The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 5378 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Ugo, our guide at Top Bike, the bike tour was fun and informative. Ugo kept us in shaded areas as much as possible on an incredibly hot July day. Was able to cover much ground while visiting most of the top attractions in Central Rome, visiting the Pantheon was a highlight. Panoramic views of the Colloseum and Roma Forum made excellent pictures.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was also an archaeologist which was an added plus because he made the Colosseum come alive for us. I had visited before but never had taken a tour and was happy that we did.Wish we had just a little more time in the forum but it was an extremely hot day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a very interesting tour that walked you through the art and history in the fictional world of Dan Brown. Our tour guide was amazing and so engaging! My only suggestion would be to bring a snack this is a long tour.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guides were very knowelegeble, patient and professional. Fantastic tour! Wear comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour with a very knowledgeable and fun guide.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Italy - Roberto was very passionate and entertaining and made it an experience and not just a tour. Best tour of our trip, closely followed by the tour we took run by another local tour company.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

- our tour guide was very knowledgeable she is an archaeologist!
- group size was great, only 8 people including us
- appropriate short breaks to allow rest/photos, etc
- We enjoyed the walk about 2hrs
- by the time we stopped at Colosse, it is just sunset we were there in Jun, so sunset around 8:30ish, and lights are just on! perfect for night photography

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the bike tour of Rome, and Sunday morning is the perfect time to do so. Our guide was very friendly and versed in all the places she took us to. The only thing we didn't care for was the heat and you have no control over that. Winding up in the late morning was just about right as the tourists were starting to make navigation a little tense. Thanks again and we would definitely recommend your tour to our friends. Thanks Tom and Vickie Mygrants

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide's name was Felix, Art Hist PhD, and he was phenomenal. Knew an incredible amount about this city, it seemed like no question went unanswered. He also took us to great viewpoints, away from heavily touristic areas, which gave us a great opportunity to take in the cites. Additionally, he gave us a few breaks, not enough to be bored, but enough to rest our feet as it was quite a long time to be walking non-stop. And although it's in the evening, we ended right on time, so we were more than able to catch our metro. Had I had more cash, I would've tipped him more.

I would highly recommend anyone to take the tour, especially because it's in the evening so it had cooled down and the sites weren't as busy.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide and tour! Learned a lot!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both our guides were fabulous. They were experts on the subject and had a great attitude. They were fluent in English and worked well with the group.

From personal experience, we would recommend doing the Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour on another day if possible. The three day Colosseum Tour can be tiring, especially in the summers.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour. Elisabeta was a wonderful guide and kept things moving and entertaining, even on this very hot day! Would highly recommend this tour. Take the morning tour in the summer as the temperatures are unavoidably hot. My son and I both enjoyed it.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, what a great way to take in Rome! I would recommend this type of a tour to all my friends.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous trip biking the city. Valeria was wonderful and so knowledgeable. We highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome. It's a great way to see the city and get your bearings!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a tour from a wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable guide named Ariana. She did a fantastic job and actually gave us way more time than was booked! The skil the line portion of the tour saved us hours! Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was fantastic, just the right amount of time. Good guide, and thanks for the lunch eating place tip - it was delicious

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome! Our guide was superb, making history come alive as she explained how the Colosseum operated. The walking tour was also wonderful, providing up-close looks at the famous landmarks of Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Steve
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lindy, our guide, was knowledgeable and passionate about the subject. We enjoyed getting to know others from our group along the route, too. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a SERIOUS walking tour -- we put on a lot of miles on a hot Roman summer day. But it was well worth it! The sights we saw are spectacular. Our guide was fabulous -- an archaeologist from Rome who was eager to tell us the inside stories about what we were seeing. An unforgettable experience! Bonus: we had headsets and a microphone for the tour guide, so we were able to hear everything she said.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful and Allessandro our guide was clear and factual. His English was excellent and he managed the large group really well. His enthusiasm and knowledge of archaeology was perfect for the tour. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I loved it! The tour was well organized and professional. The equipment was great as was the guide. You can see Rome from a different perspective on a bike as you go through back streets and great work out too!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous walking tour, great guide, saw lots that we wouldn't have been able to see, great walking route starting from the Spanish Steps. Very informative and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Green line tours were great, the tour guide was very knowledgable and personable, the tour bus we used to transport was in very good shape and clean. Over all excellent experience.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was phenomenal. The guide was great and provided us with helpful hints for getting around Rome and some fun anecdotes. Rome is beautiful at night and this was a great way to start my stay there!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message