Rome ATTRACTIONS See all

Roman Catacombs

Catacombs are ancient underground cemeteries; the catacombs here in Rome were mainly used by Christians (and occasionally Jews) from the 2nd to the 5th centuries AD. At the time underground burial was popular due to the high price of land, and for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour, it started at 2pm and finished about 8pm, six hours flew by and electric bikes were a great idea for just a few of the inclines, active cyclists would have no problems with using non-electric bikes too. The tour guide Federico was very helpful, informative, courteous and professional at all times and the stop off at the catacombs and farm-house were special experiences. Recommend this highly, for a great way to see Rome you won't be disappointed, throw the leg over the crossbar and set off for a great experience.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

lisa s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was well worth it and I can honestly say that without this tour I doubt I would have seen the crypts and it is certain I would not have appreciated the whole visit anywhere near as much. It was a small group that joined another small group just for the bus journey and it worked very well.
The guide Dimitris was amazing, his English was perfect and as a guide incredibly knowledgeable and funny. I would highly recommend this tour.
I booked primarily for the Catacombs but the crypt really impressed me, it is not for the faint of heart as these are human skulls and bones but it is something else.
The catacombs were well explained and without a guide I doubt we would have really appreciated them. They are just outside the city walls and a short bus journey but the other general information you get on route is an added bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

dene m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great introduction tour for the younger people. Tour guides ANDY was great!! It was not creepy or scary at all. The bone museum was incredible! A must see! With a name like Crypts and Catacombs I was hoping for something a bit more than PG rated BUT it was good for what it was.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Joseph B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. Awesome bikes with electric assist motors, disc brakes. The tour and equipment was very well organized. Our guide was excellent and did a great job of looking after everyone in the group. We rode over lots of different terrain, stone, pavement, dirt trails, cobble stone, etc. It was a lot of fun. The catacombs tour was a really nice bonus. And stopping at the end at a farm to enjoy some wine and cheese was a great way to cap off the day.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Karen D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was an interesting and fun tour. We had two groups on the Crypts and Catacombs tour, so while on the bus, two guides giving us information. Both had great insights to share and explained things in ways that were clear and amusing. The catacombs were very interesting and with the good guides, it made for a great experience. The crypts and ossuary were certainly unique. Morbid but unique.
The mystery tour was a great deal of walking often in crowds downtown Rome on Saturday night. Again, a very good guide who understood that a ghost tour shouldn't take itself too seriously. We didn't stay to the end as it was too much walking, but we enjoyed the part we did.

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour - just what we hoped it would be. Our guides were Lucca and Gio. The Catacombs were amazing and gave you a real feel for the time period. Throughout Lucca filled in all the historical background, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Marc P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour to take to hit three attractions: catacombs, Appian Way, and the aqua ducts. This tour is really all about the catacombs, with just a taste of the other two. Tour bus was small but comfortable, and our guide was fantastic! Made me wish that I had booked an Appian Way tour by itself! Guess that's for the next trip to Rome. This tour is definitely recommended!!!!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Gina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour! We had Andy as our guide and his knowledge of the catacombs and crypts was amazing. Would thoroughly recommend this tour. Thanks Andy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

cetompkins3

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Both guides for this tour were very knowledgeable, articulate, and friendly. The catacombs were interesting, but one's interest is quickly satisfied walking through the tunnels and viewing empty niches. Perhaps greater discussion of funeral practices or epitaphic materials would increase the level of interest. The church visit between the catacombs and Capuchin Crypts seemed to be a placeholder with limited content. The Capuchin Crypts were very interesting. We double timed through the Capuchins museum enroute to the crypts and I would have liked to have taken a few more minutes to view the museum. All in all, though, I'd recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Emilie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. There was a bus picking us up at the meeting point which then took us to the catacombs, then the sant clementine church and last to the bones crypt. It was really interesting to see the catacombs and walk around in the tunnels underground and our tour guide was great. I highly recommend this to other people!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Huraiyah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I was able to go on the ghost and mystery walking tour, but missed the catacombs tour because I was to exhausted. They offered me a credit which I thought was very nice of them. The ghost and mystery walking tour was amazing. Thrills, chills and laughs!

Doing what: Rome Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Crypts and Catacombs plus Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour

justcurious85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely astounding. We were the only ones at our tour so it made it more personal. We were very lucky due to it was a Jubilee year of Mercy - thus we were able to walk through the Holy Doors that normally happens every 25 years. St. John's was breathtaking, honestly pictures doesn't due it justice. St Mary Major was as beautiful in it's own way.

Our guide I can't remember her name, but she was think with brown hair, was to helpful and showed/shared with us information we would have past by if it wasn't for her. The catacombs were amazing bring a sweater since it gets cold down there. Everyone should visit the catacombs to fully understand the Christian and Pegan religion relationship. Wonderful.

