Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Raphael's Rooms

Raphael's Rooms (Stanze di Raffaello) are four interconnected rooms in the Vatican which have frescoes painted by the renowned Renaissance artist Raphael (1483 - 1520). These late Renaissance frescoes are the second-most famous in the Vatican's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour special thanks to our guide Tiffany who is an encyclopaedia of knowledge on Renaissance art, Vatican Museum including Raphael's Rooms, Hall of Maps, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica. Tiffany kept the audience engaged with enthusiasm. Even a layman who does not have knowledge of history would develop an interest for the subject due to Tiffany's methodological insight into historical events.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I cried in the Sistine Chapel! Our guide was great, kept us moving, took us through Raphael's Rooms, very knowledgeable and obviously very interested in teaching us! Loved it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a terrific tour! Skipping the lines is the only way to go and being in before the public opening gave us a very up close and personal experience with the museums and Raphael's Rooms. Our guide was terrific. This is a must do way to see the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a remarkable tour and visit pure delight and amazing. A must do tour for every visitor to the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's.
Our tour guide - Shannon - had profound knowledge which she passed onto us with passion and enthusiasm and in a manner which was inclusive at all times. What a gem she was!!!
As the tour advertises - skip the line - is an absolute must. We whisked by the extremely long line waiting for entrance and found ourselves with the Vatican Museum with absolute ease.
Can one actually describe the beauty of the artworks inside - probably not! Will the memories of this amazing destination remain with us forever - absolutely!
You have to book this tour and try and insist on Shannon as your guide - she has a masters qualification in fine art, she has an empathetic and friendly nature and she cares deeply about the subject matter. We had the pleasure of bumping into Shannon some days later in Florence where she was enjoying being a tourist herself! and with no hesitation she remembered us and her friendliness just continued.
The organisation of this tour was exemplary and worth every Euro spent. Thank you for making our time at the Vatican an experience we will talk about for years to come.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect trip, it's so important to understand the Michelangelo's frescoes at Sixtine Chapel and the other works of art in Raphael's rooms. We love our guide, Francesca and the entire tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Vatican Museums Walking Tour including the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St. Peter's was absolutely amazing. Of course, my friends and I liked skipping the lines but once inside, it was chaos with so many people. Other than that, the tour guide was exceptionally well-versed in a wealth of information. Would give her a 5-star!!!

Nancy, Jane, and Debra from Tulsa, OK, USA

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Vatican Museums Walking Tour including the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St. Peter's was absolutely amazing. Of course, my friends and I liked skipping the lines but once inside, it was chaos with so many people. Other than that, the tour guide was exceptionally well-versed in a wealth of information. Would give her a 5-star!!!

Nancy, Jane, and Debra from Tulsa, OK, USA

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I recently visited Rome for a 5 night break and booked the skip the line tour for the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/Raphael's Rooms and St Peters with Viator. I was able to avoid the queue's and the 4 hour wait and went straight in.The tour was approximately 3 hours long and it was worth every penny. I would not have had such a fantastic experience of these amazing places if I had not had such a knowledgable and patient tour guide Oscar. He made this tour one to remember and I would recommend this to anymore visiting Rome and hope you are lucky enough to have the same guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Combining this tour with the Papal visit was terrific. We were able to skip the massive three hour waiting lines to enjoy a very thorough and enjoyable tour of the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's rooms and St Peter's. This is a must do tour. Another fabulous Viator which I would recommend highly and combined it with the must do Papal Audience tour. Another treasured memory! Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria Rosaria was fantastic! Her knowledge and enthusiasm was refreshing and we were able to understand her very well. She knew so much about the art in the Vatican Museum, Raphael's Rooms, St. Peters and the Sistine Chapel. It was also better with a small group of 12....well worth the extra money. Maria also showed us where we could go to climb to the top of the Cupola which was incredible (but a lot of stairs!) !! She was one of the best guides I've had!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This guide was fantastic! He took the time to explained the painting in the Sistine Chapel before we actually saw them. He also informed us that although the painting on the ceilings looked three dimension they were actually flat and that the artists used shadows to make that affect.
This was an awe inspiring tour. Raphael's Rooms were breath taking. The guide was so informative and knowledgeable. We also toured St Peter's Basilica and knowing that the Pope had just held service there is something that I will never forget! There is a lot of walking as well as going up a lot of steps but it is so worth it. You can't come to Roman and not take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Skip the line is the only way to do the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Dario for a tour guide and he was terrific! Funny, informative and knowledgeable. I can't imagine waiting in line when this tour is so accessible! We felt like rock stars a little, the regular line was incredibly long. Plus I know we learned much more from Dario than we would have on our own. The Sistine Chapel is breathtaking and almost surreal. My favorites tho may have been Raphael's Rooms. Our guide pointed out such interesting facts. The whole 3 hours (we did the morning which I recommend if you go in the summer). The opulence of St. Peter's is almost too much to take in. Incredible. At the end of our tour we were invited to stay if we so desired, to light a candle or wander around more. Definitely do this tour - do not attempt to do it on your own unless you have a lot of time to spare.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was definitely worth the extra $$ on top of the entrance fee to the Vatican Museums! This was largely due to our wonderful tour guide, Sabrina. She was very knowledgable and and art history major, so we really felt like we knew a lot more about the artwork before we even got into Raphael's Rooms and the Sistine Chapel. I highly recommend this tour to get the most out of your Vatican experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Loved the headphones- with so many people, it is great to still be able to hear the guide even if you are separated. This was especially beneficial when in the Vatican Museums and Raphael's Rooms as there are so many people. Our guide was so enthusiastic about everything she was showing us. It was obvious that she really enjoyed her job! There were several younger children in our group, and she had a lovely way of interacting with them.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Catherine was outstanding . Excellent tour and the most humbling experience. Raphael's rooms were moving. Could spend days and days here. Catherine - Brilliant!!!!!

