Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Jewish Ghetto

There is a neighborhood in Rome still known by the population that called it home in the 16th century. The Roman Jewish Ghetto, formally established in 1555, was where Jews in Rome were forced to live after that year, although Jews had lived in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 561 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was excellent and knew so much about the history of the Roman Ghetto and its surrounds. Make a point to have a meal here. The Jewish artichokes are out of this world.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Solveigh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very tasty, interesting, on your own you wouldn't come across all those places!
To improve: not much really, only a tiny little bit more cultural Information.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, very comprehensive and informative. Guide pointed out several places we will return to on our own and had good recommendations for dinner.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I spent 9 days in Italy in 3 cities and took a four tour in each one. We loved every tour and they were each a little different. I enjoyed the foods of Rome and our guide who had a degree in archeology with a specialty in old coins. I loved hearing about American Italian food and when it didn't make sense. My favorite part was in the Jewish Ghetto and seeing the street plates. It touched my heart. These food tours are a fun value because you get to eat, drink, walk through the streets of Rome with a Roman and ...learn about the people, culture and history.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

iamaroamer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good tour, found parts of Rome I knew about but didn't know how to get there. The historical aspects of both the Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere are worth getting to know.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

fr k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was the highlight of our trip to Rome, We went with Top Bike Rental and they were so friendly and professional . We popped in 2 days before the tour to check the details and the lady behind the desk was a gem. She gave us hints and tips to enhance our stay and by then we knew we had picked the right tour. Our tour guide was Valeria who was friendly and had so much knowledge throughout the tour she made our week. We felt safe at all times on route and believe this is a great way to see Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Alexandru M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very nice. Bicycles were very good, very easy to ride. Emanuel was supportive is not very easy to ride in Rome, he give us plenty of information about the city. We saw a lot of interesting sites not so easy to find by your own.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fun tour, very worthwhile! Best to do at the beginning of your stay in Rome if you've never been there before. There's a lot of great food, and the history fits in so naturally and logically with the food. All three neighborhoods are fascinating and easy to walk around, and if you're staying awhile you'll probably return to some places on this tour like I did. Also, at the starting time I found out that four other people had signed up for it, and when none of them showed up I assumed that Valeria would need to cancel it - but she was happy to conduct the tour with just me. Thanks Valeria!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

mitchell J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

excellent, great guide from orlando

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Yigal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Federika was a great guide with an infectious love of Rome. We were a very small group 3 people and even though it was an afternoon tour, and the market was already closed, felt we got great explanations about the products used and typical Roman dishes. We were certainly not hungry by the end actually middle of the tour, having tasted gelato, pizza, cheeses, a salami, suppli, a fried artichoke and a pasta dish all in different locations. We went to the market the next morning and knew what to look for based on the evenings descriptions.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Shannon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved the personal perspective Valeria gave.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Jeanette Pena was an excellent guide who we would highly recommend to anyone interested in learning more about Rome. She was very knowledgeable about the neighborhoods we visited. She was engaging, interesting and has a great sense of humor!

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Josepha S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was wonderfull and very knowledgable. Provided a lot of extra information beyond what I expected. She was American, living in Rome for 10 years. Wish I wrote down her name. We covered more sites in a short time than I had expected

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Mickey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely day spent talking about food and learning about the Roman perspective

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

hernandezluis1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The walking tour was probably one of the best tours we've ever been on. The guide was very informed and was able to answer all of our questions.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

michael b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very informative. Guide was great.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Harold D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very fun tour. A highlight of Rome experience. Super friendly and fun tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful guide Fredericka she was very knowledgeable and helpful. She made sure everyone who had different food requirements that they were all met. It was a very historic view of Rome with great food thrown in. We have done other food tours and this was a nice pace and the food outstanding. Make sure you don't eat before the tour though or you won't be able to fit everything in.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Susan C S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. We really enjoyed the small group experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and the food was wonderful. We especially loved the fried artichokes in the Jewish Ghetto.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

jmowyang United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing experience. Our guide was a true Roman with great insights and shared amazing foods with us throughout the tour. We were definitely stuffed by the end. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Isabel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Great guide I think her name was Francesina! She was very spunky and knowledgeable. We enjoyed every bite.
As a fellow traveler: The afternoon tour does not go to the market, but is worth it nevertheless.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This food tour was exceptionally good. Georgia was amazing sharing her wealth of knowledge with us. We would highly recommend this tour as it was a highlight of our trip to Italy. Thank you to Georgia Louise and Tim

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour. Our tour guide, Valeria was an absolute pleasure. She was knowledgeable and thorough in covering all the areas we visited. There were only 5 of us in the group and we hit it off with the other 3 people. It was a beautiful day in Rome which added to the positive experience we had. This was our 2nd Walking Tour, having done the Testaccio one 2 years ago. I recommend this tour and Viator in general.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Susan K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an EXCELLENT and very highly recommended. Our tour guide was fantastic and we loved the food as well as the history. Our guide was so knowledgeable and learning about the various areas like the Jewish Ghetto was fascinating. We chose this tour since we had been to Rome before and done the Vatican, Colosseum, etc. already. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gregory K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous tour. Georgia the guide offered great knowledge of local food as well as interesting observations and historical tidbits along the route. The food stops were EXCELLENT. Doing this tour on one of your first days is a good idea so you can apply the knowledge to enhance your dining during your stay.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message