The Pantheon in Rome is a remarkable building architecturally. Basically a cylinder with the floating dome on top of columns, it is the largest masonry vault ever built. In the center of this dome is a hole bringing in a shaft of light to show the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, starting at the base of the Spanish steps currently under construction and making our way over to the Piazza Navona, thru the Trevi Fountain and other sites on the way. Our guide was terrific. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as it's a bit a of walking. The highlight was the Pantheon, which even though we'd seen before, we didn't appreciate the history and the superb architectural elements e.g. the dome ceiling that make it inexplicable how ancients were able to build it. We also couldn't get over the how, by design, the internal air circulation within the Pantheon prevents most rain from hitting the floor through the open hole in the top of the dome. Amazing!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

denis c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

best value tour we did, its a full days touring and you get your moneys worth of history and more. Serianna was informative, helpful and kept the attention throughout the Colosseum tour in the morning.
the palentine hill and forum are must see, see where it all happened in Imperial Rome!!

the afternoon tour with the spanish steps, trevi fountain and pantheon as the highlights is excellent also!.
i would note that lots of sunblock, water, energy snacks and good footwear are advisable- a certain level of fitness is advised otherwise you are gotta start wilting toward the end

recommend recommend recommend!!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

sheena.ellis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour if you are prepared for a lot of walking and a full day.
We enjoyed the morning tour which included The Colosseum and the Roman Forum - definitely a must see when in Rome. The afternoon tour was with Francesca who was a great guide and gave us lots of interesting information as we walked around the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and more.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Chez

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Trevi fountain very disappointing due to it being restored. Pantheon amazing and I loved the Piazza Navona.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

ewarchuck

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We booked this tour together and had two guides - Rafaella Colosseum/Forum and Sev Walking Tour. Our tour started with the Colosseum and Roman Forum - both excellent to see. The strange thing was that this was the day of Race for the Cure in Rome, so the streets were closed down and there were masses of walkers and runners. Rafaella did the best she could to try and get us through, but I would have recommended her to be more forceful! We waited about 30 minutes trying to get across the street. She provided fantastic knowledge in the Roman Forum, which was beautiful to see and it was well worth the money to have someone explain it to you. The Colosseum was something my husband and I agreed we could have probably done on our own, but it was included and we definitely learned more with a guide. Sev was our guide in the afternoon, and took us thorough the important sights, teaching us a lot about Roman history and pointing out things to look for on buildings elsewhere in Rome. Sev absolutely deserves the 5 rating! He explains things in a way that is very easy to understand and remember, and you can easily see his passion for the beauty of Roman architecture. The tour also included a gelato at a restaurant near the Pantheon, which was delicious. While it can be expensive to sit and have a drink near any major attraction, we came back to this place another day and had an aperol spritz. When in Rome, right?

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Andrew United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour guide, tour and timing. Guide was great and went through everything including the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona being incredibly friendly to one and all. Made the whole group become friendly and helped guide everyone with individual help to all on a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

ddizon726

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must do for Rome first timers! There are so many historical sites in the city that this becomes a convenient way to narrow it down to the key ones. Vasco and the Canadian girl were good! Although as a combo tour it could get exhausting. Too bad the Spanish Steps and Pantheon were closed

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Benedict S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I booked this tour via viator. The tour around the colosseum is absolutely amazing. The meeting point was just above the metro station close to the colosseum.

My wife and I arrived extra early to have our pictures taken with the colosseum's exterior. Good thing we did so because we didn't have time to take pictures during the tour.

We skipped all of the long lines into the colosseum considering it was quite crowded during that day.

Our lady tour guide who is an archeologist was very knowledgeable as she described to us the historical facts about the colosseum and the gladiators that fought in it.

We started on the ground floor of the colosseum and then went on to the upper levels where there was a view of the entire interior of the colosseum.

After touring the colosseum we proceeded to The Roman Forum where the ruins were situated.
The tour guide slowly discussed and showed to us pictures of what the ruins looked like when the structures were in good condition before.

