The Pantheon in Rome is a remarkable building architecturally. Basically a cylinder with the floating dome on top of columns, it is the largest masonry vault ever built. In the center of this dome is a hole bringing in a shaft of light to show the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour guide, tour and timing. Guide was great and went through everything including the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona being incredibly friendly to one and all. Made the whole group become friendly and helped guide everyone with individual help to all on a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

ddizon726

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must do for Rome first timers! There are so many historical sites in the city that this becomes a convenient way to narrow it down to the key ones. Vasco and the Canadian girl were good! Although as a combo tour it could get exhausting. Too bad the Spanish Steps and Pantheon were closed

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I booked this tour via viator. The tour around the colosseum is absolutely amazing. The meeting point was just above the metro station close to the colosseum.

My wife and I arrived extra early to have our pictures taken with the colosseum's exterior. Good thing we did so because we didn't have time to take pictures during the tour.

We skipped all of the long lines into the colosseum considering it was quite crowded during that day.

Our lady tour guide who is an archeologist was very knowledgeable as she described to us the historical facts about the colosseum and the gladiators that fought in it.

We started on the ground floor of the colosseum and then went on to the upper levels where there was a view of the entire interior of the colosseum.

After touring the colosseum we proceeded to The Roman Forum where the ruins were situated.
The tour guide slowly discussed and showed to us pictures of what the ruins looked like when the structures were in good condition before.

The ruins were truly amazing. Next up was the palatine hill where our tour ended.

The total duration of the tour was about 3 hrs with a couple of toilet breaks in the middle. Take note to wear comfortable shoes as you will be walking in uneven surfaces, uphill surfaces and a couple of flight of stairs.

Overall I liked this tour.

Tour guide Joana who facilitated the afternoon tour was absolutely amazing. Her sense of humor kept us on our toes. We covered plenty of places such as The Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, The Pantheon among others.

I really enjoyed the afternoon tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

James D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This wasn't a bad tour per se, but I did it having been in Rome a couple days already and since I was staying in the historical center, I had already seen all the sights on the tour, and I didn't feel like they gave me a lot of additional information for each of them. If you're just starting a Rome visit, this might not be bad, but otherwise I would recommend just walking to the various sites and getting the audio guide there pantheon or downloading a self-guided tour with info from the web.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Ruth B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Seeing the Pantheon was wonderful. The Trevi Fountain was undergoing restoration. We did not get the opportunity to throw a coin into the fountain. It rained heavily that day and we had to cut short the tour of the Piazza Navona.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Tracy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I'll be rating the four tours separately.
Tour 1, rating 3/5. The walking tour was interesting. We got to see the Trevi fountain, Pantheon, Parliament buildings and Piazza Navana before travelling by bus to the Vatican. The guide was informative. What was disappointing was that the guide seemed to shut off after the Vatican in that she provided no information about any of the sights we passed on the way back to the office unless prompted.
Tour 2, rating 4/5. We got to do a walking tour of the Forum, Capitoline Hill, San Pietro and the Colloseum. This was the highlight of the four tours. The guide was great. It would have been better if he had used the headsets so we could all hear what he said. The other thing that could be improved is that people get dropped off at their hotels on the way back to the office which adds about 50 minutes to the trip. It's really annoying.
Tour 3, rating 0/5. This was a night tour of Rome. It was a rehash of the mornings tour although noe everything was dark. It was such a let down. At the end people got dropped off at their hotels which added 1 hour on to the tour. For those of us doing the 2 day tour this made the day really long. We didn't get back to the office until 11pm and we started the first tour at 8.30am.
Tour 4, 1/5. We travelled to Capri. After getting back so late we were asked to be at the office at 7.30am to leave. We did not leave to 8.30am. No explanation given. Alot of the day is spent travelling in the bus. Unfortunately the guide was not very good. In the whole day I would say she spent 15 minutes giving us information. She was really poor. The food at the restaurant was really bad. One of my friends nearly broke a tooth on some hard seafood and the pasta was overcooked. It had rained so we couldn't see the Blue Grotto. The highlight was that in our spare time of 1 hour we went up on the chair lift and the views were great. We didn't get time to stop and eat on the way back.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A really full day with 2 excellent guides in what seemed a very busy Rome.
The morning tour was very informative and the afternoon great fun. Ice cream at the Pantheon was a nice touch! Recommended

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

poonies21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very good introduction to the main attractions in Rome for first time visitors like us. We only had 2 precious days in Rome so this was a good way to see almost everything quickly. We had 2 guides, one for the morning part which introduced us to the Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill, and one for the afternoon tour which showed us the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, etc. Sadly, the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps were closed for cleaning but we still got to see them, although from a small distance. Our afternoon guide was excellent think her name was Eakatrina - not sure about the spelling. She was lively, bubbly and very knowledgeable and kept all of us interested and alert right up to the end. Highly recommend this for anyone who's visiting for the first time and wants a good overview of the major spots.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Andy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Favourite Tour in Rome! A must do folks. The Colosseum morning part is the perfect length of time and you get a nice 3 hour break before the afternoon walking tour portion to grab a bite to eat or a little shopping. The Pantheon is my absolute favourite architectural structure in all of Rome!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Fabiola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is SO much better to see the Collosseo at night. It is so much more dramatic to look at and for pictures. We were not interested in going inside so that was fine for us. If you want to go inside you can go back the next day to go inside. Our guide Jeannette gave us a good tour of all the important parts of downtown Rome - the Collosseo, the Four Rivers, the Pantheon, the Fontana di Trevi, the Forum - were all incredible. She told us about the background of each area - and that made it really special to look closely at them.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Kim L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the highlights.
i would have liked more time in the Forum but there are only so many hours.
Hit the main sights -- Pantheon, Forum, Colisseum.
Our guide, Elena, was very knowledgeable.
This is the way to see this stuff -- the lines for those not on organized tours looked like they could have been hours long.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

richard f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide very flexible as this tour was scheduled for a Sunday am when Mass was in session. He made up for this with a street tour and then we came back to the Pantheon.

