Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3046 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was amazing. Our tour was in December 14. We were picked up right on time by the driver and guide and as it was off season; myself, my husband and two children were the only ones on the tour. We were at Pompeii 2+ hours and saw a huge amount. The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a fun and interesting excursion away from Rome. I recommend everyone save a day and visit Pompeii. There is not much time to see Naples but Pompeii is fascinating.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire trip was outstanding.
The guides were very pleasant, and informative.
The added guides at the museum and Pompeii were great.

If you want a great experience book this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii is MUCH bigger than I had expected, very interesting to learn their lives. The tour guide was knowledgable and added humour along the way which is always a winner. Herculaneum is smaller but still a must do

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was outstanding! Luca and Elena were excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lucia was incredible. She was very knowledgeable, helpful and entertaining. She is a true asset to this company. We loved our driver Mustapha too. He was very kind when I got a bit car sick driving the Amalfi Coast! We loved Pompeii and Amalfi! This tour is an absolute must with delicious food.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was excellent and guide very knowledgable and humorous too. Capri v quiet in Jan but he showed us the highlights. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. They arrived on time at our hotel in Naples, and continued on with the tour even though there was only myself and one other person. It being mid January, there was no line going in to Pompeii, and we were able to get a very detailed and personal tour of the ancient city. After the tour, we asked to be brought to the city proper instead instead of our hotel, and they happily obliged. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip to Pompeii was very engaging and interesting. I felt a little smarter after listening to the tour guides talk on the busride about different things around us. On another trip to Italy I will take their advice to take a train to Cassino and go up the mountain to the monestary. The Museum in Naples was small, but very interesting to see. I would consider doing this tour again because later in March the tour includes a hike on Mount Vesuvius. I like how we stopped every 1.5 hours so people could stretch their legs and use the bathroom. Also, the pizza lunch was at a nice restaurant near Pompeii. The tour guide for Pompeii was very knowledgable and showed the group the key areas in Pompeii. She also allowed people to take pictures and wander around on their own at times. There were a few children on the tour and all the tour guides were smart to warn the parents about certain parts in case some subject material at the museum or at Pompeii would be offensive to the children.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our guide made it feel like we were actually living in Pompeii. Very interesting and enjoyable!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was amazing - we were there on boxing day and there weren't as many people which was good. No queues and we enjoyed the tour. The important places in Naples were under renovation thus could not see much. The lunch wasn't fantastic - small portion and food wasn't good (which is rare in Italy). Suggest to have your lunch somewhere else.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour is worth taking because you do not have to worry about figuring out how to get the train from Rome to Naples to Pompeii. The two guides on the bus do a nice job of trying to give you some historical background. But what they did that was more valuable was give you some helpful hints about where to eat and what to look for, even when buying gelatto. The pizza at lunch was by far the worst meal that we had in our ten days in the Rome area, and for that matter all of Italy (we were in the Florence area for six additional days). But we realize that was just the price we paid for not having to worry about the logistics.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was amazing and the tour guide was great. Naples was not worth it. I would rather have done a tour of just Pompeii.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Naples part was OK but we had to book it because a Pompeii only visit did not work with. The lunch stop was better then I expected with our prepaid lunch being a good choice for lunch. Food and service there was good. Pompeii was more of interest to us and we were not disappointed. Our guide did a great job describing the ruins we visited.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great. My pick up at the hotel was on time and bus ride to Naples and Pompeii was great.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message