There is a neighborhood in Rome still known by the population that called it home in the 16th century. The Roman Jewish Ghetto, formally established in 1555, was where Jews in Rome were forced to live after that year, although Jews had lived in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 446 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour. A total emersion in roman culture and cuisine. Our guide, Daniella, was fantastic...lots of wit, passion and knowledge. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved it and have recommended it to everyone we have met in Rome. We learned a lot and loved all the tastings. It was enough to be our dinner for the night.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Evylen was wonderful. Very informative and friendly. We all had a wonderful time and lunch a was really good .

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We went on the Rome Food Walking Tour covering the Trastevere, Campo de Fiori and Jewish Ghetto neighbourhoods. What an absolute treat it was. We were in a small group, and the enthusiastic and knowledgable Daniela was our guide. The range of food we were able to try was fantastic and we certainly did not finish the tour hungry. Daniela explained the origin of all we ate and gave pointers for places and other food to eat in our remaining time in Rome. The tour ended in Travestere which was enabled us to independtly visit a craft beer pub I had my eye on. So, wins all round.
I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Francesca was knowledgable, engaging and enthusiastic. She had good English skills and was easy to understand.
We learned a lot, enjoyed all the food stops
and would enthusiastically recommend
the tour to others. Appreciated that the group was limited to 12.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good and interesting tour.
Our guide frederika was full of knowledge and spoke to us in perfect English about various foods and why the romans are partial to them. We then stopped 4 or 5 times at different places to taste typical Italian food. It was wonderful, finishing with a gelato. Delish!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fantastic! Our guide Federica was very knowledgable about both food and the history of Rome. The places we stopped at on the tour were fantastic and we learned a lot about...particularly places to avoid! A must do if you love food and Rome!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide was excellent. She gave us information and showed us things that no guide book could. A very enjoyable and interesting 3 hours. We would highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Rome and who is looking for a different perspective on the history of this fabulous city.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour- well worth the money!
Francesca was a fantastic guide and we had a great time....this tour is perfect for foodies and has a bit of history/culture on the city thrown in. Thank you!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My 14-year old son and I took this tour--we both highly recommend it! The food was fabulous and the walking between the various stops allowed us to hear fun facts and also to get to know each other. Our tour guides, Evelyn and Daniella, were informative and they provided not just facts, but stories, too. This tour also allowed us to visit the Trestevere district, which was well worth visiting.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A friend and I were staying in Rome for just two days, so we chose this tour to get our bearings and see as much as we could. Our guide, Frederico, went out of his way to give us a totally unique, honest and informative experience of the city. It really made our trip. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

DANIELA KNOWS WHAT THERE IS TO KNOW ABOUT ROME AND FOOD. MOST ENJOYABLE, ENTERTAINING AND EDUCATIONAL. THE BEST.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed the tour! The guide was very knowledgeable about Rome's history and of course about food! The food was also very good to top it off!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Flavia was the best! We loved the tour. It was freezing but she was upbeat and interesting and knew a lot about the food. The stops were great, we learned a lot and had a wonderful time. She is a terrific guide. Thanks for this great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our walking tour was wonderful, she was a very informative tour guide. We sampled a lot of food along our walk. We especially like the end when we were able to sit down and enjoy the wine with our pasta.
Great Job!! I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour guide and a good way to spend some time seeing this part of Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was cancelled due to a lack of participation. We travelled in December, which was in the low season.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Truly interesting! Learned a lot! Our guide Francesca was amazing! The food was excellent!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a really neat place to visit. I anyone going to Rome should vist this area.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great small group tour! One of the highlights of our trip. Great food, information, and history of Rome. I wish we would have done this the first night staying in Rome so we could go back to the places we went!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was really great. Our guide was so informative about the areas that we walked through and about the food. Everything tasted wonderful. We met some really nice people from all over the world. The atmosphere was casual and we did not feel rushed at all. Would definitely do this type of tour again.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was great! Our tour guide was so knowledgable and passionate about roman cuisine ! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fabulous experience. A small group (just two riders plus the guide), we got a great look at the city. The spots we stopped (for coffee and later pizza) were top notch, and ones that I returned to on my own. This tour made my trip!
I ride a road bike at home, so this was not a stretch. If you haven't ridden in 15 years, this is a pretty technical undertaking. It's not the up- and down-hill that challenge -- although there are hills -- it's the crowds. (I chose a touring bike with an electronic battery "assist", so going uphill was easy.)
Unlike a walking tour, where you are listening to a guide (usually through a headset) while you walk, on this biking tour you ride for awhile, then stop and listen to explanation.
This tour made my trip!

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Francesca was a knowledgeable and entertaining guide through Italian food and Italian history. You can tell she is well thought of by the owners of the businesses we sampled. The food was great! And now, every time we pass a bar, ristorante, or gelateria, my daughter and I nod knowingly, able to tell whether it's authentic or for "the rest of the tourists"! Thank you!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message