There is a neighborhood in Rome still known by the population that called it home in the 16th century. The Roman Jewish Ghetto, formally established in 1555, was where Jews in Rome were forced to live after that year, although Jews had lived in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 497 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting and informative. Glad we did it.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Valeria was an excellent guide and we really enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Guide Valeria was very informative and knowledgeable. Valeria was passionate about food and its history and that reflected in her excellent tour. Couldnt fault it. Plenty of tasting opportunities and lots to see and do.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour highlights areas of the city you may not normally wander into on your own. Our tour guide Janette was great. She had a depth of knowledge and presented it in an interesting upbeat manner. She had as much enthusiasm at 6PM as she did at 9PM.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun! So much food and so much information! Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recommend this tour as it allowed us to get away from the tourist
hotspots, try some delicious local food, and explore some of the local neighbourhoods.
Our local guide Federica was excellent. She kept things both interesting and fun
and it was great to see the pride she took in her home city and food.
We also got to experience her favorite pasta - with only peccorino and pepper -
which was delicious! This tour and gave me an insight into both the local life and
food in Rome that I othewise would not have experienced. Definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a small group and an amazing tour. So much history and our tour guide was AMAZING! She was so knowledgeable. It was great to have our small group and be able to ask questions and get so much of the side street of Rome. I had my 7 year old and 17 year old both loved the tour and the tour guide. Great for all ages, don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My 14 year old son and I loved this tour! I can't speak highly enough about this company
Fantastico!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of fun, yummy food, the gal who runs this business really cares, A

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Federica was a tremendous tour guide -- instantly befriending us at our easy to find rendezvous spot and then taking excellent care to teach us about the various stops/history on our tour. We did the late afternoon tour which meant that the Campo de' Fiori Market was just wrapping up. But as it was so hot we more than welcomed darting in and out of fabulous shops and eateries, some cool because of AC, others refreshing because we were in a subterranean dining room. We kicked off the tasting and tales at the Ruggeri Campo de' Fiori shop: beautiful meats, cheeses and family stories. We then went onto several other stops -- all with food samples -- including a bakery which had the best wine donuts we've ever purchased, a restaurant in the Jewish Ghetto, a gelato shop and most memorably, Sette Oche in Altalena, Ristorante/Pizzeria , Reclamavano la Cena, the restaurant which serves Rome's signature Tonnarelli Cacio E Pepe -- also Federica's favorite pasta dish! The motto on the server's t-shirts: Make food not war was an excellent indicator of how serious this establishment is about creating authentic dishes yet still promoting a fun celebration of tradition. It was a tremendous tour with no need to have a meal until well into the next day. Federica was delightful and engaging and took care that the members of our small and very nice group knew how to get back to everyone's respective hotels. She followed up with all in a foodie email communique sharing links to recipes and recommendations for further places to go visit. Highly recommend doing this on your very first day in Rome... it won't disappoint you and will help orient you to the city and where to go, especially with thoughtful Federica's guidance.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jeanette was amazing and so knowledgable! Great, small group of 6 people, and we learned all about the best places to eat, etc not just about the history. Would never have known about any of this had i not taken the tour. Super easy to get to on the bus from the Termini if you don't take a taxi. Just don't forget to pay before you get on the bus. A sweet nun paid for me since I don't know you needed to do this. Perfect at night because it was getting cooler at that time. This may have been my favorite tour of my whole trip.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There were only 4 of us on this tour - an American couple and ourselves. The guide was very personable and thoughtful to our needs in the high temperatures. In addition to visiting the Trastevere etc. the chance to learn something off the food of the area and to sample well our several stops did amount to a meal in total rather than just sampling the food were a a real treat. I would highly recommend this tour and you get fed to boot.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a fantastic tour. We saw Rome from a differente perspective. Our guide Riccardo was amazing. The best thing we did in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was awesome. One of my highlights of Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about food as well as Roman history. A must do experience in Rome!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely first rate. A highly enjoyable way to spend a morning in Rome. Three hours of small tastings of the local fare culminating in a delicious light lunch.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was AWESOME. My biggest regret was not doing this the first day I got to Rome. Not only was it educational but we also got a lot of great food and restaurant recommendations that would have been extremely useful throughout our visit. This tour is a MUST for all travelers looking to learn more about roman culture and eat some yummy food!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour lived up to it's name. Group of only 8 people, lots of tastings, ample portions and Valeria was so informative and engaged with the group. Even though she does this tour multiple times in 1 week she never showed any repetitive strain and she thoroughly enjoyed sharing her passions with us - Roman cuisine/local shop keepers and Rome City. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour with great food. The tour takes you through parts of Rome we probably wouldn't have seen if we didn't do the tour. The food is fantastic and the tour guide Martina did a great job, showing real passion for food and Rome itself. We did it on the first day of our trip and it put us on to what were tourist raps and what places were authentic Roman restaurants. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was by far my favorite thing we did in Rome--and it's the perfect break from other fabulous days filled with art. This blend of food, context and history and getting to know neighborhoods is a phenomenal way to spend a day. Bravo! I'll be doing these food tours in every city I visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have Daniela - the guide to our Rome food walking tour.
We joined the afternoon tour, starting at Campo de Fiori area and visited several places during the 4 hours tour, taking us through the Jewish Ghetto and across the river to Trastevere.
Daniella was full of knowledge and stories about food and food's customs. We had delicious tastings and dishes, and visited interesting parts of Rome. It's a fantastic way to combine sight seeing with food tasting in a good company and an amazing Daniela - a true Roman.

Not to be missed.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an incredible tour and I'm so glad my family did it. It was my husband, two children ages 3 and 6 and myself. There were only 3 other people plus our tour guide, Francesca. The guide was very informative and engaging. With a small group, we were able to get any questions answered and go at a pace that was good for the entire group. There was so much food! I didn't realize how many tastings we would get. Be forewarned, there's not much time to buy at the shops since it's a tour. We did this on our last day and I wish we did it on our first so we could have taken advantage of the recommendations we were given.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message