Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12612 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

egoldman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide had PhD's in archaeology....and was so knowledgeable and made the tour fun. Not have a guide, compounded with all the people, would have made seeing these sites difficult. We walked through the Forum, Paletine Hill and ALL levels of the Colosseum. You do not get to do all that and understand what you are looking at without a guide. PLUS we did not have to wait in line to buy tickets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour with a unbelievable guide She had a PhD in archaeology! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

MaryAnn G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Leslie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were friendly, knowledgeable, funny and helpful.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Gautam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent - the tour guide, Vincenzo, was both well informed and very engaging

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Trisha B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect amount of time at each location. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

jonnypantansky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So the best part of this tour was being able to see the upper and underground areas of the Colosseum which were reserved for very small groups to enter just one at a time. Our guides were super knowledgeable and kept their enthusiasm and energy levels up for the entire morning. Well worth it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Alicia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was the best! Great experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide, Frederica, was excellent. She is an art historian educated at the University of Rome. She accompanied her professors in one of the Forum's restricted archaeological sites that has since become open to the public. We met early with a great group of people and missed what was a huge line outside the Colosseum. The tour only took half of the day, so we were able to spend the afternoon in other sites.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Jane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent guide Francesca, knowledgeable and very clear. Easy to follow directions to meet up with group and would recommend.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

When in Rome Colosseum is a must visit, its a beauty of its own, all the history that is tied in to this is great, Palatine hills also is really great to see exactly where Rome started and the history behind it. Once on the Palatine hill there is a museum, If you take your time its about 1hrs to visit the museum, its worth it, everything that was found on the hills plus sit in and watch the 2 video on the first floor of the museum explains a lot about the place. Again with this tour you need to make your way to the Colosseum on your own, added cost, It should be indicated on the web page before purchasing the tickets. We where lucky I called the main contact for this activity City Wonders and she took the time to explain to me in every details what to do and how to get there, we took a train in the morning from Venice, she told me where to find a luggage storage place at the train station, from there how to get to my meeting point and everything else I needed to know, This was a great service from City Wonders.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Christine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent - our guide through the Forum was very knowledgeable and then when we got to the Coliseum we were turned over to their guide. Everything went very smoothly, she explained everything very well and took us to all the places that were promised. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in ancient Rome

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

William N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lot of walking, but worth it! Our guides were very knowledgeable and it seemed as though they knew stories about every building afternoon and every bit of antiquity. Just enough time to have lunch between the tours, and there are some nice places to eat outdoors near the Spanish Steps - catch a cab from the Colosseum area.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I found the Colosseum tour to be absolutely amazing - we had a great host and guide and got to explore all areas of the Colosseum and hear the stories of what happened underground. We then toured the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill - amazing.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Conrado P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

No waiting line, undergrounds and last floor, very good!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fascinating tour of the Colosseum and some of the ancient sites in Rome.
Giovanna was very passionate about the subjects and was just a very pleasant guide.
We liked this trip very much and would recommend Giovanna to anyone wishing to take a tour with her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I travelled with my husband and 11 month old baby in April 2016. After reading reviews of other visitors, I decided to visit Colosseum early morning 8:30 a.m. tour as apparently the sun can get very hot during the day. But the weather was almost like in winter on that day and it rained a bit too, so dont forget to bring your raincoats/umbrellas. They dont allow strollers as there is a lot of walking and climbing stairs, so my husband carried the baby in a baby carrier. Due to the recent terror attacks the security is very high in Colosseum where everybodys checked with their personal belongings, which I thought was a good thing. There are many souvenirs and bookshops so if you want to buy them you can do it here. Transport is quite easy to and from Colosseum as the metro stop is there and taxis can be found behind the Colosseum. Our tour guide was Laura and she shared some great insights. She kept on saying use your imagination as she went into great detail talking about the Colosseum and showed us pictures from a book of what it would have looked like in its prime.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dario was a great guide who knew all the historical event dates and times so he was able to dispel inaccurate tales and provide us with the true history. He was patient, provided breaks and once he knew I had a knee replacement, went out of this way to ensure access to an elevator. Excellent job and excellent human being.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Diane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour of the Roman Forum, Palestine Hill, and Coliseum. Our tour guide was very informative and made the history interesting. I like ending in the Coliseum so we could see other items there that we didn't see on the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour. We had a great guide. Well worth the money to see the underground chambers.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide with more knowledge than I could have imagined. Presented in a fun way to keep our group engaged.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Maria Elena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour , even though we arrived late to our tour , they were very helpful in getting us to our underground meeting point. Truly enjoyed tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guides were excellent! Sarah, who led us through the Colosseum, forum and Palatine hill had a Ph.D. In archeology and was very animated as she shared all the information and back stories. Our afternoon guide walked us through numerous piazzas and to the Trevi fountain, all the while sharing information about modern Rome and Romans as well as the history of what we were seeing.
Fantastic tour and a great value!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Latham W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The fact we started so early was quite good. We missed most of the crowds as we walked through Ancient Rome. The guide was quite good, and related a great deal of information about Ancient Rome. The Colosseum tour was good, but not quite as good as the walking tour of Ancient Rome. By the time we got to the Colosseum, the crowds were quite heavy. Good news is that we skipped the lines. Great morning and early afternoon. Ate at the metro stop across the street, which was good as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message