples. Lunch is included on this tour, so it is better to avoid buying a large meal at the stop the bus makes around one hour into the trip, or anywhere in Capri in order to take advantage of this included lunch. One of the best parts of the Capri Trip was the chair lift ride 10 euros per person to the top of Anacapri. Once at the top, you are treated to an unbelievable view of the Gulf of Naples, and the Tyrrhenian Sea. While it would be great to have an extra hour to explore Capri, the bus brings you to your hotel past dark, between 9:15PM - 10:00PM.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour! totally worth doing... you get to skip the lines and see parts of the Colosseum that no one else get to see. Our guild was great, she gave a very informative and knowledgeable tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Sarafina was the best tour guide we've ever had. She made it so interesting and enjoyable. This is definitely the tour to get if you want to see as much of the Colosseum as is allowed to the public. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fantastic way to see the Colosseum. We were very inpressed with all aspects of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

this was awesome! the underground was amazing how it was constructed, and the history behind it, the upper level view should not be missed. the colosseum guide spoke softly and without the headset/microphone he was hard to hear. the forum and palantine hill was so historic-the current day photos and overlays provided a wonderful comparison, the guide was great and provided wonderful insight all the way, answered questions beautifully and we loved it all. thank him please-with 2 guides I unfortunately forgot his name.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Manuela showed us the Colosseum and the Forum Romanum. It was a great tour with much but not too much information presented in an very sympathetic and professional way. Manuela was speaking perfect German. The headphones made it possible to stay in comfortable distance and watch the details Manuela was talking about. No waiting, really just skipping the line. Great idea to provide the GPS coordinates for the meeting point!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

pearsond64
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Would give this 6 stars. Fantastic tour, our guide Nick was so informative and personable. We had such a good time and learned so much about the Colosseum, The Forum and Palatine Hill. It is a wonderful tour and worth every cent to skip the line and be there before the crowds, I have been recommending it to all tourists i speak with. Thank you for such a great experience. Still in awe of the tour and the Colosseum. Grazie Nick.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

These were walking tours, whilst it was a long day both tours were well worth doing. The morning tour guide was an archeologist who was able to give us a great insight into the life of Roman times, the 'skip the line' was well worth the cost, as the lines to get into the Colosseum were very long. The afternoon tour guide had a degree in Art history and he too was very informative and had a great sense of humour, we covered a lot of ground all by foot, the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain, The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Campo Di Fiore and along the way he pointed out many buildings and the history of the architecture, again we were given individual hearing devices so that you could hear him at all times along the way. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The best tour!!! The guide was very knowledgeable!!!!! Have been to Colosseum few times but this was the best! Highly recommend it. Ask for Serafina , she made all he difference!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Igor was lots of fun and full of information. Managing a group in the crush of the Colosseum must be tricky but he made it look easy. His book of overlays showing current remains and renderings of the originals was fascinating. I'd buy it if it were still for sale.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Paolo Bultrini was a thoroughly engaging and passionate guide. Good information, good attention to individuals, and much care/laughter with the group. Needless to say it was worth not queueing to see the Colosseum by oneself!

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour of practically everything. Only issue is that guide needs to plan a bathroom break between colosseum and Palantine Hill because most people have difficulty waiting three hours after just having lunch. She seemed a little annoyed when several insisted using bathroomeventhoughitwaspromised

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message