Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Palatine Hill

Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12778 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ask for Igor. Igor is quite possibly the most knowledgable guide Ive ever had in Rome. His stories about ancient Rome flow beautifully with the Colosseum tour and there wasnt a single question that appeared to stump him. He was excited, enthusiastic, funny, but most importantly, knowledgable. The tour starts at the Colosseum and ends at the Forum. Youll see the various levels of the Colosseum before ending on the floor of it, finding out which of the urban legends are true and which are false! Youll understand and marvel how the ancient Romans were actually engineering geniuses and figure out who exactly is responsible for the European trend of paying for access to restrooms. Money doesnt stink.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Evelio T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Julia was our guide. She was excellent and worked hard to make dure we got the most out of tge tour. Self-guided and electronic audio guide tours are no comparison to these well organized, skip the line tours by expert local guides. Good value for money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

kay j w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour and guide were very good. Due to many factors, the crowds that day were worse than normal and our guide navigated the crowds well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ancient Rome is inspiring and a marvel to appreciate. Our guide did an excellent job explaining the history of the ruins we visited and embellished her talk with annecdotes and artists conceptions of what the ruins may have originally looked like. We would take the tour agian to learn even more about the ruins, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was exactly the tour we were looking for: behind the scenes access to parts of the colosseum that are not typically on view to other groups! It was phenomenal walking out onto the floor of the colosseum. We had a good 15 minutes there to get oriented and look around and take pics... stunning views from this spot. And the underground chambers were amazing as well. We went with a guide from the colosseum who had to use keys to access the areas we visited... it felt very special! Our viator guide for the day was Elizabetta and she was very organized, friendly and knowledgeable. After our tour at the colosseum she escorted the group to the Roman Forum, which is stunning. It's a massive site so we zipped through this at a decent pace but after the formal tour was complete we had free time to wander... and we stayed an additional two hours to explore. Well worth the price of this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a brilliant tour.Our Guide Guiseppe hope that is the right spelling! was very helpful and well informed and took the time to allow the persons of a certain age to rest and for everbody to refill water bottles in what was a long trip through the area. He explained everything very well and with a good deal of patience as naturally there were a lot of questions. We would thoroughly recommend booking this trip in advance.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was fantastic. Fabio was very, very knowledgeable and excited to teach us about the history of the Colosseum. I absolutely loved the tour and would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Lois S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We thought this tour was great. Our guide was informative and taught really well. Fascinating to find out more about ancient Rome and what it was like and to understand what we were looking at. Would recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Allen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Better in person than expected. The tour was fantastic, the guides were friendly and knowledgeable, and The underground chambers and skipping the lines well worth the additional expense. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Rodney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent in no small part due to the very good guide, Barbra. She was excellent, across all the details, history and facts behind the sites. She also controlled the group well including a couple of members who needed some control. The instructions on where to meet were well set out and let us arrive in time for the departure and without any hassle. The walk through the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill was sufficiently long to enable you to get an understanding of these monuments and their importance to our history and culture. I have done a previous tour of these sites and this was a far better tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and patient. I learned so much that had to do with the history of Rome, which could be applied to sites I saw later during my time in the eternal city. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

paljoeyjpd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderfully insightful tour from a knowledgable and enthusiastic guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jill C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, despite the rain. Our tour guide Chiara? was very friendly and knowledgeable, and we learned a lot.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Underground tour guide was knowledgeable and interesting! Nice to and #34;skip the line and #34; for entry. I was not expecting the level of detailed information we received in the forum. This tour was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Bentley2dog

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent guide....his English was perfect!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is the Rome we've read about.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

CliffIndy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour..Chiatra (sp?) Was awesome. Highly recommend. Wish we could have spent more time in the archeological site. Inside the Colosseum was amazing.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Jameswebb99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything you'd expect and more. Spending 3 hours in 2000 year old ruins can't be compared to anything else. Our guide was smart and offered great stories of what we viewed. Bring your own water as it hard to find.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Dario was fun and authentic. The Colosseum is absolutely incredible!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

susanm125

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great tour and a great tour guide. Barbara gave great information on each historic site we visited. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time with Titi, very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. Highly recommend. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out interesting facts along the way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

George S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Serafina was an excellent guide.....very informative and friendly. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Brad S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was absolutely fantastic! The tour guide, Nicholaos, a George Clooney lookalike and speak-alike, by the way, was brilliant. He should be presenting BBC documentaries. He took us straight passed the miles of queues, which, in itself, makes the tour worth paying for. Without the yawn details, Nicholaos talked us intellectually through the Wonders of Ancient Rome, and the architectural/changes made to it during the societal changes of the Medieval and Renaissance periods. Most certainly one of the most professional lecture/actor tours I have ever had the pleasure of accompanying. Do it! It really is worth it! And make sure your tour guide is Nicholaos!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Loring P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great to be able to skip the line the tour was great got in to see areas that general admission didn't go.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message