Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9347 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very knowledgeable tour guide and the experience was amazing

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour but too short! Dario was a great guide, we'll informed and entertaining.
There's so much history to be heard on the tour that a few hours is not enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide (for the 0830 tour ... we regret greatly that we can't now recall her name) was personable, engaging and so very knowledgeable. We both enjoyed ourselves and absorbed so much about the Coliseum, Forum ... So much so that we were inspired to purchase and are now readng a number of books on Rome's history, architecture .... Without question, we recommend the tour (and please identify the guide so that she could receive the credit for making possible for us so wonderful an experience. Again, this was the c. 0830 tour on October 29th, 2014).

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic trip and well worth the money

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our Tour Guide was so enthusiastic, she was great. The roman ruins did not disappoint, it was a great walk through history. The magnitude of the colosseum was unreal, it was like being in a movie set, but better. We enjoyed having extra time to wander through the colosseum at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WE BOTH ENJOYED THE PRESENTATION MADE BY OUR TOUR GUIDE.. THE LITTLE HEARING DEVICES MADE IT VERY ENJOYABLE TO KEEP UP WITH THE DESCRIPTIONS OF WHAT WE WHERE LOOKING AT.THE PACE OF OUR GROUP WAS FINE. PLENTY OF TIME TO SEE AND ASK QUESTIONS AND ADEQUIATE REST ROOM STOPS..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour with Alexander who took us to places off the beaten track that we would never have found on our own. His stories of what he showed us were interesting and informative and we highly recommend the tour and Alexander to anyone who wants to see the "real Rome".
Keith and Jenny

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour offered sights not available in most tours. It was wonderful to be able to see the underground chambers, stand in the arena and view the upper tier.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see the highlights of rome. Our guides were both great.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wow! so worth the price to skip the queue (around 2-3 hours) and have the lovely Fernando in such a small group (party of 5 in total) this made it so easy to ask questions. Fernando was very enthusiastic and brought the whole experience to life. Using the tour option you get to visit all levels which you don't if you just buy an entrance ticket. Breath taking views from the top......

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day wiht 2 tours. I packed so many interesting things into my day that I couldn't hvae done on my own in a week with a month's worth of preparation. You appreciate your time so much more when you have such great information. I am not sure of the names of my tour guides but I hope the operators look them up for me because they were both so GREAT!!! Educated with Masters and incredibly welcoming and friendly. This was the best investment I have made in a long time.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My family and I truly enjoyed this tour and were still talking about it! Sev (spell check?) was our tour guide and he was the best!! He was so knowledgable and we could have listened to him all day long! Skipping the line was great, and the tour was worth every penny!!! We loved it!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of the "Ancient" Roman city,'s Colosseum, Forum and original palaces on Palantine Hill. Lots of walking but very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tiberius was an excellent guide. He is very knowledgeable and personable. He was a pleasure and very educational.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our Guide appeared very knowledgeable, and was very informative. He gave us plenty of time to take pictures and ask questions. The tour itself seemed well thought out. Having direct contact with our guide was worth the expense.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message