Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Piazza del Popolo

The Piazza del Popolo is one of Rome’s many large public squares. This piazza is in the northern part of central Rome. The architect of the present-day piazza, built in the early 19th century, removed some existing structures to alter the shape from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3334 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour, starting at the base of the Spanish steps currently under construction and making our way over to the Piazza Navona, thru the Trevi Fountain and other sites on the way. Our guide was terrific. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as it's a bit a of walking. The highlight was the Pantheon, which even though we'd seen before, we didn't appreciate the history and the superb architectural elements e.g. the dome ceiling that make it inexplicable how ancients were able to build it. We also couldn't get over the how, by design, the internal air circulation within the Pantheon prevents most rain from hitting the floor through the open hole in the top of the dome. Amazing!

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Kimberly Key M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best way to see all of Rome. Our guide Michele was the best!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour with a unbelievable guide She had a PhD in archaeology! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Rocky M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended. Everyone was nice especially the tour guide.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

William N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lot of walking, but worth it! Our guides were very knowledgeable and it seemed as though they knew stories about every building afternoon and every bit of antiquity. Just enough time to have lunch between the tours, and there are some nice places to eat outdoors near the Spanish Steps - catch a cab from the Colosseum area.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great one, with Salvatore Sal as our guide. He was good-natured, calm at all times, and like all City Wonders' guides, he was knowledgeable, answering any and all questions. We really saw a lot on this tour.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guides were excellent! Sarah, who led us through the Colosseum, forum and Palatine hill had a Ph.D. In archeology and was very animated as she shared all the information and back stories. Our afternoon guide walked us through numerous piazzas and to the Trevi fountain, all the while sharing information about modern Rome and Romans as well as the history of what we were seeing.
Fantastic tour and a great value!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We did this tour on our first full morning in Rome and thoroughly enjoyed it. It gave us a very good overview of the geography and key sites of the city which stood us in good stead for the rest of our trip. The tour company is well organised with good equipment and plenty of staff on hand to help with seat adjustments. Our Italian guide, Danieli, spoke very good English and provided us with a hugely interesting tour. He took good care of our 11-year old son who always rode behind him. We rode sometimes on main highways, very busy with traffic, sometimes on quiet side streets and sometimes in pedestrian areas. We had plenty of stops to see the beautiful piazzas and churches along the way and time for a coffee or a gelato mid-morning. In 4 hours we took in all of the key sites in Rome and crossed over the Tiber into Trastevere, but we did not get as far as the Vatican or St. Peter's. An excellent tour.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Michael was great. At every stop he related book plot, Roman history, and church history.

Doing what: Rome Angels and Demons Half-Day Tour

ANTHONY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Claudia was interesting and helpful. She spoke English very will and was easy to understand

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

ddizon726

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must do for Rome first timers! There are so many historical sites in the city that this becomes a convenient way to narrow it down to the key ones. Vasco and the Canadian girl were good! Although as a combo tour it could get exhausting. Too bad the Spanish Steps and Pantheon were closed

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best decision we made! Our tour guide was wonderful. It's such a fun way to see a city. No complaints.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Kathjbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely recommend this tour. Our guide Teresa was great, very knowledgable and passionate. Being able to skip the line is helpful as well. The tour uses headphones so you can hear the guide at all times. 3 hours is just the right amount of time. A must if in Rome for a short time

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

james.tillman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is another long day of walking and mingling with the crowds. Our guide at the Colosseum was very knowledgeable and perhaps the nicest Roman in Rome. I would book a tour with him anytime. While this is a must see tour while you are in Rome be prepared for crowds around this popular site. The afternoon walk through Ancient Rome was perfect. If possible, plan on having dinner, coffee and a glass of wine then reverse the course on your own back to the Trevi Fountain for the evening lights.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Joanna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant. My 11 and 13 year old really enjoyed it too. We learned alot of history and saw all the sights through little quiet streets and of course some busy piazza too.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

labelta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is must when in Rome! Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Vinay N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Tour guide was very informative, interesting and friendly. Learned a lot more that if we had toured the sites by ourselves. Skip the lines are a must. Saved potentially hours of waiting in lines.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

olivier D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guide super sympa, elle

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Sue Francis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very enjoyable day with the two guides Sarah and Alba. Both passionate about Rome and its treasures!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very well done and Gianni of City Tours was wonderful. She made the tour come alive with very interesting history and background information.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Ashleigh M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Biking through Rome is such a great way to see all the sites in a short period of time. Booking through Viator has made everything so much easier. The company that we took the biking tour were professional and helpful. The bikes were of good quality and the guide, Ricardo, was helpful, friendly and informative. The highlight of our trip! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Al

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best tours booked via Viator. Amazing tour guide. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Jonathan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain

Lisa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bike tour was a great way for us to see many beautiful sites while learning some of the history too.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Anthony D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This Tour was excellent. Intially I was concerned it could be too long a day however that proved not to be the case. You got a good 2 hours in between each Tour so you can relax enjoy lunch and a drink before embarking on a second tour. Also because there is not a lot of walking in the Coloseum tour you have energy for the second afternoon. The pleasant and expert knowledge of the 2 Tour Guides - Julia for the Colosseum and Sara for the Rome Afternoon Walking Tour added immensely to the experience. They both seemed genuinely interested in the subject matter of the Tours and definitely had a deep knowledge of the subject matter they were talking about. They both should be commended.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message