Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9732 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Words cannot express the wonder and awe of the Colosseum. Fabrizio was our tour guide and he spent four hours providing deep knowledge of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. He was very nice and pleasant, and allowed for lots of questions and photos. He ensured all group members remained together and made everyone feel very welcome. There is no other way to see the Colosseum and Roman Forum, especially if you have little time to spend in Rome. My husband and I would not have learned or seen nearly as much on our own in the same time frame! Excellent tour company and guide!!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful. Marco was a passionate narrator, brought history and archeology to life with his knowledge. Helps if you're a native of Rome with a degree in archeology I suppose, but we were in good hands, teen daughter and I loved the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was a great! It really helped us to make sense of all the rich history of ancient Rome in a short period of time. Our tour guide, Sara, was incredibly knowledgable and was great at relating the important information along with some fun facts. The illustrations that she used to show the ruins today and how they looked in Roman times were awesome. They really gave you a picture of life back then while standing among the ruins today. I would highly recommend this tour and Sara our guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The 'best ever interactive lecture' is how I would describe this tour.
Our guide, Sev, who called it 'Rome - the Eternal city', was fantastic. He made ancient Rome and it's development into the city today so exciting and interesting that we got transported into a world where we didn't notice cars, buses, 'selfie-stick sellers' etc.. but felt connected with the land beneath us and the millions who had gone before us.
I could not recommend a tour with Sev highly enough. If I was a university student I would want him as my tutor!
Thank you, Sev for a wonderful afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a very enjoyable time with a great knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour. Skipping those long lines is so wonderful! Our guide Valentina was superb - she was very knowledgeable, engaging and a great storyteller - made the ancient history and people come alive. She was also very patient and considerate of all the people in the group, and answered our many questions thoughtfully and expertly, and with humour.

Note: Although I highly recommend this tour, I do want to raise a specific issue that the tour company needs to address: the tour information clearly states that Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is NOT recommended for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair. In our tour group, an obese and very unfit woman that had to walk using a crutch was permitted to do the tour. It caused delays for the whole group and required Valentina to have to go out of her way to make special compensation for her I must acknowledge Valentina was very accommodating and totally professional in spite of the challenges and delay this caused. There is alot of walking in this walking tour including flights of stairs, hills etc. I don't think this woman should have been permitted to do this tour. The company should consider providing special tours for people with accessibility issues who can have any special needs provided for. The effect was that our tour ran half an hour over time and several people who had other time-bound commitments had to leave without finishing the full tour. I don't think this is acceptable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour with a brilliant guide, can really strongly recommend. Only negative was that we started a bit later than stated but did not affect the enjoyment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing!! If your a history buff like me, go on Viator and get the VIP upgraded tour. It's all skip the line and includes upper tiers and underground chambers. I've always been a massive fan of Rome and the Colosseum and was so happy to be there yesterday! Our tour guide Barbara was very good, however, I knew everything she told us, from the gladiators to the battle ships, to the Vestal Virgins to Romulus etc. to me, it proved she knew her stuff and left me thinking, maybe I should become a tour guide! My partner was equally impressed with how much we both knew about it. Very, very highly recommend!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

When in Rome, take this tour. Absolutely worth every minute and penny spent here!
Our English tour guide was Italian native Claudia a very knowledgeable, patient, articulated, and nice person. Three hours were all filled with information and enough time to make some stops at sites to take pictures yet... no waste of time.
Our group was comprised of some 15 people including two or three toddlers whom Claudia would absolutely include via eye contact when giving us her explanations on each site.
The meeting point can be a bit complicated to understand but if you read well-provided directions in advance while seeing your map of the area, you should not have a problem finding the place.
I highly recommend this tour to anybody visiting Rome!!!
Do not settle for just viewing the above ground magnificent jewels, go deep with this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide friendly, knowledgeable and made it very interesting. A definite must if in Rome. Really got to see so much. Highly recommend

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend the beat the queue tour well worth the money. NO queuing, access all areas and informative guides.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great guide.
Forum was a lot more then I thought it was.
Only way to see the Colosseum - a guided tour to reserved areas away from the huge crowds.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this tour at the beginning of your stay in Rome if at all possible. Our guide at the Colosseum was absolutely amazing. The knowledge of the history of the area and presentation of the information was spectacular. Although this was the first tour of our trip we had booked several during our stay we later realized that the tour company in charge provides this type of experience on all of their offerings. Our afternoon walking tour guide was just as impressive and provided interesting information around every corner. It was great to get a basic feel for the layout and location of some of the major tourist destinations so that we would be able to locate them easier on our own. We ended up revisiting all of the tour stops on our own throughout the following days of our vacation just to experience and enjoy what they each had to offer.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour to learn about the history of ancient Rome. We've seen a lot of interesting stuff. I like that the tour guide also has the picture of the actual site so we'll know how it looks like before it got ruined.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message