Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Parco degli Acquedotti

The Parco degli Acquedotti is one of Rome’s green spaces, and also one with major Ancient Roman structures in it. As the name tells you, a visit to the Parco degli Acquedotti means you get to see a Roman aqueduct - but in this park, you can actually ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, well organised, informative and good quality bikes. This was the highlight of our trip to Rome, tiring afternoon but saw so much and the stop for cheese and wine was lovely. Thoroughly recommend this.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

absolutely fantastic! best way to explore the outskirt of the ancient city. the tour was very easy with eBikes and still easy with a normal mountain bike if you cycle regularly. to see the appian way and the aqueducts on the bike was magical. the stop at the farm on the way back was perfectly positioned and timed. We had the best cheese ever and enjoyed chatting and getting to know the other cyclists - a definite highlight of the tour. If you have an afternoon in Rome without any plans this is the thing to do. the starting point is very close to the Colosseum.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome!!! It was the highlight of our trip for many of us. Our guide, Jesse was amazing, and we did put him through a lot. It was wonderful to be out in the countryside riding and seeing how the locals spend their Sunday afternoon. We saw sites most tourist don't get to see. Jesse was very informative telling us about the history of the Appian Way along with the other sites we saw. All the regular stops, along with the unexpected ones gave us a chance to take a breath and soak in the surroundings around us. This is a great way to see many interesting sites, but be warned , this is a long and sometimes difficult ride. Prepare yourself, not for novice riders!! If you are, use the e-bikes. Thank you Jesse for taking such good care of us. I know we gave you a few first experiences. We had such a great time and we all talk highly of our bike ride in Rome. I hope to do it again some day!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highlight of my trip to Italy! Our guide was great, very knowledgeable and energized. I will recommend this as a must do for anyone visiting Rome. It was my second time visiting Rome and it was a game changer - I fell in love with the city!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was much better than the city tour. It was a really fun way to see parts of Rome and the surrounding area that I would not have seen otherwise. Also, aside from the catacombs tour, you really get away from the tourists and see a side of Rome the locals see.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I encountered a bike accident early on the tour. It was no fault of anyone. It just happened. The guide, Matteo was wonderful. He was careful and protective of us as we rode at a slow pace through Rome to get to the Park. It was a freak thing that I got thrown of the bike. I needed to go to the hospital. Matteo made me feel safe. The group waited till the ambulance came. Matteo secured my camera. I needed attention to a cut on my left brow and a bruise on the palm of my hand. Everyone was very nice and patient. I was traveling alone. When I was released a little later I was feeling shakey but returned to the bike tour office and the staff was so nice. They gave me juice and water and chatted with me till I left and they called me a taxi. Fleurin, at the office came to my hotel in the evening after hours to return my camera! I was departing Rome the next morning and unable to go back for my camera. They were all so wonderful! I feel badly that I missed the bike tour. The bike tour company and Viator agreed to return my money since I did not get to enjoy the tour. I would love to return to Rome and complete the tour sometime in the future. Thank you!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

this was awesome but not for the novice bike rider the computer bike was outstanding!!! we saw beautiful sites and while I was afraid of the traffic, allessandra was amazing at keeping it all very safe. I loved it. she was so attentive-I fell of my own accord off the bike and she was promptly there with a first aid kit/washing the area and putting bandaid on.. so kind. the catacombs were gorgeous and the appertif of cheese bread and drink was much needed and loved by all. I would do this again in a minute-I must say top notch equipment from the bike to helmet to the computer-wow. definitely recommend this for a nice change of pace

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful way to see Rome. The Catacomb tour and Sheep farm were highlights of our trip. Our guide was engaging and informative!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent bikes, fantastic guide and beautiful trip!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our family of four including two sons 11 and 16 took the Ancient Appian way, Catacombs and Countryside bike tour in March, 2015. We could not have been more pleased with the guide or the bikes. The tour includes all aspects of life in Rome - historical sites, local parks, countryside, regular neighborhoods and some routine streets of Rome. We thought that was a nice bonus. Matteo was our guide and he was full of knowledge he was happy to share, very considerate of the bikers needs and levels, and was very personable and fun to be around. This was the highlight of our 11 tour of Italy and would not consider going back to Rome without booking another excursion with them.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent trip. Easy to imagine sharing the Appian Way with the ancient romans. Terrific countryside, informative, a wonderful relaxed day out. all the eaquipment was good .

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, although it was much, much easier than i anticipated. Our tour guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable and very conscientious about ensuring that everyone on the tour was safe and accounted for as we rode through the traffic in Rome. As well, the bikes were in great condition which we both appreciated.

I understand you used to offer a longer, more ambitious ride up to a lake in the hill. Sounds like it would be a great ride! Sorry it's not available, but i will check next time we are in Rome in case you decide to offer it again.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome, but please if you are not physically fit enough to go up and down hills over uneven and rough terrain at fairly brisk pace avoid this tour. Tour guide was awesome, equipment was great, would do it all over again :)

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was our favorite tour in Rome! We had permanent smiles on all day...the bikes were great and our tour guide Bruno was amazing!! We had a great group with us and ending at the farm for wine and cheese was so awesome! I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone going to Rome.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great slow- paced tour. Lots of traffic around Rome, but our guide, Bruno, made sure we were safe and all together. Mountain bikes are a must since the old cobblestones have many ruts and much of the tour is off road.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with an excellent guide. Highly recommended for those with a thirst for adventure.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I'm sorry I don't remember our guide's name but he was very nice and informative. It was so enjoyable to be out in the country and away from the noise and crowds of the city. It's amazing how quickly we were out of the city. (We did this excursion early on a Sunday morning so there was very little traffic leaving the city in the morning. Nice!) I enjoyed the catacomb tour and thought the Appian Way was beautiful. It was cool to stop under the intact portion of the aqueduct. The cheese and wine break was quite welcome. We'd worked up an appetite by then. One comment would be to warn folks that the ride was not for beginners. I don't ride mountain trails normally and there was some short single track spots where it was tricky for a non-mountain biker like myself. All in all, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Bruno our guide was very good and made the tour very interesting. Some good cycling along with interesting sights and a nice cheese, wine and bread stopover at the farm made for a good day.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This your was a nice break from the city! Totally worth our time!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I enjoyed this tour a lot. Great to get out of the city and into the countryside. The tour guide was very knowledgable and seemed to enjoy himself as much as we did. I reccommend doing this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour will linger as the sweetest memory of my stay in Rome! Francesco was COOL and quite knowledgable, he dissected lots of archaeological sites along the way that would have been missed if I had rented the bike on my own. A teammate had a flat tire. Francesco had it fixed in no time. The 6 hour ride was a bliss, never felt rushed and throughly enjoyed the ride. Bikes are fabulous. The Appian way extends beyond 2300 years of history, echoes and glory. Don't miss it!


Don't think twice. Just go for it :)

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

Stacey
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great bikes, great guide, lots to see, we even had wine and cheese just before the end of the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the best tour I've been on. Francesco was an wonderful guide. Always conscious of safety but also keeps the tour moving along. He knows a lot and passes it along in understandable portions. He's well traveled and keeps the conversation going with the whole group so everyone feels included. This tour definitely gets you out of the tourist crush to what for me were the most impressive ruins along the Appian Way. Amazing that the original surface is still in amazing shape though you don't want to ride on it for long. Great farm visit with wine and cheese with the sheep being milked behind you while you eat.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see a different aspect of Rome. We had a knowledegable friendly and informative guide named Andrea who safely guided us for 6 hours, particularly through some heavy traffic in Rome

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message