The Pantheon in Rome is a remarkable building architecturally. Basically a cylinder with the floating dome on top of columns, it is the largest masonry vault ever built. In the center of this dome is a hole bringing in a shaft of light to show the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Drew
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our experience with Alexandro as our guide was outstanding. It really brought the life and history of Ancient Rome to life. The afternoon tour of the Pantheon and other plazas was also worth the 15000 steps to accomplish both tours.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great combination tour to get the most out of Rome in a day, its definitely long and on a hot summer day you need a lot of water! This covers the colosseum, Arc, Palace, roman forum and lots of history in between for the morning part, and then the afternoon is the Pantheon, Spanish steps and lots of squares- which you could do on your own but its great to have a tour guide who knows the history and good stories. Ends with a yummy gelato in the summer!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide in the morning was excellent and provided tons of information with lots of enthusiasm. The guide in the afternoon was also good but she lost me and then tried to guide me to an ice cream shop but didn't tell me the name. There were several ice cream shops around the Pantheon! Both guides could speak a little more slowly and enunciate more clearly. When people have an accent, it just makes it a little more challenging to understand them.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Trevi Fountain was under construction, pantheon was closed, what do you think?

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

These were walking tours, whilst it was a long day both tours were well worth doing. The morning tour guide was an archeologist who was able to give us a great insight into the life of Roman times, the 'skip the line' was well worth the cost, as the lines to get into the Colosseum were very long. The afternoon tour guide had a degree in Art history and he too was very informative and had a great sense of humour, we covered a lot of ground all by foot, the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain, The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Campo Di Fiore and along the way he pointed out many buildings and the history of the architecture, again we were given individual hearing devices so that you could hear him at all times along the way. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The first part was the guided tour around the Colosseum, Forum and Palatino - our guide was experienced archaeologist Mariella ? - was the favourite tour of all my time in Rome. This morning tour was really a highlight of my stay - the commentary was excellent and fascinating and it really brought history to life. I would give this morning tour the highest marks possible. The afternoon walking tour was a good introduction to the main tourist areas of Rome, though perhaps more aimed at those wanting a shopping experience of Rome. But anyway, it included a visit to the Pantheon and there were free ice-creams. It'd give the afternoon walk 4 stars. A great double-tour to kick off any trip to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This package of tours is an excellent choice, and was overall, the highlight of our trip. The first tour compromises of an easy going walk through the old part of Rome, with stops at the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and Piazza Navona. The tour guide provided a good amount of information, and it was easy to understand her. The group size was adequate. The second tour compromises of a Skip the Line tour of the Colosseum. However, prior to the Colosseum, the group is led to a small basilica just near the Colosseum. While this basilica is nice, I would have rather had more time to explore the Colosseum, and the area surrounding it. The tour inside the Colosseum was great, but a bit more time to explore the Colosseum area would have been nice. We decided to skip the third tour, the Rome Night Tour, as we were far too tired to even consider going on it, and due to the fact that it is necessary to wake up around 5 or 6AM in order to be well rested to go on the Capri Trip, which starts around 7:45AM. The Capri Trip was easily our favorite of this package. The Capri Trip was very well organized, and all tour guides were a pleasure to have due to their personality, being clear and easy to understand, and the amount of great information they provided. The boat ride to Capri is average, but in order to exit the boat more quickly, sit in the back of the boat the seats closest to where you enter the boat in Naples. Lunch is included on this tour, so it is better to avoid buying a large meal at the stop the bus makes around one hour into the trip, or anywhere in Capri in order to take advantage of this included lunch. One of the best parts of the Capri Trip was the chair lift ride 10 euros per person to the top of Anacapri. Once at the top, you are treated to an unbelievable view of the Gulf of Naples, and the Tyrrhenian Sea. While it would be great to have an extra hour to explore Capri, the bus brings you to your hotel past dark, between 9:15PM - 10:00PM.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide could not speak English and I think we knew more about the pantheon than he did

Doing what: Small-Group Pantheon, Santa Maria on Via del Corso and Temple of Hadrian Tour in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended. This tour provides an excellent overview of Rome's most famous sights including the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain (currently under restoration), and the Pantheon.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour of the colosseum and Ancient Rome was amazing, but the afternoon tour was not as good. That guise assumed we knew more than we did. We also didn't get to go into the pantheon because there was mass at 5, they should know that before hand.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very knowledgeable guide who told us many interesting facts and more about the collesseum and forum as well as the Pantheon and Navona square. I would have liked to see the Palantine Hill but our time was limited. Is it possible to give the guests a ticket so that they could go back and visit it if they so please since it is included in the combined ticket of the collesseum?

