The Colosseum in Rome is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity (for something built in 80 AD, the Colosseum is holding up very well). It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 378 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Would highly recommend! Our tour guide, Francesca, was very well spoken and very knowledgeable. Being an archeologist herself, she was able to share a rich history about the Colosseum and the area. We upgraded and viewed the Underground Chambers which added so much to the experience. Even though we were scheduled to do a walking tour through the Forum, we were unable to do so due to a National Labor Strike. However, Francesca still took us to the locked Forum entrance and took time to share a lot of history, identifying as many points of interest as she could from that distance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fascinating tour - especially the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Our guide was fantastic. She took some time at the beginning of the tour to learn all our names (there were 16 of us and she referred to personal relevant aspects of most of us as we went round). Very impressed at this.This was an extremely entertaining and educational tour. To see the inside of the Colosseum in reality after having only viewed pictures, mainly of the outside I may say, was a real eye opener and to become aware of the role and importance of the Forum was equally thought provoking. Our afternoon tour took in sites such as the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain (under renovation at this time) the Pantheon and Piazza Navona etc. was also very interesting. One recommendation: do the organised tour if you can as it's far superior to walking round with a guide book with its limited detail. Viator have not given us anything less than well informed and knowledgeable guides and we would thoroughly recommend them, Undoubtedly 10/10.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic experience, knowledgeable guides, highly recommended. Be prepared for lots of walking and steps as you climb to the top and bottom of the Colosseum and cover a lot of ground in Ancient Rome (do take water with you!) but well worth spending the 3/4 hours to do it. Amazing photos, no queuing and we all learnt so much thanks to our enthusiastic guides who really brought the past to life; my daughter even changed the topic of her dissertation as she was so inspired by this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a small group 12 of us and had a FANTASTIC TOUR. One from Viator and the other from the Colosseum. I would review as one of the best ones to take so much information. Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I had a fabulous experience on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable in all ares of the colosseum and what had gone on there. It sure gives a person a totally different perspective on places like that once you know more of its history. I've always been interested in seeing the colosseum so wanted to see it in a way I would get the most out of it. This tour was the perfect way to do it!
Patti Chatterson

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the tour and the tour guide were excellent. we had a wonderful experience walking through the colosseum and the forum. the guide was well spoken and informative. having the earphone communication system was great, we could hear everything without having to huddle around the guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my favourite tour during our trip to Rome. Our group got private access to the colosseum floor, the under floor area, and the upper third level with its amazing views of inside and outside areas of the colosseum. Our guide was very informative and shared an impressive amount of historical information with us as we made our way throughout the colosseum and surrounding Roman Forum grounds. A professionally guided tour is the only way (unless you are a history scholar) to fully immerse yourself in the history of what you are seeing and put it in context.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

There was a ton of information to absorb on the Colosseum tour and Laura made it interesting and fun. A really great tour experience.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The best way to experience the center of Rome! I went on this tour as part of a 4 day trip to Rome (it was my first time in the city) and this tour, together with the visit to the Vatican which I also booked with Viator, where the highlights of my trip.

Our guide was a 35 year-old charismatic Roman who spoke fluent English. Our group consisted of about 30 people and each of us had an audio unit with a headphone which transmitted the guide's voice perfectly, which meant each of us heard the guide perfectly in spite of the crowds in places like the Colosseum.

Our guide was thoughtful, attentive and very knowledgeable! During the 4 hour tour he gave us an endless amount of interesting information about the sights we passed which only a local would know (such as pointing out that certain apartment buildings are entirely occupied by the same family).

This tour was a fantastic way to skip the lines at the Colosseum + visit the main sights in the center of Rome, all with a fantastic guide. If time is of the essence for you, this is the best way to see the center of Rome. I suggest you do this tour on your first day so you have time to go back to the sights you have time to return to some of the sights you walk past on this tour if you so choose. I would definitely choose this tour over the hop-on hop-off bus.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We joined the group led by Elisabetta and enjoyed the tour immensely. She gave a good overview and insight to Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palentine Hill. Very informative, rather than just walk the various sites without any associated knowledge.
We absolutely recommend Viator tour, and Elisabetta's tour is top of our vote!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fab experience with an extremely knowledgeable guide. We took the tour on my husbands 30th birthday and although it was a group tour, it was a very lovely and romantic evening - we dined on a private table (the food was exquisite). Then, the night tour or the colosseum - so special and unique!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The whole experience was brilliant. There were only four in our group plus the guide who spoke excellent English and really seemed to know his history. I have been the Colosseum and Forum before but without guides and learnt so much more this time. A bit disappointed that the underground was restricted access due to some bricks being stolen earlier in the year but that was not the tour operators fault.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour guide, Mikayla, was very knowledgeable and passionate about "her" city and the history. Walking into the main floor Colosseum, after touring the underground and hearing the stories of what went on long long ago, was a awesome experience. We should all be grateful they are patiently and accurately restoring more of this wonderful piece of history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour! our guide Alessandro, was very knowledgeable and had a passion for archaeology and history of Rome and made the tour an excellent experience filled with excellent information of the Colosseum, Roma Forum and Palatine hill.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful tour of the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill with our Viator guide, Sara N. She was a very welcoming and friendly lady with vast knowledge about everything Roman as she has a Phd an is a qualified archaeologist, and the tour was so good, we would happily do it again. Sara showed us pictures of how Rome would have looked when the Colosseum was in its prime and gave us lots of interesting information about everything we viewed, which made the whole trip worthwhile. She brought it to life and imparted knowledge that you cannot get from guide books alone. It's pretty pointless going to see
these monuments without a guide because it will not have the same meaning or impact on you. This was the highlight of our trip - 100%.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message