• USD ($)
  • English
The Pantheon in Rome is a remarkable building architecturally. Basically a cylinder with the floating dome on top of columns, it is the largest masonry vault ever built. In the center of this dome is a hole bringing in a shaft of light to show the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Last year we did the special Colosseum tour which takes you down to the basement and up to the upper level, that was great, but we were not disappointed with the "ordinary tour" last week, as our excellent guide had more time to explain about the history of the Colosseum and we had more time taking in the atmosphere (and not climbing steps!). The afternoon tour took us to parts of Rome we did not have time for last year, the highlight was the Pantheon, quite a unique building, the complimentary ice cream when we got out was special too!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This two part day tour was exceptional. I can't remember the two tour guide's names, but they both did an amazing job. I think my family liked the first tour of ancient Rome the best. During the first part (ancient Rome), the guide went through main parts of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill. If I didn't have the guide I can say that I would have spend all day walking around the Forum and Palatine Hill looking at everything and have no clue what everything was. She went through the basics and never became boring. The second part (walking through Rome) was nice. The pace wasn't too fast or too slow. We got to see everything the tour said it would. We had some time at the Trevi Fountain for shopping or throwing in a coin in the fountain. I read a review from this tour and one said that they don't go in the Pantheon, but we spend quite a bit of time in the Pantheon. Then we had gelato at a restaurant nearby. At the end, the guide told us how to get to where we wanted to go afterward. The only thing we didn't like was the guide kept telling my family that from Campo di Fiori that we needed to take the bus to the Colosseum, but we were able to walk it without his help. My family really enjoyed taking this the first day in Rome so we could get the basics of the attractions and where they are located and then spend the rest of our days in Rome going back to whatever attraction we wanted to spend more time at.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Chris P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easy to locate the meeting point above the colosseum metrostation. Put into tour groups, our guide was Maurisio or Morris, an exceptional guide who really knew his stuff (explained he was an archaeologist) and had a great sense of humour. Throughout the morning tour of the colosseum information was given at suitable points throughout the tour with loads of time given for photographs.
Once we had finished at the colosseum we walked over to the Roman Forumn, this was also fantastic (although in the hotter months of July or August I can imagine that it would become difficult to do as it's completely open to the sun).
Once the morning tour concluded we were very grateful to our guide Maurisio helping us out by taking us (partner and I) to a pizzeria which we would have never found.
The afternoon tour was again really easy to find the meeting point (Spagna metrostation) walk out to the palm trees and meet on the seats.
Our tour guide was Patricia who again excellent, she took us round: Spanish steps, trevi fountains, Pantheon. Loads of interesting information was given about the history of the area and attractions, which was great. Lots of opportunities for pictures as well as a drink and ice cream stop.

We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What an amazing day! Both tour guides were archaeologists so they were so knowledgeable and insightful, but most of all passionate. We learned so many interesting facts about the Colosseum, the arch of Constantine, the arch of Titus, and the Roman Forum. Then for the afternoon we explored a different part of the city to see the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. And even got to stop for a complimentary drink or gelato. Overall just a fantastic day of tours with excellent guides!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Only reason I can't give this a 5 star is that we had to leave early from the afternoon tour to meet relatives however both the morning tour and afternoon tour were very informative. David our morning tour guide had interesting information about the Colosseum and Forum that I had never heard of. He was very friendly, spoke very good English and kept us in the shad on an otherwise very hot April day. Dario, our afternoon tour guide was also very informative beginning at the Spanish steps to the Pantheon. Unfortunately we missed the gelato and the last 2 stops. Overall I would recommend this tour to anyone for a good overview of the city before heading out on their own.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour started on a lovely sunny morning close to the Colosseum - we easily found our guide, Egor, and he was excellent. Really knowledgeable and a great way to see the famous Roman ruins - without having to join a queue. The afternoon tour was also very interesting - it started at the Spanish Steps and took in the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, piazza's etc and our guide (whose name i've forgotten - so sorry!) was also very good. There was plenty of time to have lunch and get to the next tour location. We enjoyed both tours - i would suggest a good pair of walking shoes as we walked for at least 6 hours!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very good way to see a lot of important features of Rome. Our Colosseum and Forum guide was knowledgeable and great to listen to. Before our tour even began, he told us to go see Michelangelo's Moses in a nearby church.

Sara, conducted our Best of Rome Walking Tour. She was great and really knew her stuff. She was full of energy and information. The afternoon cappuccino or hot chocolate near the Pantheon was a real treat. So much so, we went back to the same cafe a few days later.

