Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10976 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely schedule a tour and do not try to visit the colosseum on your own! Skip the line entry is a huge bonus! Our guide was great and had lots of information for us!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took this tour in 100 degree weather...........it was hot. We had a great guide that gave us frequent water breaks and would find shade for us when she wanted to share information. It was a great tour, my teenagers learned about history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience! While it was extremely hot, it was well worth it. If we did not take this tour we would have been waiting in line easily for a few hours. Our tour guide, Alexandria, was also amazing! Because we were in the blistering heat for such a long period of time she always kept our groups comfort in mind and would have us standing in shaded areas during the tour. She was well educated about everything on the tour and was able to answer any questions that came up.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour that allowed us to skip the line a wonderful option in the middle of summer and gave us insight into the Colosseum and Forum that we wouldn't otherwise have. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour leader was informative and interesting, and clearly loved her subject matter.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide Serafina. Excellent tour. Well paced and informative. If you've never been to Rome, skip the line access is key. Lines for the Colosseum are long and hot -- you'll spend significantly more time in line than you will enjoying the venue. Having a guide brings the place to life. This tour is a great way to see the Forum and then see the Colosseum from three very unique perspectives that others simply don't see. Don't hesitate.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a an amazing tour and how exciting it was to get to go beyond locked gates and see sites that not every tourist gets to see! Both tour guides were exceptional, especially Tiberius! This is an amazing piece of history and so much more than your imagination.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Syl
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another excellent tour. Our guide was first class. She was so knowledgeable and passionate about Ancient Rome and really brought it to life for us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, the guide was extremely knowledgable, I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Book the upgrade. This tour was amazing. We got to see so much that most people don't get to see. This trip is entirely worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite being very hot the guide was great and did her best to keep everyone entertained and in the more shady spots

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lee 337
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was undertaken by my wife and I.
It was absolutely fantastic and the tour guide, Marco ,was a genius.
He is an Archaeologist studying for his PHD so the information was second to none !
If you do this tour, do it with Marco.
Well worth the money and will do this again on my return !!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

chasitymeyers
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Gigi made this tour! His passion comes to life as he describes where the gladiators stayed and what life might have been like long ago. Being able to stand where they stood and feel what it would have been like to face your opponent. LOVED this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Rosie whom was our guide was amazing as was the tour. I would not hesitate to book through Viator in the future. Well worth it to skip the huge lines which would be horrendous in the high heat of the summer. The guides give you head sets and hold a flag to ensure you do not miss anything or loose them. They explain the history of the buildings in the shade were possible and ensure you fill your water bottles at the fountains if required and give you a toilet break. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Miss LLP
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was truly the highlight of our time in Rome. Claudia was a very knowledgeable and bubbly host. Having the advantage of being a small-group tour limited to six people, she took the time to get to know little things about each of us, offered to take photos of us and always answered any of our questions. Pros: skip the line tickets, separate entrance to the crowds into the middle of the Colesso, underground access, views right from the top of the Colosseo, a knowledgeable host that is always reminding you to keep hydrated and took every opportunity to position us in the shade during the 40 degree Celsius heat!. Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum was towards the end of the tour, but was still as interesting as the main event. Compared to some other excursions we did during Rome where the large-groups required you to wear headsets, this small-group tour is much more personal and really adds to the overall experience. I would highly recommend this tour and if I ever I have the opportunity to revisit Rome would jump at the chance to repeat this tour.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth it.. our guide was extremely knowledgeable, PHD student, and very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour. Its just long enough without being too too much for one day. Not having to wait and deal with the two hour wait for entry added bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a very knowledgeable guide with a great personality. It was great to be taken through this ancient place with a professional archeologist. Note, it's a full three hours of walking. Reconsider if you have trouble being on your feet for a long length of time, especially if you're going in the summer, as we did. It is HOT and there aren't a lot of places with shade, although Claudia did her best to stop in shaded spots when possible. Her perspective and knowledge is what made this tour great. Thank you, Claudia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've done other Colosseum tours and this one was by far the best!! The audio system they use is fabulous, so you can always hear the guide even while walking, so we got lots of information. Totally worth it, great company and fabulous guides. Paying for the added underground and third floor were definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Lisa W
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, it was very hot when we were there, which made it hard to really enjoy. A little cooler would allow the tour to be more enjoyable. The guide tried to find shady spots, but that can be hardwood. Overall the tour was good and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fun and Alex was a great guide. Loved just walking past the long lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My daughter and I had a Fantastic time on our tour with our guide Marcos on Monday July 20 at 10am!
Marcos was extremely informative, answered our questions fully and truly lead us back in time during our tour.
It was awesome to have someone with so much knowledge and humor guide us! Along with speaking English with his Italian accent, was clear to understand! Thank you for helping us make memories!

Will definitely be using viator again in future trips!

Corinna and Grace from Alberta, Canada

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Aneta W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Ancient Rome. Our guide, though she claimed she knew very little English, was very informative and answered all of our questions in great detail. It was a very hot afternoon, so she was very considerate, too, letting us stop in the shade and fill up our water bottles all the time. We started with the Roman Forum first and then the Palatine Hill, finishing up with the Colosseum. There was quite a bit of walking, but all at a relaxed pace, and we never had to wait in lines for entrance to any of the sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did this tour on one of the hottest and most crowded days of the summer. Our guide did an excellent job of finding shady spots and water to keep us going. Her knowledge of the sites was excellent and she shared her experiences working as an archeologist with us. I've visited in the paste and would recommend this tour highly over my previous guided experiences. REMEMBER to bring a water bottle with you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was also an archaeologist which was an added plus because he made the Colosseum come alive for us. I had visited before but never had taken a tour and was happy that we did.Wish we had just a little more time in the forum but it was an extremely hot day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message