The term “piazza” is often translated as “square,” but when you arrive in Piazza Navona you’ll understand why that doesn’t always work. This oblong-shaped space was once a stadium, where citizens of Ancient Rome would come to watch games and races ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very fun, you get the Italian effect the minute you get into the car. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Independent Rome Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour with so much history included. Our tour guide was an archeologist by trade and she did an excellent job of giving us "the story." She was able to give life to the information she was providing us and that made our two children (16 and 14) like this tour the best out of 5 other tours we did in Italy.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WELL DONE!!! Our tour guide (Mike from Southern California) was simply outstanding. He integrated humor with history. I had not seen the movie or read the book and it was still a great experience. The tour started in a small Basilica which was really quite impressive. We trekked through the city and ended at St. Angelo's Castle. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, lots of walking.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolute must. Marco our guide was clear and entertaining. Biking in Rome was very safe, as we took lots of side streets. One of our highlights on our trip!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Both the morning and the afternoon guides were excellent. A great way to cram in much of the Rome ruins in a short time, if you must. Of course wear something supportive on your feet, and be able to stand and walk most of the time. They supply wireless headphones, so you don't have to worry about being close to the guide to hear!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Alejandra did a really nice job leading us through the streets and keeping us safe when we were on some of the busier roads. However, more often than not, we were on smaller streets and alleyways that made you feel like you were more a part of the city vs being on a tour. She did an excellent job of explaining all of the sites we visited and we got to see the major ones. Most we rode by, but we did make stops at the Trevi Fountain, to climb the Spanish Steps, go inside the Pantheon as well as stop on hills to admire other parts of ancient and medieval Rome such as the Roman Forums, Coliseum, and many famous piatzas with their beautiful fountains, architecture and cafes. The skies opened up with quite the downpour for the final hour of our trip, but Ale was prepared and had rain ponchos for all of us (they worked far better than the umbrella that I brought). The bike was excellent and fitted well to each person. they came with a basket to out things in, plus a couple of water bottles.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Louise did a great job of leading a big group and really helped make the tour come alive for us to help relive the book and movie. She did a good job of explaining what was in the book vs what was in the movie vs what was reality. it is also probably one of the only tours that really gives you a religious history of Rome and how it came to be such a center of Christianity. Even our kids enjoyed it and neither had read the book or seen the movie.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour guides - both very knowledgeable and interesting. They kept up an appropriate pace for a mixed group of seniors (me!) and younger people. A great way to see Rome and the Coliseum, Forum, and Palatine hill and palaces, and to learn about the history, culture, and archeology. Including a gelato break was fun and needed as a rest break. I would recommend this tour without any hesitation.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the whole experience of seeing Rome at night with a local guide while jetting around on a Vespa. Simone, my guide, picked spots to show me that tourists typically might not see. He was a joy to explore the city with.

Doing what: Rome Vespa Tour: City Highlights by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent guide (Michele), she improvised along the way and showed us treasures that weren't on the official tour. All done at a very leisurely pace so not tiring. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved Ancient Rome and the tour guides. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If you have never been to Rome before, this is a great way to learn the city in your first full day of your stay. Great staff, very personable guide with excellent English (Andrea). Great bikes. A great mix of history and learning the neighborhoods. Covered a lot of ground at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message