Doing what: Small-Group Pantheon, Santa Maria on Via del Corso and Temple of Hadrian Tour in Rome

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was nice to get a feel for Rome and see those important sights such as the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain. Great guide!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Orlin P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this tour was good... we did get to see a lot and the tour guide was good too. just that in some areas like the Pantheon we couldn't go inside because the was a mass so the photos were taken from outside. Our tour guide i think her name was Catherine Sept. 20th at 10:30 was good. she stopped to count the group every so often to make sure we stayed together.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Diederick V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We booked this tour through Viator, who used a local company. Our tour started at the Piazza Navona and then with some turns past landmarks of historical Rome, like Pantheon, and finally to the ruins of Ancient Rome. We found the tour to be informative, and it moved at an acceptable pace. The total distance covered is maybe approx 7 km, in about 3 - 4 hrs, which is about the amount I believe you can take in at one go, and still enjoy it, without becoming too overwhelming. I would advise to rather do the earlier tours since the day is cooler and crowds are less, although in our case it was quite fine. Some areas like Pantheon and Fontana de Trevi was somewhat crowded. Note that this fountain is under renovation at present. There is also construction in progress near Ancient Rome and the Colosseum, apparently to expand the Metro. One plus of the tour is skipping the entry lines which was quite long. Our guide was also quite knowledgable and entertaining. One thing which can be improved is the quality of the small radio devices for the commentary. Although a great idea, the sound quality is not the best and especially in crowded areas you get interference from the other tougroups.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

rick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We spent just under three and a half hours at the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Pantheon and, finally, Piazza Navona under the very experienced and surefooted guidance of Carlotta. Having dispatched the storm clouds and heavy rain of the morning, our afternoon session was carried out in bright sunshine and temperatures in the upper 20s centigrade!. Providing you are adequately prepared hat, sunscreen, water etc you will find Carlotta to be an excellent and knowledgeable guide and her passion made for a fantastic afternoon. The official tour itinerary included a call in at the Trevi Fountain but, as this is currently undergoing refurbishment, Carlotta was careful to solicit the opinions of the group as to whether we should bypass this which we unanimously did and instead we went to the Capitoline Hill which was a great add on. Given that the Colosseum and the Forum are the two central features relating to Ancient Rome this is a tour not to be missed!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide - met at Piazza Navarone and from there we went to Pantheon had coffee - guides treat Trevi Fountain and passed various sites along the way - ending up a Colosseum. Very knowledgeable and personable guide who was really proud to show us her city. Lovely tour - highly recommend

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Northa104

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The omega card was definitely very convenient we tended to use the hop on hop off bus as a means of transport as our location near pantheon was not close to public transport. But wold recommend purchasing

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Gloria J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Pantheon was great. A bit disappointed as the Trevi Fountain was having some maintenance work done to it - guess we'll just have to go back to Rome!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Raymond F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

A tale of 2 tours - morning tour of the Colosseo and Forum was fantastic 5 star, the afternoon tour of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and Piazza Navona was so so 2 star. Morning tour guide and sights were awesome, and couldn't be done alone. The afternoon tour didn't add much and should have done by myself.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Gregory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic! Our tour guide was sweet and answered every question our group came up with - she obviously loves her job! When I came up to the Pantheon from around a corner, I almost cried - it was amazing! Such a tremendous city - and our tour guide only made it that much more enjoyable!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Michelle R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour - Chiara was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Rome and the loactions we visited - Piazza Navona, Trevi and Pantheon. We had to break off the tour early due to a foot injury suffered earlier on our vacation, so we missed walk to Piazza Venezia and the forum. However, Chiara was very accomodating and helpful to show us how to get back to our apartment near Piazza Spagna. Be aware there is a lot of walking - but if you're able this is a great tour and doing it in the evening is a must with the heat!

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Daniel K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great!

We really enjoyed our experience at both the Colosseum and our afternoon walking tour.
Rome, itself, was so hot that is definitely took away from the total experience, but our tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and very informative....we were only in Rome for a total of 4 days, so these tours allowed us to see so much in such a little time.

We really enjoyed having our quick stop for gelato by the Pantheon.It really hit the spot on a 95 degree day.

If I had one negative to share it would be that the directions given by the tour company, to find our meeting places, were vague and hard to follow. We found ourselves asking the locals for help to find the group. Overall a 4.5 out of 5 experience!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Nancy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was excellent and skipping the line makes sense. The tour turned out to be too physically challenging for me and I had to leave in the early afternoon so missed the Pantheon. This was my fault, can't blame the tour operator.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Kenneth T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour was good. I wish more info had been provided about the distance between the end of the first tour in the morning and where you had to be to start the afternoon tour. It would be better if the beginning of the afternoon tour started near the pantheon so it was not so far to go.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message