Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10953 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth it.. our guide was extremely knowledgeable, PHD student, and very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour. Its just long enough without being too too much for one day. Not having to wait and deal with the two hour wait for entry added bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a very knowledgeable guide with a great personality. It was great to be taken through this ancient place with a professional archeologist. Note, it's a full three hours of walking. Reconsider if you have trouble being on your feet for a long length of time, especially if you're going in the summer, as we did. It is HOT and there aren't a lot of places with shade, although Claudia did her best to stop in shaded spots when possible. Her perspective and knowledge is what made this tour great. Thank you, Claudia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've done other Colosseum tours and this one was by far the best!! The audio system they use is fabulous, so you can always hear the guide even while walking, so we got lots of information. Totally worth it, great company and fabulous guides. Paying for the added underground and third floor were definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lisa W
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, it was very hot when we were there, which made it hard to really enjoy. A little cooler would allow the tour to be more enjoyable. The guide tried to find shady spots, but that can be hardwood. Overall the tour was good and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fun and Alex was a great guide. Loved just walking past the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My daughter and I had a Fantastic time on our tour with our guide Marcos on Monday July 20 at 10am!
Marcos was extremely informative, answered our questions fully and truly lead us back in time during our tour.
It was awesome to have someone with so much knowledge and humor guide us! Along with speaking English with his Italian accent, was clear to understand! Thank you for helping us make memories!

Will definitely be using viator again in future trips!

Corinna and Grace from Alberta, Canada

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aneta W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Ancient Rome. Our guide, though she claimed she knew very little English, was very informative and answered all of our questions in great detail. It was a very hot afternoon, so she was very considerate, too, letting us stop in the shade and fill up our water bottles all the time. We started with the Roman Forum first and then the Palatine Hill, finishing up with the Colosseum. There was quite a bit of walking, but all at a relaxed pace, and we never had to wait in lines for entrance to any of the sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did this tour on one of the hottest and most crowded days of the summer. Our guide did an excellent job of finding shady spots and water to keep us going. Her knowledge of the sites was excellent and she shared her experiences working as an archeologist with us. I've visited in the paste and would recommend this tour highly over my previous guided experiences. REMEMBER to bring a water bottle with you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was also an archaeologist which was an added plus because he made the Colosseum come alive for us. I had visited before but never had taken a tour and was happy that we did.Wish we had just a little more time in the forum but it was an extremely hot day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Gigi was a FANTASTIC guide - his humour and knowledge were outstanding!!! I couldn't imagine looking at everything without someone to explain it all with such detail as he did. It is also well worth paying the price to skip the line, as they were long and it was hot out - why someone would wait in those long winding lines is beyond me. I would do this tour again and have recommended it to others. Well done!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. My guide was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable and interesting. You can tell he loved the subject matter. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour, and a very informative guide, but a negative was we were told we could use our ticket to go up pallentine hill and explore the forum ourselves after the tour, but when we tried we were told this was not true,1 entry only, which was used up with the guide, so we were left very disappointed as we only briefly looked at the forum and did not go up pallentine hill at all

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an excellent guide and the tour of the Roman Forum and the Colosseum was fantastic. We skipped the lines for the Colosseum and it was everything and more than I expected. I would highly recommend this tour for first time visitors to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guides were very knowelegeble, patient and professional. Fantastic tour! Wear comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing. Temperature in Rome was in the mid 90's with high humidity but in spite of the heat we were able to see much in a short amount of time. Our guide, Francesca Romana was extremely knowledgeable, funny and seemed to genuinely enjoy her job. She knows art. I am glad we did not have to wait in line until opening time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent guide very informative, he even paid special attention to getting us in the shade and finding h20 in the near 100 degree heat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. She did an excellent job!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and patient. He answered questions and was very helpful with the group. It was also very hot and he was cognizant of this and did most of his discussions in the shade. The meeting place was easy to find and the directions on the voucher were easy to follow. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative tour. English speaking guide who would answer any questions that you had. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Meeting point is perfect above the metro station.the Guide was an American who worked as a lecturer in the University,very knowledgeable without getting to technical.Best bit was being the only ones allowed to stand on the floor of the arena looking up at everyone else thousands in the upper tiers looking down on you wondering why they are not allowed on the arena area.I couldnt resist turning round and shouting to them are you not amused.going below the arena to where the animals and gladiators were held was also unique to this tour.Worth every penny.Unlike the Vatican tour which i was disappointed with but has to be done.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Colleseum part was great. Parthenon and others were good, but it was getting into the afternoon of a very hot day. The guide was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great going underground, felt very special as not many could do this. It was a good length, not too long and guide was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. The guide Marcos was very knowledgeable, informative and gave a very interesting presentation. We enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message