The ruins were truly amazing. Next up was the palatine hill where our tour ended.

The total duration of the tour was about 3 hrs with a couple of toilet breaks in the middle. Take note to wear comfortable shoes as you will be walking in uneven surfaces, uphill surfaces and a couple of flight of stairs.

Overall I liked this tour.

Tour guide Joana who facilitated the afternoon tour was absolutely amazing. Her sense of humor kept us on our toes. We covered plenty of places such as The Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, The Pantheon among others.

I really enjoyed the afternoon tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

James D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This wasn't a bad tour per se, but I did it having been in Rome a couple days already and since I was staying in the historical center, I had already seen all the sights on the tour, and I didn't feel like they gave me a lot of additional information for each of them. If you're just starting a Rome visit, this might not be bad, but otherwise I would recommend just walking to the various sites and getting the audio guide there pantheon or downloading a self-guided tour with info from the web.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Ruth B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Seeing the Pantheon was wonderful. The Trevi Fountain was undergoing restoration. We did not get the opportunity to throw a coin into the fountain. It rained heavily that day and we had to cut short the tour of the Piazza Navona.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Tracy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I'll be rating the four tours separately.
Tour 1, rating 3/5. The walking tour was interesting. We got to see the Trevi fountain, Pantheon, Parliament buildings and Piazza Navana before travelling by bus to the Vatican. The guide was informative. What was disappointing was that the guide seemed to shut off after the Vatican in that she provided no information about any of the sights we passed on the way back to the office unless prompted.
Tour 2, rating 4/5. We got to do a walking tour of the Forum, Capitoline Hill, San Pietro and the Colloseum. This was the highlight of the four tours. The guide was great. It would have been better if he had used the headsets so we could all hear what he said. The other thing that could be improved is that people get dropped off at their hotels on the way back to the office which adds about 50 minutes to the trip. It's really annoying.
Tour 3, rating 0/5. This was a night tour of Rome. It was a rehash of the mornings tour although noe everything was dark. It was such a let down. At the end people got dropped off at their hotels which added 1 hour on to the tour. For those of us doing the 2 day tour this made the day really long. We didn't get back to the office until 11pm and we started the first tour at 8.30am.
Tour 4, 1/5. We travelled to Capri. After getting back so late we were asked to be at the office at 7.30am to leave. We did not leave to 8.30am. No explanation given. Alot of the day is spent travelling in the bus. Unfortunately the guide was not very good. In the whole day I would say she spent 15 minutes giving us information. She was really poor. The food at the restaurant was really bad. One of my friends nearly broke a tooth on some hard seafood and the pasta was overcooked. It had rained so we couldn't see the Blue Grotto. The highlight was that in our spare time of 1 hour we went up on the chair lift and the views were great. We didn't get time to stop and eat on the way back.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including Three Rome City Tours and Capri Day Trip

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A really full day with 2 excellent guides in what seemed a very busy Rome.
The morning tour was very informative and the afternoon great fun. Ice cream at the Pantheon was a nice touch! Recommended

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

poonies21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very good introduction to the main attractions in Rome for first time visitors like us. We only had 2 precious days in Rome so this was a good way to see almost everything quickly. We had 2 guides, one for the morning part which introduced us to the Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill, and one for the afternoon tour which showed us the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, etc. Sadly, the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps were closed for cleaning but we still got to see them, although from a small distance. Our afternoon guide was excellent think her name was Eakatrina - not sure about the spelling. She was lively, bubbly and very knowledgeable and kept all of us interested and alert right up to the end. Highly recommend this for anyone who's visiting for the first time and wants a good overview of the major spots.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Andy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Favourite Tour in Rome! A must do folks. The Colosseum morning part is the perfect length of time and you get a nice 3 hour break before the afternoon walking tour portion to grab a bite to eat or a little shopping. The Pantheon is my absolute favourite architectural structure in all of Rome!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Fabiola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is SO much better to see the Collosseo at night. It is so much more dramatic to look at and for pictures. We were not interested in going inside so that was fine for us. If you want to go inside you can go back the next day to go inside. Our guide Jeannette gave us a good tour of all the important parts of downtown Rome - the Collosseo, the Four Rivers, the Pantheon, the Fontana di Trevi, the Forum - were all incredible. She told us about the background of each area - and that made it really special to look closely at them.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Kim L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the highlights.
i would have liked more time in the Forum but there are only so many hours.
Hit the main sights -- Pantheon, Forum, Colisseum.
Our guide, Elena, was very knowledgeable.
This is the way to see this stuff -- the lines for those not on organized tours looked like they could have been hours long.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

