Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! We had a small group, a nice mini-bus and an American guide. The catacombs were very interesting.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our group of about 40 left from the meeting site to board a bus to go to the catacombs on the Appian Way. On the way, our guides, Michael and Peter, gave a running commentary about the history of various places we passed along the way and about the catacombs we were about to see. It was easy to hear since the guides used microphones. At the catacombs we broke into 2 smaller groups; ours was led by Peter. As we toured the catacombs Peter shared much about the history and culture. He was very open to questions and was a an excellent guide. After the catacombs we drove to the San Clemente Basillica church for another tour led by Peter, who again proved very knowledgeable and open to questions. Our third stop was at the monastery of the Capuchin monks to see the "bone" tributes. It was sobering to observe the bones of so many now dead, but Peter expressed a reverence and appreciation for their solemn beauty that made the tour quite memorable. Overall, a very good tour, well worth the money. A few notes: There is a fair amount of walking and traversing old, uneven or steep steps, so be forewarned. The guides did provide time for a bathroom break and souvenir run at the catacombs. Peter clearly revealed a great appreciation for the sites we toured and we were very impressed with the depth and breadth of his knowledge. And, finally -- keep in mind that these very talented guides who work hard to keep you informed and entertained for 4 hours would appreciate a small tip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing! I loved everything about this tour. The catacombs are a must see, but very difficult to get to. This tour takes you to the catacombs and provides a guide to explain what you are seeing. What I also loved about this tour is that we stopped to see the Apian Way, and we went to the aqueduct park, where you can see a well-preserved section of aqueduct. This park would be very difficult to get to on your own. The inclusion of the aqueduct park along with the catacombs is why I gave this tour 5 stars. A very enjoyable morning.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Yes we enjoyed this tour of the Catacombs side.
Clearly the best catacomb choice. I would not recommend the catalyst tour of the relics of bone decorations. Cultures and religious beliefs aside it was a disturbing show of great evil.
The guides were excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

this was a wonderful tour!! We went to three sites--all incredible and amazing. We did feel a bit rushed by the sheer number of other groups forcing us to move on perhaps before everyone had a chance to see what our guide was telling us. We would have liked to have spent a less hurried time in the Capucchin museum, but again that is more a problem with the extraordinary number of tourists all vying to see the same things. Highly recommend. It was pouring rain when we left, so as a result our group was smaller than the usual 18 which was great. It would be nice if size could be limited to 12-15, since it can be difficult to hear at times in the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

pritchardsam84
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Simply fantastic! You'll see and learn a lot. It was a comfortable coach and when in the catacombs and other sites you'll be amazed. Mike our guide was brilliant. He's funny, educational and knows a lot. We both highly recommend this tour and tour company.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our trip to the Crypts and Catacombs was excellent. Our guide Karina was very knowledgeable and friendly. As a bonus on our trip we were able to see the San Clemente Basilica, which was very intriguing. It was amazing to be able to tour the 14th century Basilica, the 4th century Basilica below it and then the 1st century Basilica below that. This trip was well worth the time and money. I would definitely go again as there is so much to learn.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Best of our 4 tours! Our tour guide, Vivianna, was certainly an expert in the history of the San Calisto catacombs and made the tour a great experience. Apian Way visit was just ok, as unfortunately, it was a holiday and the traffic/parking was awful.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very worthwhile afternoon in Rome. Our guide was very knowledgable! This was in actuality three tours in one with a new, clean bus picking us up at a great central Rome location and moving us from place to place. The catacombs were fascinating (and why we originally signed up for the tour) but the Capuchin Crypt and Basilica of San Clemente were two of the most interesting and memorable places we saw in Rome. Very well organized and professional tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide (Mike) stepped us back in time as we navigated our way through the catacombs. We had flown in on the redeye and hit the ground running. Our tour was in the afternoon and was a great way to finish out the day. Mike was awesome and EXTREMELY knowledgable. This is a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was offered through Dark Rome. Very unique tour. Please note this is a combination bus and walking tour which is nice on sore feet. First stop is the Catacombs. Rebecca did a great job explaining the city as we drove to the sight and lots of important and interesting info on the catacombs. Rebecca is very passionate and you can tell she is always doing research to make sure she offers best tour possible. Next stop is the church of San Clemente. This is four layers of history you walk through which is quite fascinating-this is a church you might skip on your own because the outside doesn't do the inside justice. Third stop is the bone stop pictured for this tour. Very cool and interesting! Great tour def recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic!!!! If you like Crypts and Catacombs this is a great tour. Also the fact that this tour was provided by Dark Rome tours and we had Rebecca the best tour guide ever. She made the whole experience fun and educational.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Mike as absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend Dark Rome tours. The crypts and catacombs were wonderful to see. The small nature of the group was nice. The history surrounding us was amazing and inspiring.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Crypts and Roman Catacombs was with another small group but we all went on a coach together which was a surprise, but went back to small groups once we arrive at three different locations. Again tour guide was knowledgeable and very descriptive, and she done the tour with great passion. This was with Dark Rome via Viator and my children out of all the tours loved this the most. It was a fascinating experience and amazing to see these chambers of Crypts and Catacombs still exist, especially under the city. The only thing to be aware of was we were asked to met at the fountain and it was only by sheer chance my husband show a man with a clip board in the large open square that made us realise he was checking people in and not at the fountain as stated in our information.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Outstanding tour that was the highlight of our trip to Rome. The catacombs and crypts were amazing to see and learn about. Our guide was incredible and made the event fun and educational. I would recommend anyone visiting Rome to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message