I highly recommend both of these tours. It made Rome come alive.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

How can you not love a tour of some of Rome's main attractions at night? Our guide, Ariana, is a proper archaeologist and seemed to know everything there is to know about the city. She made the tour perfect for us.
Starting at Piazza Navona, we walked through the Pantheon, past the Trevi Fountain, above the Roman Forum and finished up outside the Colosseum (read the text carefully, you don't go into the Colosseum). Ariana possesses a wealth of knowledge, which we were all too glad to hear.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was offered through Dark Rome. The meeting place on the directions say in the square above the subway for the morning tour which is actually a circular area above the line :) thought I'd mention since quite a few people were confused. Giulia was our morning guide. Very good tour of the Colosseum and very knowledgable guide. She had lots of great pictures to help you I vision what it looked like in ancient times. Morning tour also includes the Roman forum. Afternoon tour led my Damien. This tour brings you to the major attractions like the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and Pantheon. We saw the sight on our own but you miss a lot without a guide. Overall great. Anything Dark Rome tour company led was fantastic!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

You know you chose a fabulous tour when it is freezing cold outside, and you are still having the time of your life. Ariana, the tour guide, could easily be Miss Italy and a New York Times editor in one day. She showed us shortcuts around the city, spoke excellent English, kind, and gave us local inside knowledge on monuments like the Forum and the Pantheon. In a little under three hours, you are able to go walk across Rome, granted you aren't wearing stiletoes, and really feel like you're living the "Dolce Vita". My best friend from London gave this tour amazing reviews. It doesn't hurt that there were only six members on the tour either. Cique Stelle!

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Maria was a fantastic tour guide and skipping the line is worth the cost alone at the Colosseum. The evening tour was a bit long, and we dedcided to break off by the Pantheon- next to our hotel. Both were very informative and point out things that one might typically miss. Definitely would do it again.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome tour to do on your first night in Rome. We were first timers in the city, and felt it was a great price for an informative and fun tour. Our guide was Alfredo who was great. He was engaging and provided lots of helpful information. The tour starts in piazza navona, and covers the pantheon, trevi fountain, and the coliseum. You are able to walk through other areas and learn about various buildings, columns and obelisks along the way.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Colosseum and ancient Rome were awesome. Our tour guide (David) was fantastic. He had tremendous knowledge about all aspects of ancient Rome, culture, architecture, history, etc. His ability to recall facts and figures was amazing. Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour was very nice. It hit all of the must see sights with a stop for some of the best gelato on the square at the Pantheon. The guide was very pleasant and extremely informative about Rome. Wear comfortable shoes; combining these tours made for a FULL day of walking! We highly recommend these tours!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The guide did a very good job and walked us through a winding route around central Rome. I don't understand why we didn't stop at Trajan's Column, a hugely important site, but we did walk past the "wedding cake" which nobody likes.

The guide knew her stuff and was always engaging but as a whole a lot of the Roman remains are little more than rubble with the Colosseum very big but very empty, the Italian authorities could do more with these unique sites to bring them to life.

The Pantheon is a must see.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Cindy01
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The morning tour had a lovely lady guide who was very informative and friendly, we visited Trevino fountain pantheon and St. Peter's basilica and she gave a great informative overview of these fabulous sites. There was only a few of us that had booked both the morning and afternoon tour with the lunch....the afternoon tour was hosted by Georgio an older gent who was fabulous with his historic stories and information for the colleseum and St. Peter in chains church...the entire group really were enthral led with all of his interesting stories....he was one of the better guides we had throughout all of Europe. Pick up and drop off to the hotel were an added bonus with this tour. All was really good EXCEPT...the lunch! This part of the tour was such a waste of money it was ridiculous....we were taken a to a little restaurant that had Italian cuisine and was very busy with other patrons eating what looked like lovely food....our small group were served a set menu of a spirelli pasta witha tomato sauce that was very average and then a dried out 2 slices of pork with a watery white sauce on top with CHIPS....we couldn't believe it ...no one in this restrain t was eating this food and it would not have cost them any extra to just give us a decent pasta with salad....all of us did not finish the food as it was just that bad...it was embarrassing dessert was a lemon gelato that was in a little plastic cup that was pre packaged and by far the worst gelato I have ever had.
My recommendation is to book the morning and afternoon tour but under NO circumstance get the lunch as you are better off just going anywhere else and ordering a meal yourself as it is just not worth getting this second rate cheap slop...

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message