Rome's Colosseum is one of the world's best known sites from antiquity, and for something built in 80 AD, it's holding up very well. It was here that the Roman emperors liked to watch gladiators stage to-the-death battles and also hunt and kill wild ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2819 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable as well as educational. We were able to see areas that would normally be off limits to the average tourist. The views of the Colosseum and later the Forum and Rome from the Palatine Hills was absolutely stunning. I would highly recommend this tour to people who want to get a real understanding of Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Food and rooftop view were fantastic. I would have liked more time to enjoy the restaurant. The tour of the colosseum was magical. Very private and the guide brought the colosseum to life with her narrative.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience. The guide was great and was great to see the less crowded areas of the colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding tour director, her name was Maristella who went over and beyond historical events. Highly recommended for those who have never been to the Colosseum or through Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful tour and well worth the service of a knowledgable guide who studied historical restoration. He had a wealth of info about both the Colosseum and Forum areas that were very interesting and helped us appreciate how Ancient Rome evolved. We highly recommend this tour. A word of advice... Hydrate! There is no water beyond the entrance of the Forum and it's extremely hot. We were not able to finish the hike up Palatine Hill, but that was around noon. This tour may be better toward the end of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect tour of the Colosseum and environs. Lots of good information and explanations. Had a great time and highly recommend this tour. Again, the Skip the Line is absolutely necessary. Don't skimp!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Incredible tour that included so much in depth information. Tour guide Susanna and our assigned colosseum archaeologist were fantastic with their engaging facts and approach perfectly putting across their love for their city. Great value for money and would recommend this tour to any history lover.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Colosseum/Ancient Rome tour was excellent, helped by our guide Claudia who was very passionate and very informative! The Best of Rome afternoon walking tour was just as good, but it was a pity that the Trevi Fountain was being restored!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really informative with Emmanuelle, she knew her stuff adn we really enjoyed our tour of the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. Do wear comfortable footwear as there's a lot of walking on 3 hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Our guide Daniel was very good. Skipping the lines was fantastic, we could have spent half our time queuing, but instead went straight through for the colosseum and the forum. Would highly recommend wonder tours who hosted the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Virginia was simply EXCELLENT!she is a treasure trove of historical info and made the Colosseum and Forum come alive........despite a brief rain shower ,thunder and lightening.One of the best aviator guides!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This guided tour is amazing. Our tour guide Gigi was very informative, and quite funny. Exploring areas of the colosseum you don't normally see was great, you get a real sense of how it was. The Forum was incredible and once the tour was over we could stay in The Forum for as long as we wanted.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You could see the Colosseum and Ancient Rome without a guide as I did the first time I went to Rome but I would highly recommend a guided tour. Our guide was very informative and even had visual aids to help recreate the scene bring it all to life. I learnt a whole lot more on this tour then I did by myself which is one of the reasons why I wanted to do this. The guide had only been speaking English for a year and I have to say he spoke very well and was easy to understand.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Marcela C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing tour, mostly because our guide Fabrizio was very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about the subject material. We saw the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. Our guide had pictures of how it looked in its prime, which were very helpful. The tour was through CityWonders and it seems that every time I book a tour with them they have fantastic, knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our family of 4 2 teens enjoyed the Colosseum tour which included the underground tour. It was very interesting and our guide was informative. I'm glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The morning tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome was especially great! Our tour guide had a PhD in archaeology and was very informative. It was a lot of walking, but both guides knew where to stop for shade and water fountains to refill our bottles and were very accommodating. The guides were also very helpful to just answer questions we had and make recommendations of other things to see. It was a fantastic way to start our trip.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I forked out a lot of money for a personalized tour in the Vatican for my 2 kids 3 and 6 and my husband and myself. I wish I decided to do a Viatour family tour for the Vatican as well. The family colosseum tour was fantastic! The guide Flotina was engaging, energetic and kept it very kid friendly, for kids of all ages. It was definitely worth the money for this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really great tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. The guide was fantastic. After three hours in the heat
We didn't do the afternoon walking tour..just too much

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the dinner on the rooftop, our tour guides and colosseum night tour. The food / wine at the restaurant was amazing. The view was spectacular overlooking ancient Rome and watching the sunset as we ate such a yummy meal. I really enjoyed the desert which I chose terra misu . Our tour at the Colosseum was everything and more than I expected. It was great mssing the crowds and to be able to see everything in such detail without being rushed. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and you could see the passion she had wanting to ensure we didn't miss anything. Thanks for an amazing experience. We loved it !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Dinner was fantastic. The tour was good except that the colosseum tour guide needed to speak clearer and louder.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

WOW.... This was a fantastic way of seeing the colosseum, our guide was a lady called Manuela who was very knowledgeable and passionate about ancient Rome. We entered the colosseum through a large gate which took you out on to a platform which was the colosseum floor and what an entrance it made me say WOW, we then went in to the underground chambers which is off limits to the hundreds of people in the colosseum unless you do this tour. The view from the third level was breathtaking and again is off limits unless you do this tour. I can highly recommend this tour it's worth every penny.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant, our guide was most helpful and having the headset was great as we could just take it all in and sit back and listen. Queue jump at the Colosseum was great. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lots of walking, and we had our 9 month old baby in tow. Wear comfy shoes and if with a young child, then definitely wear him/her in a baby carrier! Strollers are not easy to navigate on uneven terrain or high steps at the colosseum. Tour guide was amazing! Considerate and well-spoken.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Morning Tour at the Colosseum was incredible, Alex our tour guide was Brilliant, Informative and Funny. It was a scorchingly hot day, but he managed to keep us entertained and informed. I left tired but happy!
The afternoon tour was also good, lots to see!,

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maura was a fabulous guide and skipping the line at the colosseum was worth the tour! This is a lot of walking with a lot of stairs and hills, but the forum tour provided so much info we'd have missed on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message