The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 5433 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had so much to see in a short period of time and this hits it all. If you have two days in Rome I recommend this tour and a tour of the Vatican. Happy with the tour guides. Very knowledgeable but not too long winded like some other tours we did in other cities so the kids were never bored by standing in one place too long. Does have quite a bit of walking but necessary to see all the sites. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I absolutely loved this tour. Being able to drive the Fiat gave the tour a very different angel and made it fun too. We had Angel as our host, who was brilliant. He took us to some picturesque places so we were able to stop and take some pictures too. We were the only group so we were lucky enough to have Angel as our photographer too. We ended up driving to a private property for lunch where they had fresh pasta and tasty wine while we overlooked a breathtaking view. We then drove back to the city to conclude this experience. what an incredible one - I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this tour was great. the guide was very knowledgeable about the history and architecture and could navigate the facilities very easily. wonderful day

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour and wonderful tour guide. The highlight has to be seeing the Colosseum lit up at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did this on the afternoon we arrived which was fantastic timing to learn about the best coffee and the best ice cream. We happened to be the only ones on the tour so this was great! our lovely tour guild was a young lady who was so nice and we had a great time.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Tour in Rome: Espresso, Gelato and Tiramisu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

our tour guide was fantastic. she knew her history, related it to the present day. I learned a lot from her. we were slightly late starting but she more than made up for it with her humor and knowledge. I would definitely recommend her

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved both tours. The Colosseum guide was excellent. Explained so much about the ancient history of Rome. The afternoon guide was also very good. We were sad the Fountain of Trevi was under repair, because I would have liked my grandchildren to have seen it. We covered a lot of area in the allotted time and that was a plus.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband and I took this tour and most enjoyed the morning portion, which included the colosseum and roman forum disclosure that we did not stay for the entirety of the afternoon tour, but only because it was so hot and we were exhaustedfull that tour guide was also very good and knowledgeable for the time we were there. Our tour guide Alessandro was excellent. He was very passionate about the subject matter which made the experience very enjoyable. He was very helpful to everyone on the toureven as it was 98 degrees or more outside! We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide Alexander kept the group together, his pace was just right. He was informative, and able to maintain interest with his comical observations. The group had young children as well as senior citizens and all were accommodated adequately on the tour.Overall a tour we would recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our family really enjoyed the Rome City Bike Tour led by Hugo. It was a wonderful way to cover quite a lot of ground, get a feel for the layout of the city, and enjoy time outdoors. It also felt like an adventure!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour Guide Mauritia was very informative. She emphasized the important facts about the city's spots and explained it to us in such a way that we were most entertained at the same, informed. Good job!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Auriana is a gem: fun, quick-witted, full of knowledge, and incredibly helpful. It was hot day, but Auriana made the whole excursion extremely pleasant and entertaining. She was able to package her wealth of knowledge regarding ancient Rome into some easy-to-understand lessons. She's a great storyteller.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

LANCE
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

For anyone on a tight timeline this is a great way to squeeze in the most !!...My only complaint was that the tour ended at a different point that the start point and we were left to our own devices to find our way back!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great first night in Rome. Terrific way to see the city and all of the important historic sights. Our tour guide was awesome and so very informative.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! This is a must do. Learned so much about the history of Rome and what we were actually seeing. Our tour guide was American so we had no trouble understanding her. She had a book of the before and after pictures of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum which helped you see what it could have looked like. Would suggest this tour for all who go to Rome for the first time.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant. Extremely interesting and informative. Very well done.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had 2 great tour guides in Flo and Agnes. These 2 ladies really knew their stuff. They were both very informative and gave a bit of a comedy twist to the tour. The actual city is amazing. I will be going back.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guides which definitely shared their enthusiasm with the group. Also, much side information was given, so not only about the book or movie, but also relevant information about the churches and places we were about to visit. The guides also told us what was right about the books and about what Dan Brown was sometimes very wrong. Highly entertaining if you are a fan of either the book or the movie!

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Lukey
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I will never forget this experience! This tour is a must do.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was the BEST. The tour included bits about history as well as about Angels and Demons. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you are a fan of the book this is a must do.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply fun and excellent. It was awesome to bike in Rome. Our tour guide was very funny and knowledgeable. He made the tour very likeable. We also went to places that we wouldn't had been. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message