Rome is famously built on seven hills, but it’s the Palatine Hill that is the most legendary - it is said that it was on the Palatine Hill that Romulus originally founded the city. Because of this, many of Rome’s most famous archaeological sites are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was Frenchesca and she was amazing! Skipping the lines was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was very informative and interesting. It was nice to do the Roman forum before the colosseum as it gave you the knowledge and understand of how and why the colosseum came about. The tour guide was very passionate about Rome and what happen to create it. She answered all questions with a stream of information and seems as if there was nothing she did not know! A big thank you to the tour guide for a lovely morning and very interesting tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was amazing, so full of information. The tour was well organized, they had everything well planned out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour with Alex , well worth the price , just to skip the queue ! .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! There was a long line of people waiting to get into the colosseum and we were able to go straight to the front. Our guide, Hilaria, was excellent as well! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Valentina was a wonderful guide, very knowledgeable and interesting. We thoroughly enjoyed her tour. She was very patient with all of us about 25 people especially as it was very hot, and some people in the group found the heat and the walking difficult. She managed everything, was patient and friendly, and I would definitely go on another tour with her.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What an amazing tour - it was hot but our guide made us forget about the heat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was Sev, a lecturer at a local university and an archaeologist. His narration of a typical day at the games, in days gone by was riveting and made it all come to life for us. We felt like we had been given a ticket for the games and shared the excitement and anticipation with tens of thousands of other ancient Romans. Sev spoke of the days activities, hunting and killing the animals that would be dressed and cooked for lunch later in the day, the wild, strange and exotic beasts that were defeated by warriors, the punishment of criminals and Christians then the battles and fighting of their revered gladiator heroes. It was spellbinding. Sev's depth of knowledge, stories and anecdotes of life in Ancient Rome continued all through the walk around the Roman Forum and around the ancient ruins. The tour was well paced with plenty of shady rests on a very hot day. One of our highlights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour was great, but I highly suggest that travelers only do one tour a day. We made the mistake of doing the Vatican and the Colosseum in the same day. Exhausting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

RITA C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The greatest tour in Rome, get to see the Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier that no one esle can see. Amazing history.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Saved me a lot of hours reading and wandering around in the heat! Made the day a learning experience that was most enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting. Very knowledgeable guide giving you all the back ground information and bringing the ruins to life. Really enjoyed it. a must-do when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a brilliant tour with excellent guides, well worth it for a view of the Coliseum from the basement, arena and to the top.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a brilliant tour with excellent guides, well worth it for a view of the Coliseum from the basement, arena and to the top.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Marra was absolutely wonderful the entire trip. She was not only easy to understand but she painted beautiful pictures of what the ancient times could have been like and what buildings were like. She not only educated on some lovely roman history but she also was humorous as well. We booked 3 separate Rome tours and had a different guide for every one of them and every single time they were awesome. As for the company they provide headsets for you to hear your tour guide very clearly the entire time which was nice.

My only complaint is that the headphones they provide are garbage and really hurt your ears after 1 hour so after our first guide we knew to bring our own headphones.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide for this tour was Max. Having him take us round the Colosseum and Forum was money well spent. He was informative and interesting and made the trip one of the highlights of our Rome stay. Well worth doing if you want to avoid the long lines of people waiting in the very hot Italian summer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We used Viator in Venice, Florence, and Rome and had an excellent experience each time. We highly recommend Viator to anyone traveling to Italy
Tony, Kathy, Craig and Taru

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide doris was great! She gave us many interesting informations about collosseum, forum romanum and rome itself. She told us many things very heartly and also funny! Great tour with her!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide, amazing tour, beautiful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I thouroughly enjoyed this tour and would definately recommend it to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Buying skip the line tickets was definitely the best thing to do. There was no way I could have queued for over 2 hours in the heat. The tour guide that we had was an American named Sev I think he was absolutely brilliant, extremely passionate, funny and very entertaining. He made the tour extra special and we had a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was extremely interesting and full of facts and historical references. Rosie the guide obviously loved her subject and had trained in archeology. 3 hours whizzed by. The colosseum was definitely the highlight of the tour. Would recommend to all ages. Something for everyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did this tour on our first day, thinking we would begin with the oldes in Rome first. It was a good choice. As always our tour allowed us to skip the worst of the lines. Valentina was knowledgeable and helped us see details in the enormity of the Colosseum that we would have missed. She shared her love of the forums with us and helped bring them alive, as they would have been 2000 years ago. We went on three tours arranged through Viator. They were all exactly as advertised, with knowledgeable, friendly guides and they all allowed us to skip the incredibly long summer lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message