Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9442 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bernadette H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic on every level.Just to say we only did the morning at the Colosseum as we had completed the content of the afternoon walking tour ourselves !!!
The guide for our tour was first class and I am ashamed not to remember his name but I am sure you know.
He was knowledgeable and humerous and very attentive to the group talking care of those of us who were less able that others and ensuring that where possible we were in the shade.
The magnificence of the Colosseum, the history and explanations of life at the time and the precision of the factual information and pictoral comparisons really enhanced the experience and understanding of the history of Rome.
It was clear that our guide was a proud Roman and we certainly benefitted from his passion and love of his heritage.
This was a great morning and I felt I got the best out of this tour and that was thanks to the guide, we would not have been able to make any sense of the visit without him and I would encourage everyone to take this tour ....yu wont regret it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour requires a lot of walking, so be prepared. Our guide was very informative and we enjoyed seeing all of the sights. It is definitely worth the time to have someone explaining what you are seeing.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

fantastic, our guide was an archeologist which was brilliant, she knew so much about the ruins and colosseum. the down side was the heat, it was so hot and there was not much shelter when walking around. overall would reccommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I really enjoy the tour because of the extensive knowledge of our tour guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good informative guide. Tour is worthwhile taking.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very worthwhile. Guide was really good and made the visit much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour! If it's a hot day, bring a bottle of water. Wear comfy walking shoes,too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really had an amazing time with this tour. Our tour guide was just amazing, he gave us such an amazing overview of the roman history that we still keep talking about it to our friends. I feel that you won't appreciate the value, culture, and history of Romans if you see the city without a tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour agency and a very special thank to our tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was worth the money and our guide Marielle was brilliant She was so knowledgable as she was an archaeologist herself. I would recommend it to anyone going to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour guide was very good only way to see the forum and colosseum with someone who knows what they are talking about. She had actually worked on some of the excavations in Rome and was passionate about what she was doing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour! It was really amazing being able to go downstairs where they kept the animals and all the way to the top floor where the view is unbelievable. Those floors are closed off to the general public. Our tour guide was also really great and made it so much fun! A must do on your trip to Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Can't say enough about our fabulous tour guide, Sarah N. She is so knowledgeable about all the sights we visited. Sarah was able to relate to everyone in our group, no matter the age or education of each person. Her insights were so on target and easy to understand. Enjoyed her tour so much, we requested her for the Vatican tour the next day!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is one of the best. Its a very very long day so prepare to walk until your bum is sore but its so worth it! We had 2 ladies and they were brilliant, speaking very good English and making it interesting for the while day. Maristella was the best and I wish she was my auntie. The only downside to this tour is that the morning tour of ancient Rome was supposed to include 'exclusive access' but as far as I could tell this never happened. That being said we still had an amazing day. If you haven't done Rome before and want to do the tourist stuff then this is perfect. I highly recommend this tour despite the miserable hits who give it less than 3 stars!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. The guide was funny and always watching out for us in crowded areas.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message