Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10637 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent comprehensive and informative tour. Our tour guide spoke excellent English and was enthusiastic and helpful.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great! A lot of walking it can get tiring but over all our guide had great knowledge and history to share with us and it was awesome not to have to stand in line!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Davide David was absolutely fantastic!! I couldn't have imagined a better tour guide - I would give him 10 stars if I could!! He was funny, very knowledgeable and was able to answer every question he was asked - and he was asked a lot by one person in our group! We even got stuck in the rain about 20 minutes from the end of the tour and he still guided us through the rest of the tour! Aside from the rain, a wonderful tour and highly recommended! My only regret is not booking sooner to get the extended tour of the Colosseum underground to see more sights...but this was a great tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour! Really liked the tour guide. She provided us with great information. The extra price to see the underground was well worth it. Really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was by far the best tour, and worth every penny. Fabrizio was our tour guide and he was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Able to tour the Colosseum, top to bottom!!! Very educational!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Susanna was excellent. She treated us very well and was super knowledgeable. Highly recommended and you'll be lucky if you get Susanna as a guide.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and tour guide Alessandro. Showed us around and really brought to life what the place would have been like in the past both structurally and culturally. Really enjoyed the trip! Highly recommend for anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Davide was GREAT! Very knowledgable--patient, considerate, and just enough humor to make history facts interesting! Consider yourself lucky if you get in Davide's group!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, our guide, Alessandro was very knowledgeable and interesting, a lot of walking on a hot day but he was as enthusiastic at the end as he was at the beginning.
Well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Rachel was outstanding. With 2 children in the group she took the time to explain things in which they could relate also. She pointed out a lot of small but not insignificant details and provided more insight of the history which we did not get on a previous tour. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide was well informed and answered all our questions.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really great tour through the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. Weather was iffy on the day we were there so the guide was flexible if people wanted to break off early from the outdoor portion of Ancient Rome. Colosseum was amazing and tour guide was very informative, giving us plenty of time to stop and take photos along the way!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent introduction to the sights and attractions of Rome. Our guide on the Colosseum and Forum section was extremely knowledgeable and thorough. We were with our grandchildren and her narrative kept them involved and interested. I had been on this tour a few years ago but this version was more comprehensive in the Forum area. Recommend it highly!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was our first tour the day after our arrival in Rome. The history here is unbelievable. I enjoyed this half day trip to the colosseum more than I had imagined. Our guide was great and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

CLAUDIA the tour guide made it special. She was amazing! With her pictures of then and now and her knowledge. What a great experience. She was very relaxed and considerate. She spoke English very well. Bravo Claudia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another great tour! The tour of the Forum was excellent and having access to the upper tier and underground chambers of the Colosseum made this tour an experience to remember.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was excellent a high school history teacher. The weather was hot but she always was able to find us a shady spot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A highlight of our trip. Excellent! Had access to areas the other tours didn't.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour!
Engaging guide who entertained us and motivated us despite of the heat! Really interesting and brought the area to life.

In hindsight we probably may have chosen a shorter trip as this tour took time and went into a lot of detail. But was well worth it and I would highly recommend

if you just want an overview, maybe have a look at the shorter options but make sure you skip the queue

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide very knowledgeable and informative. Enjoyed this tour and would recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was Vicente and he was very knowledgable on the Colosseum and Roman Forum. We learned so much and we were so intrigued by the history. What a great tour! Well worth the money. And it was a beautiful day which made it so much better to be out in the sun. Just be sure to wear good shoes

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing. our guide Mariella is very knowledgable and enriched us with useful information about the forum, palatine hill and above all the magnificent colosseum. i highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is definitely the tour to do of the Colosseum. Giving you special access to the Underground Chambers and the Upper Tier. Thanks to our guide Virginia for making this an excellent tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message