Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Jewish Ghetto

There is a neighborhood in Rome still known by the population that called it home in the 16th century. The Roman Jewish Ghetto, formally established in 1555, was where Jews in Rome were forced to live after that year, although Jews had lived in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 575 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Great guide. Hu
Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Lutitia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If choosing to book this tour, I highly recommend making it the first tour you go on. Our guide, Valeria, was superb. She was very knowledgeable, engaging and personable. I learned quite a bit about Roman food and culture while sampling the BEST buffalo mozzarella and gelato I've ever had. You won't regret taking this tour and if you get Valeria as your guide, even better.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Gina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great time and our guide was great.
Highly recommend. Gave us ideas where to eat and what to see. Great insiders information on the real authentic food of Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Hilda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was fun, the food was fantastic! I think it would be good to give the guides on these walking tours a radio and headsets for the guests. There is a lot of street noise and it was sometimes hard to hear her.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

kellyber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Georgia was a wonderful guide. She was fun and made the tour very interesting. We learned a lot about Roman history and food traditions.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Lorinda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Terrific food tour! Our guide was fabulous! Very knowledgeable about Roman history and food. We tasted meat and cheese from a sm. grocery, pizza, 2 kinds of pasta, fried squash blossoms, rice balls and gelato. It was all delicious. I would highly recommend this tour, esp. early on your vacation

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Erica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was excellent and the guide was excellent!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

LG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I decided last-minute to do this tour and was glad I did, as it was very informative and delicious! Valeria was an excellent guide, and the small size of the group allowed us to ask all the questions we wanted. The food samples are very generous, and I was stuffed at the end.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

bhaimson United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour. Francesca from Joy of Rome was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and communicated information very well. We learned quite a lot about this area of Rome and its relevance to early roman history. I very highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Jewish District Walking Tour

hwagnerrealtor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Federica was lovely and very knowledgeable. We not only enjoyed the delicious food but we also learned so much about the history of Rome and the neighbors we explored.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Paul N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour and Guide, Antonia. Be aware that the market is closed for to afternoon tour. There is so much food to eat that you will not want to eat for hours before the tour begins, especially the evening tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was excellent and knew so much about the history of the Roman Ghetto and its surrounds. Make a point to have a meal here. The Jewish artichokes are out of this world.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Solveigh R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very tasty, interesting, on your own you wouldn't come across all those places!
To improve: not much really, only a tiny little bit more cultural Information.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, very comprehensive and informative. Guide pointed out several places we will return to on our own and had good recommendations for dinner.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I spent 9 days in Italy in 3 cities and took a four tour in each one. We loved every tour and they were each a little different. I enjoyed the foods of Rome and our guide who had a degree in archeology with a specialty in old coins. I loved hearing about American Italian food and when it didn't make sense. My favorite part was in the Jewish Ghetto and seeing the street plates. It touched my heart. These food tours are a fun value because you get to eat, drink, walk through the streets of Rome with a Roman and ...learn about the people, culture and history.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

iamaroamer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good tour, found parts of Rome I knew about but didn't know how to get there. The historical aspects of both the Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere are worth getting to know.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

fr k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was the highlight of our trip to Rome, We went with Top Bike Rental and they were so friendly and professional . We popped in 2 days before the tour to check the details and the lady behind the desk was a gem. She gave us hints and tips to enhance our stay and by then we knew we had picked the right tour. Our tour guide was Valeria who was friendly and had so much knowledge throughout the tour she made our week. We felt safe at all times on route and believe this is a great way to see Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Alexandru M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very nice. Bicycles were very good, very easy to ride. Emanuel was supportive is not very easy to ride in Rome, he give us plenty of information about the city. We saw a lot of interesting sites not so easy to find by your own.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fun tour, very worthwhile! Best to do at the beginning of your stay in Rome if you've never been there before. There's a lot of great food, and the history fits in so naturally and logically with the food. All three neighborhoods are fascinating and easy to walk around, and if you're staying awhile you'll probably return to some places on this tour like I did. Also, at the starting time I found out that four other people had signed up for it, and when none of them showed up I assumed that Valeria would need to cancel it - but she was happy to conduct the tour with just me. Thanks Valeria!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

mitchell J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

excellent, great guide from orlando

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Yigal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Federika was a great guide with an infectious love of Rome. We were a very small group 3 people and even though it was an afternoon tour, and the market was already closed, felt we got great explanations about the products used and typical Roman dishes. We were certainly not hungry by the end actually middle of the tour, having tasted gelato, pizza, cheeses, a salami, suppli, a fried artichoke and a pasta dish all in different locations. We went to the market the next morning and knew what to look for based on the evenings descriptions.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Shannon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved the personal perspective Valeria gave.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Jeanette Pena was an excellent guide who we would highly recommend to anyone interested in learning more about Rome. She was very knowledgeable about the neighborhoods we visited. She was engaging, interesting and has a great sense of humor!

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message