Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Evelyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was Salvatore and he was really nice. Lots of information given and made it come alive for us. Would recommend. Tour was on time and worth every penny paid

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

NARELLE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

thoroughly enjoyable. guide knew the basics but also knew all the stories to go with that which is what makes the difference between just the tour and the experience

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Cris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mariella was knowledgable, friendly and obviously passionate about her subject. The group was fairly small in number compared to some that we saw, and the audio system is great because you can look at things without having to crowd around the guide all the time. A great tour, we would definitely use you again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Superb trip with a very knowledgeable guide who made the tour more enjoyable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Denis John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour. Thoroughly enjoyed our guided tour around the Colosseum and ancient Rome. Guide was so informative and really made it enjoyable . I didn't want it to end. Would book again through Viator.Well worth the money. Thanks

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Allison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and passionate about the subject. Had a great time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Stephen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was extremely knowedgeable and considerate of the group.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour guide, passionate about her city. A lovely lady November 2015.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Daryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mariella was very knowledgeable and passionate about her tour and made it very enjoyable and worth while!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

STEPHEN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The knowledge of the Archaeologist was fascinating. The extent of the tour was well worth the money.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I cannot recommend these tours enough. Both of our guides were amazing! Their knowledge was faultless and their humour perfect! Flat comfy shoes are a must but if you want to see and learn about the very best bits of Rome then you cannot do any better than these tours! I would go back and do it all again tomorrow!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Timothy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Guide was an archeology student - very knowledgeable and personable. Definitely worth the money to skip the line and the geek in me loved the insight from our student/ guide. Included the Roman Forum. Don't skip it! Afterwards, take the time to tour the palace ruins at the top of Palatine Hill. So glad we did this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was awesome. covered all the various areas of the colosseum and roman forum. Our tour guide Mariella spelling may be off on her name was a former archaeologist and did a great job getting us a lot of information. The ability to see the roman forum and the full Colosseum was great, and 3.5 hours was about right for both of these - arguably a little more time in the forum and on the Capitoline hill would have been nice, but overall I thought this tour was a good value and a good time.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide, GG was enthusiastic and passionate about his subject, he brought the history alive. We spent 4days in this magnificent city, but this tour was most definitely the highlight.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Andy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a fabulous tour and what a great guide. We were a small group which helped but overall what a fantastic experience. I have visited the COlosseum before on a tour but this was so much better and very reasonably priced. Going on to the Forum was great and overall the tour was really good value and the guide was absolutely great. Would highly recommend !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Glen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour looked like it might be over priced, in reality it was well worth the money. The meeting place was easy to find, our guild was well informed and spoke excellent English. We were taken behind the scenes to places where the general public cannot go you really do skip the lines, this included a mini tour by an archaeologist and were given a fascinating insight of ancient Rome. We then went on extremely interesting guided walk of the nearby Roman Forum and the amazing Palentine Hill. Although we were linked to the guide by Bluetooth headsets at all time you could wander around and still get the commentary. Be prepared for a 3.5 hour tour, which I must say can be hard on old legs and feet. Apart from that, we had a splendid tour, which has set us up for future visits which we now feel more confident to undertake unguided. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Anne C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome! So glad we spent the extra money money for the small group and underground. Our guide was extremely good. We loved that he used his iPad to demonstrate visually his point. We could see illustrations of what the ruins and collosseum used to look like.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, very informative, enjoyed it enormously!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jeannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Dora was my tour guide for the Colosseum and she was excellent. She worked with as an Archaeologist and with several Archaeologists at the colosseum so she could give first experience details of the accounts of different findings which was exciting to see her eyes light up. This tour is a must and to do with someone who has studied archaeology is amazing. Nice work, Dora.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Leyne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour. Our guide Luca was very knowledgeable and also lovely. Would recommend this tour to anyone, it well worth the extra money to have a smaller group as you can asked questions and get more info very easily.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

roseformichi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic great tour and guide

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Angela Tea Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We enjoyed the walking tour very much, though it was cold and we almost walked non-stop. Alexia is a wonderful guide, cheerful and knowledgeable. The private access to the third ring great view! and underground were exceptional!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Mikala spelling? was wonderful!! Not only was she very knowledgable with excellent English, but she was truly passionate about history and teaching. It was persistently obvious that she wanted us to walk away from the tour with a deep appreciation of the history and culture, the same deep appreciation she has for the site. My wife and I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message