richard f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide very flexible as this tour was scheduled for a Sunday am when Mass was in session. He made up for this with a street tour and then we came back to the Pantheon.

Doing what: Small-Group Pantheon, Santa Maria on Via del Corso and Temple of Hadrian Tour in Rome

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was nice to get a feel for Rome and see those important sights such as the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain. Great guide!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Orlin P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this tour was good... we did get to see a lot and the tour guide was good too. just that in some areas like the Pantheon we couldn't go inside because the was a mass so the photos were taken from outside. Our tour guide i think her name was Catherine Sept. 20th at 10:30 was good. she stopped to count the group every so often to make sure we stayed together.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Diederick V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We booked this tour through Viator, who used a local company. Our tour started at the Piazza Navona and then with some turns past landmarks of historical Rome, like Pantheon, and finally to the ruins of Ancient Rome. We found the tour to be informative, and it moved at an acceptable pace. The total distance covered is maybe approx 7 km, in about 3 - 4 hrs, which is about the amount I believe you can take in at one go, and still enjoy it, without becoming too overwhelming. I would advise to rather do the earlier tours since the day is cooler and crowds are less, although in our case it was quite fine. Some areas like Pantheon and Fontana de Trevi was somewhat crowded. Note that this fountain is under renovation at present. There is also construction in progress near Ancient Rome and the Colosseum, apparently to expand the Metro. One plus of the tour is skipping the entry lines which was quite long. Our guide was also quite knowledgable and entertaining. One thing which can be improved is the quality of the small radio devices for the commentary. Although a great idea, the sound quality is not the best and especially in crowded areas you get interference from the other tougroups.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

rick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We spent just under three and a half hours at the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Pantheon and, finally, Piazza Navona under the very experienced and surefooted guidance of Carlotta. Having dispatched the storm clouds and heavy rain of the morning, our afternoon session was carried out in bright sunshine and temperatures in the upper 20s centigrade!. Providing you are adequately prepared hat, sunscreen, water etc you will find Carlotta to be an excellent and knowledgeable guide and her passion made for a fantastic afternoon. The official tour itinerary included a call in at the Trevi Fountain but, as this is currently undergoing refurbishment, Carlotta was careful to solicit the opinions of the group as to whether we should bypass this which we unanimously did and instead we went to the Capitoline Hill which was a great add on. Given that the Colosseum and the Forum are the two central features relating to Ancient Rome this is a tour not to be missed!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide - met at Piazza Navarone and from there we went to Pantheon had coffee - guides treat Trevi Fountain and passed various sites along the way - ending up a Colosseum. Very knowledgeable and personable guide who was really proud to show us her city. Lovely tour - highly recommend

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Northa104

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The omega card was definitely very convenient we tended to use the hop on hop off bus as a means of transport as our location near pantheon was not close to public transport. But wold recommend purchasing

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

Gloria J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Pantheon was great. A bit disappointed as the Trevi Fountain was having some maintenance work done to it - guess we'll just have to go back to Rome!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Raymond F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

A tale of 2 tours - morning tour of the Colosseo and Forum was fantastic 5 star, the afternoon tour of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and Piazza Navona was so so 2 star. Morning tour guide and sights were awesome, and couldn't be done alone. The afternoon tour didn't add much and should have done by myself.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message