The Pantheon in Rome is a remarkable building architecturally. Basically a cylinder with the floating dome on top of columns, it is the largest masonry vault ever built. In the center of this dome is a hole bringing in a shaft of light to show the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

We met the tour at the designated spot which is easy to find and paid our 15 Euros for our entrance tickets. This is a headphone tour, listening to the guide speak. She was very informative but gave almost too much information. After the Colosseum we went to the Roman Forum. Again there was so much information. From there we walked to the Trevii Fountain which is being refurbished so we spent little time there. Then on to the Pantheon where we had time for photos. Then on to the Piazza Navona, where we were almost abruptly left as the tour ended. I would take this tour only if you have limited time. It is too much and does not give time to really enjoy some of Rome's most famous spots.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,

My wife and I were on our honeymoon trip and to visit some of the key sites in Rome is a must-do item in our list. The meet-up point was easy to locate. Tour set off timely. Our tour guide: Francesca (if i remember her name correctly) is a very professional, knowledgeable and friendly lady. Through the tour, we gained lots of information and facts about ancient Rome. Colosseum is really awesome and we took numerous nice photos at this site. Francesca done a great job by giving clear and descriptive explanation on the Roman forum too which allowed us to visualize how things were like in the past. Though the sun was strong during the walk, the tour was high spirited and i bet each of us in the group enjoyed it.

As the Trevi Fountain is under heavy restoration, the guide offered us an alternative and she brought us to the famous Pantheon. During our walk, she gave us small information on which are the nice restaurants to visit and which to give a miss etc.

A highly recommended tour to all.

Cheers
WH

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was another great tour by City Wonders and our morning guide (for the Colosseum, The Forum and Palatine Hill), Sarah N was excellent. She was a PHD Archeologist and had worked in many of the areas we were touring. Her perspectives were wonderful. She was clearly excited about her subject matter and was able to provide insights into the various parts of all three ancient sites. The afternoon walking tour (our guide Manuella) was also excellent. We walked at an easy pace as she understood that many of us had already had another tour that morning. She was also very informative and took the time to point out many interesting small things along the way to the larger venues (Pantheon, Trevi, etc.) I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We highly recommend this tour! Claudia was a trained archeologist and her explanations of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome truly helped us visualize the incredible history here. I could not imagine touring without the pictures and explanations which she gave us.

Gabrielle gave us a fun walk through the architecture and history of the city center on the afternoon tour. The gelato was good too! He even helped us weather an afternoon storm in the Pantheon.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Emma was our guide for the tour of Ancient Rome and the Colosseum and she was absolutely brilliant - she was passionate and animated and proud of her home and heritage (and a keen rugby supporter!). The information was detailed and interesting.
The 'Best of Rome' walking tour was relaxed and enjoyable. Unfortunately we were unable to see the Trevi fountain in all its glory due to the current refurbishments but we were also unable to go into the Pantheon which was disappointing. However, it was still an interesting walk around the beautiful streets of Rome with a very welcome stop for delicious gelato along the way!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is a great tour if you would like to get a taste of Rome with most of the "big" sights in one day. You get an early start with Ancient Rome and the Collesium (and you do want to skip the line at the Collesium). After the Collesium you have a bit of a break and then back in the afternoon for the Spanish Steps, Trivi Fountain (being repaired during our tour which is a bummer!) and the Pantheon. In between you get to see many sights you might miss if trying to see Rome on your own.

One thing to note...this is a full day. We had a couple of folks leave the afternoon tour early as they had been on the morning portion as well and were simply tired. My wife and I are both 66 years of age and we were fine...just a bit walked out by the end. But, this asI a fine way to see a lot of Rome in one day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was adequate, but there could have been more time spent on the Pantheon and it's history rather than on the government buildings which were of no relevance to me.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both guides ( David and Doriana ) were excellent, very knowledgable about their subjects. Both spoke good English, were able to answer questions. Both trips were taken at a good pace but not rushed. Plenty of time for photographs and to look at the sights. Plenty of time between tours for rest and lunch. Ice cream stop in afternoon by Pantheon was a pleasant surprise. Easy listening with the ear phones.Easy to follow the guides and they made sure everybody was together and were aware of what was being described.The guides ensured there were comfort breaks where appropriate. Value for money, avoiding the queues was a great benefit.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Lovely tour guide. Spent a good amount of time in Colloseum and got great pictures. Good pace and got to enjoy the Roman Forum and Pantheon well too. Guide had a good knowledge of Ancient Rome and you could tell he loved his job.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was not an in depth tour and related to mostly - post ancient sites - some thing like a hop-on - hop-off overview tour on foot, which was exactly what we expected. We did get a good look at the Pantheon and and explanation of its history, but most of the rest was walk-by and brief identification of sites. This is a good orientation tour to take early in your trip.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent. Many inclusions eg. Trevi fountain (although disappointingly closed at present for renovations) Piazza Navona, Piazza Venetzia, Pantheon and the Roman Forum was so interesting.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a great way to see the ancient Roman structures and ruins while also seeing the key historic landmarks of Rome in one day! Having the tours split (Colosseum and ruins in the AM and Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Piazza Navona in the afternoon) was a nice way to see lots of sites at a more relaxed pace. We also got to have a nice lunch walking between the two areas and saw more of the city. Both tour guides were great and very knowledgeable. If you're only in Rome for a short time this is a great way to see lots of the highlights and experience Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was a good one. One has to be a gladiator to manage a tour in the midst of huge crowds of people gawking as we were at this amazing place. The guide was pleasant and very knowledgable. It was hard to catch everything she said through the headsets as it seems a male voice transmits better. But she was patient and repeated one-on-one as needed. The trek though Rome is a long one that ended after the Pantheon, so it should be done only if you are really fit.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Colosseum tour in the morning was excellent and very informative! It was the highlight. The afternoon tour was not as exciting because we had already seen a bunch of the locations previously and it wasn't as exciting as the morning. There was a gelato break at the Pantheon though, which was nice

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was great, getting to see the Pantheon, and all sorts of other awesome places. They didn't let us walk over the Trevi fountain as was promised (due to closure) however.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message