Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2823 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

had a fantastic day, it was just me and my boyfriend, wen we arrived our tour guides violet and robert were welcoming and friendly and made the history so interesting and told some great stories too! pompeii was awesome and mt vesuvius even better. take a good camera!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic Tour. A great day well spent. From beginning to end we were well taken care of by our fantastic guide Robert. Robert is extremely knowledgable and interesting as well as being a very nice person to spend the day with . Our Pompeii guide was also fantastic. Thoroughly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had this tour on the 10th of August with a tour guide called Adrea. He was well informed about the history of Pompeii and ancient Rome in general, and was humorous as well.

The shuttle, an air conditioned Mercedes executive van, picked us from the designated location and drove us to Pompeii which wasn't that far. Then we met up with Andrea and started the tour around the ancient city of Pompeii with Andrea giving us information throughout. After a good hour and half we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant. The lunch was pizza and a drink. The pizza was pretty big and tasted good.

After lunch, we proceeded with the same shuttle to Mt. Vesuvius. The road is narrow mountainous one, which you might find intimidating if you are not used to such roads, as for us we were used to them since we come from Lebanon. The shuttle reaches a point on Mt. Vesuvius where it stops and the hike begins. The hike is kind of challenging depending on ones fitness levels, but it is marvelous opportunity to see the bay of Naples from the top and enjoy the scenery.

After we got down, the shuttle took us to the main train station in Napoli signaling the end of the tour.

All in all, our experience with these guys was excellent. The tour was well organized and the guides were well informed. I recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A1 tour - Pompeii was spectacular
Vesuvius was also very nice - please take a good pair of walking shoes as you need to walk 1 mile on the ash based track all the way up

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I did this trip and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Our tour guides - Stephanie and Violet - were professional, knowledgeable and friendly – Violet in particular had a great sense of humour! At the end of the trip, they even walked the length of the coach, asking every single person if they had any questions about the trip, Rome, or other excursions, even giving out helpful recommendations for local restaurants.

The drive up to mount Vesuvius is good fun, but TERRIFYING!! (Don’t look down if you’re scared of heights!). Fortunately we had a brilliant bus driver, who handled the perilous hairpin turns with skill. Once at the drop off point, the walk to the top of the crater is hard work in the heat (taking about 25 mins), but worth it for the views over the Bay of Naples, Pompeii and Naples city. A tip though - WEAR TRAINERS! (I did this climb in sandals and it’s not fun, as the path is made of a loose ashy like dirt, which can become slippery on the way down.)

The pizza lunch was very well-organised and you have the choice of 3 pizzas. Orders are taken on the coach, so upon arrival at the restaurant there is only a short wait to be served. The pizza was tasty, too!

Pompeii was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and we learnt lots. Pompeii is the kind of place where you need a tour guide to bring it all to life – otherwise you’re looking at a lot of ruins which don’t mean much to the average visitor. As it was, Pompeii is absolutely fascinating and well worth a visit.

The actual bus journey to Pompeii was comfortable, though there were no toilets on board the coach! You do however, have a stop halfway (after 1 hour 30) at an excellent service station in Cassino, so loos and snacks/drinks are never too far away! (There are also toilets at Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius, though only port-a-loos at Vesuvius, and expect to pay 50c). As for the trip duration; unusually, we actually arrived back into Rome at the advertised time. Amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was humorous and highly informative in his tour of Pompeii and the hike of Vesuvius. The food was great and the group a ton of fun!!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well planned. Tour guide was excellent lunch was great. The bus very clean. Climbed Mt vesuvius in the morning and toured Pompeii city after lunch.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pompeii with Vesuvius was a real deal, good guides, in small groups, individual attention, and space to do your own exploration as well. Just great!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was really worth it! Had a good time going up the volcano and Pompeii is amazing. I have been to other world heritage sites and this is really different... A place frozen in time. The trip was made even more fun by our tour guides Maximo and Violet who have shared many information and facts for the whole duration of trip and they are very knowledgable, experienced guides. Probably the best tour guides I've encountered so far. Good job Maximo and Violet!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good, we did not realise that Naples was only a drive through with a short stop, but spending the time in Pompeii was well worth the sacrifice. These could be 2 separate tours. Pompeii was impressive!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and although a long day, the guides Luca and Mike made the trip extremely enjoyable and informative. The local guide in Pompeii was very knowledgeable and his own enthusiasm for the city really shone through. The lunch included was also delicious. And Vesuvious a must see.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was worth the 3 hour drive. Not only was the drive through the country side delightful, but the history lessons along the way were fun and entertaining. The walk up Mt. Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart, but the view was spectacular and also very satisfying. Be aware that most of the articles from Pompeii actually are housed in the Naples museum, but enough is at the site to make it worthwhile.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a brilliant tour. The 3 hour coach journey from Rome was really pleasant and didn't seem to be that long. Our tour guides, Eleanor and Robert were just superb. Robert was an archaeologist and was very knowledgeable, and funny with it! It was like having a history lesson every step of the way, and we really enjoyed that aspect. There was so much interesting information shared throughout the day and we absolutely loved it. It was a long day, about 13 hours, but well worth every minute. Pompeii is just an amazing place and should not be missed. Thank you Robert and Eleanor, we will never forget this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We travelled down from Rome and as per instructions were picked up outside the Star Hotel entrance on time. We knew that Pompeii was a large city but once you're there the vastness is quite astounding!! There is no way we could have done it justice on our own.......it's too big! This tour does not cover the entire city but it will give you a "taste" of Pompeii. Our tour guide was Susie and she was very knowledgeable.
As previous reviews it is vital that you wear comfortable shoes and take plenty of water (we visited in August) the heat is unrelenting! We highly recommend this tour, it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The coach was such a civilised way to see Pompeii, the guides were very funny, you were given ample time to walk around the site. The coach picked up from a central location in Rome , although a long drive it was an easy and simple way to see Pompeii, I would recommend upgrading to the tour.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message