The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 5466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An absolutely amazing way to see the city. Edward was fantastic - patient and well informed.
You don't need to be a serious rider to do this tour and I would suggest doing it at the beginning of your trip so that you can plan the rest of your week around what to go back to!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to get an overview of Rome. Edward our guide was awesome. Fun for the kids and adults. Enough info to keep adults informed but not too much to bore the kids. Saw parts of the city we would not have visited otherwise and ended up going back to those spots. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Definitely worth the price - The colosseum tour was great, but if you book the tickets ahead of time you may be able to do that part on your own. The afternoon walking tour is a must! Gigi was our guide and he was amazing. Very funny and a great way to learn the history of Rome along with enjoying your time on the tour. If I could have him for every tour it would have been even better.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent guide, very knowledgeable. Well worth the price

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Isabella was an awesome guide on this tour. So much great history she showed and explained to us. The old ruins are beautiful at night. Great way to see history of Rome.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Another amazing tour and good way to see Rome. Wear really comfortable shoes! The guide was over 65 years old and was very knowledgeable and very kind. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent guide. Had some very interesting insights into to development of the ancielt roman architecture. Hightly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Cedric
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommended! It's a good complement to the Rome Segway Tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I traveled to Italy with my husband and 3 kids and this was the first time the kids had been to Europe. We were trying to find things to do that would appeal to kids and we hit it on the nose with this one! But not only did the kids enjoy it, my husband and I did too! Our guide, Ugo, was great. Very knowledgeable about Rome and told us fantastic facts about the city. The tour was 4 hours long, which seems like a very long time to be on a bike, but it was broken up by stops at all the sites around Rome, an explanation and then, while Ugo watched the bikes, he would send us off to explore for 15-20 minutes. He took us to parts of Rome that we would never have gone to had it not been for the tour. My favorite was the view at the top of Palestine Hill that looked down on the ruins. You can pratically see what it looked like back then! All 5 of us had a great time and enjoyed the 2 scoop gelato that came with the tour! Thanks Ugo!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Debby
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Manuela led an excellent tour in the morning--she provided very interesting facts and was incredibly energetic and entertaining. Well worth joining her tour. The afternoon walking tour, while informative, was a bit tiring after a morning of walking in the Rome heat. The afternoon tour takes you to sights that you could walk to and see on your own.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great . lots of info and lots to see .

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Marra was absolutely wonderful the entire trip. She was not only easy to understand but she painted beautiful pictures of what the ancient times could have been like and what buildings were like. She not only educated on some lovely roman history but she also was humorous as well. We booked 3 separate Rome tours and had a different guide for every one of them and every single time they were awesome. As for the company they provide headsets for you to hear your tour guide very clearly the entire time which was nice.

My only complaint is that the headphones they provide are garbage and really hurt your ears after 1 hour so after our first guide we knew to bring our own headphones.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Guide was a historian who was from Rome so she knew loads of information. Very sensitive to our comfort on a scorching hot day and as per other reviews she kept us in the shade as much as possible and provided us with lots of water stops from the copious number of water fountains on tour. Would recommend this tour and Viator for booking. Skipped the lines always and groups were small enough to allow us to stay close to guide

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was truly the highlight of our trip, and our tour guide was super animated and engaging. Two thumbs up!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing the tour guide was so knowledgeable

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Alison B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous tour! Great guide, very informative and guides that know their history. Brought Rome to life.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was extremely interesting and full of facts and historical references. Rosie the guide obviously loved her subject and had trained in archeology. 3 hours whizzed by. The colosseum was definitely the highlight of the tour. Would recommend to all ages. Something for everyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great start to our trip. Tour guide, Elizabeth was very informative and always got us to the best locations for pictures. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Never imagined riding a bicycle in Rome, but we did! Great guides and history lesson combined in viewing a beautiful city!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

To see with your own eyes the locales where your school days' stories, blockbuster movies, stunning novels and historical books events too place.....mind-boggling, and with a lovely, knowledgeable and very pretty guide Emmanuella to top it up, what more could you ask for on a beautiful summer day in Rome? It was like a day in a roman paradise....

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had so much to see in a short period of time and this hits it all. If you have two days in Rome I recommend this tour and a tour of the Vatican. Happy with the tour guides. Very knowledgeable but not too long winded like some other tours we did in other cities so the kids were never bored by standing in one place too long. Does have quite a bit of walking but necessary to see all the sites. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I absolutely loved this tour. Being able to drive the Fiat gave the tour a very different angel and made it fun too. We had Angel as our host, who was brilliant. He took us to some picturesque places so we were able to stop and take some pictures too. We were the only group so we were lucky enough to have Angel as our photographer too. We ended up driving to a private property for lunch where they had fresh pasta and tasty wine while we overlooked a breathtaking view. We then drove back to the city to conclude this experience. what an incredible one - I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message