Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3417 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were great and made the day very enjoyable despite it being very wet. The tour was very well organised, lunch was simple but tasty. The guide who showed us through Pompeii was also excellent. It was a really enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guides were great. Don't go to Pompeii without a guide. Learned so much.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic trip, The stop point at Naples bay was amazing, and Pompeii and the tour were really interesting and informative, well worth the visit, lunch was ok,edible, but certainly nothing special.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

think I would give Naples a miss but Pompeii was great and our guide was brilliant. saw another Pompeii trip where you could trek up the volcano which I would have prefered

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, initial meeting point was a little busy and hard to identify guide as they were not holding up sign as we were told so we could have totally missed the tour
Pompeii tour itself was fantastic Andreas our tour guide was great and also funny would throughly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend this tour. The tour of Pompeii was extremely interesting- our tour guide was amazing! The climb of Mt. Vesuvius was very scenic.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, we were picked un from hotel just on time and had a personalized tour of Naples, then joined our group por Pompeii, another great tour and aoutstanding guide.

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I were really happy that we booked this tour of Naples and Pompeii. I don't think that we would have been able to make our way around Naples by ourselves like we did in Rome. You definitely want someone to guide you around this city. Our favorite part of the tour was, of course, Pompeii. Our tour guide really knew her way around these ruins, and she was well-versed on the history of the city. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely amazing! Worth every cent. Great experience climbing vesuvius. Our guides were amazing! Especially our guide at pompeii. I would do this again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great! Robert and Lukka did a great job. I would highly recommend City Wonders Tours especially if you can request Robert and Lukka they were both informative and very entertaining. As far as Pompeii, it was nice, not as preserved and nice as Ostia Antica but very nice.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour help me to realize Pompeiis real side.A city of pagen worship, and moral corruption. I saw the result of what moral decline brings, and it was a good teacher. I would highly recommend. The tour guides are very helpful with the truth, and facts The included lunch was a very good italian meal with a light dessert. This tour is something you will be glade you experienced.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide in Pompeii - Andrea - was highly knowledgeable and made the experience extremely fun. The guides that we had were very well organized and able to deal with the issues that our group (20+ people) created.
Pompeii was a highlight.
The lunch was authentic Naples style

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guides, learnt so much, both on the bus travelling to and from Pompeii and with the guide who took us around Pompeii. Low cloud on the volcano prevented us from seeing into the crater but we still climbed right to the end of the track. Pompeii was amazing! well worth the visit. Excellent pizza lunch too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had Andre as our guide for both portions of the tour. We enjoyed both potions of our tour. Not only was Andre informative - he has a tremendous sense of humour. While there were headsets for the Pompeii portion of the trip - at times it was difficult to make out what Andre was saying. Driver nice

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pompeii was amazing. Yes, it was a long drive from Rome, but it was worth every minute of it. We had a guide on the bus to Pompeii, she was helpful, however, she talked on the cell phone almost the whole trip from Rome to Pompeii. It became somehow annoying because she was quite loud. I understand her job was to ensure we get there safely and hand us over to the local guide, but...
BTW, the local guide was fantastic, his name is Francesco, I have made remarks on Tripadviser...

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour... Would definitely recommend it. Train journey saves a lot of time and leaves more time for exploring Pompeii and Sorrento. Photo stops along the way to take pictures of the beautiful coastline was much appreciated as was being escorted to our seats on the train.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is with a tour company out of Rome. It's great and the tour guides are fun and give you a vast amount of historical information. You get to see Pompeii and have a few minutes leisure time to take pictures. Great guide in Pompeii with a lot of information. The pizza in Naples was really tasty although it did take a little long to serve. The highlight of our trip was climbing Mt. Vesuvius, it's definitely not for the faint of heart but worth it. I do wish they would have given us a little more time to shop for souvenirs. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the hike to Vesuvius, this was awesome with plumes of steam coming out the side . was disappointed with Pompeii as we expected to see bodies in situ of the damage from the volcano but there was no sign of the volcano eruption as all have been removed so it was just another set of Roman Ruins, was still good but not what we thought we would see.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you are not going to stay South of Rome and want to see Pompeii and the coastal area near Naples then this is the tour. You start the day at 7AM at the train station and finish at 7:15 PM at the same train station. Because it is a high speed train only 2.5 hours of your day is on the train leaving a full day of touring. Fabian ,our primary guide, and Enrico, our Pompeii guide, were both knowledgable and easy to understand. The restaurant in Sorrento was reasonably priced, had quality food and unbeatable views of the Bay of Naples. Our tour incleded only two couples, but even with a slightly larger group this tour would give more personal attention than any group tour we have been on.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very efficient and painless way to see Pompeii.
Rather than take the guided tour (which requires an up charge), we'd downloaded an audio guide. We wished we'd taken the tour. We spent a lot of time being lost, while the folks who took the tour, loved it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome can not begin to describe our tour with the best guides ever! we had two groups split onto one bus. with our guides giving us detailed information during the 3 hour bus ride to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius, so the ride didnt seem very long at all. Pompeii was everything I had hoped it would be, with just the right amount of time spent when you factor in the crowds and the heat.The pizza was very welcome and very GOOD!! which you burned off by climbing a active volcano!which I must say was a challenge to climb and not for everyone. It has a very steep grade and soil thats like an open bag of dry concrete.But once you reach the top you know you have accomplished something not very many people in the world have had a chance to do.
I have to give our driver Antonio a giant shout out, he made the drive up and down Mt. Vesuvius in a giant tour bus seem easy... What a ROCK STAR!!! Thank you Roberto, Lukka and Antonio for a WONDERFUL tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pompeii was definitely interesting and I was amazed at seeing the grooves in the cobblestones from the chariot wheels. Be aware that hiking the route up Mt Vesuvius is strenuous, but worth the climb. We had the same guide from our previous tour of the Catacombs, Erneto. He has so much knowledge!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful trip! Highly recommended!
Our tour guide Luca was very good. The Local guide at Pompeii was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour. The guide who travelled with us and the local Pompeii guide were both passionate and interesting. Don't visit Pompeii without a knowledgeable guide, as you will miss so much detail. Lunch was delicious - a pizza in Naples - and then the hike up Mt Vesuvius was not to be missed. The hike is relatively steep, but there is no need to go all the way if health issues prevent this. My husband and I are both in our 60s and reached the top ridge in the time allocated. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour. The guide who travelled with us and the local Pompeii guide were both passionate and interesting. Don't visit Pompeii without a knowledgeable guide, as you will miss so much detail. Lunch was delicious - a pizza in Naples - and then the hike up Mt Vesuvius was not to be missed. The hike is relatively steep, but there is no need to go all the way if health issues prevent this. My husband and I are both in our 60s and reached the top ridge in the time allocated. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message