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Since we visited Rome in early November, our group was small and it was great. Coloseum was great, no lines to get in, the forum was better than expected, pantheon was cool. Trevi fountain was under repair, so we didn't stay for long. Not a bad walk, pretty relaxing and a good pace.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fascinating tour - especially the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Our guide was fantastic. She took some time at the beginning of the tour to learn all our names (there were 16 of us and she referred to personal relevant aspects of most of us as we went round). Very impressed at this.This was an extremely entertaining and educational tour. To see the inside of the Colosseum in reality after having only viewed pictures, mainly of the outside I may say, was a real eye opener and to become aware of the role and importance of the Forum was equally thought provoking. Our afternoon tour took in sites such as the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain (under renovation at this time) the Pantheon and Piazza Navona etc. was also very interesting. One recommendation: do the organised tour if you can as it's far superior to walking round with a guide book with its limited detail. Viator have not given us anything less than well informed and knowledgeable guides and we would thoroughly recommend them, Undoubtedly 10/10.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The best part of the tour was the Pantheon. Tour guide was informative and friendly

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

We met the tour at the designated spot which is easy to find and paid our 15 Euros for our entrance tickets. This is a headphone tour, listening to the guide speak. She was very informative but gave almost too much information. After the Colosseum we went to the Roman Forum. Again there was so much information. From there we walked to the Trevii Fountain which is being refurbished so we spent little time there. Then on to the Pantheon where we had time for photos. Then on to the Piazza Navona, where we were almost abruptly left as the tour ended. I would take this tour only if you have limited time. It is too much and does not give time to really enjoy some of Rome's most famous spots.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,

My wife and I were on our honeymoon trip and to visit some of the key sites in Rome is a must-do item in our list. The meet-up point was easy to locate. Tour set off timely. Our tour guide: Francesca (if i remember her name correctly) is a very professional, knowledgeable and friendly lady. Through the tour, we gained lots of information and facts about ancient Rome. Colosseum is really awesome and we took numerous nice photos at this site. Francesca done a great job by giving clear and descriptive explanation on the Roman forum too which allowed us to visualize how things were like in the past. Though the sun was strong during the walk, the tour was high spirited and i bet each of us in the group enjoyed it.

As the Trevi Fountain is under heavy restoration, the guide offered us an alternative and she brought us to the famous Pantheon. During our walk, she gave us small information on which are the nice restaurants to visit and which to give a miss etc.

A highly recommended tour to all.

Cheers
WH

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was another great tour by City Wonders and our morning guide (for the Colosseum, The Forum and Palatine Hill), Sarah N was excellent. She was a PHD Archeologist and had worked in many of the areas we were touring. Her perspectives were wonderful. She was clearly excited about her subject matter and was able to provide insights into the various parts of all three ancient sites. The afternoon walking tour (our guide Manuella) was also excellent. We walked at an easy pace as she understood that many of us had already had another tour that morning. She was also very informative and took the time to point out many interesting small things along the way to the larger venues (Pantheon, Trevi, etc.) I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We highly recommend this tour! Claudia was a trained archeologist and her explanations of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome truly helped us visualize the incredible history here. I could not imagine touring without the pictures and explanations which she gave us.

Gabrielle gave us a fun walk through the architecture and history of the city center on the afternoon tour. The gelato was good too! He even helped us weather an afternoon storm in the Pantheon.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Emma was our guide for the tour of Ancient Rome and the Colosseum and she was absolutely brilliant - she was passionate and animated and proud of her home and heritage (and a keen rugby supporter!). The information was detailed and interesting.
The 'Best of Rome' walking tour was relaxed and enjoyable. Unfortunately we were unable to see the Trevi fountain in all its glory due to the current refurbishments but we were also unable to go into the Pantheon which was disappointing. However, it was still an interesting walk around the beautiful streets of Rome with a very welcome stop for delicious gelato along the way!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is a great tour if you would like to get a taste of Rome with most of the "big" sights in one day. You get an early start with Ancient Rome and the Collesium (and you do want to skip the line at the Collesium). After the Collesium you have a bit of a break and then back in the afternoon for the Spanish Steps, Trivi Fountain (being repaired during our tour which is a bummer!) and the Pantheon. In between you get to see many sights you might miss if trying to see Rome on your own.

One thing to note...this is a full day. We had a couple of folks leave the afternoon tour early as they had been on the morning portion as well and were simply tired. My wife and I are both 66 years of age and we were fine...just a bit walked out by the end. But, this asI a fine way to see a lot of Rome in one day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was adequate, but there could have been more time spent on the Pantheon and it's history rather than on the government buildings which were of no relevance to me.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both guides ( David and Doriana ) were excellent, very knowledgable about their subjects. Both spoke good English, were able to answer questions. Both trips were taken at a good pace but not rushed. Plenty of time for photographs and to look at the sights. Plenty of time between tours for rest and lunch. Ice cream stop in afternoon by Pantheon was a pleasant surprise. Easy listening with the ear phones.Easy to follow the guides and they made sure everybody was together and were aware of what was being described.The guides ensured there were comfort breaks where appropriate. Value for money, avoiding the queues was a great benefit.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Lovely tour guide. Spent a good amount of time in Colloseum and got great pictures. Good pace and got to enjoy the Roman Forum and Pantheon well too. Guide had a good knowledge of Ancient Rome and you could tell he loved his job.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was not an in depth tour and related to mostly - post ancient sites - some thing like a hop-on - hop-off overview tour on foot, which was exactly what we expected. We did get a good look at the Pantheon and and explanation of its history, but most of the rest was walk-by and brief identification of sites. This is a good orientation tour to take early in your trip.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent. Many inclusions eg. Trevi fountain (although disappointingly closed at present for renovations) Piazza Navona, Piazza Venetzia, Pantheon and the Roman Forum was so interesting.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message