Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazza del Popolo

The Piazza del Popolo is one of Rome’s many large public squares. This piazza is in the northern part of central Rome. The architect of the present-day piazza, built in the early 19th century, removed some existing structures to alter the shape from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2598 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was so much fun,a wonderful way to see Rome,Great Guide,Lots of local information and very safe.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were knowledgable and full of information. My husband and I had a wonderful time and certainly would recommend the trip to anyone.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

this was so much fun and extremely interesting if you read the book-it really made it all come together! Massimo was great at identifying the book fiction from the truth and spelling it all out-loved it! st angelo's is a must see-it was great and had wonderful views all around. we really liked this. loved the other churches we visited, too. there was a metro strike that day... traffic in rome was horrific yet the bus driver was able to keep the schedule-just amazing--kudo's to him

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour with very knowledgeable English speaking guide, Laura. Best to do in the morning due to heat later in the day.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

For the Colosseum Tour our guide Sara was very good. Very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting with her fun facts.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The first part was the guided tour around the Colosseum, Forum and Palatino - our guide was experienced archaeologist Mariella ? - was the favourite tour of all my time in Rome. This morning tour was really a highlight of my stay - the commentary was excellent and fascinating and it really brought history to life. I would give this morning tour the highest marks possible. The afternoon walking tour was a good introduction to the main tourist areas of Rome, though perhaps more aimed at those wanting a shopping experience of Rome. But anyway, it included a visit to the Pantheon and there were free ice-creams. It'd give the afternoon walk 4 stars. A great double-tour to kick off any trip to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If I did this again, I would only do the morning tour and do the afternoon on my own. However, we hade great tour guides and it was a great experience.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great.. Our guide GiGi Was fantastic! His knowledge of the area was expansive!
One suggestion to travelers. Make sure you take water with you! The weather was perfect.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

These were walking tours, whilst it was a long day both tours were well worth doing. The morning tour guide was an archeologist who was able to give us a great insight into the life of Roman times, the 'skip the line' was well worth the cost, as the lines to get into the Colosseum were very long. The afternoon tour guide had a degree in Art history and he too was very informative and had a great sense of humour, we covered a lot of ground all by foot, the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain, The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Campo Di Fiore and along the way he pointed out many buildings and the history of the architecture, again we were given individual hearing devices so that you could hear him at all times along the way. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I'm 52 and my son is 18 - we both enjoyed this tour. Roberto was a very engaging guide who mixed the story with historical truths in a delightful manner. Definitely recommend this !

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable. Our guide Jeanette was extremely knowledgable and personable who kept the tour participants engaged and involved from start to finish and of course , the Caravaggios were amazing. We highly recommend this tour to art lovers (wine and food lovers too

Doing what: Caravaggio Art Walking Tour of Rome with Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tiffany McIver was fantastic!! Out of the three tour guides we had, she was by far, the most engaging, knowledgeable, and easiest to understand. It was evident she knew her material and brought such a high level of engagement to the tour. Our teenaged children appreciated her quick whit.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Alejandro was fantastic on the Colosseum portion but I did not make the afternoon portion due to miscommunication. Very attentive to the entire group and always available for personalized question answering. 100% recommended for the first part.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Super , very educative, Serafina was awesome! ....really great! Thanks .....love it

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good value for money, got to see all the main sites in 1 day and the guides were very knowledgable and friendly. Would recommend highly

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The tour guide spoke excellent English, we were on time, and learned so much history. You need to be in good shape because it is a lot of walking up hill and stairs. I would only do one tour and leave the other tour for another time if you are not young and energetic. It was a wonderful time and we met a lot of very nice people on the tour. Would definitely use Viator tours again.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide really knew his stuff and he did a great job adding local color to the story.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guides are so helpful and knowledgeable. Just heightens the experience.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was definitely the highlight of our sightseeing experience during our visit to Rome. I was a little dubious whilst reading the description as it stated that you will be basically traversing back and forth across Rome and I thought you had to walk. This was not the case, to my joy. To get to the different places on the tour, a tour bus was provided, with a commentary of the story and the history of certain parts of Rome that were relevant to the story.

There were two tour guides as our group was fairly large, but our guide, Roberto, was amazing. He was able to immerse you in the story of Angels and Demons with ease, and he was so funny that it just made the whole experience even more enjoyable.

When we arrived in Piazza Navona, we had a 15-30 minute break to chill out for a bit and were offered a complimentary drink, which was a nice surprise.

My favourite part of this trip was the Santa Maria della Vittoria church where the Ecstasy of Saint Theresa statue by Bernini was housed.

All in all, a must for all who are travelling to Rome. You will enjoy it immensely, and be laughing the entire time. You won't even notice the 4 hours go and by the end, you will be wishing for more.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

Cadence D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. The tour group were very accommodating and our English speaking guide was excellent. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour!
Our tour guide Robert was very entertaining and full of information about Rome.
I would highly recommend this tour money well spent

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Unfortunately we could not see the Trevi Fountain in all it's splendor due to restoration. However, our guide was really good as he even took us to additional places that were not included in the tour providing us with much more insights of Rome.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone. It just could not be better. The guides were extraordinary. Well-prepared and fun.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Linda did a great job! The tour was informative and entertaining. The pace was perfect for the whole group. Her knowledge of the area's history was extensive. She also had wonderful recommendations for places to eat and see after the tour as wellz

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic way to see the city. Lovely guide, great bikes and the weather was perfect. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message