June And Michael - Australia

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour! I HIGHLY recommend the skip the line tour because the line to get into the Vatican Museum was down the street and around the corner. We would have been waiting half the day. But with this tour we met out guide and walked right in. Very nice and knowledgeable guide and of course the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peters Basilica were gorgeous!! Fantastic tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I highly recommend this tour. We were easily able to bypass the long lines and enter the Vatican with no problems. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and willing to answer any and all questions thrown at her. We explored the Vatican Museum including the room of maps, raphael's rooms, the sistine chapel and St. Peters. For first timers - this is a great introduction and overview.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding the place where the tour started as the bus dropped us off at the back of the Vatican. After asking many people for directions it took us another 20 minutes walk to get to the entrance - we should have taken a taxi. The tour guide was very informative. We loved seeing all of the art work, Sistine Chapel and Raphael's Rooms were our highlights. At the end of the tour we sent postcards from the Vatican Post Office.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very well run tour, organized and the only way to see the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's.
Our tour guide was very well informed and kept us moving through the crowds. Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Outstanding!!! My husband and I took this tour on December 2, 2013. Our guide, Tiffany M. was incredible. She was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St. Peters. She not only shared facts you might find in a guide, she also gave tremendous insight into the lives represented in the various pieces of art as well as the Artists, Emperors and Popes of that age. She was personable, easy to understand, and filled with an enormous knowledge about Roman art and history. We have take many Viator tours over the years, all of which were good. But this was by far the most outstanding tour we have ever had the pleasure of taking, and we know that is due to Tiffany. Thank you so much for an awesome day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Well worth the money to skip the long line. St. Peter's Basilica was closed when we began the tour but was open by the time we had seen the Sistine Chapel and Raphael's Rooms. The Pieta was just beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and kept our group moving as the museum is huge.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The walking tour was wonderful. You have it very organized and everyone seems to know what they are doing. The guide was very informed about what we were seeing and was able to give us interesting facts about the Sistine Chapel and the Raphael's Rooms. All in all a very pleasurable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour of Sistine Chapel, Raphael's rooms and St Peter's Basilica. Our tour guide Annalisa was friendly, knowledgeable and truly showed an interest in her tour group. Booking a small tour group is the best way to see anything. Having been to Rome before on our own, it was nice to know the history and stories of all we viewed.
Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed this tour with Igor. The tour was well worth the cost and being able to skip the long entry queues was great. Igor was a terrific guide and clearly loved what he was doing. The tour started at 10:00 am and did not finish until 1:30 as it was a really busy day with huge crowds.
I would advise anyone partaking in this tour to have a good breakfast as the only place you will be able to get a coffee/snack is just before entry to the Sistine Chapel. We spent about 30-35 minutes going through Raphael's Rooms and then has 20 minutes to grab a snack at the coffee dock (where the queue was huge) and get through the Sistine Chapel. If I was doing this again, I would have spent 10 mins less in Raphael's rooms, used that time to get a coffee and then have the full 20 mins to enjoy the Sistine Chapel.
Igor then brought us into the St Peters and spend time with us there even though we had gone over the 3 hours tour time.
Really enjoyed this tour - the Vatican is so large with so much to see (including climbing to the very top of the Dome) don't waste time standing in a queue - skip it and avail of a very intelligent tour guide to see all the very best bits, then have some time on your own to take time over the rest of the sights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message