The Colosseum in Rome is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity (for something built in 80 AD, the Colosseum is holding up very well). It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an incredible experience. I personally don't deal well with heat and booked this tour as an option. It was perfect. Seeing the colosseum at night was just stunning, the sunset views and the lighting of the colosseum was amazing. We went to the 730 tour which was perfect timing. Guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It pays to take the tour and get to see all the levels of the Colosseum! The new floor is open and worth going out onto. You can really feel the enormity of the stadium from the floor. The upper tier provides awesome views of the Colosseum ad well as ancient Rome. The forum was more of my husband's thing...he said he was really happy with the tour and the guide. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We toured the Colosseum and Ancient Rome on our first morning in Rome and it was by far the best tour we took. Our tour guide was amazing and make the experience fun as well as educational.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is the only way to see the Colosseum! We traveled to Rome during the peak season expecting and dreading the crowds so we booked this tour hoping for a less crowded experience. When we walked past the Colosseum during the day it was packed with people but when we went later for our tour there were only 2 other tour groups there with about 15 people each so we were able to get plenty of pictures without a bunch of random people in the background. Our tour guide spoke great English and took us on a walk down the main street explaining to us what some other monuments and places were before we made it to the Colosseum where we learned facts and stories you wouldn't hear if you just went on your own.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a MUST DO tour for anyone visiting Rome...3 1/2 hours long and a lot of walking covering Palentine Hill, Roman Forum and of course the Colosseum. Our guide, Francesca was superb, she spoke excellent english and had great knowledge....she is a history teacher by profession! We were in a group of around 20 people, so not to large and everyone thoroughly enjoyed. The restricted access to areas of the Colosseum only open to guided tours is well worth the money in its self... especially up to the upper tier where the views are amazing. You must do this tour if you are planning to visit the Colosseum...just ask all the people who tried to follow us up to the upper tier and were denied access!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was absolutely amazing! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very witty. The Colosseum was a breathtaking experience and it was very nice to walk by the huge line outside. The tour went through some of the most historic parts of Rome, ending with a great view of the Palantine Hill.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I brought two half day excursions with Viator for my sister's birthday. This was our morning tour, which I recommend as it starts early and there are (marginally) fewer people there. Our tourguide, Marco, was witty, knowledgable and interesting. He very clearly loved his job, and it made the whole experience just magical. I definitely recommend this tour for anybody, especially with the skip-the-line perk (a must for the colosseum, by 11am the queue was backing out of the colosseum and around the outside of it) you won't regret it. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a good time on the morning tour despite the fact that it rained 90% of the time. Our tour guide had a great attitude in the rain and didn't let it affect our learning experience. He explained the various parts of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome with a lot of passion. Our afternoon was pleasant as well. Our tour guide had a dry sense of humor and we enjoyed it. He pointed out excellent places to eat and shop (for later).

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was excellent and funny for the Forum. Very cool experience to be walking in history. Colosseum was amazing. Tour exceptional in that you had access to every level in private setting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our first tour of our holiday, and it really exceeded my expectations! The tour company did an excellent job organising us into groups, and our tour guide, Sofie, was really superb. We started off by visiting the ruins of the Roman Forum, followed by Palatine Hill, the ancient birthplace of the city. Sofie imparted so much information I wondered how she remembered it all! The sights we saw were simply amazing, and by having an expert with us, we could actually appreciate what we were looking at far better than if we had simply toured the site by ourselves.
Sofie had told us that, as the Colosseum was being renovated, we wouldn't be able to visit the underground chambers, which was a little bit disappointing. However, when we arrived at the Colosseum and were handed over to one of their guides, we were informed that all of the work on the underground section was now finished, and we would be the first tour group allowed in since it reopened! (I'm usually not that lucky!) While the sound system wasn't quite as good in the Colosseum as it had been in the Forum with the tour guide, it was still quite easy to hear, and the Colosseum guide was clearly passionate about her subject. Walking out onto the arena floor was simply breathtaking, and the underground chambers were fascinating. We were also led up onto the upper tier, where most tourists can't go, and this was equally as incredible - we got a fabulous view not only of the Colosseum, but also of Rome beyond, and as there weren't many tourists up there, it felt a lot less claustrophobic and crowded, and we weren't having to jostle for good photograph positions.
While this tour was quite expensive, it really was worth every penny. There was no waiting around in a never-ending line to get inside the Colosseum, and the access we got was just incredible!
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great fun for teenagers through grandparents. Everyone loved the experience, especially being able to go beneath the Colosseum. The Form is less impressive, although our tour was cut short by a very heavy rain. It was interesting seeing how fast that area floods.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Initially I was a little apprehensive with the basic instructions that were given as where to meet for the visit. Once at the Colosseum Metro Station everything made sense and it really was as simple as it seemed. We met our guide who was professional and extremely knowledgeable about the sites we visited on the walking tour including the Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill. She looked after the group really well and made sure everyone had shade where possible, water from drinking fountains and she took a personal interest in everyone in the group making them feel welcome. We had a wonderful experience with both tours we took in Rome, I think this spoiled us for visits we did later in Spain that were not of the same high standard. If you have a half day free in Rome I would highly recommend this visit.....if you visit in summer, go in the morning so you are free when it gets really hot in the afternoon to rest/relax or do an air-conditioned hop-on bus tour in the afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a great way to see the ancient Roman structures and ruins while also seeing the key historic landmarks of Rome in one day! Having the tours split (Colosseum and ruins in the AM and Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Piazza Navona in the afternoon) was a nice way to see lots of sites at a more relaxed pace. We also got to have a nice lunch walking between the two areas and saw more of the city. Both tour guides were great and very knowledgeable. If you're only in Rome for a short time this is a great way to see lots of the highlights and experience Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding tour guide that was an archeologist and historian and had participated in actual Colosseum digs; her knowledge and enthusiasm for the sites really added to the experience.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

EXCELLENT tour! There were 24 people in our group and the guide (Dario?) was witty and knowledgeable. He piqued our interest, asked US questions, and helped us understand the sites in the Forum area and their historical significance. Being able to go "underground" in the Colosseum was enlightening and our guide dispelled some myths that all of us in the group had held based on movies and legend. When we emerged after climbing the steps to the upper tiers, the sky was bright blue and the view of the whole Colosseum was magnificent. I cannot imagine touring these sites without a knowledgeable guide.

Everything about this experience was positive - from buying the tour online, printing the voucher, arriving at the meeting point using the clear directions, and visiting the sites. The headsets and microphone system made sure that we didn't miss anything the guide said. My only advice to future tour goers would be to bring your own comfortable earbuds and use them instead of the disposable ones provided.

HIGHLY recommend!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message