Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our first tour of our holiday, and it really exceeded my expectations! The tour company did an excellent job organising us into groups, and our tour guide, Sofie, was really superb. We started off by visiting the ruins of the Roman Forum, followed by Palatine Hill, the ancient birthplace of the city. Sofie imparted so much information I wondered how she remembered it all! The sights we saw were simply amazing, and by having an expert with us, we could actually appreciate what we were looking at far better than if we had simply toured the site by ourselves.
Sofie had told us that, as the Colosseum was being renovated, we wouldn't be able to visit the underground chambers, which was a little bit disappointing. However, when we arrived at the Colosseum and were handed over to one of their guides, we were informed that all of the work on the underground section was now finished, and we would be the first tour group allowed in since it reopened! (I'm usually not that lucky!) While the sound system wasn't quite as good in the Colosseum as it had been in the Forum with the tour guide, it was still quite easy to hear, and the Colosseum guide was clearly passionate about her subject. Walking out onto the arena floor was simply breathtaking, and the underground chambers were fascinating. We were also led up onto the upper tier, where most tourists can't go, and this was equally as incredible - we got a fabulous view not only of the Colosseum, but also of Rome beyond, and as there weren't many tourists up there, it felt a lot less claustrophobic and crowded, and we weren't having to jostle for good photograph positions.
While this tour was quite expensive, it really was worth every penny. There was no waiting around in a never-ending line to get inside the Colosseum, and the access we got was just incredible!
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Recommend the "Skip the Line" Tours. Guide was good and had interesting facts.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If you've been there/ done that regarding the usual tourist stuff in Rome -this is a must.
We've been to Rome many times and this tour was a high point.
Our guide, Daniel, was awesome. In addition to being a native Roman, he had lived in the states and had great English. AND- he is an architect. Plus- the Fiat had been bought by his mother when he was a kid and he grew up in it. The car was obviously, lovingly maintained. Great combination which led to an fantastic tour. Such a hoot driving around in a piece of automotive history. We chose the " off the beaten trail" tour. Incredible. It was as advertised. We went places we had never seen or would have ever found. Daniel's knowledge base was impressive. Worth every penny. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Rome Sightseeing by Vintage Fiat 500

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the extra cash for a guided tour! Our guide was called Sara she was fantastic, certainly knew her stuff and made the tour fun! Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Incredibly educational. The only way to see Ancient Rome and the Colosseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was so much fun! Skip the big tour groups and see Rome by Vespa with your own guide. I felt like I had a friend in Rome showing me around for the day in an informative but informal way. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Rome Vespa Tour: Highlights of the Seven Hills of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

WOW this was a fantastic tour all because of our exceptional tour guide Sev who is a historian and archaeologist and he made this tour the most interesting tour we went on in Europe. He gave us a wonderful insights to the history of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Our children aged 19 and 16 really loved the tour as well. A brilliant tour especially if you get Sev as your tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a very interesting tour. The guide was excellent and explained everything very clearly. We enjoyed every minute of it and would highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was really informative and really knew her stuff!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide Valentina was very knowledgeable and gave us so much information. It was so very interesting! This tour is very worth your while to learn all about how amazing the Colosseum is. Our boys loved it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour with knowledge of guide very encitful and knowledgeable. Covered all our needs perfectly. Skippkng the lines made the price pay for itself in gained time. Thanks

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a highly recommended tour. Our guide was an archaeologist so the information she provided and the tour she led was so insightful. She was open to all our questions. and she was incredibly witty despite the ridiculous summer heat:) A must see, not to be missed - awesome tour. I would recommend upgrading the tour to visit the gladiator quarters. In hindsight, I wish I had done that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were paired with Elisabetta B., who was knowledgeable, friendly and fun. I learned a tonne about Rome, was never bored, and didn't have to wait in any lines. The group was not too big, the headphones worked really well, and I never felt rushed or as if time was dragging. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to learn the history of the major Rome sights, enjoys walking and sightseeing, and has a free afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Our tour guide, Mariella, was wonderful. She was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour and our guide Elizabeth was fantastic. It was an extremely hot day and she did not miss a beat. The information she shared was very specific and detailed and she delivered it in a most engaging way. If she had not been so interesting I would have packed it in due to the extreme afternoon heat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message