Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9990 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Our guide was very warm, welcoming and funny. Her knowledge about the colosseum was excellent. There is a lot of walking and stairs to climb but it is all really worthwhile.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was wonderful, and very knowledgeable. Very glad we booked this tour. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a true highlight of our trip. Our guide, Alessandro, is an archaeologist, and his passion for ancient history was clear and completely fascinating. Forget Gladiator...he brought to vivid and sad life the true story of young men from conquered cities who were forced to fight and die here. Our tour continued at the Forum and Palatine Hill, each spot made unforgettable by his knowledge, empathy and enthusiasm. I think everyone in our group felt the same, as at the end he got a spontaneous round of applause!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour...it was so special to witness what can't be seen from the outdoors. Our guide was informative and experienced, and knew all there was to know in order to answer our questions. This was an exhausting tour, but so worth every penny !!!...go for it

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous tour! Highly recommend! Great tour guide! Knowledgeable, personable and attentive! Would take this tour again!

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

When coming the Rome the site I wanted to see the most was the collisieum. This is the tour you want. The place is packed with people but this tour had a great guide and we got into the collisieum through a side entrance so no time was waisted. We got underground and on the top tier which were great

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

excellent tour and the tour guide was great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Tracey S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour covers most of the must see places of Ancient Rome. Our guides different guide in the afternoon were excellent, extremely knowledgable and judged the group well with pace of the tour. This is a long day and involves a lot of walking. Wear good comfortable walking shoes and drink enough water. If you have the time split these two tours onto different days. We did them both on the same day and were exhausted.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide Damian was funny, and extremely knowledgable. You would never know what's what without a tour. He took us touting for about 3 hours. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Damien was great! So knowledgeable and as an archeologist so well qualified. Even though we were in a big group we still could ask questions and hear everything he said. Well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I was most impressed with her. While I only attended the portion of the tour for the Roman Forum, it was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide was fabulous. She was knowledgeable and informative. This was a fantastic tour and I highly recommend it. You must go to the underground and upper tiers. Our guide was also great at the Forum and even gave us directions to a fantastic place to eat after the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide Valentina was excellent, we were so pleased to be on her tour. We certainly got our monies worth and would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Lavi our tour guide, was exceptional in speaking clearly, watching over her group, cheerfully and enthusiastically, sharing much wonderful information, even coming to chat with every person on the way back!
The length of the trip was a little long.
Bus driver was incredibly skilled!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Honestly, I have no idea how you would get anything out of this site without a guide. It's packed, loud, and there isn't much in the way of informative signs. The guide was very good and helpful. She helped us navigate and was able to explain points of interest without having to force your way through a crowd to read a plaque. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mike J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour with an extremely knowledgeable guide. Plenty of walking involved. Worthwhile to skip the large queues!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great introduction to our stay in Italy. Our guide was very informative and shared his knowledge very well. Both morning and afternoon tours gave us a real onsite into Ancient Rome. A day well spent.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous tour. Our local guide walked us through Roman history of the Colosseum and Forum. You could almost see how they lived. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth it. You were granted access into areas that no one else was. The guide was excellent. She even showed us pictures that she brought with her of the colosseum as it would have looked when it was first built.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour and well worth the money. Skipping the security and turnstile lines for both the Colosseum and the Forum saved us a great deal of time standing in the hot sun and this made the tour worthwhile on its own.

However, all the incredible information our excellent guide, Vincenzo gave us brought the Colosseum to life for us. He had so much knowledge of the time and he was interesting and fun. A great tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour guide and memorable tour. SKIP HOP ON HOP OFF TOUR...it is overbooked and nothing works well. Save your money and take the metro and/or a cab.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabrizio is a great guide, he shared his knowledge very well. Standing in the arena, visiting the underground chambers and walking to the top tier was a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message