• USD ($)
  • English
The Colosseum in Rome is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity (for something built in 80 AD, the Colosseum is holding up very well). It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Guides were very knowledgeable and encouraged questions. It was great to be able to go into the areas that were off-limits to the "regular" tourists. The view from the upper tier is awesome. Having a guide explain the details of the ruins on the Palatine is also very helpful, not to mention fascinating. And, of course, it is much better to spend your time in Rome actually seeing the sites and learning the history instead of standing in lines just to get in to the basic areas of the Colosseum. Once you see the length of just that one line you'll be thankful you took the tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This two part day tour was exceptional. I can't remember the two tour guide's names, but they both did an amazing job. I think my family liked the first tour of ancient Rome the best. During the first part (ancient Rome), the guide went through main parts of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill. If I didn't have the guide I can say that I would have spend all day walking around the Forum and Palatine Hill looking at everything and have no clue what everything was. She went through the basics and never became boring. The second part (walking through Rome) was nice. The pace wasn't too fast or too slow. We got to see everything the tour said it would. We had some time at the Trevi Fountain for shopping or throwing in a coin in the fountain. I read a review from this tour and one said that they don't go in the Pantheon, but we spend quite a bit of time in the Pantheon. Then we had gelato at a restaurant nearby. At the end, the guide told us how to get to where we wanted to go afterward. The only thing we didn't like was the guide kept telling my family that from Campo di Fiori that we needed to take the bus to the Colosseum, but we were able to walk it without his help. My family really enjoyed taking this the first day in Rome so we could get the basics of the attractions and where they are located and then spend the rest of our days in Rome going back to whatever attraction we wanted to spend more time at.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Elise was a wonderful guide. She was very friendly and expanded on all questions often going off topic to give more information. She was really in love with her work and it showed. This tour took us into the arena, underground and to the upper tier where the view both inside and outside the colosseum were amazing. This tour also included the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. There is a lot of walking but it was well worth it. Go early in the morning for less crowds and better pictures.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was terrific--well organized, perfectly paced and fascinating. We saw aspects of the Colosseum that most tourists don't see and were never kept waiting by other groups. Our guide, Emma, was extremely knowledgeable, a good communicator and clearly loved her job. She added immeasurably to the experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A wonderful experience made all the better by our Guide Mirella.....she was passionate and very knowledgeable on the subject of the Colosseum and Forum. A wonderful tour not to be missed!!!! again highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Colosseum is an amazing structure in itself but we thought the guided tour made a massive difference to our experience. Not queueing was a big plus in the off season and would be even more so in the summer, that is the first must on the list. Our tour guide was called Nina and her knowledge was only rivalled by her skill in delivering every bit of information in bitesize chunks with a bit of humour thrown in for good measure. We felt we were really given a true historical representation of how the building was used backed up by pictures of how everything would have looked in its prime. The additions of the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill would have been almost non-events without a proper guide, we learnt a lot more and had a better experience than we would have done with just a book.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Definitely recommend this tour to everyone! Loved every minute of it. Our tour guide Chiara (sorry if that's spelt wrong) was absolutely brilliant, made the Colosseum come to life with her knowledge. Going to the underground, arena and upper tier made this tour the best experience you would not get if you just went for the normal entrance tickets. I would go on this tour again. Thank you!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The ancient Rome walking tour provided a great overview of the Colosseum and various other ruins. The tour's pace was quick enough to cover a lot of ground but slow enough that we learned a lot at each stop. I had previously taken a different company's Colosseum tour, and it couldn't compare to the detail provided through Viator. The guide was terrific and answered my dozens of questions about the amphitheater.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour of the Colosseum and the Forum. Our guide was superb making the whole experience memorable. We will definitely recommend Viator to our friends. Well done.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Agostina is an awesome tour guide, we had her for this tour and for the Sistine Chapel private viewing tour. She is extremely knowledgable and has a passion for archaeology. If you want to see the colosseum this tour is a must, the views from the top of level of the colosseum are worth the price.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent experience! Our guide paced the tour so that those with walking difficulties could keep up, yet we were able to see it all. The use of audio receivers meant that we were able to hear our guide no matter how far away we were. His spoken English was very easy to understand. The "Skip the Line" feature makes this the best way to see the Colosseum and Forum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Superb tour, fabulous guide Susanna, couldn't have asked for more. The Colosseum is beyond amazing and the history of the Forum is not to be missed. Our guide also gave us tips on where else to visit and see amazing views of the city. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide we had for this tour was excellent, very knowledgeable and interesting. Unfortunately we were not able to see the underground of the Colosseum that day as some of the ground had collapsed. We were compensated by being able to go to a special viewing area. Tour of Roman Forum and Palatine Hill was also great. A must tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Maria was very pleasant, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She pointed out things to us that we would probably not have realised or noticed. Her own interest in Roman history became apparent and this helped us to have a better understanding of both the human and architectural history of the Colosseum and Forum. We totally enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide made ancient Rome come to life! It would not have been the same on our own. Her stories of history painted a witty and entertaining story of the past. All this... and there was an unexpected strike so we could not go into the ancient Rome ruins. Our tour guide saved the day and we saw and experienced everything from above. However, we did go into the Colosseum and experienced it to the point where you felt like you were part of the Roman history!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message