The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4603 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did not go! We were just too tired!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was excellent and the tour guide was very informative and very considerate of everyone's needs

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

very nice young man for a guide, good experience

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both guides ( David and Doriana ) were excellent, very knowledgable about their subjects. Both spoke good English, were able to answer questions. Both trips were taken at a good pace but not rushed. Plenty of time for photographs and to look at the sights. Plenty of time between tours for rest and lunch. Ice cream stop in afternoon by Pantheon was a pleasant surprise. Easy listening with the ear phones.Easy to follow the guides and they made sure everybody was together and were aware of what was being described.The guides ensured there were comfort breaks where appropriate. Value for money, avoiding the queues was a great benefit.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Doriana (I hope I got her name right) was outstanding on the Colosseum and Ancient Rome tours. She made me want to learn more. She was quite interesting, knowledgeable, and brilliant. I highly recommend this part of the tour. Because I was tired and didn't pay attention to what was on my ticket, I missed out on the afternoon tour. I think if one has time, it is better to spread out the tour, because the morning tour did involve a lot of walking.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Both guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very thorough and eye opening, learn an extreme amount in a very short time

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best way to see Rome! Our guide was great. It was an easy ride but remember that cars rule the roads here, with pedestrians next. Great sights and great company. Liked the tips of where to go and where to eat!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Rome is a city that has a night vibe like no other. With so much history and culture, there are so many different way and viewpoints you can see the Eternal City. Rome Night Bike Tour just happens to add that extra dimension to your trip that you never expected.

First, it's a whole loads of fun. For us, it started pouring cats and dogs at the the start of the tour. This made it so much for fun for us.

Second, the tour guide (Matteo) was an expert cyclist but also an expert on history of Rome. He knew his city like the back of his hand. In spite of taking the City tours the previous two days (Colosseum, Forum and Vatican), we got to learn many different stories on the bike tour that we would have definitely missed during our trip to Rome (in fact our friends who had previously visited didn't know about some of the things we learnt on the tour. So always gives you some bragging rights :p)

Third, the route taken by the tour is really interesting. You get to see city of Rome from various vantage points and also go to various landmarks that you would not find on any other tour/itinerary (Jewish Ghettos/Key Hole etc.)

Fourth and last (but not the least), bike tour has excellent equipment that make you feel very safe and a bit of an expert! :)

All in all, I totally recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Bernadette H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic on every level.Just to say we only did the morning at the Colosseum as we had completed the content of the afternoon walking tour ourselves !!!
The guide for our tour was first class and I am ashamed not to remember his name but I am sure you know.
He was knowledgeable and humerous and very attentive to the group talking care of those of us who were less able that others and ensuring that where possible we were in the shade.
The magnificence of the Colosseum, the history and explanations of life at the time and the precision of the factual information and pictoral comparisons really enhanced the experience and understanding of the history of Rome.
It was clear that our guide was a proud Roman and we certainly benefitted from his passion and love of his heritage.
This was a great morning and I felt I got the best out of this tour and that was thanks to the guide, we would not have been able to make any sense of the visit without him and I would encourage everyone to take this tour ....yu wont regret it.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour requires a lot of walking, so be prepared. Our guide was very informative and we enjoyed seeing all of the sights. It is definitely worth the time to have someone explaining what you are seeing.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour blending city information along with highlights from the book. Nicely organized with very competent local experts.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very worthwhile. Guide was really good and made the visit much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Can't say enough about our fabulous tour guide, Sarah N. She is so knowledgeable about all the sights we visited. Sarah was able to relate to everyone in our group, no matter the age or education of each person. Her insights were so on target and easy to understand. Enjoyed her tour so much, we requested her for the Vatican tour the next day!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message