Doing what: Christian Rome Afternoon Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. It was long enough to see what's listed and get some interesting history without being overwhelming. It should be noted up front that for the most part, pictures aren't allowed in the crypts and catacombs. Our guide, Peter, was great and had a lot of good information - both about the tour attractions and Rome itself despite being a Mchgn fan. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

jeffy scott

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Have been on this tour before and always loved it. Had some difficulty this time because we took my mom who handicapped and uses a walker. We normally book private tours because she walks slowly but this tour is not offered privately so we tried it. Made it through the catacombs but we had to drop out for the last two portions because the group moves very, very fast and could not wait for us. Disappointing we could not see the last two churches. But as long as you can keep up it's a great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being frequent visitors to Rome, we decided to take this tour as we usually don't go out to the countryside too often. Visiting the Catacombs, the ancient Via Appia and the Roman Acquaducts was very interesting. A great informative guide Jeanette provided us with a lively commentary throughout the half day experience. The tour was well organized and the departure point was just a few blocks from Termini.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Laura M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of some very interesting catacombs and crypts. Tour guide was very informative, but tended to repeat himself if folks on tour asked any questions. He'd answer the question then repeat stuff he'd already said, incorporating the new information. Not sure why he felt the need to do this. Otherwise, we really enjoyed what he had to say and learned a lot about Roman history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Thomas J F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This was a very good tour with a very good guide. However, we spent most of the time in the catacombs and very little on the Appian Way Roman countryside. We were the only people on this tour, so it turned out to be a private tour. Perhaps more time is needed to do more of the countryside.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Aphrodite Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my favourite tour out of my whole 6 week European holiday! For starters we had a fantastic guide who made Roman history come alive with the way she told it, unfortunately cannot remember her name but she was American with red hair if that helps. The catacombs were simply amazing - beautiful frescos over many of the tombs that were painted thousands of years ago was so cool! It was an endless series of underground narrow passages so it was mandatory to be with a guide. Some of the ancient tombs had been vandalised by grave robbers in ancient times, fascinating and sad at the same time!

Next we visited the famous Basilica in central Roma, not only did we see it we were also taken underground there to see the original Basilica a few floors down. Kept going down more levels and soon reached the point that we were actually walking along what used to be a main street in 1st century Rome, now THAT was amazing stuff! Not everyone can say they have walked along 1st century Roman streets -
You honestly can't NOT do this tour if you are in Rome, I can't go on about it enough!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

jenfolls

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Our guide was not the greatest but the tour was good. It was more like 5.5 hours of walking and not 3.5 ad indicated as our guide was not the fastest in getting us through and onto the other parts of the tour. The Capucine's were very interesting as was the church we saw after the Catacombs. All the history was incredible and I learned a lot just looking at everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a different type tour. Very informative and interesting. In addition to seeing the catacombs no bodies you get to walk the Apian Way - very cool. The Aqueducts were also amazing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Ramona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was far and away the best tour my husband and I took while in Rome. We visited three sites that had crypts, catacombs, and bones a plenty to observe. Our friendly guide Rebecca was the best guide we encountered on our vacation, and explained in great detail absolutely everything we wanted to know on our tour. The places we went to were by far some of the most interesting locations we visited while in Rome. Do yourself a favor and give this tour a go, you won't regret it unless bones freak you out.

Be warned, though, you can't take pictures inside any of the locations you visit during the tour, only outside. Don't let that deter you! You won't forget anything you see in these amazing places. Just stick your camera away and take in the sights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Dorothy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I loved the afternoon Christian tour. Our guide Theresa was just perfect, she took great care of all the people . She knew so many answers. This tour could have lasted longer. We saw so many beautiful churches. We enjoyed the catacombs also. What a wonderful experience . You must see to believe. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Doing what: Christian Rome Afternoon Tour

Sdeso Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have an unusual interest in the weird and wonderful, and made my husband sign up for this tour with me. He is so glad that he did. We got into Rome about an hour before the trip and had a stressful time getting to the hotel, so my husband was in a less than stellar mood, but it quickly got changed around. No photos were allowed on the tour, out of respect, but it didn't dampen the fun. Our guide was Karina and she was fantastic - great knowledge and a sense of humour. First we visited the museum and crypt of the Cappuccin monks who maintain a noble and wonderful life philosophy. The crypt was beautiful, although some may find it dark and creepy. Next we headed outside the city to the catacombs, and got to see an area that had been excavated only 6 months previously, a,one other things. Again, beautiful and sad, great history, and was wonderfully quiet and cool give the hot days and huge crowds we'd been experiencing lately. Finally the tour ended at the basilica of saint Clements which is a great illustration of the history of all of Rome.
The only thing that I was slightly irritated by is that there was a dress code to enter these places covered knees and shoulders that did not seem to be reinforced. It was only irritating because my husband and I were in jeans and miserable because it was so hot, but we did so out of respect. Yet others, one in a dress that at best reached mid thigh, were comfortable and still able to enter these places. They did have to cover their shoulders had brought a scarf for this purpose so were aware there was a dress code, but the short skirt, or very short shorts, wasn't enforced. This isn't the fault of the tour/guides, just irritating. So if you plan on taking this tour, please be respectful and abide by the dress code.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

D.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely amazing. Our guide was fantastic and the tour was excellently organised and went smoothly without any problems. The Capuchin Crypts are unreal, the Catacombs are fantastic and the Basilica of San Clemente is a great suprise to finish off with! I had no idea what to expect from the Bascilica but as our guide kept saying - it's like travelling through time! Spectacular.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

elizabeth h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very different type of tour. The bikes meant we could cover a lot of ground and see some of the sites that were off the usual track. It was great to have the electric bikes to help out with the hills! The tour guide was fantastic and looked after us so well and had lots of interesting facts for us and the catacombs were definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message