The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4772 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The walking tour was really great, we had a very informative guide. The walk was a nice steady pace.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good information presented in an informative manner

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

These two tours were sensational, thanks to our wonderful guides. Hearing so much history, a lot of it for the first time, while walking through the Forum and Colosseum was an amazing experience. Salvatore's explanations and stories made ancient Rome come alive for us. Our guide in the afternoon was equally impressive, walking us through many more ancient and modern Roman landmarks. Yes, you will walk a lot, but it's the best way to really see everything and then treat yourself to a(nother) gelato.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had 2 terrific guides who kept us moving and gave us lots of great history. In the morning Fabrizio took us through the Colosseum and Ancient Rome and in the afternoon Irene took us on the Best of Rome Walking Tour. Both groups were large and both guides had no problem keeping us all together and engaged. They were also able to answer questions. We got a lot out of both tours and had fun.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome. Roberto was great, He was funny and informative and I enjoyed how he told the story as well as gave us a fun history lesson. I recommend this tour even if you haven't read the book.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Rome City Bike Tour was the highlight of our trip! Bruno our tour guide was amazing and had an incredible background on Roman history. We learned so much and had a great time. We highly recommend the experience and plan on taking other city tours on our next vacation. Molto grazie!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour offered a nice balance of walking and then traveling by bus. The stories our tour guide told were excellent! It was a fun and memorable way to see Rome and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful morning tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome with excellent professional commentary by our tour guide, Claudia. Our only problem was that you need more time to explore! Particularly when you subtract the time spent waiting for tour members to rejoin the group after the inevitable long queues for the toilets. Heartily recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome.
Our afternoon walking tour with Francesca was also very enjoyable. She took us to several places that are known to "the locals" including a fabulous bakery/pasticceria. The downside is trying to keep your energy levels up to manage a 3 hour walk after spending close on 4 hours at the morning tour. Unless you are fit, maybe do only one of the tours on any given day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative, great guide. A comprehensive overview of the Colosseum and area of the ancient Roman Forum. Be prepared to walk and climb!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

heaps of fun.. love the free gelato experience ..

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome. I learned so much history and saw many beautiful churches. The guides were very entertaining and engaging.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Dennis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely amazing. Such knowledgeable guides and such an easy pace. Well worth it. Learnt so much more about Rome in this tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Both tours we very well organized and guides were very knowledgeable about history and art/architecture (best of rome tour).

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was an excellent tour! kept pace, was attentive to everyone's needs!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message